Response to amendments
This Office Action is in response to the amended file, filed on 08/18/2025. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 15-25 are amended, claim 10-14 is cancelled. Claims 1-25 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jassowski et al (U.S. Pub. NO. 2019/0047698).
With regard to claim 15, Jassowski discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; (The reference discloses an apparatus using processors. The IMU may communicate with a drone via wireless connection, such as Bluetooth, IEEE 802.11 (Wi-Fi), or a custom RF link.) (Jassowski, Abstract, [025])
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: (The reference discloses a parent drone which transmits information to the other drones in the network. The control system may include one or more processors programmed with instructions to implement these and other steps. A hardware processor core, a main memory and a static memory, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink) (Jassowski, [021], [047], [060])
Transmit, a first replacement command comprising first information associated with a first UAV UE to a second UAV UE, (The reference discloses transmitting a replacement command from one drone to another in drone swarms, which are groups of drones that work together to accomplish a mission, that the parent drone will select one of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones which is equivalent to first information associated with a first UAV UE to a second UAV UE.) (Jassowski, [053-054])
Wherein the second UAV UE is to replace the first UAV UE from an UAV swarm comprising a plurality of UAV UEs; (The reference discloses a parent drone that may select a drone with each communication or may select a drone as the parent drone until that drone is replaced in the system.) (Jassowski, [033])
and in response to receiving an acknowledgement message to the first replacement command from the second UAV UE, (The reference discloses The IMU may communicate with a single parent drone, which may in turn communicate with one or more child drones of the networked drone system, or the IMU may communicate with any of the drones in the networked drone system. The IMU may communicate the orientation and provide feedback to a parent drone, or to child drones. One of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones. drones in the plurality of drones may reconfigure their orientation with respect to each other or the support platform, for example, in response to the replacement drone being indicated as joining the plurality of drones, in response to one of the plurality of drones being indicated as leaving the plurality of drones, or in response to a failure or dead battery of a drone of the plurality of drones) (Jassowski, [022], [025], [053-054])
Transmit, a second replacement command comprising second information associated with the second UAV UE to one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE. (The reference discloses one of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone being indicated as joining the plurality of drones, in response to one of the plurality of drones being indicated as leaving the plurality of drones, or in response to a failure or dead battery of a drone of the plurality of drones. The IMU may transmit the support platform balance information to all drones in the plurality of drones which is equivalent to a second replacement command.) (Jassowski, [053-055]
With regard to claim 16, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the acknowledgement message comprises or is received along with at least one of the following: (The reference discloses The IMU may communicate with a single parent drone, which may in turn communicate with one or more child drones of the networked drone system, or the IMU may communicate with any of the drones in the networked drone system. The IMU may communicate the orientation and provide feedback to a parent drone, or to child drones. One of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones. drones in the plurality of drones may reconfigure their orientation with respect to each other or the support platform, for example, in response to the replacement drone being indicated as joining the plurality of drones, in response to one of the plurality of drones being indicated as leaving the plurality of drones, or in response to a failure or dead battery of a drone of the plurality of drones) (Jassowski, [022], [025], [053-054])
UE capabilities for different radio access technologies (RATs) of the second UAV UE, location information of the second UAV UE, or one or more measurement results of the second UAV UE. (The reference describes autonomous drones transmitting sensor data and operational status during emergency responses which implies RAT capabilities for multi network communication.) (Jassowski, [055])
With regard to claim 17, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: (The reference discloses the control system may include one or more processors programmed with instructions to implement these and other steps. A hardware processor core, a main memory and a static memory, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink) (Jassowski, [047], [060])
