DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (U.S. 2023/0171698) (hereinafter “Wei”) in view of Fujishiro et al. (U.S. 2024/0015850) (hereinafter “Fujishiro”).
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches the base station 110 (network device) that transmits, and the UE 120 (terminal) that receives, configuration information (reception configuration information) indicating one or more DRX (discontinuous reception mode) configurations for one or more MBMS sessions (MBS) as shown in step 505 of Figure 5A and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063].
Wei also teaches the base station 110 that transmits, and the UE 120 receives, DCI (target control information) that indicates a wakeup signal for a broadcast/multicast session in a session-specific field of the DCI as shown in step 510 of Figure 5A as well as step 610 of Figure 6, where the UE 120 selectively performs (activate or deactivate), for the broadcast/multicast session, a wakeup operation for a DRX cycle based at least in part on the wakeup signal as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065] as well as page 8, paragraphs [0090]-[0091]; and where the UE 120 performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Wei does not explicitly teach “wherein the target control information comprises a target media access control layer control element (MAC CE); wherein the target control information further comprises indication information of the MBS, the indication information of the MBS comprises an MBS scheduling identifier, and the MBS scheduling identifier comprises at least one of: a dynamic scheduling identifier, wherein the dynamic scheduling identifier is a Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI); or a semi-persistent scheduling identifier, wherein the semi-persistent scheduling identifier is a Semi-Persistent Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (SPS-RNTI)”.
However, Fujishiro teaches a communication control method for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a base station to a user equipment where a gNB 200 (network device) transmits to a UE 100 (terminal) an indication (target control information) to individually activate or deactivate a PTP leg and a PTM leg; where a MAC entity of the gNB 200 may transmit a MAC CE including the indication to the UE 100; and where the MAC CE may include an identifier such as a G-RNTI (dynamic scheduling identifier) associated with the MBS session to be indicated as shown in step S12 of Figure 9 and spoken of on page 5, paragraphs [0095]-[0097].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a MAC CE including an MBS scheduling identifier as taught in Fujishiro to the target control information transmission of Wei in order to allow for more dynamic control compared with a case by use of an RRC message, thereby providing a more adaptive system that may better adjust to network conditions as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0098] of Fujishiro.
Regarding claim 2, Wei further teaches the base station 110 that transmits, and the UE 120 receives, DCI (target control information) that indicates a wakeup signal for a broadcast/multicast session in a session-specific field of the DCI as shown in step 510 of Figure 5A as well as step 610 of Figure 6, where the UE 120 selectively performs (activate or deactivate), for the broadcast/multicast session, a wakeup operation for a DRX cycle based at least in part on the wakeup signal as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065] as well as page 8, paragraphs [0090]-[0091]; and where the UE 120 performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 4, Wei further teaches the base station 110 that transmits, and the UE 120 receives, DCI (target control information) that indicates a wakeup signal for a broadcast/multicast session (MBS activated state) in a session-specific field of the DCI as shown in step 510 of Figure 5A as well as step 610 of Figure 6, where the UE 120 selectively performs (activate or deactivate), for the broadcast/multicast session, a wakeup operation for a DRX cycle based at least in part on the wakeup signal as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065] as well as page 8, paragraphs [0090]-[0091]; and where the UE 120 performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 5, Wei further teaches the DRX configuration that is configured by RRC signaling (RRC message) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0057].
Regarding claim 6, Wei further teaches the DRX configuration indicated by the configuration information that identifies a DRX on-duration timer, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX scheduling cycle, a DRX scheduling offset (initial monitoring state) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063]; where the configuration information also indicates a wakeup signal configuration to be used with the DRX configuration, where the wakeup signal configuration identifies a set of wakeup monitoring occasions (for starting the MBS reception monitoring) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0064].
Regarding claim 7, Wei further teaches the base station 110 that may transmit MBMS sessions associated with respective MBMSs (more than one MBS), and where a plurality of DRX configurations (different reception configuration information) may be used for a plurality of MBMS sessions as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0062]-[0063].
Regarding claim 8, Wei further teaches the DRX configuration indicated by the configuration information that identifies a DRX on-duration timer (first timer), a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX scheduling cycle (service monitoring cycle), a DRX scheduling offset, etc. as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063].
Regarding claim 9, Wei teaches the base station 110 (network device) that transmits, and the UE 120 (terminal) that receives, configuration information (reception configuration information) indicating one or more DRX (discontinuous reception mode) configurations for one or more MBMS sessions (MBS) as shown in step 505 of Figure 5A and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063]; as well as the base station 110 that transmits, and the UE 120 receives, DCI (target control information) that indicates a wakeup signal for a broadcast/multicast session in a session-specific field of the DCI as shown in step 510 of Figure 5A as well as step 610 of Figure 6, where the UE 120 selectively performs (starting or stopping), for the broadcast/multicast session, a wakeup operation for a DRX cycle based at least in part on the wakeup signal as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065] as well as page 8, paragraphs [0090]-[0091]; and where the UE 120 performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Wei does not explicitly teach “wherein the target control information comprises a target media access control layer control element (MAC CE); wherein the target control information further comprises indication information of the MBS, the indication information of the MBS comprises an MBS scheduling identifier, and the MBS scheduling identifier comprises at least one of: a dynamic scheduling identifier, wherein the dynamic scheduling identifier is a Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI); or a semi-persistent scheduling identifier, wherein the semi-persistent scheduling identifier is a Semi-Persistent Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (SPS-RNTI)”.
