DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 of A. F. Palmstrom, et al., US 18/553,888 (10/04/2023) are pending. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn as drawn to the non-elected Group II. Claims 1-18 are under examination on merits and are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Pursuant to the restriction requirement, Applicant elected Group I, without traverse, in the reply filed on 03/11/2026. Claims 19-20 drawn to nonelected Group II are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). The restriction requirement is made as FINAL.
Claims Rejections 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the claim must apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of its scope so as to provide clear warning to others as to what constitutes infringement. MPEP 2173.02(II); Solomon v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 216 F.3d 1372, 1379, 55 USPQ2d 1279, 1283 (Fed. Cir. 2000). The meaning of every term used in a claim should be apparent from the prior art or from the specification and drawings at the time the application is filed. Claim language may not be ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention. MPEP § 2173.05(a).
Claim 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because "substantially" recited by claim 1 is a relative term and the specification provides definitions for the claim term "substantially" as follows:
As used herein the term "substantially" is used to indicate that exact values are not necessarily attainable. By way of example, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that in some chemical reactions 100% conversion of a reactant is possible, yet unlikely. Most of a reactant may be converted to a product and conversion of the reactant may asymptotically approach 100% conversion. So, although from a practical perspective 100% of the reactant is converted, from a technical perspective, a small and sometimes difficult to define amount remains. For this example of a chemical reactant, that amount may be relatively easily defined by the detection limits of the instrument used to test for it. However, in many cases, this amount may not be easily defined, hence the use of the term "substantially". In some embodiments of the present invention, the term "substantially" is defined as approaching a specific numeric value or target to within 20%,15%,10%, 5%, or within 1% of the value or target. In further embodiments of the present invention, the term "substantially" is defined as approaching a specific numeric value or target to within 1%,0.9%,0.8%,0.7%,0.6%,0.5%,0.4%,0.3%, 0.2%, or 0.1% of the value or target.
See specification at page 6, line 6-19, emphasis added.
Clearly the specification has different definitions for the claimed term "substantially", therefore, one of skill in the art does not know which of these values is imported into the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
35 USC § 102 Rejection over Javier
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by V-B. Javier, et al, US 20180204682 A1(2018)(“Javier”) evidenced with M. M. Hamada, et al, 505, Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A, 517-520 (2003)(“Hamada”).
Javier teaches a method of preparing organolead halide perovskites (CH3NH3PbX3) by precipitation from solution as follows:
[0048] Briefly, for the solution phase synthesis of halide methylamine precursors, hydroiodic acid (10 mL, 0.075 mol) or hydrobromic acid. (8.6 mL, 0.075 mol) or hydrochloric acid (6.2 mL, 0.075 mol) was added to a solution of excess methylamine (24 mL, 0.192 mol) in ethanol (100 mL) at 0° C., and the mixture was stirred for 2 hours. The mixture was concentrated and dried under vacuum at 60° C. for 12 hours, and recrystallized from ethanol. Lead(II) iodide (99%) and lead(II) bromide (98+%) were purchased from Acros Organics (Geel, Belgium); lead(II) chloride (99.999%) and methylamine solution (33 wt % in ethanol) from Sigma-Aldrich, Inc. (St. Louis, Mo.); hydroiodic acid (ACS, 55-58%), hydrobromic acid (ACS, 47.0-49.0%), hydrochloric acid (ACS, 37.2%), N,N-dimethylformamide (“DMF,” 99.9%), and toluene (99.9%) from Fisher Scientific (Porto Salvo, Portugal); acetonitrile (HPLC grade, 99.8%) from EMD Millipore (Darmstadt, Germany). All chemicals were used as received.
[0049] For solution phase synthesis, CH3NH3PbI3 was synthesized by dissolving PbI2 (0.08 mmol) and CH3NH3I (0.24 mmol) in acetonitrile (20 mL), followed by precipitation via the addition of excess toluene. CH3NH3PbBr3 and CH3NH3PbCl3 were synthesized by dissolving PbBr2 (0.2 mmol) and CH3NH3Br (0.2 mmol) or PbCl2 (0.2 mmol) and CH3NH3Cl (0.2 mmol) in DMF (5 mL) followed by precipitation via the addition of excess toluene. . . . . the resulting solid could be annealed at 100° C. for 1 hour. . .
Javier at page 4, left col. [0048]-[0049], emphasis added.
The Javier method for the preparation of halide perovskite CH3NH3PbI3 comprises:
(i). preparing a mixture by dissolving two halide perovskite precursors that are PbI2 and CH3NH3I in acetonitrile;
(ii).forming a halide perovskite crystal that is CH3NH3PbI3 by precipitation from the solution; and
(iii). separating the halide perovskite crystal CH3NH3PbI3 from the mixture,
wherein the precursor PbI2 contains 1% impurity, and the halide perovskite crystal is substantially free of the impurity because its structure is confirmed by powder X-ray diffraction (XRD) analysis as Hamada teaches that:
the XRD pattern of CH3NH3PbI3 matches the tetragonal standard pattern of its most stable room temperature phase, while those of CH3NH3PbBr3 and CH3NH3PbCl3 match their cubic standard patterns.
