DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are replete with errors. The claims should be revised carefully to correct the numerous errors. Examples of some unclear, inexact, or verbose limitations in the claims are:
Claim 1, lines 2, recites “a first first electrically-conductive region.” In lines 5 and 8, respectively, “a second first electrically-conductive region” and “a third first electrically-conductive region” are recited. The double ordinal numbers in these recitations do not make sense. For purposes of a prior art search the Examiner is interpreting the shared “first electrically-conductive region” of the recitations to mean - - electrically-conductive region of a first type - - .
Claim 1, lines 5-7, recites “a second first electrically-conductive region provided at the interface of the first surface and around the first first electrically-conductive region and coupled to a second electrode.” The run-on nature of this clause including two “and”s makes the relationship of elements unclear. For purposes of a prior art search, the Examiner is interpreting the “second first electrically-conductive region” to be further limited three times in this clause 1) provided at the interface of the first surface, 2) provided around the first first electrically-conductive region, and 3) coupled to a second electrode. Similar issue present in at least claim 1, lines 8-10.
Claim 4 recites “the gate electrode and the wiring layer are electrically coupled to each other.” However these elements were previously provided in alternative language in claim 3, making it unclear whether the limitation of claim 4 is required under the condition of only one being used to form the electrically-conductive film. Similar issue present in claims 5-10.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 39-40 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,389. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 39-40 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,389 merely includes additional elements to instant claim 1.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, claims 39-40 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,389 do not include the detector element to be used in array of elements for an x-ray imager; however, the Examiner is taking Official Notice that it is well known in the art to use a semiconductor detector element as the detector elements in an x-ray array imager. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the light-receiving element disclosed in claims 39-40 of U.S. Patent No. 12,543,389 be used as the elements in an x-ray imaging array for the expected result of detecting photons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Segal et al. (A New Structure for controlling dark current due to surface generation in drift detectors,” Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A, Vol. 414, 1998, p.p. 307-316).
Regarding claims 1-2, Segal teaches a light-receiving element (Abstract) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (n- bulk silicon; Fig. 7) including a photoelectric conversion region;
a first first electrically-conductive region (inner p-ring; Fig. 7) provided at an interface of a first surface of the semiconductor substrate and coupled to a first electrode (Fig. 1);
a second first electrically-conductive region (outer p-ring; Fig. 7) provided at the interface of the first surface and around the first first electrically-conductive region and coupled to a second electrode (Fig. 1);
a third first electrically-conductive region (floating p-rings; Fig. 7) provided at the interface of the first surface and around the second first electrically-conductive region and being in an electrically floating state; and
an electrically-conductive film (n-type polysilicon and p-type polysilicon; Fig. 7) provided above the first surface at least between the first first electrically-conductive region and the second first electrically-conductive region.
Regarding claims 3-10, Segal teaches an insulating layer (deposited oxide layer and thermally-grown oxide layer; Fig. 7) provided on a side of the first surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the electrically-conductive film is formed by a wiring layer provided in the insulating layer (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Segal et al. (A New Structure for controlling dark current due to surface generation in drift detectors,” Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A, Vol. 414, 1998, p.p. 307-316).
Regarding claim 16, Segal does not teach the semiconductor substrate is configured by an intrinsic semiconductor. However, the Examiner is taking Official Notice that it is well known in the art to have the material of a semiconductor substrate be an intrinsic semiconductor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the semiconductor substrate be configured by an intrinsic semiconductor, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Segal teaches an x-ray light-receiving element (Abstract) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (n- bulk silicon; Fig. 7) including a photoelectric conversion region;
a first first electrically-conductive region (inner p-ring; Fig. 7) provided at an interface of a first surface of the semiconductor substrate and coupled to a first electrode (Fig. 1);
a second first electrically-conductive region (outer p-ring; Fig. 7) provided at the interface of the first surface and around the first first electrically-conductive region and coupled to a second electrode (Fig. 1);
a third first electrically-conductive region (floating p-rings; Fig. 7) provided at the interface of the first surface and around the second first electrically-conductive region and being in an electrically floating state; and
an electrically-conductive film (n-type polysilicon and p-type polysilicon; Fig. 7) provided above the first surface at least between the first first electrically-conductive region and the second first electrically-conductive region.
Segal does not explicitly teach the x-ray light-receiving element to be one of a plurality of light-receiving elements. However, the Examiner is taking Official Notice that it is well known in the art to have a plurality light-receiving elements/sensors for the benefit of increasing the amount of information that can be obtained at the same time and imaging a scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the x-ray light-receiving element to be one of a plurality of light-receiving elements for the benefit of increasing the amount of information that can be obtained at the same time and imaging a scene.
Regarding claim 18, Segal does not explicitly teach the imager configuration of a pixel region in which a plurality of pixels are arranged; and a peripheral region provided around the pixel region, wherein the semiconductor substrate includes a depletion region in the pixel region and includes a neutral region in the peripheral region. However, the Examiner is taking Official Notice that the imager configuration of a pixel region in which a plurality of pixels are arranged; and a peripheral region provided around the pixel region, wherein the semiconductor substrate includes a depletion region in the pixel region and includes a neutral region in the peripheral region are well known imager configurations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to have the imager configuration of a pixel region in which a plurality of pixels are arranged; and a peripheral region provided around the pixel region, wherein the semiconductor substrate includes a depletion region in the pixel region and includes a neutral region in the peripheral region to achieve the predictable result of providing an imager and imaging a scene.
Regarding claim 19, Segal, as modified above, further teaches the light-receiving elements are provided for the respective pixels, and the light-receiving element comprises a p-n junction light-receiving element that applies a reverse bias between the first surface of the semiconductor substrate and a second surface opposed to the first surface (Fig.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sato et al. (US 2013/0270666) teaches a photodiode array (for example Figs. 1-2, 6, 9) including a first, second, and third semiconductor layers (1, 2, and 3) and ring-shaped electrodes (5).
Claims 11-15 have been rejected under 35 USC 112b, as explained above, but have not been rejected under 35 USC 102 nor 103.
/CAROLYN FIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2884