DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) rejected in the prior office action have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2022/0043201.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0043201 to Bickham et al. in view of US 2016/0252683 to Sasaki et al.
Bickham discloses in figures 1-2, and 6D, a multicore optical fiber comprising:
a glass optical fiber (paragraph 76) having a plurality of cores each extending along a central axis, and a cladding (inner cladding IC1…ICi) surrounding the plurality of cores, the plurality of cores including a first core with a high refractive index and a second core with a refractive index lower than that of the first core (c1… ci have different refractive index profiles with one being higher than the other in figure 7A); and
a coating (paragraph 76 describes one or more additional coatings) provided on an outer peripheral surface of the glass optical fiber, wherein
on a cross-section of the multicore optical fiber orthogonal to the central axis, an arrangement of centers of a plurality of portions that has a refractive index different from a refractive index of the cladding has no rotational symmetry about a center of the cross-section (Pattern in figure 6D with the included marker CM has no symmetry), and
the multicore optical fiber further comprises a mode leakage adjustment structure (CM) for reducing a difference between a cutoff wavelength of a residual higher-order mode in the second core and a cutoff wavelength of a residual higher-order mode in the first core (No structure is claimed as to how the function of reducing the difference between a cutoff wavelength and therefore at minimum the mode leakage structure is present).
However, Bickham fails to explicitly disclose a resin outer coating layer. It is noted that such layer materials are commonly known and used in the art.
Sasaki discloses such a known resin coating layer (100) both for facilitating the manufacturing using UV curing and to prepare the fiber to be stripped and mated with a connector (paragraph 49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a resin layer as taught by Sasaki in Bickham since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Further, it would have been obvious to use the resin material to facilitate manufacturing with the use of UV curing and to enable strippability for adding a connector.
Claim(s) 2-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bickham in view of Sasaki.
Bickham in view of Sasaki discloses the invention as claimed with a shifted marker core (CM; figure 6D), refractive index profiles for the cladding as claimed (figure 7) and shifts of a core center (via doping), however, fails to explicitly disclose the values claimed. Bickham discloses altering characteristics in figures 7-13 to optimize a crosstalk relationship.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to alter such relationships as a matter of obvious design choice for the intended use to optimize optical transmission and to reduce crosstalk.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0347645 (asymmetric core profile with marker).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874