DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 7-10 filed on 03/04/2026 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Claims 1, 5, and 9 have been amended.
Claims 2, 3, 6, and 11 have been cancelled.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Application No. DE102021001940.7 filed on 04/14/2021. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Wortberg does not disclose the claimed waiting time because Wortberg merely discloses evaluating the reservation signal for one or two cycle times rather than restarting a predetermined waiting time. This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Onodera.
Applicant also argues that Wortberg relies on a central control unit and a logic or daisy chain arrangement to synchronize the change in operating states of the electronic components. However, Wortberg also teaches that “As an alternative to the preset sequence of the controllable switching devices 203, 204, an automatic arbitration procedure can also be used in which the controllable switching devices 203, 204 coordinate themselves automatically” via the communication network. See [0028] and [0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wortberg (DE 102018130625A1), in view of Onodera et al. (JP H0659701A) (Note: a machine translation is used for mapping, attached to this action).
Regarding claim 1, Wortberg teaches a temperature control device, comprising: a control unit ([0017]: “The controllable switching devices can be a control unit, e.g. a microcontroller, which is equipped with appropriate switching elements, e.g. MOSFETs, coupled. In this context, a switching element can be provided in the controllable switching device for each electrical supply path and/or consumer that is controlled by a controllable switching device. The control unit therefore allows for very flexible control of the sequential switching on of electrical consumers”),
an electronic component ([0015]: “The supply network according to the present invention comprises electronic power distributors, which are controllable switching devices. These can be used for each of the on-board network participants, i.e., for each electrical consumer (or a small number or group of parallel on-board network participants) a switching element, e.g. a MOSFET switch. The switching element can perform two tasks: 1. The electronic protection of the supply line to the vehicle electrical system component and 2. the electronic terminal circuit, also called soft terminal, for the respective vehicle electrical system component or electrical consumer”),
an energy supply interface ([0017]: “This includes the supply network, i.e. in corresponding electronic power distributors, controllable switching devices are provided. These controllable switching devices are coupled to the energy source of the supply network and can each supply one or more electrical consumers with electrical energy from the energy source. This allows the individual controllable switching devices to be controlled, so that individual supply paths and/or consumers can be selectively switched on or off”), and
a communication interface ([0059]: “The supply network 200 also has a communication network 209 and each of the controllable switching devices 203, 204 is coupled to the communication network 209 via a communication interface 207, 208”),
wherein the electronic component receives electrical energy via the energy supply interface ([0072]: “For example, a first of the controllable switching devices 103, 104 , 203 , 204 , 303 , 304 can receive the switch-on signal 105 , 205 and, after switching on the corresponding electrical loads 150 , 250 , 350 , 351, transmit a subsequent switching signal 210 to another of the controllable switching devices 103 , 104 , 203 , 204 , 303 , 304”),
wherein the control unit sends and receives signals via the communication interface ([0072]: “the controllable switching devices 103 , 104 , 203 , 204 , 303 , 304 can output a reservation signal via the communication interface 207 , 208 , 307 , 308”),
wherein the control unit acts on the electronic component such that an operating state of the electronic component changes ([0011]: “the controllable switching devices are configured to switch on or activate the supply paths of the individual electrical consumers at a time offset when the supply paths of the electrical consumers are switched on”),
wherein a change in the operating state leads at least temporarily to a change in the need of the electronic component for electrical energy ([0053]: “The energy source 101 is coupled to the controllable switching devices 103, 104 via appropriate lines in order to provide them with electrical energy”),
wherein the control unit performs at least the following operations to change the operating state of the electronic component; the control unit outputs an intention signal (RS) via the communication interface ([0035]: “the controllable switching devices can be configured to output a reservation signal via the communication interface”), the intention signal includes information about a priority of the temperature control device ([0037]: “The respective controllable switching device can switch on the electrical consumers when the reservation signal it emits is dominant. Dominant means that, in the context of arbitration, the signal indicates the authorization to switch on the consumers. This might be the case, for example, if the reservation signal has the highest priority”);
([0031]: “only one of the controllable switching devices sends this information via the communication network at any given time. Of course, arbitration can be carried out at the physical level of the communication network if two of the controllable switching devices want to transmit simultaneously”; [0035]: “the controllable switching devices can be configured to output a reservation signal via the communication interface before switching on the respective electrical consumers or connecting the supply paths of the electrical consumers... The controllable switching devices can also be configured to switch on the respective electrical consumers when their reservation signal is dominant, and to delete or revoke the reservation signal after the respective electrical consumers have been switched on,” where a reservation signal corresponds to an intention signal and a deletion signal corresponds to a change signal);
