DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment filed on 06/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-31, 33, and 34 have been canceled, claims 48-51 have been withdrawn, and new claims 52 and 53 have been added. Claims 32, 35-47, 52, and 53 are under examination in the instant office action.
Rejections withdrawn
Applicant’s amendments, arguments, and affidavit filed on 06/11/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the claim objection of claim 39, 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claim 36, of claim 38, and of claim 43, U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 32, 36, 37, and 43-47 over Uzan et al. (WO 2019/234733 A1), and 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 32, 33, 36, 37, and 43-47 over Uzan et al. (WO 2019/234733 A1) and of claims 32-37 and 39-47 over Uzan et al. (WO 2019/234733 A1) and Gregolin et al. (US 2021/0030651 A1) from the previous Office Action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Rejections maintained
The following rejection of the claims is remained for reasons of record and the following. In addition, new claims are hereby included in the rejection.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 32-47, 52, and 53 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 24, 29-44, 46, and 47 (05/09/2025) of copending Application No. 15/734,462 (national stage of the prior art WO 2019/234733 A1 in the 102 and 103 rejections above (PCT/IL2019/050628)) in view of Gregolin et al. (US 2021/0030651 A1). Although the patent and instant claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of Gregolin et al. (US 2021/0030651 A1) to add reducing agents in the hair straightening composition claimed in claims 24, 29-44, 46, and 47 of 15/734,462.
Although the patent and instant claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in both applications are drawn to the same composition.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant states that the provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until the claims have been allowed. Until that time the claims must remain rejected.
New ground of rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendment
The amendments necessitate the following new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-47, 52, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Uzan et al. (WO 2019/234733 A1) in view of Gregolin et al. (US 2021/0030651 A1).
Uzan et al. teach a hair straightening (the instant claim 46) formulation comprising
about 2-50 wt% and 20 wt% of the stock emulsion of claims 1-15 (claim 16 and table 3) in form of spray (the instant claims 43 and 46) (claim 17);
wherein the stock emulsion of claims 1-15, having about 20-55% wt% solid (→ about 4-11 wt%: 20%x20%=4% and 55%x20%=11%) (claim 12), comprises
about 5-55 wt% of at least one acrylic-based polymer comprising acrylic units that act as cross-linkers that will form bonds between the polymers (→ about 1-11 wt %: 5%x20%=1% and 55%x20%=11%) which is derived from a combination of acrylic isobornyl acrylate and monomer and monoacrylate oligomer (the instant claim 38) and the amount of said cross-linker units is about 5-20 wt% of said acrylic-based polymer (the instant claims 32, 35, and 39), and
about 0.5-15 wt% of a non-ionic surfactant (→ about 0.1-3 wt%: 0.5%x20%=0.1% and 15%x20%=3%) (the instant claims 32 and 35),
in a cosmetically acceptable water carrier (the instant claims 32 and 35),
wherein the polymer chains undergo cross linking and thereby straighten the hair upon drying (the instant claims 32 and 47) (claims 1 and 19);
wherein the monoacrylate oligomer is 2-hydroxy-3-(prop-2-enoyloxy)propyl 2-methyl-2-propylhexanoate (the instant claim 36 item iii) (claim 5);
wherein the cross-linker unit is 2-(methacryloyloxy)ethylacetoacetate (AAEM) (the instant claim 37 item ii) (claim 6);
and the formulation further comprising about 0.05-18 wt% and about 3-5.0 wt% reducing agents such as thioglycolates and pH adjusting agents (the instant claims 44 and 45) (paragraph 79);
and exemplified pH of 6.8 in example 4 (the instant claim 32).
Uzan et al. do not specify the thiol containing organic compound being cysteine in the instant claim 32 and N-acetyl cysteine in the instant claims 35, 39, 52, and 53 and the pH of the formulation in the instant claims 35 and 41.
This deficiency is cured by Gregolin et al. who teach hair straightening compositions with a pH of 5 comprising at least one reducing agent including N-acetyl cysteine, glyceryl thioglycolate, etc., (abstract, paragraph 480-481, and claims 1 and 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Uzan et al. and Gregolin et al. to replace about 0.05-18 wt% of thioglycolate reducing agents in the hair straightening composition taught by Uzan et al. with about 0.05-18 wt% of N-acetyl cysteine and to specify the pH of the composition being 5. Both N-acetyl cysteine and glyceryl thioglycolate being suitable reducing agent in hair straightening compositions with a pH of 5 was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for replacing thioglycolate reducing agents in the hair straightening composition taught by Uzan et al. with N-acetyl cysteine flows from both N-acetyl cysteine and glyceryl thioglycolate being suitable reducing agent in hair straightening compositions having been used in the prior art, and from them being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose. The motivation for specifying the pH of the composition aught by Uzan et al. being 5 flows from hair straightening compositions with a pH of 5 having been used in the prior art, and from hair straightening compositions with a pH of 5 being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Uzan et al. do not specify the same weight percentage of thioglycolates as the thiol containing organic compound (about 0.05-18 wt% vs the claimed 0.01-0.9% in the instant claim 32 and 0.2-0.6 wt% in the instant claim 35).
