DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/05/2023 and 12/20/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed” as recited in claim 6 (lines 11-12), and the “optical filter” as recited in claims 8 & 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein at least in the welding nozzle at least one channel” in line 3. This should be changed to “wherein at least one channel in the welding nozzle”, or “wherein at least in the welding nozzle comprises at least one channel”.
Claim 6 recites “can be” in several places in claim 6. This should be changed to “is/are”.
Claim 6 recites “the event” in line 24. This should be changed to “an event”.
Claim 6 recites “a termination” in line 26. This should be changed to “the termination” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 6 (line 20).
Claim 6 (lines 19, 29, 33-34, 34), claim 7 (lines 4-5), claim 9 (lines 8-9) recite the limitation “electronic regulation and control unit”. This should be changed to “electronic regulating and control unit” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 6 (lines 13-14).
Claims 7-10 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 6.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the laser machining head a camera coupling” in lines 1-2. This should be changed to “wherein the laser machining head further comprises a camera coupling”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a wire-shaped welding filler material” in line 2. This should be changed to “the wire-shaped welding filler material” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 6 (line 8).
Claim 9 recites “can be” in line 7. This should be changed to “is/are”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed” in claim 6 (lines 11-12). This limitation uses generic placeholder “device” (Prong A); the term “device” is modified by functional language “for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed” (Prong B); and the term “device” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
“electronic regulating and control unit” in claim 6, and “electronic regulation and control unit” in claims 6, 7, 9. These limitations use generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “electronic regulating/regulation and control” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, these limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “electronic regulating/regulation and control unit” will be interpreted as controller, or equivalent. It is noted that the Instant Application does not provide detailed structure for the electronic regulating/regulation and control unit, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the electronic regulating/regulation and control unit as controller, or equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed” in lines 11-12. Claim limitation “device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. See the Claim Interpretation section above.
The proper test for meeting the definiteness requirement is that the corresponding structure (or material or acts) of a means- (or step-) plus-function limitation must be disclosed in the specification itself in a way that one skilled in the art will understand what structure (or material or acts) will perform the recited function. See Atmel Corp. v. Information Storage Devices, Inc., 198 F.3d 1374, 1381, 53 USPQ2d 1225, 1230 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
If there is no disclosure of structure, material or acts for performing the recited function, the claim fails to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The disclosure of the structure (or material or acts) may be implicit or inherent in the specification if it would have been clear to those skilled in the art what structure (or material or acts) corresponds to the means- (or step-) plus-function claim limitation. See id. at 1380, 53 USPQ2d at 1229; In re Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 946-47, 42 USPQ2d 1881, 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1997). However, "[a] bare statement that known techniques or methods can be used does not disclose structure" in the context of a means plus function limitation. Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technology Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 952, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (Disclosure that an invention "may be controlled by known differential pressure, valving and control equipment" was not a disclosure of any structure corresponding to the claimed "control means for operating [a] valving " and the claim was held indefinite).
Whether a claim reciting an element in means- (or step-) plus-function language fails to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, because the specification does not disclose adequate structure (or material or acts) for performing the recited function is closely related to the question of whether the specification meets the description requirement in 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. See In re Noll, 545 F.2d 141, 149, 191 USPQ 721, 727 (CCPA 1976) (unless the means-plus-function language is itself unclear, a claim limitation written in means-plus- function language meets the definiteness requirement in 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, so long as the specification meets the written description requirement in 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph).
The invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) does not exempt an applicant from compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first and second paragraphs. See Donaldson, 16 F.3d at 1195, 29 USPQ2d at 1850; In re Knowlton, 481 F.2d 1357, 1366, 178 USPQ 486, 493 (CCPA 1973) ("[The sixth paragraph of section 112] cannot be read as creating an exception either to the description requirement of the first paragraph … or to the definiteness requirement found in the second paragraph of section 112. Means-plus-function language can be used in the claims, but the claims must still accurately define the invention.").