Javier at page 4, right col. [0051], line 7-10, emphasis added.
The Javier method meets each and every limitation of claim 1, therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
Claim 2 is anticipated because Javier teaches that the synthesized halide perovskites CH3NH3PbI3 is tetragonal, therefore, it is a 3D crystal.
Claim 3 is anticipated because CH3NH3PbI3 is a ABX3 perovskite, wherein, A is CH3NH3, B is Pb and X is I.
Claims 4-5 are anticipated because CH3NH3PbI3 maps the Csz(FAxMA1-x) 1-zPb(Clw(IyBr1-y)1-w)3 as each of z, x and w is 0 and y is 1.
Claims 6-7 are anticipated because Javier teaches that the precursors are PbI2 and CH3NH3I; and the purity of PbI2 is 99% which anticipates the claimed 95%-99.99%.
Claims 8-9 are anticipated because the evidence from Hamada indicated that 99.0% commercial PbI2 comprise impurity of metals Na, K, Ag, Mn, Co, Fe, W, and Au. See Hamada at page 518, left col. 2. Materials and method, line 1-5, and Table 1 at page 519.
Claim 10 is anticipated because acetonitrile is a polar solvent.
Claim 11 is anticipated because Javier teaches to add toluene to the reaction mixture.
Claim 12 is anticipated because Javier teaches the preparation is conducted at room temperature that anticipates the claimed 20-180ºC.
Claim 13-14 are anticipated because Javier teaches to concentrate and dry the mixture.
Claim 15-16 are obvious because the impurities from PbI2 remains in the reaction mixture. Once the precipitation of perovskite CH3NH3PbI3 is formed, two phases are formed, one of which is the solid perovskite CH3NH3PbI3 and another one is the liquid phase containing the impurity.
Claim 17 is anticipated because Javier teaches to anneal the formed perovskite CH3NH3PbI3, through which any remaining portion of the impurity is removed.
Claim 18 is anticipated because Javier also teaches a method of forming a bilayer perovskite film consisting of a CH3NH3PbI3 and a CH3NH3PbBr3 with isolated CH3NH3PbI3 as follows:
[0082] Specifically, CH3NH3PbI3 and CH3NH3PbBr3 precursor solutions were made by dissolving PbI2 (155 mg) and CH3NH3I (53.4 mg) in γ-butyrolactone (3 mL) or by dissolving PbBr2 (200 mg) and CH3NH3Br (61 mg) in N,N-dimethylformamide (2 mL), respectively. Each single halide perovskite was precipitated as a powder by diluting each precursor solution to 50 mL with toluene. Approximately 100 mg of each perovskite was added to a separate 6 mL scintillation vial with 0.15 mL toluene followed by stirring to form a thick paste. Four to five drops of each perovskite paste was added to separate pieces of Kapton polyimide tape of 19 mm (0.75″) width from a Pasteur pipette to form a sample spot size of 7 mm×7 mm (0.25″ x 0.25″) as shown in FIGS. 16A and 16B, which depict CH3NH3PbI3 powder and CH3NH3PbBr3 powder, respectively. Both pieces of Kapton tape were then pressed together to form a bilayer perovskite film consisting of a CH3NH3PbI3 and a CH3NH3PbBr3 layer on top of each other (FIGS. 16C and 16D). Kapton tape was used due to its reported temperature stability up to 260° C. and also because it mimics a transparent flexible substrate for thin film devices; in addition, Kapton tape is impermeable to gases.
Javier at page 8, right col. [0082], emphasis added.
35 USC § 102 Rejection over Snaith
Claims 1, 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by H. J. Snaith, et al, US 20190115549A1 (2019)(“Snaith”) evidenced with M. M. Hamada, et al, 505, Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A, 517-520 (2003)(“Hamada”).
Snaith teaches a process for producing a layer of crystalline A/M/X comprising a compound of formula [A]a[M]b[X]c, wherein the process comprises disposing on a substrate a precursor composition comprising:
(a) a first precursor compound comprising a first cation (M), which first cation is a metal or metalloid cation; and
(b) a solvent,
wherein the solvent comprises;
(i). acetonitrile, propionitrile, acetone or a mixture thereof; and
(ii).an alkylamine.
Snaith at page 2, [0014]-[0026].
Snaith teaches that:
Typically, the process further comprises removing the solvent to form the layer comprising the perovskite compound. Removing the solvent may comprise heating the solvent, or allowing the solvent to evaporate.
