DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received in the Office on 07/27/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 9, and 16 have been amended, claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20 remain the same, claims 21-24 have been added, and no new matter appears to be included.
In response to the amendments received in Office on 07/27/2026, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues the compilation of dispersed and varied paragraphs of the Cheema provisional is clearly a hindsight reconstruction.
B. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
C. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues the cited figures 2 and 10 in the Cheema publication are not found in the Cheema provisional. Applicant further argues the provisional paragraphs relate to generic configurations steps and not to switching BWP as discussed in FIG. 10 of the publication. See remarks of claims 1-3, 8-11, and 16-18 on pages 7-10.
D. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although the exact figures 2 and 10 of the Cheema publication are not found in the Cheema provisional, textual support of an explanation of figures 2 and 10 the Cheema publication can be found in the Cheema provisional, see below.
Textual support of an explanation for figure 2 of the Cheema publication can be found in at least figure 1A of the Cheema provisional, which teaches the satellite in communication with the UE and NTN gateway. Furthermore, figure 2 step 220 of the Cheema publication can be found in at least in pars. 0146-0147 of the Cheema provisional, teaches the user equipment apparatus 800 receiving a configuration of association of single or multiple beams with a single or multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) in a cell, satellite ephemeris, and respective duration of each of the beams. Moreover, par. 0004, teaches a configured mapping table that defines the relationship between BWP and TCI states for an NTN cell configuration. Figure 2 step 225 of the Cheema publication can be found in at least in in pars. 0093-0100, 0105-0110, and 0117-0120 of the Cheema provisional, which teaches joint triggering of multiple beams and BWPs based on a configured mapping table or configuration. Figure 2 step 230 of the Cheema publication can be found in at least in in fig. 10 and pars. 0147 and 0098, teaches the UE performing the switching to and from multiple BWP for joint triggering.
Figure 10 step 1005 of the Cheema publication can be found in at least in fig.10 and pars. 0146-0147 of the Cheema provisional, which teaches the user equipment apparatus 800 receiving a configuration of association of single or multiple beams with a single or multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) in a cell, satellite ephemeris, and respective duration of each of the beams. Furthermore, par. 0004, teaches a configured mapping table that defines the relationship between BWP and TCI states for an NTN cell configuration. Figure 10 step 1010 of the Cheema publication can be found in at least in pars. 0093-0100, 0105-0110, and 0117-0120 of the Cheema provisional, which teaches joint triggering of multiple beams and BWPs based on a configured mapping table or configuration. Figure 10 step 1015 of the Cheema publication can be found in at least in fig. 10 and pars. 0147 and 0098, teaches the UE performing the switching to and from multiple BWP for joint triggering. Furthermore, support for switching BWP as discussed in FIG. 10 of the publication within the Cheema publication can be found in at least fig. 10 and pars. 0041-0042, 0093, and 0105-0120.
E. Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues the cited descriptive paragraphs [0090]-[0091] from the Cheema publication are not otherwise found in any form in the Cheema provisional. See remarks of claims 1-3, 8-11, and 16-18 on pages 7-8.
F. Examiner’s Response
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 10 and pars. 0146-0147 of the Cheema provisional, teaches the user equipment apparatus 800 receiving a configuration of association of single or multiple beams with a single or multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) in a cell, satellite ephemeris, and respective duration of each of the beams. Furthermore, par. 0004, teaches a configured mapping table that defines the relationship between BWP and TCI states for an NTN cell configuration. Moreover, tables 4-5 and pars. 0105-0107, teaches the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Furthermore, polarization information along with BWP-id and slot duration may also be added in the mapping table, as illustrated in Table 5. Whereas, pars. 0090-0091 of the Cheema publication, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Moreover, the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Wherein, both the Cheema provisional and Cheema publication teach receiving configuration information for beam management from a base station, wherein the configuration information comprises transmission configuration indication (TCI) state information and a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration, wherein the TCI state information comprises one or more TCI states for a serving cell configuration or one or more TCI states for a neighbor cell configuration, and a circular polarization indication.