In this case, the specification of the Instant Application describes: “A device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed is provided on the respective drive motor for the wire feed, the measurement signals of which can be transmitted to an electronic regulation and control unit.” in lines 17-21 on page 4. However, the structure of the device is not described in the specification. Furthermore, the drawings of the Instant Application do not show the device. Therefore, the specification and drawings of the Instant Application do not describe and illustrate what structure(s) define the device. Rather, the specification merely repeats substantially the claimed language. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised as to what structures correspond to the claimed function. As a result of this deficiency, claim 6 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 7-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependent on claim 6.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed” in lines 11-12. Claim limitation “device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. See the Claim Interpretation section above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, the specification of the Instant Application describes: “A device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed is provided on the respective drive motor for the wire feed, the measurement signals of which can be transmitted to an electronic regulation and control unit.” in lines 17-21 on page 4. However, the structure of the device is not described in the specification. Furthermore, the drawings of the Instant Application do not show the device. Therefore, the specification and drawings of the Instant Application do not describe and illustrate what structure(s) define the device. It is unclear how to determine the functional equivalents. Therefore, claim 6 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 7-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 6.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the inside” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “inside” recited previously.
Similarly, claim 6 recites several limitations which are insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. The following limitations contain insufficient antecedent basis:
“the direction” in line 2,
“the region” in line 5,
“the energy” in line 6,
“the electric current” in line 11,
“the wire feed” in line 12,
“the measuring signals” in line 13,
“the feed movement” in line 15,
“the machining process” in line 20,
“the measuring signal” in lines 20-21 because “the measuring signal” in lines 20-21 refers to different measuring signal than “the measuring signals” recited previously in line 13,
“the electric contact” in line 26,
“the region” in line 29 in “the region of the feed”,
“the region” in line 30 in “the region of the nozzle opening”,
“the nozzle opening” in line 30,
“the volumetric flow” in line 33,
“the recorded image” in line 34.
Applicant is advised to edit the listed above limitations and similar insufficient antecedent basis issues.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a channel” in line 10. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because claim 6 recites “at least one channel” previously in line 8. Therefore, it is unclear if they are the same channel or different channels.
Claims 7-10 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 6.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the electronic camera and image recognition software” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “electronic camera and image recognition software” recited previously.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the wavelength” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “wavelength” recited previously.
Claim 8 (line 1) and claim 10 (line 2) recite the limitation “the beam path”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “beam path” recited previously.
Claim 8 (line 4) and claim 10 (line 4) recite the limitation “it is possible”. It is unclear the scope of this limitation. The limitation “it is possible” recited in claims 8 and 10 should be changed to “the at least one optical filter is configured” for claim 8, and “the optical filter is configured” for claim 10.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the electric resistance heating” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “electric resistance heating” recited previously.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the temperature” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “temperature” recited previously.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the electric resistance” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “electric resistance” recited previously.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the melting process” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “melting process” recited previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanko et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0120337 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kanko discloses a laser machining head (“Laser Head”, Kanko Fig.30B) with a housing (housing of the “Laser Head”, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) and a welding nozzle (welding nozzle, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below), which are hollow on the inside (as shown in Kanko Fig.30B) and through which a laser beam (laser beam, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) is guided in the direction of a surface (surface, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below), wherein at least in the welding nozzle (welding nozzle, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) at least one channel (channel for power stream, see channel in Kanko annotated Fig.30B below), through which welding filler material (powder material, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) is to be applied in the direction of the surface (surface, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) on the welding filler material (powder material, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) via deposition welding (as indicated by Kanko Abstract & Claim 1 of Kanko), can be conveyed into the region (beam-material interaction zone 42A, Kanko Fig.30B) of influence of the laser beam (laser beam, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) and can be melted by the energy of the laser beam (laser beam, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) (Kanko Fig.30B shows the resulting deposited “Track” and Kanko Par.0551 discloses the process as including melting and welding and explicitly identifies laser metal deposition and laser cladding) and at least one of the following features i) to iv) is implemented (It is noted that the limitation “at least one of the following features i) to iv) is implemented” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Kando discloses iv), as explains below) at the laser machining head (“Laser Head”, Kanko Fig.30B):
