DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s timely election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-2, directed to a method, in the reply filed on January 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, Group II, directed to a magnetizer, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-3 are pending and Claims 1-2 are considered in this office action.
Priority
Applicant’s claim to foreign priority in application no. JP2021-070163, filed April 19, 2021, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komura (cited by Applicant in IDS filed October 5, 2023, US 20080122565 A1) in view of Kou (“Coercivity and magnetic anisotropy of sintered-type permanent magnets”).
Regarding Claim 1, Komura discloses a permanent magnet manufacturing method comprising:
disposing a field magnet part near a to-be-magnetized object, the field magnet part to apply a magnetization magnetic field to the to-be-magnetized object, and
heating the to-be-magnetized object to a temperature equal to or higher than the Curie point of the to-be-magnetized object; and
cooling the to-be-magnetized object having reached the temperature equal to or higher than the Curie point to a temperature lower than the Curie point and continuously applying a magnetization magnetic field to the to-be-magnetized object by the field magnet part (Abstract; para. [0012]-[0013]; Fig. 3A-3B),
wherein the permanent magnets for magnetization are sintered SmCo magnets in a predetermined shape (Fig. 3A, bar-like magnetizing permanent magnets 20; para. [0040]-[0042] and para. [0056], sintered SmCo magnet).
While Kumora discloses using sintered SmCo magnets and also isotropic magnets (para. [0043]-[0044]), Kumora fails to expressly disclose that the sintered SmCo magnet is isotropic.
Kuo teaches wherein isotropic sintered SmCo magnets are conventionally known, and comprise substantially similar coercivities throughout the 200-800K temperature range as the anisotropic SmCo sintered magnet (Pg. 3929, Col. 1, para. 1; Fig. 4; Fig. 5); and therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the isotropic SmCo sintered magnet comprises similar thermal stabilities as the anisotropic SmCo sintered magnet, which is a desire of Kumora (see Fig. 1 and para. [0046] of Kumora).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used an isotropic sintered SmCo magnet, as taught by Kuo, for the magnetizing permanent magnets and invention of Kumora. One would be motivated to include an isotropic sintered SmCo magnet because Kumora teaches wherein sintered SmCo magnets and isotropic magnets are both suitable as magnetizing permanent magnets, and because Kuo teaches wherein the isotropic sintered SmCo magnet is conventionally known, and is a suitable equivalent to an anisotropic SmCo sintered magnet in terms of thermal stability and coercivities (see teachings above). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (see MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 2, Kumora discloses wherein the permanent magnets for magnetization are strip-shaped and Kuo discloses isotropic SmCo sintered magnets, which reads on the claimed limitations (Kumora, Fig. 3A and para. [0047], bar-like magnetizing permanent magnets 20; bar-like reads on strip-shaped; Kuo, Pg. 3929, Col. 1, para. 1 – see teachings above in Claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ausserlechner (previously cited, US 20180087926 A1): teaches a ring magnet comprising isotropic, sintered SmCo magnets (para. [0056]).
CATHERINE P. SMITH
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/CATHERINE P SMITH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735