DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below).
Regarding claims 1 and 9. Cheema teaches the method and apparatus for a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the WTRU comprises (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches user equipment apparatus 800 including transceiver 825 that includes at least one transmitter 830 and at least one receiver 835): a processor (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches user equipment apparatus 800 includes processor 805); and memory coupled with the processor (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches processor 805 is communicatively coupled to the memory 810), the memory storing executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to effectuate operations comprising (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches the processor 805 executes instructions stored in the memory 810 to perform the methods and routines described herein):
receiving configuration information for beam management from a base station (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Par. 0002, teaches bandwidth part (“BWP”)),
wherein the configuration information comprises transmission configuration indication (TCI) state information and a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Par. 0043, teaches Transmission Configuration Indicator (“TCI”)), and
wherein the TCI state information comprises one or more TCI states for a serving cell configuration (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein, par. 0057, teaches TCI state configuration for a serving cell for transmissions on the serving cell) or one or more TCI states for a neighbor cell configuration (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and
a circular polarization indication (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Whereas, the “polarization information” within the context of tables 4 and 5 and pars. 0141-0142, includes polarization type LHCP or RHCP. Par. 0113, teaches circular polarizations (i.e., Left-Hand Circular Polarization (“LHCP”) and Right-Hand Circular Polarization (“RHCP”))), and
wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with a time value (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein the language “a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id” reads as the one or more TCI states are associated with a time value. Furthering, tables 4-5 and pars. 0140-0142, teaches a mapping table is configured where the index indicates multiple TCI states with corresponding BWP-Id and duration for each of the TCI state and/or BWP);
updating, based on the time value, the one or more TCI states (tables 4-5 and pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 and RHCP for 2 slot duration when the DCI indicates index 0. Par. 0043, teaches Downlink Control Information (“DCI”)); and
managing one or more beams of the WTRU based on the one or more updated TCI states (tables 4-5 and pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 and RHCP for 2 slot duration when the DCI indicates index 0. Wherein the BWP is updated with the coordinated TCI state).
Regarding claims 2 and 10. Cheema teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches the circular polarization indication comprises left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) or right-hand circular polarization (RHCP) (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Whereas, the “polarization information” within the context of tables 4 and 5 and pars. 0141-0142, includes polarization type LHCP or RHCP. Par. 0113, teaches circular polarizations (i.e., Left-Hand Circular Polarization (“LHCP”) and Right-Hand Circular Polarization (“RHCP”))).
Regarding claims 3 and 11. Cheema teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches the base station is a non-terrestrial device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Cheema suggest the base station is a non-terrestrial device in at least fig. 2 and pars. 0085-0092, teaches in other embodiments the NTN system may implement a regenerative-payload system where the satellite 201 acts as the mobile communication network 210 (e.g., performs gNB/RAN functions) or the base station communicates with a non-terrestrial device (fig. 2 and pars. 0085-0092, teaches satellite 201 communicates with NTN gateway 125 and the NTN gateway 125 may implement gNB and/or RAN functions).
Regarding claim 8. Cheema teaches the method for claim 1. Cheema further teaches a frequency reuse factor (FRF) is greater than 1 (Table 4 and par. 0141, teaches table 4 assumes FRF=3 similar to that depicted in Fig. 6A. Furthermore, pars. 0106-0107, teaches the frequency reuse factor (“FRF”) where the FRF is greater than one may be implemented to mitigate inter-cell (and/or inter-beam) co-channel interference) or an indicated TCI state of the TCI state information is different than a current TCI state of the WTRU (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
performing BWP switching and TCI state update at the same time by WTRU (Table 4 and par. 0141, teaches an index 0 in DCI indicates that a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 for 2 slot duration. Thus, switching the BWP and TCI state at the same time according to the index value indicated in the DCI).
Regarding claim 16. Cheema teaches a computer readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions that when executed by a computing device cause the computing device to effectuate operations comprising (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches user equipment apparatus 800 including memory 810, which is a computer readable storage medium. Furthermore, instructions stored in the memory 810 to perform the methods and routines described herein):
receiving, by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), configuration information for beam management from a base station (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Par. 0002, teaches bandwidth part (“BWP”)),
wherein the configuration information comprises transmission configuration indication (TCI) state information and a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Par. 0043, teaches Transmission Configuration Indicator (“TCI”)), and
wherein the TCI state information comprises one or more TCI states for a serving cell configuration (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein, par. 0057, teaches TCI state configuration for a serving cell for transmissions on the serving cell) or one or more TCI states for a neighbor cell configuration (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and
a circular polarization indication (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Whereas, the “polarization information” within the context of tables 4 and 5 and pars. 0141-0142, includes polarization type LHCP or RHCP. Par. 0113, teaches circular polarizations (i.e., Left-Hand Circular Polarization (“LHCP”) and Right-Hand Circular Polarization (“RHCP”))), and
wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with a time value (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein the language “a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id” reads as the one or more TCI states are associated with a time value. Furthering, tables 4-5 and pars. 0140-0142, teaches a mapping table is configured where the index indicates multiple TCI states with corresponding BWP-Id and duration for each of the TCI state and/or BWP);
updating, based on the time value, the one or more TCI states (tables 4-5 and pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 and RHCP for 2 slot duration when the DCI indicates index 0. Par. 0043, teaches Downlink Control Information (“DCI”)); and
managing one or more beams of the WTRU based on the one or more updated TCI states (tables 4-5 and pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 and RHCP for 2 slot duration when the DCI indicates index 0. Wherein the BWP is updated with the coordinated TCI state).