wire-shaped welding filler material is fed through the at least one channel by means of a wire feeder assigned to the wire-shaped welding filler material fed through a channel, which can be fed into the region of influence of the laser beam via a drive motor, and a device for determining the electric current flowing through the drive motor during the wire feed is provided on the respective drive motor for the wire feed, the measuring signals of which can be transmitted to an electronic regulating and control unit and the regulating and control unit is configured to influence the feed movement of the wire-shaped welding filler material with the measured electric current;
at least one strain gauge is attached to an elastically deformable region of the housing or of the welding nozzle, which strain gauge is connected to the electronic regulation and control unit and the electronic regulation and control unit is configured to initiate a termination of the machining process when the measurement signal of the at least one strain gauge reaches a predeterminable measured signal threshold value;
at least one contact arrangement is arranged and formed on the housing such that in the event of an impact or adhesion of the laser machining head to the respective surface of a workpiece or of a component to be manufactured additively or of other components, the electric contact is separated and a termination of the machining process is initiated by the electronic regulation and control unit on separation of the electric contact at the electric contact arrangement and/or
an electronic camera (coherent imaging system (CIS) 7, Kanko Fig.30B; it is noted that the coherent imaging system (CIS) 7 includes electronic camera because Kanko Par.0558 discloses: “A coherent imaging system may include, but is not limited to, a combination of: a (broadband) light source; an interferometer comprising at least one “sample arm” (an interferometer arm terminated by a sample or otherwise having an unknown optical path length) and at least one “reference arm” (an interferometer arm having a well-defined optical path length and/or a well-known termination point); a spectrometer, such as, but not limited to an optical grating; and a detector, including, but not limited to, a photodiode and/or a linescan camera, and/or a charge-coupled device (CCD).”) is arranged and configured to record the region (beam-material interaction zone 42A, Kanko Fig.30B) of the feed of welding filler material (powder material, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) in the region of the nozzle opening (region of nozzle opening, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) of the welding nozzle (welding nozzle, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) and the electronic camera (coherent imaging system (CIS) 7, Kanko Fig.30B; it is noted that the coherent imaging system (CIS) 7 includes electronic camera because Kanko Par.0558 discloses: “A coherent imaging system may include, but is not limited to, a combination of: a (broadband) light source; an interferometer comprising at least one “sample arm” (an interferometer arm terminated by a sample or otherwise having an unknown optical path length) and at least one “reference arm” (an interferometer arm having a well-defined optical path length and/or a well-known termination point); a spectrometer, such as, but not limited to an optical grating; and a detector, including, but not limited to, a photodiode and/or a linescan camera, and/or a charge-coupled device (CCD).”) is connected to the electronic regulation and control unit (process controller 11, Kanko Fig.30B) (Kanko Par.0149 discloses: “The apparatus may comprise a feedback processor that receives input from the coherent imaging system and/or the detector output and produces an output used as feedback to control one or more parameters of the material modification process.”) and the electronic regulation and control unit (process controller 11, Kanko Fig.30B) is configured to influence the feed movement of at least one wire-shaped filler material or the volumetric flow of supplied powdered welding filler material (It is noted that the limitation “the feed movement of at least one wire-shaped filler material or the volumetric flow of supplied powdered welding filler material” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination) on the basis of the recorded image in the region of the nozzle opening (region of nozzle opening encompasses the filler-delivery region extending immediately below the welding nozzle outlet toward the deposition surface, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) of the welding nozzle (welding nozzle, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) (Kanko discloses the process controller 11 is configured to influence the volumetric flow of supplied powdered welding filler material on the basis of the recorded image in the region of the nozzle opening because Kanko Par.0149 discloses: “The apparatus may comprise a feedback processor that receives input from the coherent imaging system and/or the detector output and produces an output used as feedback to control one or more parameters of the material modification process.”, discloses: Kanko Par.0562 discloses: “at least one material processinE beam source 8; a material processing beam delivery system 9A, 9B, additive manufacturing feedstock and/or raw material handling and feeder systems 10A, 10B, at least one coherent imaging system 7 such as, but not limited to that shown in FIG. 30A, an optical seamier or other beam control device (e.g., polygon scanner, galvanometer, and/or piezoelectric device) 43A, 43B that receives the sample arm 13 imaging light from the CIS and performs coherent imaging beam interrogation location and timing, a process control system 11, and/or a quality control system 41. Also shown is the processing beam-material interaction zone 42A, 42B. According to the embodiments, coherent imaging measurement beam interrogation of the processing beam-material interaction zone 42A and 42B, and its surrounding area 26, may he performed before, during, and/or after material processing, in order to perform measurements, assessments, and/or QA and/or feedback decisions regarding the additive manufacturing process, based on the interferometry output.”, and Kanko Par.0617 discloses: “coherent imaging interferometry output may be used to peifonn feedstock feedrate measurements in the form of material stream velocity/speed, wire feed velocity/speed, and/or deposition rate (mass/time).”).
