Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0089757, filed on 7/8/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates: 10/6/2023, 12/6/2024 have been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Na et al KR 101150465 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Na discloses:
a phase shifter comprising (Na, Abstract, A bidirectional stacked phase shifter is provided to improve assembly properties of a phase shifter by laminating and combining two or more phase shifters into one body. A first phase shifter(100) chases the phase of an input signal. A second phase shifter(200) is installed by being laminated with the first phase shifter in up and down directions. A partial pattern of a first micro strip line is formed on a first fixed substrate(110). A first variable substrate(120) forms the first micro strip line in a variable mode. A partial pattern of a second micro strip line is formed on a second fixed substrate. A second variable substrate(220) forms the second micro strip line in the variable mode. A coupled driving part simultaneously rotates the first variable substrate and the second variable substrate):
an operation unit connected to a plurality of phase conversion units to synchronize phases changed through the plurality of phase conversion units (Na, para [0036], Hereinafter, a bidirectional laminated phase-change toilet according to an embodiment of the present invention will be described in detail with reference to FIGS. 3 to 11. FIG. [0037], 3 and 4, a bidirectional laminated phase-shifting toilet according to an embodiment of the present invention includes a microstrip line that dynamically changes the phase of a signal to dynamically form a first phase- A second phase-shifting potentiometer (200) stacked vertically with the first phase-shifting potentiometer and configured to dynamically form a microstrip line that varies the phase of a signal to vary the phase of the input signal, (310, 320) for closely contacting the substrates of the first phase-shifting toilet bowl and the second phase-shifting toilet and simultaneously driving the variable substrates of the first phase-shifting toilet and the second phase-shifting toilet, And an input / output cable 500 electrically connected to the input / output patterns of the two-phase variable capacity toilet to transmit the input / output signals) Examiner notes the phase shift potentiometers may be considered as phase conversion units;
and a driving unit including a motor having a rotational shaft (Na, Abstract) Examiner notes driving part,
a plurality of gears rotating in conjunction with the rotational shaft (Na, para [0064], The gear portion 324 is connected to the second variable driving unit 320 and the plurality of protrusions 328 so that the first variable substrate 120, the second variable substrate 220, And drives the first contact driving part 310 to rotate. The gear portion 324 is preferably formed in a state of being spaced apart from the penetration projection portion 326 serving as a rotation center shaft as shown in FIG. 9, Making the power available for rotational motion. The gear portion 324 may be configured to be flexible by varying the curvature of the arc formed by the gear portion 324 or the size of the gear so that the curvature of the arc or the size of the gear is changed, The degree of rotation of the variable substrate can be adjusted even under the condition. That is, the degree of rotation of the variable substrate can be adjusted by adjusting the curvature of the arc of the gear portion 324 or the size of the gear, thereby adjusting the degree of phase variation of the signals, The tilting is controlled. 11, the operation of the gear portion 324 will be described. The gear portion 324 receives external power through the gear drive portion 600, and the external power is transmitted to the gear portion 324 The first contact driving part 310, the second contact driving part 320, the first variable substrate 120, and the second variable substrate 220 are caused to rotate by the arc-shaped gears including the arc- do. Therefore, the phases of the signals are changed in the first phase-shifting body 100 and the second phase-shifting body 200 by the rotation of the first variable substrate 120 and the second variable substrate 220, The beam tilting occurs accordingly),
and a screw connected to any one of the plurality of gears to transmit power to the operation unit (Na, para [0064] and Figs. 3 and 4 input/output cables electrically connected) Examiner notes power rotation,
and configured to drive the operation unit through the motor (Na, para [0064]),
the plurality of gears (Na, para [0064]),
and the screw, wherein the screw is seated on a seating portion provided outside the motor and pivotally rotates on the seating portion (Na, para [0062], The second contact driving part 320 may be disposed on the second fixed substrate 210 to closely contact the second variable substrate 220 of the second phase varying toilet 200 to the second fixed substrate 210, May include elastic portion 322 and may include a configuration of a through protrusion 326 and a protrusion 328 for engagement. Further, the structure of the gear portion 324 for receiving the rotational power may be further included).
