DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s claim language lacks precision and coherence. The applicant has amended the first limitation of claim 1 and 9 to specifying “receiving one or more assurance goals associated with the ACCL for a target location from an ACCL consumer”. The applicant does not define any “ACCL for a target location” and even if the applicant did, it is not clear how the term “associated with” limits the received goals based on the ACCL for the target location. The applicant then amended to claim to “obtaining measurement data for the target location from a performance management service (MnS) provider” but this language is so broad that it does preclude situations where all measurement data is obtained, where the entirety of the data would include any data for an individual target location. Additionally, the applicant does not even define, in the claims, what the “target location” is.
With this in mind, the applicant’s argument that “Yang does not disclose that the eSON management device receives the target SLA target for a target location, from the UE” is irrelevant to the scope of the current claims because the claims do not define or cover a target location in any coherent manner. The applicant’s arguments regarding ACCL are not persuasive because the applicant is not specifically claiming ACCL and the specification does not provide a limiting definition of ACCL that precludes the data from Yang from reading on the claimed. The applicant has not incorporated any documents by reference which define the concept of ACCL. Instead, the applicant is claiming a device and method “supporting an ACCL” and assurance goals are “associated with” ACCL. The applicant’s argument’s regarding ACCL are not supported by the language of either the claims or the disclosure and therefore are irrelevant to the patentability of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 9 recite the limitation "the ACCL for a target location" in the first limitation of each claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The applicant does not define an “ACCL for a target location”. The preambles of claims 1 and 9 state that the respective method and device are for “supporting an assurance closed control loop (ACCL) for providing wireless communication network assurance”. Supporting an ACCL is a statement of intended use and does not limit the claim (see MPEP 2111.02(II)). Additionally, the preamble does not even reference any specific ACCL “for a target location”. It is not clear how the received goals are even supposed to be “associated with” the ACCL for a target location.
Claims 1 and 9 recite the limitation "the target location" in the second limitation of each claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims previously refer to “the ACCL for a target location” but not an actually target location that is defined in any manner by the claim. It is therefore not clear what the applicant is referring to by “the target location”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 12, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. patent Application Publication number 2019/0372837 by Yang et al.
As to claim 1, Yang teaches a method of providing wireless communication network assurance by an electronic device supporting an ACCL, the method comprising: receiving one or more assurance goals (paragraph 27, SLA) associated with the ACCL for a target location (paragraphs 18 and 30 and Figure 3, the SLA is applied to localized resources in particular slices) from an ACCL consumer (UE); obtaining measurement data for the target location (paragraphs 48 and 49) from a performance management service provider (the data is monitored from and thus “obtained” from the edge cloud 110); and determining whether the one or more assurance goals are complied based on the measurement data (paragraphs 41, 48, and 49).
As to claim 9, it is rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
As to claims 4 and 12, see paragraphs 41, 48, 49, 68 and 74.
As to claims 5 and 13, see paragraphs 41, 48, 49, 68 and 74.
As to claims 7, 8, and 15, see paragraphs 37 and 45.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent Application Publication number 2019/0372837 by Yang et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0317157 by Baek et al.
As to claim 3, Yang teaches the subject matter of claim 1 including wherein the one or more assurance goals are derived by the ACCL consumer (UE) from the slice profile (paragraphs 28-31, SLA is directed towards localized slice) however Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the target location is associated with a tracking area identity (TAI).
Baek teaches monitoring goals for target location a tracking area identity (TAI) (paragraphs 201-207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network management art at the time of the filing to combine the teachings of Yang regarding monitoring goals related to RAN with the teachings of Baek regarding monitoring a target location using a TAI because such information can help to better track the experience of UEs accessing the network environment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS B BLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454