Regarding claim 7, Kanko discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 6, Kanko also discloses:
wherein the laser machining head (“Laser Head”, Kanko Fig.30B) a camera coupling (“Scan Head” and optical elements in the “Laser Head”, Kanko Fig.30B) is provided which is configured to project an image of the region of the nozzle opening (region of nozzle opening encompasses the filler-delivery region extending immediately below the welding nozzle outlet toward the deposition surface, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) of the welding nozzle (welding nozzle, Kanko annotated Fig.30B below) onto the electronic camera (coherent imaging system (CIS) 7, Kanko Fig.30B; it is noted that the coherent imaging system (CIS) 7 includes electronic camera because Kanko Par.0558 discloses: “A coherent imaging system may include, but is not limited to, a combination of: a (broadband) light source; an interferometer comprising at least one “sample arm” (an interferometer arm terminated by a sample or otherwise having an unknown optical path length) and at least one “reference arm” (an interferometer arm having a well-defined optical path length and/or a well-known termination point); a spectrometer, such as, but not limited to an optical grating; and a detector, including, but not limited to, a photodiode and/or a linescan camera, and/or a charge-coupled device (CCD).”) and image recognition software (Kanko Par.0389 discloses processing images in LabVIEW on 4 cores of a PC (and/or other software environments)) is integrated into the electronic regulation and control unit (process controller 11, Kanko Fig.30B) (Kanko Par.0389 discloses processing images in LabVIEW on 4 cores of a PC (and/or other software environments), and Kanko Par.0562 discloses the process controller 11 is used to process images captured by the coherent imaging system (CIS) 7) which software is designed to recognize wire-shaped or powdered welding filler material (It is noted that the limitation “wire-shaped or powdered welding filler material” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Kanko discloses powdered welding filler material because Kanko Par.0571 discloses the apparatus is used for the purpose of measurement, monitoring, and/or control of the raw material/feedstock supply mechanism because the apparatus includes a coherent imaging system setup in such a way as to allow the measurement beam to image the raw material/feedstock supply mechanism directly, Kanko Par.0327 discloses: “feedback information about the geometry/morphology/composition of the material may be provided (such as, hole, cut, static or dynamic subsurface features, and/or melt pool depth) and such information may be used, either directly or indirectly, to control a material modification process, such as a laser modification process.”, Kanko Par.0620 discloses coherent imaging measurements of the feedstock (powder or wire) stream are used to determine the stream's precision, accuracy, and/or impact area (size, geometry, and/or location) on the part surface under manufacture/repair, and Kanko Par.0622 discloses: “coherent imaging measurements are made during powder fed type additive manufacturing processes (also referred to as directed energy deposition). Dm some embodiments, coherent imaging is used to perform measurements including size, morphology, reflectivity, polarization changes, phase changes, mass, wetting, adhesion, and/or surface tension of the PCR, raw feedstock, and/or deposited material for purposes including quality assurance and feedback control processes. Control processes may include modifying beam power, spot size, scan speed, material feed rate, gas shielding, and/or motion path geometry.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanko et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0120337 A1) in view of Kuba et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0043431 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kanko discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 6, Kanko does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the beam path between the respective surface on which material is removed or welding filler material is conveyed into the region of influence of the laser beam and the electronic camera at least one optical filter is arranged by which it is possible to prevent electromagnetic radiation with at least the wavelength of the laser beam from impinging on the electronic camera.
