DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 10/6/2023.
Claims 1-14, 17, and 19-23 are pending examination
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 7/17/2024, 11/18/2024, and 3/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application No PCT/CN2021/086262 filed on 4/9/2021.
Preliminary Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of preliminary amendments made to Claims 1-14 and 17, cancellation of claims 15, 16, and 18, addition of newly added claims 19-23, and addition of Fig. 5 filed on 10/6/2023.
Drawings
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s submission of drawings received on 10/06/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 17, and 19-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 20230188304 A1; hereinafter Lim).
Regarding Claim 1, Lim disclose(s):
A communication method, performed by a communication device supporting multiple links, comprising:
determining a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises information regarding multiple user multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO), and the information regarding MU-MIMO is configured to identify a support status of the communication device for at least one of a single-type resource unit or a composite resource unit; and [ (see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)
[0002] A wireless local area network (WLAN) has been enhanced in various ways. For example, the IEEE 802.11ax standard has proposed an enhanced communication environment by using orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) and downlink multi-user multiple input multiple output (DL MU MIMO) schemes.
[0003] The present specification proposes a technical feature that can be utilized in a new communication standard. For example, the new communication standard may be an extreme high throughput (EHT) standard which is currently being discussed. The EHT standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure, an enhanced sequence, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme, or the like, which is newly proposed. The EHT standard may be called the IEEE 802.11be standard.
[0004] An increased number of spatial streams may be used in the new wireless LAN standard. In this case, in order to properly use the increased number of spatial streams, a signaling technique in the WLAN system may need to be improved.
[0060] In the specification described below, a device called a (transmitting/receiving) STA, a first STA, a second STA, a STA1, a STA2, an AP, a first AP, a second AP, an AP1, an AP2, a (transmitting/receiving) terminal, a (transmitting/receiving) device, a (transmitting/receiving) apparatus, a network, or the like may imply the STAs 110 and 120 of FIG. 1. For example, a device indicated as, without a specific reference numeral, the (transmitting/receiving) STA, the first STA, the second STA, the STA1, the STA2, the AP, the first AP, the second AP, the AP1, the AP2, the (transmitting/receiving) terminal, the (transmitting/receiving) device, the (transmitting/receiving) apparatus, the network, or the like may imply the STAs 110 and 120 of FIG. 1. For example, in the following example, an operation in which various STAs transmit/receive a signal (e.g., a PPDU) may be performed in the transceivers 113 and 123 of FIG. 1. In addition, in the following example, an operation in which various STAs generate a TX/RX signal or perform data processing and computation in advance for the TX/RX signal may be performed in the processors 111 and 121 of FIG. 1. For example, an example of an operation for generating the TX/RX signal or performing the data processing and computation in advance may include: 1) an operation of determining/obtaining/configuring/computing/decoding/encoding bit information of a sub-field (SIG, STF, LTF, Data) included in a PPDU; 2) an operation of determining/configuring/obtaining a time resource or frequency resource (e.g., a subcarrier resource) or the like used for the sub-field (SIG, STF, LTF, Data) included the PPDU; 3) an operation of determining/configuring/obtaining a specific sequence (e.g., a pilot sequence, an STF/LTF sequence, an extra sequence applied to SIG) or the like used for the sub-field (SIG, STF, LTF, Data) field included in the PPDU; 4) a power control operation and/or power saving operation applied for the STA; and 5) an operation related to determining/obtaining/configuring/decoding/encoding or the like of an ACK signal. In addition, in the following example, a variety of information used by various STAs for determining/obtaining/configuring/computing/decoding/decoding a TX/RX signal (e.g., information related to a field/subfield/control field/parameter/power or the like) may be stored in the memories 112 and 122 of FIG. 1.
[0067] In the present specification, an uplink may imply a link for communication from a non-AP STA to an SP STA, and an uplink PPDU/packet/signal or the like may be transmitted through the uplink. In addition, in the present specification, a downlink may imply a link for communication from the AP STA to the non-AP STA, and a downlink PPDU/packet/signal or the like may be transmitted through the downlink.
[0090] Hereinafter, a resource unit (RU) used for a PPDU is described. An RU may include a plurality of subcarriers (or tones). An RU may be used to transmit a signal to a plurality of STAs according to OFDMA. Further, an RU may also be defined to transmit a signal to one STA. An RU may be used for an STF, an LTF, a data field, or the like.
[0091] FIG. 5 illustrates a layout of resource units (RUs) used in a band of 20 MHz.
[0092] As illustrated in FIG. 5, resource units (RUs) corresponding to different numbers of tones (i.e., subcarriers) may be used to form some fields of an HE-PPDU. For example, resources may be allocated in illustrated RUs for an HE-STF, an HE-LTF, and a data field.
