DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim 7 has been amended. Claims 15-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/03/2025, with respect to objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The art rejections are maintained. See the response to the arguments below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geotheer et al. (EP 3536823 A1).
Considering claim 1, Geotheer discloses a process of electrochemically converting a gas in an electrochemical cell, comprising: a) feeding a gas-containing absorbent into an electrochemical cell [0023]; b) releasing a gas from the gas-containing absorbent by using thermal energy [0035], wherein at least part of the thermal energy originates from Joule heat generated by the electrochemical cell (inherently, as the applied current flows through the cell having ohmic resistance), and c) converting the released gas to form a product [0023].
Considering claim 2, Geotheer discloses the gas is carbon dioxide [0023].
Considering claims 3 and 4, Geotheer discloses gas-absorbent is either aqueous non-aqueous [0046].
Considering claims 5 and 6, Geotheer discloses the gas-containing absorbent comprises a physical or chemical solvent [0046].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art (Geotheer et al. (EP 3536823 A1) discloses the claimed invention except the gas-containing absorbent is being fed into a compartment, the gas being released from the gas-containing absorbent inside the compartment and being transported through a gas permeable layer to a cathode compartment. Geotheer teaches that high temperature may adversely influence the solubility of carbon dioxide, resulting in lower conversion and current efficiencies [0070], therefore one would not be motivated to try to separate the gas from the captured liquid by a gas-permeable layer.
Similarly, Lakkaraju et al. (US 20130008800 A1) discloses carbon dioxide capture method, including feeding a gas-containing absorbent into an electrochemical cell, releasing and converting CO2 to form a product (Fig. 1B).
Defilippis et al. (WO 03/077342 A2) discloses a bipolar plate comprising a gas permeable membrane on the anode side of a fuel cell allow for CO2, which is a product to be vented out of the cell. Therefore, there is not motivation to combine the above references.
The prior art of record does not disclose nor suggest the instantly claimed invention as a whole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/03/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claim requires that the Joule heat is generated by current conducting parts of the electrochemical cell, which is distinct from ohmic losses due to ionic resistance or the electrolyte used in the electrochemical cell. Applicant points to paragraph [0044] of the PGPub, which states that heat produced by the electrochemical cell is for example produced by current conductive parts of the electrochemical cell (i.e., Joule heat, which is also known as Ohmic heat or electroconductive heat), ohmic losses due to ionic resistance of the electrolyte(s) used in the electrochemical cell, etc. It seems that Applicant suggests that Joule heat is different from the heat produced by ionic loses of the electrolyte. However, even if the heat from ionic resistance could not be considered Joule heat, the electrochemical cell of Goetheer will inherently produce ohmic heat from the electroconductive parts of the cell, such as the electrodes, because the current flows through the electrodes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WOJCIECH HASKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1794