Kuba teaches a laser machining head (Kuba Fig.1 & Par.0032):
wherein the beam path between the respective surface (surface having the processing material 3, Kuba Fig.1) on which material is removed or welding filler material (processing material 3, Kuba Fig.1) (It is noted that the limitation “material is removed or welding filler material is conveyed into” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, the primary reference Kanko already discloses welding filler material is conveyed into the region of influence of the laser beam, as cited and explained in claim 6 above. The secondary reference Kuba teaches the processing material 3 is at the region of influence of the laser beam 20, as shown in Kuba Fig.1) is conveyed into the region of influence of the laser beam (the region of influence of the laser beam 20 is processing point 11, Kuba Fig.1) and the electronic camera (camera 6, Kuba Fig.1) at least one optical filter (optical filter 22, Kuba Fig.1) is arranged by which it is possible to prevent electromagnetic radiation with at least the wavelength of the laser beam (laser beam 20, Kuba Fig.1) from impinging on the electronic camera (camera 6, Kuba Fig.1) (Kuba Par.0055 discloses: “An optical filter 22 that transmits the illumination light for imaging 4A and blocks transmission of the processing point-reflected laser beam 20 and the processing point-emitted light 21 is disposed on the front face of the imaging optical system 5.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanko, by adding optical filter arranged in the beam path between the respective surface on which material is removed or welding filler material is conveyed into the region of influence of the laser beam and the electronic camera, wherein the optical filter can prevent electromagnetic radiation with at least the wavelength of the laser beam from impinging on the electronic camera, as taught by Kuba, in order to reduce glare and improve image contrast, as recognized by Kuba [Kuba, Pars.0059-0060]. Therefore, the modification would improve images used for filler-feed monitoring, thus, enhancing the welding quality.
Regarding claim 10, Kanko discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 6, Kanko does not explicitly disclose:
wherein an optical filter is arranged in the beam path between the respective surface on which material is removed or welding filler material is conveyed into the region of influence of the laser beam and the electronic camera, by which it is possible to prevent electromagnetic radiation, which is emitted as a result of the melting process of the welding filler material by means of the laser radiation, from impinging on the electronic camera.
Kuba teaches a laser machining head (Kuba Fig.1):
wherein an optical filter (optical filter 22, Kuba Fig.1) is arranged in the beam path between the respective surface (surface having the processing material 3, Kuba Fig.1) on which material is removed or welding filler material (processing material 3, Kuba Fig.1) (It is noted that the limitation “material is removed or welding filler material is conveyed into” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, the primary reference Kanko already discloses welding filler material is conveyed into the region of influence of the laser beam, as cited and explained in claim 6 above. The secondary reference Kuba teaches the processing material 3 is at the region of influence of the laser beam 20, as shown in Kuba Fig.1) is conveyed into the region of influence of the laser beam (the region of influence of the laser beam 20 is processing point 11, Kuba Fig.1) and the electronic camera (camera 6, Kuba Fig.1), by which it is possible to prevent electromagnetic radiation, which is emitted as a result of the melting process (Kuba Par.0039 discloses: “FIG. 3A is a cross-sectional view when the processing material 3 is laser-welded”, Kuba Par.0040 discloses: “In an imaging region 17 which is a peripheral area of a processing point 11 where light is collected on the processing material 3, a processing hole 12 and a welding pool 13 are formed. In the case of laser welding, a weld bead 14 is formed, and in the case of laser cutting, a cutting groove 15 is formed.”, and Kuba Par.0041 discloses: “The processing hole 12, the welding pool 13, the weld bead 14 and the cutting groove 15 in the imaging region 17, formed on the surface 16 of the processing material 3, are imaged by the camera 6, which is disposed on the opposite side of the condensing lens 7 with respect to the laser beam reflection mirror 8, and on the same axis as the optical axis of a reflected laser beam for processing 10A, which was reflected totally by the laser beam reflection mirror 8.”) of the welding filler material (processing material 3, Kuba Fig.1) by means of the laser radiation (laser beam 20, Kuba Fig.1), from impinging on the electronic camera (camera 6, Kuba Fig.1) (Kuba Par.0055 discloses: “An optical filter 22 that transmits the illumination light for imaging 4A and blocks transmission of the processing point-reflected laser beam 20 and the processing point-emitted light 21 is disposed on the front face of the imaging optical system 5.