Regarding claim 17. Cheema teaches a computer readable storage medium of claim 16. Cheema further teaches the circular polarization indication comprises left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) or right-hand circular polarization (RHCP) (figs. 2 and 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Whereas, the “polarization information” within the context of tables 4 and 5 and pars. 0141-0142, includes polarization type LHCP or RHCP. Par. 0113, teaches circular polarizations (i.e., Left-Hand Circular Polarization (“LHCP”) and Right-Hand Circular Polarization (“RHCP”))).
Regarding claim 18. Cheema teaches a computer readable storage medium of claim 16. Cheema further teaches the base station is a non-terrestrial device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Cheema suggest the base station is a non-terrestrial device in at least fig. 2 and pars. 0085-0092, teaches in other embodiments the NTN system may implement a regenerative-payload system where the satellite 201 acts as the mobile communication network 210 (e.g., performs gNB/RAN functions) or the base station communicates with a non-terrestrial device (fig. 2 and pars. 0085-0092, teaches satellite 201 communicates with NTN gateway 125 and the NTN gateway 125 may implement gNB and/or RAN functions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below) in view of Cao et al. (US20240015718 hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claims 4 and 12. Cheema teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches receiving a … indication of a group of non-terrestrial WTRUs that include the WTRU (fig. 10 and pars. 0195-0196, teaches the user equipment apparatus 800 receives first configuration from a RAN, the first configuration containing a mapping between a set of one or more beams in a cell and a set of one or more BWPs in the cell. Wherein, par. 0188, teaches the first configuration includes a common configuration for a set of UEs and is transmitted via a group-common DCI or via RRC signaling. Furthermore, the group-common DCI indicates a set of beams and/or a set of BWP-Ids to be applied for a group of UEs that are configured to monitor the group-common DCI. Furthermore, par. 0043, teaches group-specific signaling for joint triggering of BWPs and beams switching that is applicable for both earth-fixed cells and earth-moving cells, a joint triggering method of BWP and beam switching either through a single field in the Downlink Control Information (“DCI”), such as Transmission Configuration Indicator (“TCI”) field or through BWP index field in DCI with the help of a configured mapping table that defines the relationship between BWP and TCI states for an NTN cell configuration. Par. 0059, teaches non-terrestrial network (“NTN”)).
However, although Cheema teaches receiving a … indication of a group of non-terrestrial WTRUs that include the WTRU (fig. 10 and pars. 0195-0196), the apparatus and methods of Cheema explicitly fails to disclose, receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU.
Cao disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), so Cao is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cao teaches receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU (fig. 9 and pars. 0097-0099, teaches the terminal device can obtain the group common beam indication carried by the GC-MAC CE. Par. 0093, teaches group common Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU, as disclosed by Cao with the method and apparatus of Cheema. The motivations for doing so would be to improve beam management. (see Cao par. 0006)
Regarding claims 5 and 13. Cheema and Cao teaches the method and apparatus for claims 4 and 12.
However, the apparatus and methods of Cheema explicitly fails to disclose, the group common medium access control control element (MAC-CE) refers to a MAC-CE multiplexed in multicast shared channel.
Cao further teaches the group common medium access control control element (MAC-CE) refers to a MAC-CE multiplexed in multicast shared channel (fig. 9 and pars. 0097-0099, teaches the base station can carry GC-MAC CE into GC-PDSCH. Furthermore, fig. 17 and pars. 0151-0156, teaches the gNB of this document, wherein the processor 1726 may perform multiplexing/demultiplexing, and execute various types of signal processing in layers such as L1, Medium Access Control (MAC). Wherein the “GC-PDSCH” reads as a multicast shared channel within the context of par. 0097, which teaches the processing circuit utilizes the group common beam to transmit the relevant information about the group common beam to each terminal device in the terminal device group via a group common Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH))
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the group common medium access control control element (MAC-CE) refers to a MAC-CE multiplexed in multicast shared channel, as disclosed by Cao with the method and apparatus of Cheema. The motivations for doing so would be to improve beam management. (see Cao par. 0006)
Regarding claim 19. Cheema teaches the computer readable storage medium for claim 16. Cheema further teaches receiving a … indication of a group of non-terrestrial WTRUs that include the WTRU (fig. 10 and pars. 0195-0196, teaches the user equipment apparatus 800 receives first configuration from a RAN, the first configuration containing a mapping between a set of one or more beams in a cell and a set of one or more BWPs in the cell. Wherein, par. 0188, teaches the first configuration includes a common configuration for a set of UEs and is transmitted via a group-common DCI or via RRC signaling. Furthermore, the group-common DCI indicates a set of beams and/or a set of BWP-Ids to be applied for a group of UEs that are configured to monitor the group-common DCI. Furthermore, par. 0043, teaches group-specific signaling for joint triggering of BWPs and beams switching that is applicable for both earth-fixed cells and earth-moving cells, a joint triggering method of BWP and beam switching either through a single field in the Downlink Control Information (“DCI”), such as Transmission Configuration Indicator (“TCI”) field or through BWP index field in DCI with the help of a configured mapping table that defines the relationship between BWP and TCI states for an NTN cell configuration. Par. 0059, teaches non-terrestrial network (“NTN”)).