[0101] As illustrated in FIG. 7, when the layout of the RUs is used for a single user, a 996-RU may be used, in which case five DC tones may be inserted.
[0102] The RU described in the present specification may be used in uplink (UL) communication and downlink (DL) communication. For example, when UL-MU communication which is solicited by a trigger frame is performed, a transmitting STA (e.g., an AP) may allocate a first RU (e.g., 26/52/106/242-RU, etc.) to a first STA through the trigger frame, and may allocate a second RU (e.g., 26/52/106/242-RU, etc.) to a second STA. Thereafter, the first STA may transmit a first trigger-based PPDU based on the first RU, and the second STA may transmit a second trigger-based PPDU based on the second RU. The first/second trigger-based PPDU is transmitted to the AP at the same (or overlapped) time period.
[0103] For example, when a DL MU PPDU is configured, the transmitting STA (e.g., AP) may allocate the first RU (e.g., 26/52/106/242-RU. etc.) to the first STA, and may allocate the second RU (e.g., 26/52/106/242-RU, etc.) to the second STA. That is, the transmitting STA (e.g., AP) may transmit HE-STF, HE-LTF, and Data fields for the first STA through the first RU in one MU PPDU, and may transmit HE-STF, HE-LTF, and Data fields for the second STA through the second RU.
[0211] FIG. 19 shows an example of 484+996RU configured by an aggregation of large size RUs.
[0212] Referring to FIG. 19, it can be seen that there are four 484+996RU cases in the 160 MHz band.
[0213] In addition, the large size RU may include the case of 3×996RU in the 320 MHz band.
[0214] 2.3. Method for Configuring RU Allocation to Indicate MRU
[0215] RU allocation information may be configured including allocation for multiple RU aggregation as described above. In addition, the number of Multi User-Multi Input Multi Output (MU-MIMO) users is supported up to 8, and considering the RU size applying MU-MIMO to 242RU or more, the RU allocation subfield can be configured of 8 bits as in the existing 802.11ax as follows.
]
sending the first message frame. [(Lin ¶102-104; ¶176; Fig. 4 and 7-10)
[0102] The RU described in the present specification may be used in uplink (UL) communication and downlink (DL) communication. For example, when UL-MU communication which is solicited by a trigger frame is performed, a transmitting STA (e.g., an AP) may allocate a first RU (e.g., 26/52/106/242-RU, etc.) to a first STA through the trigger frame, and may allocate a second RU (e.g., 26/52/106/242-RU, etc.) to a second STA. Thereafter, the first STA may transmit a first trigger-based PPDU based on the first RU, and the second STA may transmit a second trigger-based PPDU based on the second RU. The first/second trigger-based PPDU is transmitted to the AP at the same (or overlapped) time period.
[0103] For example, when a DL MU PPDU is configured, the transmitting STA (e.g., AP) may allocate the first RU (e.g., 26/52/106/242-RU. etc.) to the first STA, and may allocate the second RU (e.g., 26/52/106/242-RU, etc.) to the second STA. That is, the transmitting STA (e.g., AP) may transmit HE-STF, HE-LTF, and Data fields for the first STA through the first RU in one MU PPDU, and may transmit HE-STF, HE-LTF, and Data fields for the second STA through the second RU.
[0104] Information related to a layout of the RU may be signaled through HE-SIG-B.
[0176] In the following example, a signal represented as a (TX/RX/UL/DL) signal, a (TX/RX/UL/DL) frame, a (TX/RX/UL/DL) packet, a (TX/RX/UL/DL) data unit, (TX/RX/UL/DL) data, or the like may be a signal transmitted/received based on the PPDU of FIG. 10. The PPDU of FIG. 10 may be used to transmit/receive frames of various types. For example, the PPDU of FIG. 10 may be used for a control frame. An example of the control frame may include a request to send (RTS), a clear to send (CTS), a power save-poll (PS-poll), BlockACKReq, BlockAck, a null data packet (NDP) announcement, and a trigger frame. For example, the PPDU of FIG. 10 may be used for a management frame. An example of the management frame may include a beacon frame, a (re-)association request frame, a (re-)association response frame, a probe request frame, and a probe response frame. For example, the PPDU of FIG. 10 may be used for a data frame. For example, the PPDU of FIG. 10 may be used to simultaneously transmit at least two or more of the control frames, the management frame, and the data frame.