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanko, by adding optical filter is arranged in the beam path between the respective surface on which material is removed or welding filler material is conveyed into the region of influence of the laser beam and the electronic camera, by which it is possible to prevent electromagnetic radiation, which is emitted as a result of the melting process of the welding filler material by means of the laser radiation, from impinging on the electronic camera, as taught by Kuba, in order to reduce glare and improve image contrast, as recognized by Kuba [Kuba, Pars.0059-0060]. Therefore, the modification would improve images used for filler-feed monitoring, thus, enhancing the welding quality.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanko et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0120337 A1) in view of Denney et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0209906 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kanko discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 6, Kanko does not explicitly disclose:
wherein an electric current source is connected to a wire-shaped welding filler material for the electric resistance heating of the respective wire-shaped filler material and the temperature reached respectively at the wire-shaped welding filler material is determined by determining the electric resistance or the respective wire- shaped welding filler material or by a temperature sensor and a temperature regulation at the respective wire-shaped welding filler material can be carried out on the basis of the respectively determined temperature by the electronic regulation and control unit.
Denney teaches a laser processing system (filler wire feeder and energy source system 1100, Denney Fig.11):
wherein an electric current source (power supply 170, Denney Fig.11) is connected to a wire-shaped welding filler material (filler wire 140, Denney Fig.11) for the electric resistance heating of the respective wire-shaped filler material (filler wire 140, Denney Fig.11) (Denney Par.0084 teaches: “FIG. 11 depicts yet another exemplary embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 11 shows an embodiment similar to that as shown in FIG. 1. However, certain components and connections are not depicted for clarity. FIG. 1 depicts a system 1100 in which a thermal sensor 1110 is utilized to monitor the temperature of the wire 140. The thermal sensor 1110 can be of any known type capable of detecting the temperature of the wire 140.”, and Denney Par.0038 teaches: “During operation, the filler wire 140 is resistance-heated by electrical current from the power supply 170 which is operatively connected between the contact tube 160 and the workpiece 115. In accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, the power supply 170 is a pulsed direct current (DC) power supply, although alternating current (AC) or other types of power supplies are possible as well. The wire 140 is fed from the filler wire feeder 150 through the contact tube 160 toward the workpiece 115 and extends beyond the tube 160. The extension portion of the wire 140 is resistance-heated such that the extension portion approaches or reaches the melting point before contacting a puddle on the workpiece.”) and the temperature reached respectively at the wire-shaped welding filler material is determined by determining the electric resistance or the respective wire- shaped welding filler material or by a temperature sensor (thermal sensor 1110, Denney Par.0084) (It is noted that the limitation “by determining the electric resistance or the respective wire- shaped welding filler material or by a temperature sensor” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Denney teaches the temperature reached respectively at the wire-shaped welding filler material is determined by temperature sensor 1110 because Denney Par.0084 teaches: “The thermal sensor 1110 can be of any known type capable of detecting the temperature of the wire 140. The sensor 1110 can make contact with the wire 140 or can be coupled to the tip 160 so as to detect the temperature of the wire. In a further exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the sensor 1110 is a type which uses a laser or infrared beam which is capable of detecting the temperature of a small object—such as the diameter of a filler wire—without contacting the wire 140. In such an embodiment the sensor 1110 is positioned such that the temperature of the wire 140 can be detected at the stick out of the wire 140—that is at some point between the end of the tip 160 and the puddle. The sensor 1110 should also be positioned such that the sensor 1110 for the wire 140 does not sense the puddle temperature.”, and Denney Par.0085 teaches: “The sensor 1110 is coupled to the sensing and control unit 195 (discussed with regard to FIG. 1) such that temperature feedback information can be provided to the power supply 170 and/or the laser power supply 130 so that the control of the system 1100 can be optimized. For