E. All Other Arguments
All other arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The remaining arguments regarding independent claims 9 and 16 and all dependent claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-24 generally recite the same reasonings as for claim 1 and are moot.
However, the amendments have necessitated a new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below), in view of Cui et al. (US20230232290 hereinafter Cui), in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20230128435 hereinafter Matsumura), in further view of Zhang (US20130103642).
Regarding claims 1 and 9. Cheema teaches the method and apparatus for a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the WTRU comprises (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches user equipment apparatus 800 including transceiver 825 that includes at least one transmitter 830 and at least one receiver 835): a processor (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches user equipment apparatus 800 includes processor 805); and memory coupled with the processor (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches processor 805 is communicatively coupled to the memory 810), the memory storing executable instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to effectuate operations comprising (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches the processor 805 executes instructions stored in the memory 810 to perform the methods and routines described herein):
receiving configuration information for beam management from a base station (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Par. 0002, teaches bandwidth part (“BWP”)),
wherein the configuration information comprises transmission configuration indication (TCI) state information and a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Par. 0043, teaches Transmission Configuration Indicator (“TCI”)), and
wherein the TCI state information comprises one or more TCI states for a serving cell configuration (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein, par. 0057, teaches TCI state configuration for a serving cell for transmissions on the serving cell) or one or more TCI states for a neighbor cell configuration (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and
a circular polarization indication (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Whereas, the “polarization information” within the context of tables 4 and 5 and pars. 0141-0142, includes polarization type LHCP or RHCP. Par. 0113, teaches circular polarizations (i.e., Left-Hand Circular Polarization (“LHCP”) and Right-Hand Circular Polarization (“RHCP”))),
determining, based on … the configuration information, a …time value (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein the language “a slot duration for applying a TCI state” reads as a time value. Furthermore, pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations. Thus, the language the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping, the mapping includes a slot duration for applying a TCI state and the UE applying the mapping including the slot duration for applying a TCI state reads as determining, based on … the configuration information, a time value),
wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with the …time value (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein the language “a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id” reads as the one or more TCI states are associated with a time value. Furthering, tables 4-5 and pars. 0140-0142, teaches a mapping table is configured where the index indicates multiple TCI states with corresponding BWP-Id and duration for each of the TCI state and/or BWP);
updating, based on the… time value, the one or more TCI states (tables 4-5 and pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 and RHCP for 2 slot duration when the DCI indicates index 0. Par. 0043, teaches Downlink Control Information (“DCI”)); and
managing one or more beams of the WTRU based on the one or more updated TCI states (tables 4-5 and pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 and RHCP for 2 slot duration when the DCI indicates index 0. Wherein the BWP is updated with the coordinated TCI state).
However, although Cheema teaches determining, based on … the configuration information, a time value (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091 & 0141-0142), the apparatus and methods of Cheema explicitly fails to disclose, determining, based on measurement performed by the WTRU and the configuration information, a… time value.
Cui disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a time value, so Cui is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cui teaches determining, based on measurement performed by the WTRU and the configuration information, a… time value (fig. 9 and pars. 0128-0131, teaches the UE determines the time elapsed since the measurement associated with the specified UL TCI was conducted. Wherein, the “time elapsed” reads as a time value. Moreover, the “specified UL TCI” reads as the configuration information within the context of pars. 0128-0129, which teaches the UE a specified UL TCI from the network within the handover command. Pars. 0004-0005, teaches uplink (UL) and Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining, based on measurement performed by the WTRU and the configuration information, a… time value, as disclosed by Cui with the method and apparatus of Cheema. The motivations for doing so would be to improve wireless communications. (see Cui par. 0003)
However, although Cheema teaches determining, based on … the configuration information, a …time value (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091), the combination of Cheema and Cui explicitly fails to disclose, determining… a predicted time value, wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with the predicted time value.