However, although Cheema teaches receiving a … indication of a group of non-terrestrial WTRUs that include the WTRU (fig. 10 and pars. 0195-0196), the apparatus and methods of Cheema explicitly fails to disclose, receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU.
Cao disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), so Cao is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cao teaches receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU (fig. 9 and pars. 0097-0099, teaches the terminal device can obtain the group common beam indication carried by the GC-MAC CE. Par. 0093, teaches group common Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU, as disclosed by Cao with the method and apparatus of Cheema. The motivations for doing so would be to improve beam management. (see Cao par. 0006)
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below) in view of Alfarhan et al. (US20230097142 hereinafter Alfarhan).
Regarding claims 6 and 14. Cheema teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication … in a group common downlink control information (DCI) format (pars. 0155-0156, teaches multiple Beam Ids (such as TCI state Ids) may be indicated in the group-common DCI).
However, although Cheema teaches a group common downlink control information (DCI) format (pars. 0155-0156), the method and apparatus of Cheema explicitly fails to disclose, the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) in a group common downlink control information (DCI) format.
Alfarhan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for physical downlink shared data channel, so Alfarhan is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Alfarhan teaches the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) in a group common downlink control information (DCI) format (par. 0152, teaches a UE-group common DCI for a downlink assignment for the PDSCH with a TCI state. Wherein, the language “a downlink assignment for the PDSCH with a TCI state” reads as the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication for physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH). Par. 0087, teaches Downlink Control Information (DCI), par. 0123 Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication for physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) in a group common downlink control information (DCI) format, as disclosed by Alfarhan with the method and apparatus of Cheema. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce latency for transmitting. (see Alfarhan par. 0153)
Claims 7, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below) in view of Cirik et al. (US20220225135 hereinafter Cirik, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/136,441, filed Jan. 12, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cirik in the rejection below).
Regarding claims 7 and 15. Cheema teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication (Table 4 and par. 0141, teaches an index 0 in DCI indicates that a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 for 2 slot duration. Thus, switching the BWP and TCI state at the same time according to the index value indicated in the DCI).
However, although Cheema teaches updating a TCI state (par. 0141), the apparatus and methods of Cheema explicitly fails to disclose, updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request.
Cirik disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for updating a TCI state, so Cirik is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cirik teaches updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request (par. 0340, teaches the wireless device may update/override/overwrite/replace the TCI state based on receiving/detecting the message, the indication, or the control information (e.g., DCI) that completes the beam failure recovery. Wherein, par. 0213, teaches the beam failure recovery procedure; first the wireless device may detect a beam failure, then the wireless device may send/transmit, for the beam failure recovery, an uplink signal indicating the candidate reference signal, finally the wireless device may complete the beam failure recovery successfully based on receiving (e.g., from a base station) a beam failure recovery response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request, as disclosed by Cirik with the method and apparatus of Cheema. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce errors and beam misalignments. (see Cirik par. 0004)
Regarding claim 20. Cheema teaches the computer readable storage medium for claim 16. Cheema further teaches updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication (Table 4 and par. 0141, teaches an index 0 in DCI indicates that a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 for 2 slot duration. Thus, switching the BWP and TCI state at the same time according to the index value indicated in the DCI).
However, although Cheema teaches updating a TCI state (par. 0141), the apparatus and methods of Cheema explicitly fails to disclose, updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request.
Cirik disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for updating a TCI state, so Cirik is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cirik teaches updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request (par. 0340, teaches the wireless device may update/override/overwrite/replace the TCI state based on receiving/detecting the message, the indication, or the control information (e.g., DCI) that completes the beam failure recovery. Wherein, par. 0213, teaches the beam failure recovery procedure; first the wireless device may detect a beam failure, then the wireless device may send/transmit, for the beam failure recovery, an uplink signal indicating the candidate reference signal, finally the wireless device may complete the beam failure recovery successfully based on receiving (e.g., from a base station) a beam failure recovery response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request, as disclosed by Cirik with the method and apparatus of Cheema. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce errors and beam misalignments. (see Cirik par. 0004)
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474