This deficiency is cured by the rationale that a prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the range of a claimed composition lies inside the range disclosed in the prior art, such as in the instant rejection.
The claimed range of thiol containing organic compound is 0.1-0.8 wt% and the range of thioglycolates taught in the prior art is about 0.05-18 wt% and therefor, includes the claimed range.
Uzan et al. do not specify the claimed weight percentages of
the polymer (about 5-55 wt% vs the claimed about 1.5-12 wt% and 3-7 wt% in the instant claims 39 and 41),
the surfactant (about 0.5-15 wt% vs the claimed about 0.2-4 wt% in the instant claim 39), and
N-acetyl cysteine (about 0.05-18 wt% vs the claimed 0.2-0.8% in the instant claim 39).
This deficiency is cured by the rationale that a prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the range of a claimed composition lies inside/overlaps with the range disclosed in the prior art, such as in the instant rejection.
The claimed ranges of polymer are about 1.5-12 wt% and 3-7 wt% and the range of polymer taught in the prior art is about 5-55 wt% and therefor, overlaps with the claimed ranges.
The claimed range of surfactant is about 0.2-4 wt% and the range of surfactant taught in the prior art is about 0.5-15 wt% and therefor, overlaps with the claimed range.
The claimed range of N-acetyl cysteine is 0.2-0.8 wt% and the range of N-acetyl cysteine taught in the prior art is about 0.05-18 wt% and therefor, includes the claimed range.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/11/2026, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejections. However, the examiner would like to address the following arguments to the extend they pertain to the new ground of rejections.
Applicants argue that Gregolin et al. do not teach the claimed acrylic-based composition.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In the instant case, Gregolin et al. provide teachings of the species of reducing agents thioglycolates for straightening hair taught by Uzan et al. including N-acetyl cysteine (NAC). Please refer to MPEP 2145.III:
the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicants argue that US 4,992,267 teaches ≥3% by weight of cysteine while ≥1% by weight of cysteine derivative.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. US 4,992,267 is not the prior art in the rejection above, rather, Gregolin et al. is the secondary prior art in the rejection above for providing teachings of the species of reducing agents thioglycolates for straightening hair taught by Uzan et al. including N-acetyl cysteine and the 0.1-20% by weight of reducing agents being suitable which overlaps with the claimed 0.01-0.9% by weight of thiol-containing compounds (reducing agent).
Applicants argue that claimed combination of thiol-containing compounds and acrylic polymers and their amounts provide unexpected enhanced maintenance of the wet shape of the hair, etc., in comparison to them being used individually, i.e., synergy.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive.
First, Uzan et al. teach thioglycolates reducing agent for straightening hair which include N-acetyl cysteine and are capable of reducing the disulfide bonds of the hair (→ enhance the straightening effect → addition of any one of the thioglycolates reducing agent would result in the alleged unexpected results) according to Gregolin et al.
Second, claims drawn to (unexpectedly) synergistic combinations of known ingredients must be factually supported by data commensurate in scope with the claims. Please refer to MPEP 716.02(a) I:
“A greater than expected result is an evidentiary factor pertinent to the legal conclusion of obviousness ... of the claims at issue.”
Evidence of a greater than expected result may also be shown by demonstrating an effect which is greater than the sum of each of the effects taken separately (i.e., demonstrating “synergism”).
Applicants argue that example 6 demonstrates composition comprising NAC of different concentration in comparison to composition without NAC.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive.
First, as responded above, enhance the straightening effect → addition of any one of the thioglycolates reducing agent would result in the alleged unexpected results.
Second, assuming – purely arguendo – there were unexpected results based on the specific formulations 3-7 in example 6, the scope of the compositions in example 6 formulations 3-7 are much narrower than the scope of the instant claims 32 and 35 with regard to the components and their weight percentages. There is no adequate basis for reasonably concluding that the great number and variety of compositions included by the claims would behave in the same manner as the single tested composition. In other words, Applicant has not shown that based on this single example, it is reasonable to expect that other embodiments falling within the scope of the claims will behave similarly. Please refer to MPEP 716.02(b) III.:
Evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims.
Applicants argue that figure 4A-4C (example 7) demonstrates unpleasant smell of a formulation comprising 1% by weight of NAC.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. Example 7 allegedly demonstrates unpleasant smell of a formulation comprising 1% by weight of NAC; however, as the same as discussed above, the scope of the compositions in example 7 formulations 3-7 are much narrower than the scope of the instant claims 32 and 35 with regard to the components and their weight percentages. Please refer to MPEP 716.02(b) III discussed above.
Applicant’s arguments based on the affidavit are addressed in the Response to applicants’ 37 CFR 1.132 declaration below.
Response to applicants’ 37 CFR 1.132 declaration:
The affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 06/11/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of pending claims based upon Uzan et al. and Gregolin et al. as set forth in the last Office action because: the quantitative FTIR analysis does appear to demonstrate higher change of the combined (Locx) in comparison to the sum of individual Locx-EF and Locx-NAC; however, the components and their weight percentages of Locx is not disclosed for the examiner to assess the scope of the Locx in order to compare the scope of the Locx to the scope of the instant claims 32 and 35. Please refer to MPEP 716.02(b) III discussed above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG YU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614