Matsumura disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a predicted time value, so Matsumura is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Matsumura teaches determining… a predicted time value (par. 0065, teaches the UE predicts a time offset (scheduling offset). Wherein, the language “the UE predicts a time offset” reads as a predicted time value within the context of this passage), wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with the predicted time value (par. 0065, teaches the UE predicts a time offset (scheduling offset) when “QCL-Type D” is included in one or more TCI states configured for a serving cell scheduled by the search space set. Thus, the one or more TCI states is associated with the predicted time offset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining… a predicted time value, wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with the predicted time value, as disclosed by Matsumura with the combination of Cheema and Cui. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce overhead. (see Matsumura par. 0103)
However, although Cheema teaches updating, based on the… time value (fig. 9 and pars. 0128-0131), the combination of Cheena, Cui and Matsumura explicitly fails to disclose, updating, based on the predicted time value.
Zhang disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a predicted time value, so Zhang is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Zhang a teaches updating, based on the predicted time value (par. 0095, teaches updating according to the predicted update time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize updating, based on the predicted time value, as disclosed by Zhang with the combination of Cheena, Cui and Matsumura. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid waste of network communication resources. (see Zhang par. 0083)
Regarding claims 2 and 10. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches the circular polarization indication comprises left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) or right-hand circular polarization (RHCP) (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Whereas, the “polarization information” within the context of tables 4 and 5 and pars. 0141-0142, includes polarization type LHCP or RHCP. Par. 0113, teaches circular polarizations (i.e., Left-Hand Circular Polarization (“LHCP”) and Right-Hand Circular Polarization (“RHCP”))).
Regarding claims 3 and 11. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches the base station is a non-terrestrial device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Cheema suggest the base station is a non-terrestrial device in at least figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0085-0092, teaches in other embodiments the NTN system may implement a regenerative-payload system where the satellite 201 acts as the mobile communication network 210 (e.g., performs gNB/RAN functions) or the base station communicates with a non-terrestrial device (pars. 0085-0092, teaches satellite 201 communicates with NTN gateway 125 and the NTN gateway 125 may implement gNB and/or RAN functions).
Regarding claim 8. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the method for claim 1. Cheema further teaches a frequency reuse factor (FRF) is greater than 1 (Table 4 and par. 0141, teaches table 4 assumes FRF=3 similar to that depicted in Fig. 6A. Furthermore, pars. 0106-0107, teaches the frequency reuse factor (“FRF”) where the FRF is greater than one may be implemented to mitigate inter-cell (and/or inter-beam) co-channel interference) or an indicated TCI state of the TCI state information is different than a current TCI state of the WTRU (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
performing BWP switching and TCI state update at the same time by WTRU (Table 4 and par. 0141, teaches an index 0 in DCI indicates that a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 for 2 slot duration. Thus, switching the BWP and TCI state at the same time according to the index value indicated in the DCI).
Regarding claim 16. Cheema teaches a computer readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions that when executed by a computing device cause the computing device to effectuate operations comprising (fig. 8 and pars. 0158-0177, teaches user equipment apparatus 800 including memory 810, which is a computer readable storage medium. Furthermore, instructions stored in the memory 810 to perform the methods and routines described herein):
receiving, by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), configuration information for beam management from a base station (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Par. 0002, teaches bandwidth part (“BWP”)),
wherein the configuration information comprises transmission configuration indication (TCI) state information and a bandwidth part (BWP) configuration (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Par. 0043, teaches Transmission Configuration Indicator (“TCI”)), and
wherein the TCI state information comprises one or more TCI states for a serving cell configuration (pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein, par. 0057, teaches TCI state configuration for a serving cell for transmissions on the serving cell) or one or more TCI states for a neighbor cell configuration (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art), and
a circular polarization indication (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Whereas, the “polarization information” within the context of tables 4 and 5 and pars. 0141-0142, includes polarization type LHCP or RHCP. Par. 0113, teaches circular polarizations (i.e., Left-Hand Circular Polarization (“LHCP”) and Right-Hand Circular Polarization (“RHCP”))),