example, the power or current output of the power supply 170 can be adjusted based on at least the feedback from the sensor 1110. That is, in an embodiment of the present invention either the user can input a desired temperature setting (for a given manufacturing operation and/or wire 140) or the sensing and control unit 195 can set a desired temperature based on other user input data (electrode type, etc.) and then the sensing and control unit 195 would control at least the power supply 170 to maintain that desired temperature.”) and a temperature regulation at the respective wire-shaped welding filler material (filler wire 140, Denney Fig.11) can be carried out on the basis of the respectively determined temperature by the electronic regulation and control unit (sensing and control unit 195, Denney Fig.11) (Denney Par.0085 teaches: “The sensor 1110 is coupled to the sensing and control unit 195 (discussed with regard to FIG. 1) such that temperature feedback information can be provided to the power supply 170 and/or the laser power supply 130 so that the control of the system 1100 can be optimized. For example, the power or current output of the power supply 170 can be adjusted based on at least the feedback from the sensor 1110. That is, in an embodiment of the present invention either the user can input a desired temperature setting (for a given manufacturing operation and/or wire 140) or the sensing and control unit 195 can set a desired temperature based on other user input data (electrode type, etc.) and then the sensing and control unit 195 would control at least the power supply 170 to maintain that desired temperature.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanko, by adding the teachings of electric current source is connected to a wire-shaped welding filler material for the electric resistance heating of the respective wire-shaped filler material and the temperature reached respectively at the wire-shaped welding filler material is determined by temperature sensor and temperature regulation at the respective wire-shaped welding filler material can be carried out on the basis of the respectively determined temperature by the electronic regulation and control unit, as taught by Denney, in order to supplement powder deposition with a controlled wire supply, providing additional deposition capacity while maintaining the wire at a temperature suitable for consistent melting. Thus, improve the laser welding quality.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0011592 A1) discloses a laser welding of metallic workpieces, the energetic beam is moved over the workpiece surface to form a pool of molten weld metal that quickly solidifies behind the advance of the laser into a weld nugget. The laser beam produces a keyhole of plasma-containing vapor within the molten pool. A suitable mirror-containing optical system is used to direct the laser beam perpendicularly at the intended weld site. Radiation from the plasma in the keyhole may be gathered using the same optics and directed to a suitable sensor for information concerning the depth of the metal pool. Separately, a camera, or other suitable sensor, with a filter passing infrared radiation from the surface of the weld pool is used to determine the present width of the molten weld metal pool. A computer control system continually compares the current instantaneous ratio of pool depth to width with the pre-determined range and, if necessary, adjusts one or more of weld beam focus, power or speed to maintain a desired balance of pool depth and with for good pore-free welds.
Tsukamoto et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0326969 A1) discloses a welding apparatus and a welding method for laser narrow groove welding which performs welding scanning a laser beam in the welding direction while feeding a solid filler metal into a narrow groove. The welding apparatus includes a laser beam irradiation head having a mechanism periodically oscillating an irradiation point of the laser beam with a predetermined amplitude in the bottom of the groove, and a filler metal control device having a solid filler metal feeder feeding the solid filler metal to the molten pool formed in the bottom of the groove by the laser beam and adjusting the feeding position independent of a motion of the laser beam irradiation head so that the tip position of the solid filler metal detected is constantly positioned in the center of the groove. Tsukamoto further discloses a tip position of the welding wire is detected by imaging camera, and adjusting is performed by the filler metal control device so that the tip of the welding wire is constantly positioned in the center of the groove independent of the position of the laser beam. The tip position of the welding wire inside the groove was obtained by performing imaging analysis of an image photographed by the imaging camera such as a CCD camera through an optical filter, and the position was adjusted by feeding it back to the filler metal control device and the filler metal feeder.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/16/2026