transmit a configuration to the second UAV UE to configure the second UAV UE as a backup UAV UE for any UAV UE of the UAV swarm, a backup UAV UE for the first UAV UE of the UAV swarm, or a backup UAV UE for any UAV UE of a plurality of UAV swarms comprising the UAV swarm. (The reference discloses spare drone may be added to the system in response to a failure of one of the drones. When a drone fails, spare drone may be added to the system and the remaining functional drones may be shifted for efficient control of support component. The IMU may transmit the support platform balance information to all drones in the plurality of drones which is equivalent to transmitting a configuration to the second UAV UE to configure the second UAV UE as a backup UAV UE for any UAV UE of the UAV swarm.) (Jassowski, [024], [029-031], [055])
With regard to claim 18, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 15 Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: (The reference discloses the control system may include one or more processors programmed with instructions to implement these and other steps. A hardware processor core, a main memory and a static memory, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink) (Jassowski, [047], [060])
determine the first UAV UE and the second UAV UE based on a result of incident detection or control command from a central controller; and transmit an indication to activate the second UAV UE. (The reference discloses a parent drone that may select a drone with each communication or may select a drone as the parent drone until that drone is replaced in the system when a drone fails or has a low batter life which is equivalent to determining a result of incident detection or control command from a central controller.) (Jassowski, [024] [033])
With regard to claim 19, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the first information associated with the first UAV UE comprises at least one of the following parameters: A UE identifier, location information, and a flight path of the first UAV UE; an identification and a flight path of the UAV swarm; a UE context of the first UAV UE; slice related information of the first UAV UE; a UE identifier, location information, a flight path, and UE capabilities for different radio access technologies (RATs) of a UAV UE of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE; or one or more measurement reports received by the first UAV UE. (The reference discloses having GPS coordinates and having flight paths transmitted to the UAVs. As well as both a drone swarm network system and having flight plans for the drones in the system which is equivalent to an identification and a flight path of the UAV swarm which is equivalent to A UE identifier, location information, and a flight path of the first UAV UE; an identification and a flight path of the UAV swarm; a UE context of the first UAV UE; slice related information of the first UAV UE.) (Jassowski, [024], [034], [055], [060])
With regard to claim 20, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the second information associated with to the second UAV UE comprises at least one of: a UE identifier of the second UAV UE, location information of the second UAV UE, a set of resources for establish a sidelink connection with the second UAV UE,
an association between the set of resources and the one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm, or an indication to stop transmission with the first UAV UE. (The reference discloses the parent drone may receive an indication of a low battery in a drone in the networked drone system, the indication including an identification of the replacement drone to replace the drone with the low battery in the networked drone system. The parent drone may send a reconfiguration command to the at least one child drone to incorporate the replacement drone in the networked drone system. The reconfiguration command may include a first operation to configure drones the networked drone system in a first arrangement including the drone with the low battery and the replacement drone and a second operation to configure drones in the networked drone system in a second arrangement including the replacement drone without the drone with the low battery. The IMU may communicate with a drone via wireless connection, such as Bluetooth, IEEE 802.11 (Wi-Fi), or a custom RF link. spare drone may be added to the system in response to a low battery of one of the drones which is equivalent to an association between the set of resources and the one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm, or an indication to stop transmission with the first UAV UE.) (Jassowski, [025], [031], [057])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 21-25 are rejected under35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Jassowski et al (U.S. Pub. NO. 2019/0047698), and in view Babich et al. (U.S. Pub. NO. 2021/0067239).