determining, based on … the configuration information, a …time value (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein the language “a slot duration for applying a TCI state” reads as a time value. Furthermore, pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations. Thus, the language the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping, the mapping includes a slot duration for applying a TCI state and the UE applying the mapping including the slot duration for applying a TCI state reads as determining, based on … the configuration information, a time value),
wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with the … time value (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes a set of TCI states and a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id, e.g., until a subsequent beam and BWP switch. Wherein the language “a slot duration for applying a TCI state and a corresponding BWP-Id” reads as the one or more TCI states are associated with a time value. Furthering, tables 4-5 and pars. 0140-0142, teaches a mapping table is configured where the index indicates multiple TCI states with corresponding BWP-Id and duration for each of the TCI state and/or BWP);
updating, based on the … time value, the one or more TCI states (tables 4-5 and pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 and RHCP for 2 slot duration when the DCI indicates index 0. Par. 0043, teaches Downlink Control Information (“DCI”)); and
managing one or more beams of the WTRU based on the one or more updated TCI states (tables 4-5 and pars. 0141-0142, teaches a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 and LHCP for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 and RHCP for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 and RHCP for 2 slot duration when the DCI indicates index 0. Wherein the BWP is updated with the coordinated TCI state).
However, although Cheema teaches determining, based on … the configuration information, a …time value (pars. 0090-0091 & 0141-0142), the apparatus and methods of Cheema explicitly fails to disclose, determining, based on measurement performed by the WTRU and the configuration information, a time value.
Cui disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a time value, so Cui is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cui teaches determining, based on measurement performed by the WTRU and the configuration information, a …time value (fig. 9 and pars. 0128-0131, teaches the UE determines the time elapsed since the measurement associated with the specified UL TCI was conducted. Wherein, the “time elapsed” reads as a time value. Moreover, the “specified UL TCI” reads as the configuration information within the context of pars. 0128-0129, which teaches the UE a specified UL TCI from the network within the handover command. Pars. 0004-0005, teaches uplink (UL) and Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining, based on measurement performed by the WTRU and the configuration information, a …time value, as disclosed by Cui with the method and apparatus of Cheema. The motivations for doing so would be to improve wireless communications. (see Cui par. 0003)
However, although Cheema teaches determining, based on … the configuration information, a …time value (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091), the combination of Cheema and Cui explicitly fails to disclose, determining… a predicted time value, wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with the predicted time value.
Matsumura disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a predicted time value, so Matsumura is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Matsumura teaches determining… a predicted time value (par. 0065, teaches the UE predicts a time offset (scheduling offset). Wherein, the language “the UE predicts a time offset” reads as a predicted time value within the context of this passage), wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with the predicted time value (par. 0065, teaches the UE predicts a time offset (scheduling offset) when “QCL-Type D” is included in one or more TCI states configured for a serving cell scheduled by the search space set. Thus, the one or more TCI states is associated with the predicted time offset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining… a predicted time value, wherein the one or more TCI states are associated with the predicted time value, as disclosed by Matsumura with the combination of Cheema and Cui. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce overhead. (see Matsumura par. 0103)
However, although Cheema teaches updating, based on the… time value (fig. 9 and pars. 0128-0131), the combination of Cheena, Cui and Matsumura explicitly fails to disclose, updating, based on the predicted time value.
Zhang disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a predicted time value, so Zhang is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Zhang a teaches updating, based on the predicted time value (par. 0095, teaches updating according to the predicted update time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize updating, based on the predicted time value, as disclosed by Zhang with the combination of Cheena, Cui and Matsumura. The motivations for doing so would be to avoid waste of network communication resources. (see Zhang par. 0083)
Regarding claim 17. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches a computer readable storage medium of claim 16. Cheema further teaches the circular polarization indication comprises left-hand circular polarization (LHCP) or right-hand circular polarization (RHCP) (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0090-0091, teaches the mobile communication network 210 configures the UE 205 with mapping between at least one beam and at least one BWP in a cell. Wherein, the mapping includes one or more of: polarization information for each beam, polarization information for each BWP. Whereas, the “polarization information” within the context of tables 4 and 5 and pars. 0141-0142, includes polarization type LHCP or RHCP. Par. 0113, teaches circular polarizations (i.e., Left-Hand Circular Polarization (“LHCP”) and Right-Hand Circular Polarization (“RHCP”))).