wherein in case the intention signal (RS) from another unit is received and the other unit has a higher priority than the temperature control device, the control unit receives and evaluates signals ([0035]: “the controllable switching devices can be configured to output a reservation signal via the communication interface before switching on the respective electrical consumers or connecting the supply paths of the electrical consumers, and to check whether the output reservation signal is dominant, i.e., whether it is the dominant signal, is the first or only reservation signal, or the reservation signal with the highest priority”; [0039]: “a controllable switching device can output the reservation signal for the entire duration of the switch-on process, i.e., in regular messages via the communication network. If the reservation signal remains, e.g. If the signal remains active for more than one or two cycle times in the communication network, the reservation signal can be considered deleted”);
wherein in case the change signal (TOS) is received, the control unit receives and evaluates signals ([0039]: “a controllable switching device can output the reservation signal for the entire duration of the switch-on process, i.e., in regular messages via the communication network. If the reservation signal remains, e.g. If the signal remains active for more than one or two cycle times in the communication network, the reservation signal can be considered deleted”; [0040]: “the controllable switching devices can simultaneously receive the switch-on signal and be designed to switch on the corresponding electrical consumers sequentially according to a predetermined time sequence”); and
in case neither the intention signal (RS) from another unit having a higher priority than the temperature control device, nor the change signal (TOS) from another unit is received ([0037]: “The respective controllable switching device can switch on the electrical consumers when the reservation signal it emits is dominant... This might be the case, for example, if the reservation signal has the highest priority. For example, on a CAN bus. The reservation signal can be dominant, e.g. It can also be considered, for example, if it is the first or only reservation signal in the communication network”).
While Wortberg teaches receiving signals via the communication interface and evaluating the signals to determine whether the signals are an intention signal (RS) from another unit or a change signal (TOS) from another unit, Wortberg does not explicitly teach that they are received and evaluated “during a waiting time.”
Onodera further teaches during a waiting time (Tw), the control unit receives signals via the communication interface and evaluates the signals to determine whether the signals are an intention signal (RS) from another unit or a change signal (TOS) from another unit ([0018]: “the operational condition processing unit can be configured to send an operational status signal to the other control unit and then wait a predetermined waiting time, and if no operational status signal is received from the other control unit during that time, or if an operational status signal is received from the other control unit but the priority of the own control unit is higher than that of the other control unit, then make a decision to put the own control unit into an operational state”);
wherein in case the intention signal (RS) from another unit is received and the other unit has a higher priority than the temperature control device, the control unit receives and evaluates signals during a restarting waiting time (Tw) ([0054]: “the operating condition processing unit 11 checks whether or not a priority activation signal is present (step S8). Since the priority activation signal is input only to the control unit with the higher priority, if the priority activation signal is received (if it is determined to be yes in step S8), it decides that it will become the active system and issues an operation instruction to the control processing unit 12 (step S3). On the other hand, if it is not received (if it is determined to be no in step S8), it decides that the other control unit 2 will become the active system and it enters a state of waiting for an operation instruction (step S2)”);
wherein in case the change signal (TOS) is received, the control unit receives and evaluates signals during the restarting waiting time (Tw) ([0047]: “if the operational condition processing unit 11 does not receive an operational instruction signal from the switching unit 3, it enters a state of waiting for an operational instruction (standby state) and constantly monitors the operational instruction signal from the switching control unit 51 of the switching unit 3, so that if it receives an operational instruction signal, it can immediately issue operational instructions to the control processing unit 12 (loop in step S2)”); and
in case neither the intention signal (RS) from another unit having a higher priority than the temperature control device, nor the change signal (TOS) from another unit is received within the waiting time (Tw), the control unit outputs a change signal (TOS) via the communication interface and changes the operating state of the electronic component ([0052]: “After the waiting time has elapsed, the operation status signal from the other control unit 2 is checked again (step 7), and if no operation status signal is received from the other control unit 2 (when the non-operational state is determined in step S7), it is determined that the other control unit 2 is not performing processing to become the operational system, and in this case it is decided that it (control unit 1) will become the operational system and issues an operation instruction to the control processing unit 12 (step S3)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the device of Wortberg to incorporate the teachings of Onodera so as to include receiving signals via the communication interface and evaluating the signals to determine whether the signals are an intention signal (RS) from another unit or a change signal (TOS) from another unit during a waiting time (Tw). Doing so would allow devices to determine which unit has higher priority with the aim of improving system reliability (Onodera, [0003]: “there is a demand for a switching control method that reduces the burden on the switching unit when switching between duplicated control units to control the controlled units, allows control within the device to be performed even if some abnormality occurs in the switching unit, and further allows the failed control unit to be replaced without stopping the operation of the device even if some kind of failure occurs in the control unit”).