With regard to claim 1, Jassowski discloses Transmitting a first replacement command comprising first information associated with a first UAV UE to a second UAV UE, (The reference discloses transmitting a replacement command from one drone to another in drone swarms, which are groups of drones that work together to accomplish a mission, that the parent drone will select one of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones which is equivalent to first information associated with a first UAV UE to a second UAV UE.) (Jassowski, [053-054])
Wherein the second UAV UE is to replace the first UAV UE from the UAV swarm; (The reference discloses after the parent drone communicates to the swarm the new replacement drone will replace the targeted drone.) (Jassowski, [033], [053-054])
And in response to receiving an acknowledgement to the first replacement command from the second UAV UE, (The reference discloses The IMU may communicate with a single parent drone, which may in turn communicate with one or more child drones of the networked drone system, or the IMU may communicate with any of the drones in the networked drone system. The IMU may communicate the orientation and provide feedback to a parent drone, or to child drones. One of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones. drones in the plurality of drones may reconfigure their orientation with respect to each other or the support platform, for example, in response to the replacement drone being indicated as joining the plurality of drones, in response to one of the plurality of drones being indicated as leaving the plurality of drones, or in response to a failure or dead battery of a drone of the plurality of drones) (Jassowski, [022], [025], [053-054])
Transmitting a second replacement command comprising second information associated with the second UAV UE to one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE. (The reference discloses one of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone being indicated as joining the plurality of drones, in response to one of the plurality of drones being indicated as leaving the plurality of drones, or in response to a failure or dead battery of a drone of the plurality of drones. The IMU may transmit the support platform balance information to all drones in the plurality of drones which is equivalent to a second replacement command.) (Jassowski, [053-055]
However, Jassowski does not teach a method performed by a base station for replacing an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) user equipment (UE) within a UAV swarm comprising a plurality of UAV UEs, the method comprising:
Babich teaches a method performed by a base station for replacing an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) user equipment (UE) within a UAV swarm comprising a plurality of UAV UEs, the method comprising: (The reference discloses the transmitter which is equivalent to the base station sends a data signal to a first drone that is within range of the transmitter. The first drone sends the data signal to an adjacent drone in the line of drones which retransmits the data signal to the next drone in line. The data signal is transmitted between drones until it reaches a final drone within range of the receiver. The final drone transmits the data signal to the receiver. The first drone receives the data signal sent from the transmitter over an uplink communication path and redirects data signal to the next drone in line over a drone-to-drone communication path. The next drone receives the data signal and redirects the data signal over a new drone-to-drone communication path to the next drone in line. This process continues with each subsequent drone as the data signal proceeds toward the last drone. A ground-based system and/or the drone may reroute the path of the drone) (Babich, [005], [023], [033])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Transmitting a first replacement command comprising first information associated with a first UAV UE to a second UAV UE, Wherein the second UAV UE is to replace the first UAV UE from the UAV swarm; And in response to receiving an acknowledgement to the first replacement command from the second UAV UE, Transmitting a second replacement command comprising second information associated with the second UAV UE to one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE disclosed by Jassowski to include the a method performed by a base station for replacing an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) user equipment (UE) within a UAV swarm comprising a plurality of UAV UEs, the method comprising of Babich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the base station-centric replacement method of Babich with Jassowski's detailed drone-to-drone replacement procedure. This combination would create a more robust and efficient system for managing UAV swarms by centralizing control, optimizing resource allocation, and increasing overall system reliability. The integration addresses the limitations of Jassowski's peer-to-peer approach, which lacks a central authority for initiating the replacement process, while also providing a comprehensive protocol for the drones to execute the replacement commands transmitted by the base station. This would ensure a seamless transition of roles within the swarm, minimizing disruptions and enhancing mission-critical performance as suggested by Babich at [005], [023], [033].