Regarding claim 18. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches a computer readable storage medium of claim 16. Cheema further teaches the base station is a non-terrestrial device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record. However, Cheema suggest the base station is a non-terrestrial device in at least fig. 2 and pars. 0085-0092, teaches in other embodiments the NTN system may implement a regenerative-payload system where the satellite 201 acts as the mobile communication network 210 (e.g., performs gNB/RAN functions) or the base station communicates with a non-terrestrial device (pars. 0085-0092, teaches satellite 201 communicates with NTN gateway 125 and the NTN gateway 125 may implement gNB and/or RAN functions).
Claims 4-5, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below), in view of Cui et al. (US20230232290 hereinafter Cui), in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20230128435 hereinafter Matsumura), in view of Zhang (US20130103642), in further view of Cao et al. (US20240015718 hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claims 4 and 12. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches receiving a … indication of a group of non-terrestrial WTRUs that include the WTRU (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0195-0196, teaches the user equipment apparatus 800 receives first configuration from a RAN, the first configuration containing a mapping between a set of one or more beams in a cell and a set of one or more BWPs in the cell. Wherein, par. 0188, teaches the first configuration includes a common configuration for a set of UEs and is transmitted via a group-common DCI or via RRC signaling. Furthermore, the group-common DCI indicates a set of beams and/or a set of BWP-Ids to be applied for a group of UEs that are configured to monitor the group-common DCI. Furthermore, par. 0043, teaches group-specific signaling for joint triggering of BWPs and beams switching that is applicable for both earth-fixed cells and earth-moving cells, a joint triggering method of BWP and beam switching either through a single field in the Downlink Control Information (“DCI”), such as Transmission Configuration Indicator (“TCI”) field or through BWP index field in DCI with the help of a configured mapping table that defines the relationship between BWP and TCI states for an NTN cell configuration. Par. 0059, teaches non-terrestrial network (“NTN”)).
However, although Cheema teaches receiving a … indication of a group of non-terrestrial WTRUs that include the WTRU (pars. 0195-0196), the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU.
Cao disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), so Cao is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cao teaches receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU (fig. 9 and pars. 0097-0099, teaches the terminal device can obtain the group common beam indication carried by the GC-MAC CE. Par. 0093, teaches group common Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU, as disclosed by Cao with the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve beam management. (see Cao par. 0006)
Regarding claims 5 and 13. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, Zhang, and Cao teaches the method and apparatus for claims 4 and 12.
However, the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, the group common medium access control control element (MAC-CE) refers to a MAC-CE multiplexed in multicast shared channel.
Cao further teaches the group common medium access control control element (MAC-CE) refers to a MAC-CE multiplexed in multicast shared channel (fig. 9 and pars. 0097-0099, teaches the base station can carry GC-MAC CE into GC-PDSCH. Furthermore, fig. 17 and pars. 0151-0156, teaches the gNB of this document, wherein the processor 1726 may perform multiplexing/demultiplexing, and execute various types of signal processing in layers such as L1, Medium Access Control (MAC). Wherein the “GC-PDSCH” reads as a multicast shared channel within the context of par. 0097, which teaches the processing circuit utilizes the group common beam to transmit the relevant information about the group common beam to each terminal device in the terminal device group via a group common Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH))
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the group common medium access control control element (MAC-CE) refers to a MAC-CE multiplexed in multicast shared channel, as disclosed by Cao with the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve beam management. (see Cao par. 0006)
Regarding claim 19. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the computer readable storage medium for claim 16. Cheema further teaches receiving a … indication of a group of non-terrestrial WTRUs that include the WTRU (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0195-0196, teaches the user equipment apparatus 800 receives first configuration from a RAN, the first configuration containing a mapping between a set of one or more beams in a cell and a set of one or more BWPs in the cell. Wherein, par. 0188, teaches the first configuration includes a common configuration for a set of UEs and is transmitted via a group-common DCI or via RRC signaling. Furthermore, the group-common DCI indicates a set of beams and/or a set of BWP-Ids to be applied for a group of UEs that are configured to monitor the group-common DCI. Furthermore, par. 0043, teaches group-specific signaling for joint triggering of BWPs and beams switching that is applicable for both earth-fixed cells and earth-moving cells, a joint triggering method of BWP and beam switching either through a single field in the Downlink Control Information (“DCI”), such as Transmission Configuration Indicator (“TCI”) field or through BWP index field in DCI with the help of a configured mapping table that defines the relationship between BWP and TCI states for an NTN cell configuration. Par. 0059, teaches non-terrestrial network (“NTN”)).
