DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are:
persuasive with respect to the amended features and limitations added to the independent claims 95 and 106 that neither Voyer nor Ishii teach or disclose the newly amended limitations, i.e., “receiving, from the cell, a tracking area identifiers list comprising one or more of a forbidden tracking area identifier or an allowable tracking area identifier; determining one or more allowable tracking area codes of the plurality of tracking area codes based on whether one or more of the plurality of tracking area codes is associated with the tracking area identifiers list; and selecting a tracking area code from one or more allowable tracking area codes.” Therefore, the rejection of claims 95-108 has been withdrawn and claims 95-108 are in condition for allowance.
not responsive with respect to the arguments that the Office Action has not addressed claim 109 because in fact, claim 109 has been properly included in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voyer et al. (Pub. No. US 2008/0102826) and further in view of Ishii (Pub. No. US 2023/0308363), and has been addressed accordingly under the 103 rejection in details on page 7-10 of the Non-Final Rejection dated 01/12/2026.
Therefore, claims 109-114 are herein remaining rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voyer et al. (Pub. No. US 2008/0102826) and further in view of Ishii (Pub. No. US 2023/0308363). The details of the rejection of claims 109-114 are shown in the followings that is the exact same rejection shown in the Non-Final Rejection dated 01/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 109-114 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voyer et al. (Pub. No. US 2008/0102826) and further in view of Ishii (Pub. No. US 2023/0308363).
Regarding claim 109. (Previously Presented) Voyer teaches a method (Voyer, the Abstract), comprising:
causing transmission, to at least one user equipment, of a plurality of tracking area codes associated with at least one network (Voyer, Fig. 1, pp [71]-[72]: a BTS, which manages a cell 15 comprising at least two tracking areas with identifiers, transmits to mobile terminals 30 messages comprising the identifiers of the tracking areas 70), wherein a respective tracking area code of the plurality of tracking area codes is associated with one or more network slices or one or more network slice groups.
Voyer, however, does not teach “the plurality of tracking area codes is associated with one or more network slices or one or more network slice groups.”
Ishii teaches “the plurality of tracking area codes is associated with one or more network slices or one or more network slice groups.” (Ishii, the Abstract: a wireless terminal comprises receiver circuitry configured to receive a message from a network management device wherein the message comprises one or more network slice coverage area configurations, which indicate a coverage area of a corresponding network slice; pp [233]: the wireless terminal stores the network slice band association information and the area scope indication(s) in its memory, e.g., network slice band association information (NSBAI) memory. In addition, the wireless terminal may store one or more area identities based on the area scope(s), wherein the one or more area identities to be stored may be: (1) the serving PLMN identity (if the area scope is “PLMN”), (2) the tracking area codes (TACs) of the current registration area (if the area scope is “Registration Area”), (3) the TACs included in the TAC list (if the area scope is “TACs”), or (4) the cell identities included in the Cell List (if the area scope is “Cells”; Figs. 25A-25B, pp [272]-[273]: a wireless terminal receives a message comprising one or more network slice coverage area configurations. The message may be a system information message (e.g. SIB1/SIBx), a NAS message (e.g. Registration Accept message) or a dedicated RRC message. Each of the network slice coverage area configurations may indicate a coverage area of a corresponding network slice. The each of the network slice coverage area configurations may comprise a list of area identities, such as a list of tracking area codes and a list of cell identities, in which the corresponding network slice is supported/available).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the affective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Voyer by incorporating teachings of Ishii, a core network supports one or more network slices wherein each of the network slices provide a designated service within a public land mobile network (PLMN) for wireless terminals to access. The wireless terminals are configured to receive messages comprising one or more network slice coverage area configurations, which indicates a coverage area of a corresponding network slice, thus providing the wireless terminals select the available network slices associated with corresponding areas where the wireless terminals roam and camp on quickly and sufficiently to improve the robust service access at the most sufficient and effective fashion.
Regarding claim 110. (Previously Presented) Voyer, as modified by Ishii, teaches the method according to claim 109, further comprising:
causing transmission, to the at least one user equipment for at least one respective tracking area code of the plurality of tracking area codes, of one or more identifiers for the one or more network slices or the one or more network slice groups (Ishii, Fig. 22A, pp [237]).
Regarding claim 111. (Previously Presented) Voyer, as modified by Ishii, teaches the method according to claim 109, further comprising:
receiving, from a network, the plurality of tracking area codes associated with the at least one network, wherein the plurality of tracking area codes comprises a first tracking area code and one or more second tracking area codes (Voyer, pp [12]-[17]; and Ishii, pp [208]-[210]).
Regarding claim 112. (Currently Amended) Voyer, as modified by Ishii, teaches the method according to claim 111, wherein prioritization of the one or more second tracking area codes is based on an encoding order associated with the plurality of tracking area codes (Ishii, pp [89]-[90], [157]).
Regarding claim 113. (Currently Amended) Voyer, as modified by Ishii, teaches the method according to claim 109, wherein a first tracking area code of the plurality of tracking area codes is associated with a first information element of a system information block (Ishii, pp [160]-[161], [218]).
Regarding claim 114. (Currently Amended) Voyer, as modified by Ishii, teaches the method according to claim 113, wherein one or more second tracking area codes of the plurality of tracking area codes are associated with a second information element of the system information block that is different than the first information element (Ishii, pp [160]-[161], [218]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644