With regard to claim 2, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the acknowledgement message comprises or is received along with at least one of the following: (The reference discloses The IMU may communicate with a single parent drone, which may in turn communicate with one or more child drones of the networked drone system, or the IMU may communicate with any of the drones in the networked drone system. The IMU may communicate the orientation and provide feedback to a parent drone, or to child drones. One of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones. drones in the plurality of drones may reconfigure their orientation with respect to each other or the support platform, for example, in response to the replacement drone being indicated as joining the plurality of drones, in response to one of the plurality of drones being indicated as leaving the plurality of drones, or in response to a failure or dead battery of a drone of the plurality of drones) (Jassowski, [022], [025], [053-054])
UE capabilities for different radio access technologies (RATs) of the second UAV UE, location information of the second UAV UE, or one or more measurement results of the second UAV UE. (The reference describes autonomous drones transmitting sensor data and operational status during emergency responses which implies RAT capabilities for multi network communication.) (Jassowski, [055])
With regard to claim 3, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Jassowski discloses transmitting a configuration to the second UAV UE to configure the second UAV UE as a backup UAV UE for any UAV UE of the UAV swarm, a backup UAV UE for the first UAV UE of the UAV swarm, or a backup UAV UE for any UAV UE of a plurality of UAV swarms comprising the UAV swarm. (The reference discloses spare drone may be added to the system in response to a failure of one of the drones. When a drone fails, spare drone may be added to the system and the remaining functional drones may be shifted for efficient control of support component. The IMU may transmit the support platform balance information to all drones in the plurality of drones which is equivalent to transmitting a configuration to the second UAV UE to configure the second UAV UE as a backup UAV UE for any UAV UE of the UAV swarm.) (Jassowski, [024], [029-031], [055])
With regard to claim 4, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Jassowski discloses further comprising: determining the first UAV UE and the second UAV UE based on a result of incident detection or control command from a central controller; (The reference discloses a parent drone that may select a drone with each communication or may select a drone as the parent drone until that drone is replaced in the system when a drone fails or has a low batter life which is equivalent to determining the a result of incident detection or control command from a central controller.) (Jassowski, [024] [033])
And transmitting an indication to activate the second UAV UE. (The reference discloses one of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones) (Jassowski, [053-054])
With regard to claim 5, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the first information associated with to the first UAV UE comprises at least one of the following parameters: A UE identifier, location information, and a flight path of the first UAV UE; an identification and a flight path of the UAV swarm; a UE context of the first UAV UE; slice related information of the first UAV UE; a UE identifier, location information, a flight path, and UE capabilities for different radio access technologies (RATs) of a UAV UE of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE; or one or more measurement reports received by the first UAV UE. (The reference discloses having GPS coordinates and having flight paths transmitted to the UAVs. As well as both a drone swarm network system and having flight plans for the drones in the system which is equivalent to an identification and a flight path of the UAV swarm which is equivalent to A UE identifier, location information, and a flight path of the first UAV UE; an identification and a flight path of the UAV swarm; a UE context of the first UAV UE; slice related information of the first UAV UE.) (Jassowski, [024], [034], [055], [060])
With regard to claim 6, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the second information associated with to the second UAV UE comprises at least one of: a UE identifier of the second UAV UE, location information of the second UAV UE, a set of resources for establish a sidelink connection with the second UAV UE,
an association between the set of resources and the one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm, or an indication to stop transmission with the first UAV UE. (The reference discloses the parent drone may receive an indication of a low battery in a drone in the networked drone system, the indication including an identification of the replacement drone to replace the drone with the low battery in the networked drone system. The parent drone may send a reconfiguration command to the at least one child drone to incorporate the replacement drone in the networked drone system. The reconfiguration command may include a first operation to configure drones the networked drone system in a first arrangement including the drone with the low battery and the replacement drone and a second operation to configure drones in the networked drone system in a second arrangement including the replacement drone without the drone with the low battery. The IMU may communicate with a drone via wireless connection, such as Bluetooth, IEEE 802.11 (Wi-Fi), or a custom RF link. spare drone may be added to the system in response to a low battery of one of the drones which is equivalent to an association between the set of resources and the one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm, or an indication to stop transmission with the first UAV UE.) (Jassowski, [025], [031], [057])
With regard to claim 7, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Jassowski discloses further comprising: determining a successful replacement of the first UAV UE by the second UAV UE based on: (The reference discloses one of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones) (Jassowski, [053-054])
And a measurement result related to the second UAV UE within a predefined range. (The reference discloses the parent drone receives a measurement information about a drone in the networked drone system, the indication including an identification of the replacement drone to replace the drone in the networked drone system.) (Jassowski, [057])
However, Jassowski does not teach A successful sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm;
Babich does teach A successful sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm; (The reference discloses the first drone receives the data signal sent from the transmitter over an uplink communication path and redirects data signal to the next drone in line over a drone-to-drone communication path. The next drone receives the data signal and redirects the data signal over a new drone-to-drone communication path to the next drone in line.) (Babich, [023])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified further comprising: determining a successful replacement of the first UAV UE by the second UAV UE based on: And a measurement result related to the second UAV UE within a predefined range disclosed by Jassowski to include the A successful sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm; of Babich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure the replaced UAV UE was fully and functionally integrated into the swarm, with reliable peer-to-peer communication as suggested by Babich at [023].