However, although Cheema teaches receiving a … indication of a group of non-terrestrial WTRUs that include the WTRU (pars. 0195-0196), the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU.
Cao disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), so Cao is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cao teaches receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU (fig. 9 and pars. 0097-0099, teaches the terminal device can obtain the group common beam indication carried by the GC-MAC CE. Par. 0093, teaches group common Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize receiving a group common medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) for the indication of a group … WTRUs that include the WTRU, as disclosed by Cao with the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to improve beam management. (see Cao par. 0006)
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below), in view of Cui et al. (US20230232290 hereinafter Cui), in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20230128435 hereinafter Matsumura), in view of Zhang (US20130103642), in further view of Alfarhan et al. (US20230097142 hereinafter Alfarhan).
Regarding claims 6 and 14. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication … in a group common downlink control information (DCI) format (figs. 2 & 10 and pars. 0155-0156, teaches multiple Beam Ids (such as TCI state Ids) may be indicated in the group-common DCI).
However, although Cheema teaches a group common downlink control information (DCI) format (pars. 0155-0156), the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) in a group common downlink control information (DCI) format.
Alfarhan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for physical downlink shared data channel, so Alfarhan is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Alfarhan teaches the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record) or physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) in a group common downlink control information (DCI) format (par. 0152, teaches a UE-group common DCI for a downlink assignment for the PDSCH with a TCI state. Wherein, the language “a downlink assignment for the PDSCH with a TCI state” reads as the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication for physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH). Par. 0087, teaches Downlink Control Information (DCI), par. 0123 Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the TCI state information comprises a TCI indication for physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) in a group common downlink control information (DCI) format, as disclosed by Alfarhan with the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce latency for transmitting. (see Alfarhan par. 0153)
Claims 7, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below), in view of Cui et al. (US20230232290 hereinafter Cui), in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20230128435 hereinafter Matsumura), in view of Zhang (US20130103642), in further view of Cirik et al. (US20220225135 hereinafter Cirik, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/136,441, filed Jan. 12, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cirik in the rejection below).
Regarding claims 7 and 15. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9. Cheema further teaches updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication (Table 4 and par. 0141, teaches an index 0 in DCI indicates that a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 for 2 slot duration. Thus, switching the BWP and TCI state at the same time according to the index value indicated in the DCI).
However, although Cheema teaches updating a TCI state (par. 0141), the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request.
Cirik disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for updating a TCI state, so Cirik is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cirik teaches updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request (par. 0340, teaches the wireless device may update/override/overwrite/replace the TCI state based on receiving/detecting the message, the indication, or the control information (e.g., DCI) that completes the beam failure recovery. Wherein, par. 0213, teaches the beam failure recovery procedure; first the wireless device may detect a beam failure, then the wireless device may send/transmit, for the beam failure recovery, an uplink signal indicating the candidate reference signal, finally the wireless device may complete the beam failure recovery successfully based on receiving (e.g., from a base station) a beam failure recovery response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request, as disclosed by Cirik with the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce errors and beam misalignments. (see Cirik par. 0004)
Regarding claim 20. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the computer readable storage medium for claim 16. Cheema further teaches updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication (Table 4 and par. 0141, teaches an index 0 in DCI indicates that a UE first applies TCI state 1 with BWP-Id 1 for 1 slot duration, then it switches to TCI state 2 with BWP-Id 2 for 2 slot durations, and then it follows TCI state 3 with BWP-Id 3 for 2 slot duration. Thus, switching the BWP and TCI state at the same time according to the index value indicated in the DCI).