Regarding claim 4, Wortberg in view of Onodera teaches the temperature control device according to claim 1.
Wortberg further teaches wherein the control unit outputs the intention signal (RS) several times ([0039]: “a controllable switching device can output the reservation signal for the entire duration of the switch-on process, i.e., in regular messages via the communication network”).
Regarding claim 5, Wortberg in view of Onodera teaches the temperature control device according to claim 4.
Wortberg further teaches wherein in case the control unit outputs the change signal (TOS) via the communication interface, the control unit also stops an output of the intention signal (RS) ([0039]: “a corresponding deletion signal can be sent to delete the reservation signal”).
Regarding claim 7, Wortberg in view of Onodera teaches the temperature control device according to claim 1.
Wortberg further teaches wherein the control unit outputs the change signal (TOS) several times within a starting time (Ts) and/or with an interval time via the communication interface ([0039]: “a controllable switching device can output the reservation signal for the entire duration of the switch-on process, i.e., in regular messages via the communication network. If the reservation signal remains, e.g. If the signal remains active for more than one or two cycle times in the communication network, the reservation signal can be considered deleted”).
Regarding claim 9, Wortberg in view of Onodera teaches a system, comprising: at least one temperature control device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection),
at least one other unit ([0011]: “a number, i.e., one or more, of controllable switching devices”),
a communication channel via which the at least one temperature control device and the at least one other unit transmit signals ([0024]: “controllable switching devices can each have a communication interface and be coupled to each other via a communication network. The controllable switching devices can be configured to receive a switch-on signal via the communication interface”), and
a source of energy which supplies the at least one temperature control device and the at least one other unit with electrical energy ([0011]: “a number, i.e., one or more, of controllable switching devices which are electrically coupled to the energy source”).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wortberg (DE 102018130625A1), in view of Onodera et al. (JP H0659701A), and in view of Grohman (US 2010/0115364 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wortberg in view of Onodera teaches the temperature control device according to claim 1.
Wortberg and Onodera do not explicitly teach “wherein the temperature control device is configured as an air conditioner, and wherein the electronic component is a compressor.”
Grohman further teaches wherein the temperature control device is configured as an air conditioner (FIG. 1 and [0030]: HVAC system 100), and
wherein the electronic component is a compressor ([0030]: “system 100 also includes one or more compressors 140”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the device of Wortberg and Onodera to incorporate the teachings of Grohman so as to include the temperature control device being configured as an air conditioner, and the electronic component being a compressor. Doing so would allow temperature control devices to communicate with one another with the aim of improving their installation, operation, and maintenance (Grohman, [0029]: “The communication allows identity, capability, status and operational data to be shared among the components. In some embodiments, the communication also allows commands to be given. As a result, the climate control system may be more flexible in terms of the number of different premises in which it may be installed, may be easier for an installer to install and configure, may be easier for a user to operate, may provide superior temperature and/or relative humidity (RH) control, may be more energy efficient, may be easier to diagnose, may require fewer, simpler repairs and may have a longer service life”).
Regarding claim 10, Wortberg in view of Onodera teaches the system according to claim 9.
Wortberg and Onodera do not explicitly teach “the at least one other unit is configured as a temperature control device.”
Grohman further teaches wherein the at least one other unit is configured as a temperature control device ([0028]: “Described herein are various embodiments of an improved climate control, or HVAC, system in which at least multiple components thereof communicate with one another via a data bus. The communication allows identity, capability, status and operational data to be shared among the components”).
The reasons to combine Grohman into Wortberg in view of Onodera are the same as articulated in claim 8 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117