With regard to claim 8, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Jassowski discloses further comprising transmitting a replacement completion indication to the one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm when it is determined that the replacement of the first UAV UE with the second UAV UE is successful, (The reference discloses a parent drone that transmits a reconfiguration command to incorporate the replacement drone into the network system which updates the successfulness of the swap.) (Jassowski, [057])
wherein the replacement completion indication comprises a UE identifier and location information of the second UAV UE, (The reference discloses having GPS information coordinates set within the drones and informs the parent drone of when the secondary drone has returned to a charging station.) (Jassowski, [034], [057])
And an indication indicating that the second UAV UE has replaced the first UAV UE and joined in the UAV swarm. (The reference discloses that the parent drone sends a reconfiguration command to the other drones in the swarm when the new replacement drone needs to join the network.) (Jassowski, [057])
With regard to claim 9, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Jassowski discloses further comprising transmitting a replacement failure indication to the one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm when it is determined that the replacement of the first UAV UE with the second UAV UE is not successful, (The reference discloses that the drones within the swarm may reconfigure their orientation with respect to each other or to the support platform in response to a drone failure.) (Jassowski, [054])
wherein the replacement failure indication comprises a UE identifier and location information of the first UAV UE and an indication to stop transmission with the first UAV UE. (The reference discloses If the drone that fails cannot move, it may be deadweight and additional spare drones may be added to the system to compensate for the weight. If the drone that fails still moves, it may detach or become detached from the support component. Once the spare drone is attached to the support component, the failed drone may be removed from the support component. After the failed drone detaches, the remaining drones, including the spare drone may be rearranged for efficient control of the support component which implies the internal communication system in practice.) (Jassowski, [031])
With regard to claim 21, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to determine a successful replacement of the first UAV UE by the second UAV UE based on: (The reference discloses transmitting a replacement command from one drone to another in drone swarms, which are groups of drones that work together to accomplish a mission, that the parent drone will select one of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones which is equivalent to first UAV UE by the second UAV UE.) (Jassowski, [053-054])
And a measurement result related to the second UAV UE within a predefined range. (The reference discloses the parent drone receives a measurement information about a drone in the networked drone system, the indication including an identification of the replacement drone to replace the drone in the networked drone system.) (Jassowski, [057])
However, Jassowski does not teach A successful sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm;
Babich does teach A successful sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm; (The reference discloses the first drone receives the data signal sent from the transmitter over an uplink communication path and redirects data signal to the next drone in line over a drone-to-drone communication path. The next drone receives the data signal and redirects the data signal over a new drone-to-drone communication path to the next drone in line.) (Babich, [023])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified further comprising: determining a successful replacement of the first UAV UE by the second UAV UE based on: And a measurement result related to the second UAV UE within a predefined range disclosed by Jassowski to include the A successful sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm; of Babich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure the replaced UAV UE was fully and functionally integrated into the swarm, with reliable peer-to-peer communication as suggested by Babich at [023].