Snaith at page 11, [0171].
Snaith specifies that:
In one embodiment, the process comprises disposing on a substrate a precursor composition comprising: (a) PbI2; (b) a solvent which comprises acetonitrile and methylamine; and (c) (CH3NH3)I.
Snaith at page 11, [0173].
Snaith teaches working example for precursor solution as follows:
PbI2 (99% purity, Sigma Aldrich) and MAI (Dyesol) were combined in a vial in a 1:1 molar ratio. Acetonitrile (ACN, Sigma Aldrich) was added to the vial such the resultant molarity was 0.5 M. The dispersion was then placed on a shaker for 5 minutes until a black powder was formed. A 40 wt % solution of methylamine in H2O (Sigma Aldrich) was placed in a bubbler which was connected to a drying tube. The methylamine solution was kept in an ice bath while nitrogen was flowed through the system. The bubbling system was then connected through the syringe to the ACN dispersion, and methylamine was bubbled through the black dispersion until a clear, pale yellow solution was obtained. methylamine was bubbled through the black dispersion until a clear, pale yellow solution was obtained.
Snaith at page 13, [0243], emphasis added.
Snaith also teaches that the formed CH3NH3PbI3 is confirmed by UV-Vis absorption and steady-state PL measurement, therefore, the formed CH3NH3PbI3 is pure. Snaith at page 13, [0252].
The Snaith method comprises:
(i). preparing a mixture by dissolving PbI2 and CH3NH3I in acetonitrile;
(ii).forming a halide perovskite crystal (CH3NH3PbI3) as a powder; and
(iii). separating the solid powder from the solvent,
wherein the precursor PbI2 contains 1% impurity, and the formed CH3NH3PbI3 is pure.
Which meets each and every limitation of claim 1, therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
Claims 3-10 are also anticipated for the same reason as given above for the rejection over Javier.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting Rejections
Claims 1, 3-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15 and 19 of the U.S. Patent No. US 10,797,255B2 (2020) that has been published as US 20190115549A1 in view of V-B. Javier, et al, US 20180204682 A1 (2018)(“Javier”) as evidenced with M. M. Hamada, et al, 505, Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research Section A, 517-520 (2003)(“Hamada”).
Conflicting Claims
The conflicting claim 1 claims:
1. A process for producing a layer of crystalline A/M/X material, which crystalline A/M/X material comprises a compound of formula [A]a[M]b[X]c,
wherein:
[M] comprises one or more first cations, which one or more first cations are one or more metal or metalloid cations selected from Ca2+, Sr2+, Cd2+, Cu2+, Ni2+, Mn2+, Fe2+, Co2+, Pd2+, Ge2+, Sn2+, Pb2+, Yb2+, Eu2+, Bi3+, Sb3+, Pd4+, W4+, Re4+, Os4+, Ir4+, Pt4+, Sn4+, Pb4+, Ge4+ and Te4+;
[A] comprises one or more second cations;
[X] comprises one or more halide anions;
a is an integer from 1 to 6;
b is an integer from 1 to 6; and
c is an integer from 1 to 18,
and wherein the process comprises disposing on a substrate a precursor composition comprising:
(a) a first precursor compound comprising a first cation (M), which first cation is a metal or metalloid cation; and
(b) a solvent,
wherein the solvent comprises;
(i) acetonitrile, propionitrile, acetone or a mixture thereof; and
(ii) an alkylamine.
The conflicting claim 15 further claims:
15. A process according to claim 1, wherein the process further comprises removing the solvent to form the layer comprising the perovskite compound.
The conflicting claim 19 further claims:
19. A process according to claim 1, which process comprises disposing on a substrate a precursor composition comprising:
(a) PbI2;
(b) a solvent which comprises acetonitrile and methylamine; and
(c) (CH3NH3)I.
The Difference Between the Conflicting Claims and the Instant Claim 1
The combination of the conflicting claims 15 and 19 differs from the instant claim 1 only in that the conflicting claims do not claim “ at least one of the halide perovskite precursors contains an impurity”.
V-B. Javier, et al, US 20180204682 A1 (2018)(“Javier”)
Javier teaches that Lead(II) iodide (99%) from Acros Organics (Geel, Belgium) can be used to prepare perovskite CH3NH3PbI3. Javier at page 4, left col. [0048].
Claims 1, 3-10 are Obvious
Claim 1 is obvious because one ordinary skill seeking crystalline A/M/X material is motivated to conduct a combination of the conflicting claims 15 and 19 with commercial available Lead(II) iodide (99%) in view of the teaching from Javier, thus arrive at a method meeting each and every limitation of claim 1, therefore, claim 1 is obvious.
Claims 3-10 are also obvious for the same reason as given the 102 rejection above.
Terminal Disclaimer
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK S. HOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/ALEXANDER R PAGANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692