DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action responds to application 18/554120 filed on 4/23/26. Claims 1, 4-6, 9-10, and 15-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 4 - 6, 9, 10, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 2023/0082561 A1 (hereinafter Kim) in view of Rossato et al., US 10873772 B2 (hereinafter Rossato), and further in view of Kai et al., US 2021/0158212 A1 (hereinafter Kai).
As for claim 1, Kim discloses a method of decoding feature maps from a bitstream, the method comprising: decoding ([0192], e.g., decoding), from the bitstream ([0191], e.g., bitstream), an encoded frame ([0191], e.g., encoded feature and [0085], e.g., frame) including a plurality of integer feature maps ([0191], e.g., feature and integer type), the encoded frame having been generated based on a first plurality of floating-point feature maps ([0191], e.g., feature and floating-point type); unpacking ([0192], e.g., decode, note unpacking implied) the decoded frame to decode the plurality of integer feature maps; a value ([0199], e.g., max(F)-min(F)) based on a maximum value ([0200], e.g., maximum value) among the first plurality of floating-point feature maps; generating a plurality of floating-point feature maps ([0199], e.g., equation 2, note the output) based on the value based on the maximum value and the decoded plurality of integer feature maps; and decoding a flag ([0205], e.g., flag information).
Kim does not explicitly disclose, but Rossato teaches decoding a value (col. 115, l. 6-27, e.g., decode the range value).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Kim and Rossato before him/her to modify the image encoding/decoding method and device for performing feature quantization/de-quantization, and recording medium for storing bitstream of Kim with the teaching of transmission of reconstruction data in a tiered signal quality hierarchy of Rossato with a motivation to process the data quickly and efficiently by using the range information .
Kim as modified by Rossato does not explicitly teach, but Kai teaches a flag ([0151], e.g., flag) indicating whether the value based on the maximum value is updated; wherein when the flag is 1, an updated value is used for generating a plurality of floating-point feature maps ([0151], e.g., 1 and needs to be updated), and when the flag is 0, the value based on the maximum value is used for generating a floating-point feature maps ([0151], e.g., 0 and will not be updated).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Kim, Rossato, and Kai before him/her to modify the image encoding/decoding method and device for performing feature quantization/de-quantization, and recording medium for storing bitstream of Kim with the teaching of learning method and learning apparatus of Kai with a motivation to process the data quickly and efficiently by using the update information in the flag.
As for claim 4, the claim recites an apparatus for decoding feature maps from encoded data of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 5, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a program for executing a method decoding feature maps from encoded data of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 6, the claim recites a method of encoding feature maps into encoded data of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 9, the claim recites an apparatus for encoding feature maps into encoded data of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 10, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium which stores a program for executing a method encoding feature maps into encoded data of the method of claim 1, and is similarly analyzed.
As for claim 15, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. In addition, Kim further discloses decoding a value ([0199], e.g., max(F)-min(F)) based on a minimum value ([0200], e.g., minimum value) among the first plurality of floating- point feature maps; and generating the plurality of floating-point feature maps ([0199], e.g., equation 2, note the output) based on the value based on the maximum value, the value based on the minimum value and the decoded plurality of integer feature maps.
As for claim 16, most of limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. In addition, Kim further discloses encoding a value ([0199], e.g., max(F)-min(F)) based on a minimum value ([0200], e.g., minimum value) among the plurality of floating-point feature maps; and generating the plurality of floating-point feature maps ([0199], e.g., equation 2, note the output) based on the value based on the maximum value, the value based on the minimum value and the plurality of floating-point feature maps.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. US 2005/0053294 discloses techniques and tools for progressive and interlaced video coding and decoding.
2. US 2006/0126962 discloses methods and systems for reducing blocking artifacts with reduced complexity for spatially-scalable video coding.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached on 571-272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSEPH SUH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485