With regard to claim 22, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: (The reference discloses an apparatus configured by processors.) (Jassowski, Abstract)
Transmit a replacement completion indication to the one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm when it is determined that the replacement of the first UAV UE with the second UAV UE is successful, (The reference discloses a parent drone that transmits a reconfiguration command to incorporate the replacement drone into the network system which updates the successfulness of the swap.) (Jassowski, [057])
Wherein the replacement completion indication comprises a UE identifier and location information of the second UAV UE, and an indication indicating that the second UAV UE has replaced the first UAV UE and joined in the UAV swarm. (The reference discloses having GPS information coordinates set within the drones and informs the parent drone of when the secondary drone has returned to a charging station.) (Jassowski, [034], [057])
With regard to claim 23, Jassowski-Babich discloses all of the limitations of claim 21. Additionally, Jassowski discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to: (The reference discloses an apparatus configured by processors.) (Jassowski, Abstract)
Transmit a replacement failure indication to the one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm when it is determined that the replacement of the first UAV UE with the second UAV UE is not successful, (The reference discloses that the drones within the swarm may reconfigure their orientation with respect to each other or to the support platform in response to a drone failure.) (Jassowski, [054])
Wherein the replacement failure indication comprises a UE identifier and location information of the first UAV UE and an indication to stop transmission with the first UAV UE. (The reference discloses If the drone that fails cannot move, it may be deadweight and additional spare drones may be added to the system to compensate for the weight. If the drone that fails still moves, it may detach or become detached from the support component. Once the spare drone is attached to the support component, the failed drone may be removed from the support component. After the failed drone detaches, the remaining drones, including the spare drone may be rearranged for efficient control of the support component which implies the internal communication system in practice.) (Jassowski, [031])
With regard to claim 24, Jassowski discloses an apparatus for replacing an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) user equipment (UE) within a UAV swarm comprising a plurality of UAV UEs, the apparatus comprising: (The reference discloses using an apparatus for replacing UAVs within a swarm.) (Jassowski, Abstract)
at least one memory; (The reference discloses A hardware processor core, a main memory and a static memory, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink.) (Jassowski, [060])
At least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: (The reference discloses a parent drone which transmits information to the other drones in the network. The control system may include one or more processors programmed with instructions to implement these and other steps. A hardware processor core, a main memory and a static memory, some or all of which may communicate with each other via an interlink) (Jassowski, [021], [047], [060])
Receive, at a second UAV UE, a first replacement command comprising first information related to a first UAV UE, (The reference discloses transmitting a replacement command from one drone to another in drone swarms, which are groups of drones that work together to accomplish a mission, that the parent drone will select one of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones.) (Jassowski, [053-054])
Wherein the second UAV UE is to replace the first UAV UE from the UAV swarm; (The reference discloses after the parent drone communicates to the swarm the new replacement drone will replace the targeted drone.) (Jassowski, [033], [053-054])
transmit an acknowledgement message to the first replacement command; (The reference discloses The IMU may communicate with a single parent drone, which may in turn communicate with one or more child drones of the networked drone system, or the IMU may communicate with any of the drones in the networked drone system. The IMU may communicate the orientation and provide feedback to a parent drone, or to child drones. One of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones. drones in the plurality of drones may reconfigure their orientation with respect to each other or the support platform, for example, in response to the replacement drone being indicated as joining the plurality of drones, in response to one of the plurality of drones being indicated as leaving the plurality of drones, or in response to a failure or dead battery of a drone of the plurality of drones) (Jassowski, [022], [025], [053-054])
However, Jassowski does not teach And establish a sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE;
Babich does teach And establish a sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE; (The reference discloses the first drone receives the data signal sent from the transmitter over an uplink communication path and redirects data signal to the next drone in line over a drone-to-drone communication path. The next drone receives the data signal and redirects the data signal over a new drone-to-drone communication path to the next drone in line.) (Babich, [023])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified an apparatus for replacing an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) user equipment (UE) within a UAV swarm comprising a plurality of UAV UEs, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory; At least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to: Receive, at a second UAV UE, a first replacement command comprising first information related to a first UAV UE, Wherein the second UAV UE is to replace the first UAV UE from the UAV swarm; transmit an acknowledgement message to the first replacement command; disclosed by Jassowski to include the And establish a sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE of Babich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the features of Jassowski and Babich to improve the resilience, efficiency, and scalability of a drone swarm. The core motivation lies in the need for a more robust and decentralized communication network within the swarm, which is a known design goal in the field of wireless communication for unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) as suggested by Babich at [023].
