DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yamaguchi reference does not disclose the distal end of the axial lip 232A extends radially outwardly until contacting an inward facing surface of slinger 40. Yamaguchi does not disclose the deformable portion 236A is tapered at the end towards the rigid abutting sleeve 40A.
Examiner notes that Yamaguchi fig 10 and Para 0142 disclose that the axial lip 232A is formed to extend outwards of a bearing from a radially central portion of a side surface 30A of a seal 20A almost parallel to an axis and branches into a first sliding contact portion 234A which has a conical shape and expands outwards of the bearing and a second sliding contact portion 236A which has a reversely conical shape and contracts outwards of the bearing.
Hence the axial lip 232A extends parallel to the axis and the deformable portion 236A is tapered at the end towards the rigid abutting sleeve 40A, as 236A has a reversely conical shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the adjacent outward facing surface of the first component" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 13 and 15 - 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20110075958) in view of Nakanishi (EP 29299989).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses a sealing assembly (fig 2) comprising: a rigid abutting sleeve (40) hermetically and fixedly arranged on an end of a first component (12) of a robot (intended use) and axially extending into a ring-shaped groove (15) formed at an end of a second component (14) of the robot (intended use), the second component (14) being coaxially rotatable relative to the first component (14 rotates relative to 12, Para 0002);
wherein a portion of the rigid abutting sleeve is configured to contact an end surface of the first component when in an installed configuration (40 contacts end surface of 12 at 42); and
a rotatory seal (20) arranged in the ring-shaped groove (15) and axially extending beyond or flush with an end surface of the second component (20 flush with end surface of 14), the rotatory seal comprising: a coupling portion (24);
Yamaguchi fig 2 does not disclose a deformable portion extending radially inward from the coupling portion to abut against an outward facing surface of the rigid abutting sleeve,
wherein the deformable portion is tapered from the coupling portion towards the rigid abutting sleeve.
However, Yamaguchi fig 10 teaches a deformable portion (236A) extending radially inward from the coupling portion (24, fig 2 same as fig 10) to abut against an outward facing surface of the rigid abutting sleeve (236A against outward facing surface of 40A at an angle),
wherein the deformable portion is tapered from the coupling portion towards the rigid abutting sleeve (Para 0142 – 236A has a reversely conical shape, 236A tapered at the end towards 40A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the radially inward deformable portion of Yamaguchi fig 10 from the coupling portion of Yamaguchi fig 2 with a reasonable expectation of success so that the contacting state between the lip and the rigid abutting sleeve can be maintained even in in a state that the bearing is rotating at high speeds (Yamaguchi Para 0145).
Yamaguchi does not disclose a gasket arranged between and axially compressed by the first component and the rigid abutting sleeve.
However, Nakanishi teaches a gasket (22, fig 2) arranged between and axially compressed by the first component (31, fig 2) and the rigid abutting sleeve (11, fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the gasket of Nakanishi between the sleeve and the first component of Yamaguchi with a reasonable expectation of success so that the gasket acts as a seal between the sleeve and the first component to avoid any possible leakage.
The combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses a gasket (Nakanishi 22) arranged between and axially compressed by the first component (Nakanishi 31) and the rigid abutting sleeve (Nakanishi 11) such that the portion of the rigid abutting sleeve (Yamaguchi 42) contacting the end surface of the first component (Yamaguchi 12) acts as a stop to prevent further compression of the gasket (Yamaguchi 42 acts as a stop to prevent further compression of the gasket 22 of Nakanishi).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the rigid abutting sleeve is shaped to provide a smooth transition from the outward facing surface of the rigid abutting sleeve (Yamaguchi 40) to an adjacent outward facing surface of the first component (Yamaguchi 12).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the rigid abutting sleeve comprises : a sleeve body (Yamaguchi body of 40) of a cylindrical shape or a cone shape (Yamaguchi cylindrical shape of 40 at 44) and axially extending into the ring-shaped groove (Yamaguchi 40 at 446, extends into 15); and a radial protrusion radially protruding from the sleeve body and comprising at least one of a radial inward protrusion (Yamaguchi radial inward protrusion at 42) extending towards a central axis of the first component (Yamaguchi 12) or a radial outward protrusion (Yamaguchi 46) extending away from the central axis (Yamaguchi fig 4).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the gasket (Yamaguchi 12) is arranged between the radial outward protrusion (Yamaguchi 46) and the end of the first component (Yamaguchi end of 12), and the gasket is compressed to a predetermined level ( Nakanishi gasket can be compressed to a predetermined level) when the sleeve body is fixedly arranged in a stepped groove formed at the end of the first component (Yamaguchi 40 on a stepped groove of 12 at 42).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein a circumferential edge between an axial outward facing surface of the radial outward protrusion away from the end of the first component and an adjacent outward facing surface of the sleeve body are chamfered or rounded (Yamaguchi chamfered edge at 47).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the gasket (Nakanishi 22) is arranged between the sleeve body (Yamaguchi 40) and a shoulder of the first component (Yamaguchi shoulder of 12) which is at a predetermined distance from an end surface of the first component (Yamaguchi shoulder of 12 at a distance from the end surface of 12), and the gasket (Nakanishi 22) is compressed to a predetermined level when the radial inward protrusion touches the end surface of the first component (Nakanishi 22 is compressed to a predetermined level when the radial inward protrusion touches the end surface of the first component).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the rigid abutting sleeve is integrally formed (Yamaguchi 40 is integral).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the deformable portion is tapered from the coupling portion to an end edge of the deformable portion in contact with the rigid abutting sleeve (Yamaguchi 32 is tapered).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the end edge of the deformable portion is rounded or chamfered to provide a smooth transition from an outward facing surface of the deformable portion to the adjacent outward facing surface of the rigid abutting sleeve (Yamaguchi end of 32 is rounded).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, further comprising : a rigid mounting member (Yamaguchi 22) arranged on the coupling portion (Yamaguchi 24) to facilitate the coupling of the coupling portion to the ring-shaped groove (Yamaguchi 22 capable of the limitation).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the rotatory seal is formed integrally with a self-lubricating and/or corrosion-resistant material (Yamaguchi 20 is formed of rubber material which is corrosion resistant).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses a robot, comprising at least one joint sealed by the sealing assembly (Yamaguchi fig 2).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the robot, wherein the rigid abutting sleeve is shaped to provide a smooth transition from the outer surface of the rigid abutting sleeve to the adjacent outer surface of the first component (Yamaguchi 40 shaped at 42 for smooth transition).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the robot, wherein the rigid abutting sleeve comprises:a sleeve body of a cylindrical shape or a cone shape and axially extending into the ring-shaped groove; and a radial protrusion radially protruding from the sleeve body and comprising at least one of a radial inward protrusion extending towards a central axis of the first component or a radial outward protrusion extending away from the central axis (See rejection to Claim 4).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the robot, wherein the deformable portion is tapered from the coupling portion to an end edge of the deformable portion in contact with the rigid abutting sleeve (See rejection to Claim 9).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the robot, wherein the end edge of the deformable portion is rounded or chamfered to provide a smooth transition from an outward facing surface of the deformable portion to the adjacent outward facing surface of the rigid abutting sleeve (See rejection to Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the robot, wherein the sealing assembly further comprises : a rigid mounting member arranged on the coupling portion to facilitate the coupling of the coupling portion to the ring-shaped groove (See rejection to Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the robot, wherein the rotatory seal is formed integrally with a self- lubricating and/or corrosion-resistant material (See rejection to Claim 12).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Yamaguchi and Nakanishi discloses the sealing assembly, wherein the deformable portion abuts against the outward facing surface of the rigid abutting sleeve at an angle of at least 90° (Yamaguchi 236A, fig 10 abuts against the outward facing surface of the rigid abutting sleeve 40A, fig 10 at an angle of at least 90°).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675