Regarding claim 4, Na discloses:
the phase shifter of claim 2 (Na, Abstract),
wherein the driving unit further includes a circulation member connected to the screw to drive the operation unit by circularly moving on the seating portion according to the rotation of the screw and converting rotational motion of the screw into linear motion (Na, para [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Na discloses:
the phase shifter of claim 4 (Na, Abstract),
wherein the driving unit further includes a stopping member through which the screw passes at one side or the other side of the seating portion and which restricts a movement range of the circulation member (Na, para [0063], A plurality of protrusions 328 are preferably formed on both longitudinal ends of the second contact driving part 320. More preferably, the first and second variable substrates 220 and 220 And then engage with the receiving and engaging portions 316 of the first and the second contact driving portions 310 and 310. 3, 5, and 9, the plurality of protrusions 328 are engaged with the grooves of the first variable substrate 120 and the second variable substrate 220, The first variable substrate 120 and the second variable substrate 220 are coupled with the grooves formed at both ends in the longitudinal direction of the first variable substrate 120 and the second variable substrate 220, To the second variable substrate (220).).
Regarding claim 7, Na discloses:
the phase shifter of claim 5 (Na, Abstract),
wherein a first through hole through which the screw passes is formed in the circulation member (Na, para [0058], Hereinafter, an embodiment of the close driving unit will be described in detail with reference to [0059], FIGS. 8 to 10. FIG. 8 and 9, the first contact driving part 310 may be formed as shown in FIG. 8, and the second contact driving part 320 may be formed as shown in FIG.
[0060],The first contact driving part 310 may be configured to have elasticity to closely contact the first variable substrate 120 of the first phase variable length toilet 100 to the first fixed substrate 110 side, And may include an accommodating portion 314 for engaging with the penetrating projection 326 formed in the second contact driving portion 320. [ The plurality of receiving and coupling portions 316 may include a plurality of projections (not shown) formed in the second contact-driving portion 320, and the plurality of receiving portions 316 may be formed at both ends in the longitudinal direction. 328, respectively. 3, 5, 8, and 9, the first variable substrate 120, the first fixed substrate 110, the second variable substrate 220, And a through protrusion 326 penetrating through the second fixed substrate 210. The plurality of receiving and coupling portions 316 are formed in the first variable substrate 120 and the second variable substrate 220 The plurality of protrusions 328 engaging with the grooves are engaged) Examiner notes coupling portion of the plurality of projects as the screws,
and when the circulation member circularly moves (Na, Figs. 8-9, protrusions 326 and 328),
the circular movement of the circulation member is stopped by an edge of the first through hole supported by an edge of the stopping member (Na, Figs. 8-9, protrusions 326 and 328).
Regarding claim 8, Na discloses:
the phase shifter of claim 7 (Na, Abstract),
wherein a first hooking protrusion is formed on an edge of the first through hole, (Na, Fig. 8, elastic portion 312),
and the first hooking protrusion is supported by being engaged with a second hooking protrusion formed on the edge of the stopping member (Na, Fig. 8, elastic portion 312).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al (KR 101150465 B1), hereinafter Na KR 101150465 B1 in view of Davies US 20050248494 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Na discloses:
the phase shifter of claim 1 (Na, Abstract),
Davies discloses:
wherein at least one lubricant member is provided in the seating portion,
and the at least one lubricant member reduces friction or wear due to the rotation of the screw between the seating portion and the screw (Davies, para [0022], It will be noted that the only movement that needs to be achieved is the movement of the single block 17 and so no complex ganging or gearing needs to take place, nor is there any chance of mechanical wear or slackness introducing error. As the circuit 18 is adhered to the rigid block 17 with the conductive strips 23 adjacent the block 17 all the sliding takes place on the undersurface of the circuit, which can be coated with PTFE and the strips 23 are not subjected to wear. The upper surface of the printed circuit board 16 can also be lubriciously protected by being covered with a thin PTFE layer. [0023, lines 1-11], The rigid block 17 can be mounted in any suitable manner, but the Applicants have found that the arrangement illustrated is particularly convenient. This comprises a number of bolts 20 which are screwed through openings in the printed circuit board 16, into the chassis 15 along the central axis thereof. These bolts extend through slots 24 in the arm 19 to define precise linear travel for the arm 19 and hence the block 17. The bolts can be adjusted so that there is sufficient friction between the underside of the slider circuit 18 and the printed circuit board 17 for any particular position to be retained frictionally).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Na with Davies to incorporate the features of: wherein at least one lubricant member is provided in the seating portion, and the at least one lubricant member reduces friction or wear due to the rotation of the screw between the seating portion and the screw. Both arts are considered analogous arts as they both disclose phase shifters. Na discloses phase shifters on substrates that couple; however, does not disclose lubricant such as PTFE to protect the layer. The modification would render the predictable results of reduction in wear and promote longevity; provide smoother motion which aids with improved precision; and improved thermal stability.