With regard to claim 25, Jassowski discloses A processor for wireless communication, comprising: (The reference discloses inertial measurement unit that communicates with the parent drone via wireless connection.) (Jassowski, [025])
At least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to: (The reference discloses using a output controller coupled with a main memory and a static memory that are used to communicate with each other.) (Jassowski, [060])
Receive, at a second unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) user equipment (UE), a first replacement command comprising first information related to a first UAV UE within a UAV swarm comprising a plurality of UAV UEs, (The reference discloses a parent drone that may select a drone with each communication or may select a drone as the parent drone until that drone is replaced in the system.) (Jassowski, [033])
Wherein the second UAV UE is to replace the first UAV UE from the UAV swarm; (The reference discloses after the parent drone communicates to the swarm the new replacement drone will replace the targeted drone.) (Jassowski, [033], [053-054])
transmit an acknowledgement message to the first replacement command; (The reference discloses The IMU may communicate with a single parent drone, which may in turn communicate with one or more child drones of the networked drone system, or the IMU may communicate with any of the drones in the networked drone system. The IMU may communicate the orientation and provide feedback to a parent drone, or to child drones. One of the at least one child drones may leave the plurality of drones in response to the replacement drone joining the plurality of drones. drones in the plurality of drones may reconfigure their orientation with respect to each other or the support platform, for example, in response to the replacement drone being indicated as joining the plurality of drones, in response to one of the plurality of drones being indicated as leaving the plurality of drones, or in response to a failure or dead battery of a drone of the plurality of drones) (Jassowski, [022], [025], [053-054])
However, Jassowski does not teach And establish a sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE;
Babich does teach And establish a sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE; (The reference discloses the first drone receives the data signal sent from the transmitter over an uplink communication path and redirects data signal to the next drone in line over a drone-to-drone communication path. The next drone receives the data signal and redirects the data signal over a new drone-to-drone communication path to the next drone in line.) (Babich, [023])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified A processor for wireless communication, comprising: At least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to: Receive, at a second unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) user equipment (UE), a first replacement command comprising first information related to a first UAV UE within a UAV swarm comprising a plurality of UAV UEs, Wherein the second UAV UE is to replace the first UAV UE from the UAV swarm; transmit an acknowledgement message to the first replacement command; disclosed by Jassowski to include the And establish a sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm other than the first UAV UE of Babich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the features of Jassowski and Babich to improve the resilience, efficiency, and scalability of a drone swarm. The core motivation lies in the need for a more robust and decentralized communication network within the swarm, which is a known design goal in the field of wireless communication for unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) as suggested by Babich at [023].
Response to amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, for claims 1-25.
Applicant's amendments overcome the 35 U.S.C. §102 rejections of claims 1-25
Applicant's amendments do not overcome the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections of claims 1-25
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
(A) Applicant argues… Rejections under Section 102 Claims 1-9 and 15-25 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jassowski et al. (US2019/0047698). The Applicants respectfully traverse the rejections. Claim 1 recites a method performed by a base station for replacing an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) user equipment (UE) within a UAV swarm of UAV UEs, including: transmitting a first replacement command comprising first information associated with a first UAV UE to a second UAV UE, wherein the second UAV UE is to replace the first UAV UE from the UAV swarm; and in response to receiving an acknowledgement message to the first replacement command from the second UAV UE, transmitting a second replacement command comprising second information associated with the second UAV UE to one or more UAV UEs, of the UAV swarm, other than the first UAV UE. In other words, a base station replaces a first UAV UE with a backup UAV UE by transmitting a replacement command to the backup UAV UE, receiving an acknowledgment message from the backup UAV UE, and then transmitting another replacement command to another UAV UE of a UAV swarm, other than the first UAV UE, informing the other UAV UE (via second information) about the backup UAV UE. Jassowski does not disclose such features. Jassowski is directed to networked drone systems, where drones "are attached to a fixed platform to increase delivery payload, distance, reliability and safety and as a "drone near charge depletion, it is replaced