DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 12, 13, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner points out that in the claims, stating that “the one or more assurance goals” are “for a target location identified by at least one tracking area identity” only expresses the purpose of the goals but does not in any way change how they are defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-19, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is amended as follows:
receiving, from an ACCL consumer, one or more assurance goals associated with an ACCL derived by the ACCL consumer from at least one of a service profile or a slice profile,
Claim 9 is amended as follows:
receive, from an ACCL consumer, one or more assurance goals associated with an ACCL derived by the ACCL consumer from at least one of a service profile or a slice profile,
The applicant disclosed the following:
[56] In another embodiment, the ACCL consumer 401 may be directly associated with the ACCL system 101. The ACCL system 101 comprises a ACCL provider 402, a Network Slice/ Network Slice Subnet provisioning Management Service (MnS provider 403 (referred as provisioning MnS provider 403 in Figure 4), and a performance assurance MnS provider 404 (referred as performance MnS provider 404 in Figure 4). Referring to step 411, the ACCL consumer 401 may identify/derive the one or more assurance goals from the service profile or slice profile. At step 412, the ACCL consumer 401 may identify/derive the one or more assurance goals for at least one of, the one or more target locations and the one or more target UEs. At step 413, the ACCL consumer 401 may provide the one or more assurance goals to the ACCL provider 402.
Claim 3 previously covered:
3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more assurance goals are derived by the ACCL consumer from at least one of a service profile or a slice profile
The preamble of claim 1 defines an ACCL as an assurance closed control loop. The applicant did not originally disclose that an ACCL is derived from at least one service profile or a slice profile as now claimed. For examination purposes it will be assumed that the applicant is trying to actually claim what is disclosed in paragraph 52 regarding goals derived from a service profile or slice profile.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
The applicant argues in their 8/12/2016 remarks that:
Amended Claim 1 requires receiving, from an ACCL consumer, one or more assurance goals derived by the ACCL consumer from at least one of a service profile or a slice profile. Critically, the claim requires that the assurance goals are derived by the ACCL consumer, meaning the assurance goals are determined at the consumer side.
Claim 1 covers a method performed by an electronic device (ACCL system 101) that is not the ACCL consumer (See Figure 4). Claim 9 covers electronic device ACCL system 101 that is not the ACCL consumer. The applicant is arguing that the ACCL consumer deriving assurance goals is critical to the claimed invention but the applicant is not covering this critical feature because the actions performed by the ACCL consumer are beyond the scope of the claims, which only cover ACCL system 101. How the assurance goals might have been created by the ACCL consumer does not change the scope of how they are received by ACCL system 101.
The applicant is encouraged to claims a system including both the ACCL system 101 and the ACCL consumer if the applicant wants to cover actions performed by the ACCL consumer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 11,418,970 by Kim et al.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a method of providing wireless communication network assurance by an electronic device (Application Function in Figure 10) supporting participating in an assurance closed control loop (ACCL), the method comprising: receiving, from an ACCL consumer (UE in Figure 10), one or more assurance goals (col. 20, lines 38-43, step 1001) associated with an ACCL derived by the ACCL consumer from at least one of a service profile (col. 13, lines 41-53, the QOS goals are derived from the VSX service profile), wherein the one or more assurance goals are for a target location (areas served by PMMN #1 or #2) identified by at least one tracking area identity (TAI) (PLMN); obtaining measurement data for the target location from a performance management service (MnS) provider (col. 20, line 47-col. 21, line 5, steps 1003-1006); determining whether the one or more assurance goals are fulfilled based on the measurement data (col. 21, lines 1-13, AF selects a PLMN based on collected data); and transmitting information related to a fulfilment of the one or more assurance goals to the ACCL consumer (col. 21, lines 1-13, step 1007).
As t claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1.
As to claims 4 and 12, see steps 1003 and 1005.
As to claim 5 and 13, see col. 21, lines 1-13.
As to claim 7, see step 1008.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Number 11,418,970 by Kim et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0377814 by Sillanpaa.
As to claims 8 and 15, Kim teaches the subject matter of claims 7 and 9, however Kim does not teach mitigating actions include decreasing a maximum number of users allocated per slice or adding one or more network resources.
Sillanpaa teaches the idea of performing a mitigation action that decreases maximum number of users allocated per a slice (quotas are limited) and adding one or more network resources (resources are reserved for slice users) when goals are not fulfilled (Figure 8 and corresponding disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network management art at time of applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Kim regarding managing service to devices in a mobile network with the teachings of Sillanpaa regarding mitigating actions because such mitigation actions by Sillanpaa allow for more precise management of the resources of the network of Kim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS B BLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454