Regarding claim 3, Na discloses:
the phase shifter of claim 2 (Na, Abstract),
Davis discloses:
wherein the at least one lubricating member is made of a material including polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (Davies, para [0022]),
polyether ether ketone (PEEK),
or polyetherimide (PEI).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Na with Davies to incorporate the features of: wherein the at least one lubricating member is made of a material including polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyether ether ketone (PEEK),
or polyetherimide (PEI). Na discloses phase shifters on substrates that couple; however, does not disclose lubricant such as PTFE to protect the layer. The modification would render the predictable results of reduction in wear and promote longevity; provide smoother motion which aids with improved precision; and improved thermal stability.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al (KR 101150465 B1), hereinafter Na in view of So et al (US 20180337438 A1), hereinafter So.
Regarding claim 6, Na discloses:
the phase shifter of claim 5 (Na, Abstract),
So discloses:
wherein the stopping member includes a first stopping member and a second stopping member respectively provided at one side and the other side of the seating portion (So, para [0065], To support the rotation of the guide roller 104, a support member 110 such as a washer is inserted on the upper surface of the central groove 114. The washer 110 is a component that accommodates the rotation of the guide roller 104 like a bearing.
[0066] As shown in FIG. 9, the inclined surface 64 of the first moving board 4 is inserted between an upper surface 110′ of the support member 110 and a guide surface 104′ of the guide roller 104. The inclined surface 64 positively makes a line contact with the upper surface 110′ and the guide surface 104′ so that the guide unit 100 smoothly guides the first moving board 4 when the latter starts to be retracted or pulled by the drive motor M. Line contact has the advantage of minimizing the contact area of the first moving board 4 with the guide unit 100 by the inclined surface 64) Examiner notes the support member/washer as the stopping member,
and the circulation member circularly moves between the first stopping member and the second stopping member (So, paras [0065-0066]).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Na with Davies to incorporate the features of: wherein the stopping member includes a first stopping member and a second stopping member respectively provided at one side and the other side of the seating portion, and the circulation member circularly moves between the first stopping member and the second stopping member. The modification would render the predictable results of improved calibration stability, improved mechanical protection, and improved reliability under vibration or shock.
Regarding claim 9, Na discloses:
the phase shifter of claim 4 (Na, Abstract),
So discloses:
wherein a guide member is provided at a point spaced apart from the screw at one side of the seating portion (So, para [0063] The guide unit 100 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure has a structure in which a pair of upper and lower guide rollers 104 are each fastened to a horizontal bracket 106. The horizontal bracket 106 may have holes 108 formed on both sides, through which fastening members such as bolts or pins penetrate to fix the horizontal bracket 106 to the top surface of the first fixed board 2.
[0064] The horizontal bracket 106 has a central groove 114. The guide roller 104 has a rotating shaft 112 which penetrates the central groove 114 of the horizontal bracket 106, the recessed groove 8 of the first fixed board 2, and the side wall guide 102 of the housing 30, and further extends through the opposite horizontal bracket 106 of the same structure to the opposite guide roller 104. Therefore, the paired guide rollers 104 facing each other with the rotating shaft 112 therebetween are rotated at the same time. The guide roller 104 and the rotating shaft 112 are integrally fabricated as a single part in some embodiments),
a second through hole through which the guide member passes is formed in the circulation member (So, Fig. 6, guided member 100),
and the circular movement of the circulation member is guided by the guide member (So, para [0054], The guide unit 100 has the similar guide roller 104 installed at its underside, and therefore when the pair of guide rollers 104 rotates, the upper first moving board 4 and the lower second moving board 5 slidably moves on the corresponding first fixed board 2 and the second fixed board 3 so as to establish a variable capacitive coupling relationship with the first circuit pattern 6 and a second circuit pattern so that the phase-shifted signal is simultaneously transmitted to the output ports of the first circuit pattern 6 and the second circuit pattern).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Na with Davies to incorporate the features of: wherein a guide member is provided at a point spaced apart from the screw at one side of the seating portion , a second through hole through which the guide member passes is formed in the circulation member, and the circular movement of the circulation member is guided by the guide member. Na discloses phase shifters on substrates that couple; however, does not disclose the guiding members as discloses by So. The modification would render the predictable results of improved mechanical stability and reduction of friction, improved phase accuracy, and improved precision positioning.
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as thus:
EOM US 20220149522 A1 discloses an antenna element and array antenna and operating method that includes lubricant polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)
Sano US 20210296771 A1 discloses a power divider, antenna apparatus, and wireless communication apparatus that includes substrate made of PTFE
Horner WO 2019164571 A1 discloses a base station antennas with mechanical linkages having flexible drive shafts spaced apart from phase shifters with PTFE coating wherein the assembly has rotating and pivoting member. In addition are guide mounts, hooks, latches
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648