However, although Cheema teaches updating a TCI state (par. 0141), the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request.
Cirik disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for updating a TCI state, so Cirik is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Cirik teaches updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request (par. 0340, teaches the wireless device may update/override/overwrite/replace the TCI state based on receiving/detecting the message, the indication, or the control information (e.g., DCI) that completes the beam failure recovery. Wherein, par. 0213, teaches the beam failure recovery procedure; first the wireless device may detect a beam failure, then the wireless device may send/transmit, for the beam failure recovery, an uplink signal indicating the candidate reference signal, finally the wireless device may complete the beam failure recovery successfully based on receiving (e.g., from a base station) a beam failure recovery response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize updating a TCI state of the WTRU based on an indication of beam failure detection or a beam failure request, as disclosed by Cirik with the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce errors and beam misalignments. (see Cirik par. 0004)
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below), in view of Cui et al. (US20230232290 hereinafter Cui), in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20230128435 hereinafter Matsumura), in view of Zhang (US20130103642), in further view of Deenoo et al. (US20210377825 hereinafter Deenoo).
Regarding claims 21 and 23. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 9.
However, although Matsumura teaches determining… a predicted time value (par. 0065), the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang explicitly fails to disclose, the measurements for predicting the time value comprise one or more of broadcast satellite ephemeris, spot-beam radius, spot beam global position; WTRU positioning, and satellite elevation angle.
Deenoo disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for predicting the time value, so Deenoo is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Deenoo teaches the measurements for predicting the time value comprise one or more of broadcast satellite ephemeris (par. 0121, teaches the one or more periods of time may be predictable in advance based on satellite ephemeris and WTRU approximate location), spot-beam radius (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), spot beam global position (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record); WTRU positioning (par. 0121, teaches the one or more periods of time may be predictable in advance based on satellite ephemeris and WTRU approximate location), and satellite elevation angle (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the measurements for predicting the time value comprise one or more of broadcast satellite ephemeris, … WTRU positioning, as disclosed by Deenoo with the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, and Zhang. The motivations for doing so would be to reduce unnecessary measurement overhead. (see Deenoo par. 0105)
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheema et al. (US20240137098 hereinafter Cheema, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/152,314, filed Feb. 22, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Cheema in the rejection below), in view of Cui et al. (US20230232290 hereinafter Cui), in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20230128435 hereinafter Matsumura), in view of Zhang (US20130103642), in view of Deenoo et al. (US20210377825 hereinafter Deenoo), in further view of Medles et al. (US20210250885 hereinafter Medles).
Regarding claims 22 and 24. Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, Zhang, and Deenoo teaches the method and apparatus for claims 21 and 23.
However, although Deenoo teaches a satellite ephemeris (par. 0121), the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, Zhang, and Deenoo explicitly fails to disclose, the satellite ephemeris comprise one or more of a satellite position, velocity state vectors, and other orbital elements.
Medles disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for a satellite ephemeris, so Medles is analogous to Cheema. Furthermore, Medles teaches the satellite ephemeris comprise one or more of a satellite position (par. 0030, teaches satellite position may be derived according to satellite ephemeris broadcasted by the NTN network. Par. 0002, teaches non-terrestrial network (NTN)), velocity state vectors (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), and other orbital elements (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the satellite ephemeris comprise one or more of a satellite position, as disclosed by Medles with the combination of Cheema, Cui, Matsumura, Zhang, and Deenoo. The motivations for doing so would be to improve timing and frequency compensation estimation. (see Medles par. 0047)
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474