Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson (US 5758592; cited by Applicant) in view of Raymond (WO 2005/091713; cited by Applicant). With respect to claims 1-2, Benson discloses the basic claimed structure including a submersible vehicle 12 with a plurality of outlet nozzles 34, 40 arranged to receive pressurized fluid from a supply (pump 20) and expel the pressurized fluid to create propulsion to maneuver the vehicle 12, a plurality of valves 50, 52, 54, in fluid communication with the outlet nozzles 34, 40 and operable to provide variable pressure and/or flow to each outlet nozzle and with the outlet nozzles 34, 40 being arranged about the vehicle to provide six degrees of freedom of movement and control of the submersible vehicle (column 4, line 60). Note also column 3, lines 50-56. Not disclosed by Benson is the pump being remote. Raymond teaches a remote pump with a distinct supply hose (Figure 17). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Benson with the pump being remote with a distinct supply hose as taught by Raymond with a high likelihood of success for reliability via simplification of elements and to form a lighter weight device. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. With respect to claim 3, the use of a manifold would have been an obvious choice of engineering design to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for improve fluid distribution and efficiency. With respect to claims 4-12, note Benson, Figure 1. Note also a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing complex and expensive remote autonomous vehicles would have years of experience and advanced degrees and wide knowledge in the field.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson (US 5758592; cited by Applicant) in view of Raymond (WO 2005/091713; cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Boekelman (US 2008/0210775). With respect to claims 13-15, Benson does not disclose a dump nozzle. Boekelman teaches a dump nozzle 68. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Benson with a dump nozzle as taught by Boekelman with a high likelihood of success for improved pressure control. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson (US 5758592; cited by Applicant) in view of Raymond (WO 2005/091713; cited by Applicant), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Seemann (US 2003/0048081). With respect to claims 16-19, Benson does not disclose a remotely operated autonomous vehicle with a control unit and non-submersible pump. Seemann teaches a remotely operated autonomous vehicle 10 with a control unit (paragraph 0017) and non-submersible pump (paragraph 0053; note also umbilical 122). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Benson with a remotely operated autonomous vehicle with a control unit and non-submersible pump as taught by Seemann with a high likelihood of success for improved efficiency. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koch et al (US 2021/0381607) show a manifold.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615