]
Regarding Claims 2 and 9, Lim disclose(s):
The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the information regarding MU-MIMO comprises: partial bandwidth down link MU-MIMO information, [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
wherein the communication device is a station supporting multiple links, and the partial bandwidth downlink MU-MIMO information is configured to identify that the station is capable to support downlink communication using at least one of the single-type resource unit or the composite resource unit on a supported bandwidth. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
Regarding Claims 3 and 10, Lim disclose(s):
The communication method according to claim 2, further comprising:
receiving a protocol data unit (PPDU) using at least one of the single-type resource unit or the composite resource unit, [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
wherein a signaling field of the PPDU comprises: an identifier bit of the station and a sequence number of at least one of the single-type resource unit or the composite resource unit. [(see Lim ¶120-124; Fig. 8-9; Table 3-4)]
Regarding Claims 4 and 11, Lim disclose(s):
The communication method according to claim 1, wherein the information regarding MU-MIMO comprises: partial bandwidth uplink MU-MIMO information, and the partial bandwidth uplink MU-MIMO information is configured to identify that the communication device supports uplink communication using at least one of the single-type resource unit or the composite resource unit. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶176; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
Regarding Claims 5 and 12, Lim disclose(s):
The communication method according to claim 4, wherein the communication device is a station supporting multiple links, and the partial bandwidth uplink MU-MIMO information is configured to identify that the station supports sending of a trigger-based MU-MIMO transmission using at least one of the single-type resource unit or the composite resource unit. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; ¶176; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
Regarding Claims 6 and 13, Lim disclose(s):
The communication method according to claim 4, wherein the communication device is an access point supporting multiple links, and the partial bandwidth uplink MU-MIMO information is configured to identify that the access point supports reception of a trigger-based MU-MIMO transmission using at least one of the single-type resource unit or the composite resource unit. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; ¶176; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Lim disclose(s):
The communication method according claim 1,wherein the composite resource unit comprises at least one of:
52+26-tone, 106+26-tone, 484+242-tone, 996+484-tone, 996+484+242-tone, or 3x996-tone. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; ¶176; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)
]
Regarding Claim 8, Lim disclose(s):
A communication method, comprising:
receiving a first message frame from a communication device supporting multiple links, wherein the first message frame comprises information regarding multiple user multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO), and the information regarding MU-MIMO is configured to identify a support status of the communication device for at least one of a single-type resource unit or a composite resource unit; and [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-105; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
performing a communication operation based on the first message frame. [(Lin ¶102-104; ¶176; Fig. 4 and 7-10)]
Regarding Claim 17, Lim disclose(s):
A communication device, comprising: a memory, a processor; and
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor,
wherein the processor is configured to: [(See Lim ¶47-59; ¶357-360; Fig. 1; Fig. 11)]
determine a first message frame, wherein the first message frame comprises information regarding multiple user multiple input multiple output (MU-MIMO), and the information regarding MU-MIMO is configured to identify a support status of the communication device for at least one of a single-type resource unit or a composite resource unit; and [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-105; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
send the first message frame. [(Lin ¶102-104; ¶176; Fig. 4 and 7-10)]
Regarding Claim 19, Lim disclose(s):
A communication device, comprising:
a processor; and [(See Lim ¶47-59; ¶357-360; Fig. 1; Fig. 11)]
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor, [(See Lim ¶47-59; ¶357-360; Fig. 1; Fig. 11)]
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 8. [(See Lim ¶47-59; ¶357-360; Fig. 1; Fig. 11)]
Regarding Claim 20, Lim disclose(s):
The communication device according to claim 17, wherein the information regarding MU-MIMO comprises: partial bandwidth downlink MU-MIMO information, [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
wherein the communication device is a station supporting multiple links, and the partial bandwidth downlink MU-MIMO information is configured to identify that the station is capable to support downlink communication using at least one of the single- type resource unit or the composite resource unit on a supported bandwidth. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
Regarding Claim 21, Lim disclose(s):
The communication device according to claim 17, wherein the information regarding MU-MIMO comprises: partial bandwidth uplink MU-MIMO information, and the partial bandwidth uplink MU-MIMO information is configured to identify that the communication device supports uplink communication using at least one of the single-type resource unit or the composite resource unit. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶176; ¶211-215; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
Regarding Claim 22, Lim disclose(s):
The communication device according to claim 21, wherein the communication device is a station supporting multiple links, and the partial bandwidth uplink MU-MIMO information is configured to identify that the station supports sending of a trigger-based MU-MIMO transmission using at least one of the single- type resource unit or the composite resource unit. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; ¶176; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
Regarding Claim 23, Lim disclose(s):
The communication device according to claim 21, wherein the communication device is an access point supporting multiple links, and the partial bandwidth uplink MU-MIMO information is configured to identify that the access point supports reception of a trigger-based MU-MIMO transmission using at least one of the single-type resource unit or the composite resource unit. [(see Lim ¶6-7; ¶60; ¶67; ¶90-103; ¶ 123-124; ¶211-215; ¶176; Fig. 2-7; Fig. 15-19; Fig. 22-23; Table 1-7)]
Conclusion
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468