in-light with a new drone" (Jassowski, Abstract). According to Jassowski, the replacement of a drone is performed with respect toa support platform, as follows: a "networked drone system 1400 includes a plurality of drones 1402 including a parent drone 1404 and at least one child drone 1406. The networked drone system 1400 may include a replacement drone 1408. The plurality of drones 1402 support and move a support platform 1410, which includes an IMU 1412 and may support cargo 1414, such as a package for remote delivery Jassowski, paragraph [0051]). The IMU may then capture support platform balance information related to the support platform 1410" and "transmit the support platform balance information, for example to the parent drone 140-1 the child drone 1406, any other drone in the plurality of drones 1402, the replacement drone 1408, or a combination of drones" (Jassowski, paragraph [0052]). Thus, Jassowski allegedly discloses the transmission of information about the support platform to drones, such as a replacement drone. In contrast, the claimed method enables a base station to send information to a UAV UE (e.g , a backup UAVU) that replaces a UAV UE of a swarm, and then sends information about the UAV Ues, the backup to another UAVUE of the swarm. With such information, the backup UJAVUE and the other UAV cate over a sidelink, which can indicate a successful replacement (as recited in dependent claim 7). Jassowski does not disclose such features. For at least these reasons, Jassowski does not disclose each and every feature of claim 1 and cannot anticipate the claim. The Applicants request its early allowance. Claims 2-10 depend from claim1, and are therefore allowable over Jassowski for at least the reasons state with respect to claim 1, as well as for the additional features recited by the claims. For example, as discussed above, claim 7 recites that the base station determines a successful replacement of the first UAV UE by the second UAV UE based on a successful sidelink connection between the second UAV UE and one or more UAV UEs of the UAV swarm and a measurement result related to the second UAV UE within a predefined range. Jassowski does not disclose such features (e.g., there is no mention of "sidelink" communication in Jassowski). Further, claims 15-25 recite features similar to those in claim 1, and are therefore allowable over Jassowski for at least the reasons state with respect to claim 1, as well as for the additional l features recited by the claims.
As to (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees, the examiner appreciates the applicant’s position that are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The combination of Jassowski and Babich provides the necessary elements and motivation for the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and the rejection is maintained for the following reasons. Regarding claim 1, the applicant's argument that Jassowski lacks a "base station" that directs the two-step replacement process is addressed by combining it with Babich, which explicitly teaches a system where a base station or "transmitter" sends data signals to a chain of drones, thus controlling the process centrally. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the base station control of Babich with Jassowski's detailed drone replacement procedure to create a more robust and efficient UAV swarm management system. This combination addresses the limitations of Jassowski's decentralized peer-to-peer approach, providing a central authority for initiating the replacement process and a comprehensive protocol for the drones to execute the commands transmitted by the base station. Regarding claim 7, the applicant's argument that Jassowski does not disclose "sidelink" communication is addressed by combining it with Babich, which explicitly teaches "drone-to-drone communication path," which is equivalent to sidelink communication. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Babich's inter-drone communication method to verify the successful integration of a new UAV, a step already envisioned by Jassowski. The applicant's previous arguments, therefore, do not address the patentability of the claimed invention over the combined teachings of Jassowski and Babich. The Examiner’s position is that combining the base station-controlled communication of Babich with the drone-to-drone replacement procedure of Jassowski would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Babich clearly teaches using a base station (transmitter) to initiate communication and route data signals through a chain of drones within a swarm. Jassowski provides the specific mechanics of a drone-to-drone replacement within a swarm-like system, albeit one that is tethered to a support platform. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of integrating a centralized control system, as described in Babich, into the type of replacement procedure detailed in Jassowski. This integration would provide a more robust and efficient system for managing UAV swarms by centralizing control, optimizing resource allocation, and increasing system reliability, as is a common goal in the art. Therefore, the Examiner's new ground of rejection relies on a different legal basis (obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103) and a different combination of references, rendering the applicant's prior arguments moot regarding the new rejection. The burden is now on the applicant to present arguments as to why this particular combination of references does not render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALI J BAKKAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
10/9/25