However, Fujishiro teaches a communication control method for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a base station to a user equipment where a gNB 200 (network device) transmits to a UE 100 (terminal) an indication (target control information) to individually activate or deactivate a PTP leg and a PTM leg; where a MAC entity of the gNB 200 may transmit a MAC CE including the indication to the UE 100; and where the MAC CE may include an identifier such as a G-RNTI (dynamic scheduling identifier) associated with the MBS session to be indicated as shown in step S12 of Figure 9 and spoken of on page 5, paragraphs [0095]-[0097].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a MAC CE including an MBS scheduling identifier as taught in Fujishiro to the target control information transmission of Wei in order to allow for more dynamic control compared with a case by use of an RRC message, thereby providing a more adaptive system that may better adjust to network conditions as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0098] of Fujishiro.
Regarding claim 10, Wei further teaches the base station 110 that transmits, and the UE 120 receives, DCI (target control information) that indicates a wakeup signal for a broadcast/multicast session (MBS activated state) in a session-specific field of the DCI as shown in step 510 of Figure 5A as well as step 610 of Figure 6, where the UE 120 selectively performs (activate or deactivate), for the broadcast/multicast session, a wakeup operation for a DRX cycle based at least in part on the wakeup signal as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065] as well as page 8, paragraphs [0090]-[0091]; and where the UE 120 performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 11, Wei further teaches the UE 120 that selectively performs (starting or stopping), for the broadcast/multicast session, a wakeup operation for a DRX cycle based at least in part on the wakeup signal (target control information) as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065] as well as page 8, paragraphs [0090]-[0091]; and where the UE 120 performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal (target control information) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 12, Wei further teaches the UE 120 that performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring started/stopped) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal (target control information) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084]; where the DRX configuration is configured by RRC signaling (RRC message) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0057]; where the DRX configuration indicated by the configuration information identifies a DRX on-duration timer, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX scheduling cycle, a DRX scheduling offset (initial monitoring state) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063]; where the configuration information also indicates a wakeup signal configuration to be used with the DRX configuration, and where the wakeup signal configuration identifies a set of wakeup monitoring occasions (for starting the MBS reception monitoring) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0064].
Regarding claim 14, Wei further teaches the UE 120 that monitors the set of wakeup signal monitoring occasions 525 (target time domain position) and receives DCI in a PDCCH-WUS 535 as shown in Figure 5B and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0074].
Regarding claim 15, Wei further teaches a session-specific field of the received DCI that is allocated two bits (bit value) for wakeup signal indication, e.g. where a wakeup signal indicates the UE to start PDCCH monitoring for the next DRX cycle using a bit value (first predefined value) of “00”, and where the wakeup signal indicates the UE to skip PDCCH monitoring in the next DRX cycle using a bit value (second predefined value) of “01” as spoken of on pages 7-8, paragraph [0073].
Regarding claim 17, Wei further teaches the DRX configuration indicated by the configuration information that identifies a DRX on-duration timer, a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX scheduling cycle, a DRX scheduling offset (predetermined offset value), etc. as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063].
Regarding claim 18, Wei further teaches the UE 120 that monitors the set of wakeup signal monitoring occasions 525 (service-monitoring start position) and receives DCI in a PDCCH-WUS 535 as shown in Figure 5B and spoken of on page 8, paragraph [0074].
Regarding claim 20, Wei further teaches the base station 110 that may transmit MBMS sessions associated with respective MBMSs (more than one MBS), and where a plurality of DRX configurations (different reception configuration information) may be used for a plurality of MBMS sessions as spoken of on page 6, paragraphs [0062]-[0063].
Regarding claim 21, Wei further teaches the DRX configuration indicated by the configuration information that identifies a DRX on-duration timer (first timer), a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX scheduling cycle (service monitoring cycle), a DRX scheduling offset, etc. as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063].
Regarding claim 22, Wei further teaches the DRX configuration indicated by the configuration information that identifies a DRX on-duration timer (first timer), a DRX inactivity timer, a DRX scheduling cycle, a DRX scheduling offset, etc. as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063]; where the wakeup signal indicates whether the UE 120 is to initiate an on-duration timer for a subsequent DRX cycle 530, or whether the UE 120 is not to initiate (start) an on-duration timer for one or more subsequent DRX cycles 530 as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0073]; and where the UE 120 performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal (target control information) as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Regarding claim 28, Wei teaches the base station 110 (network device) that transmits, and the UE 120 (terminal) that receives, configuration information (reception configuration information) indicating one or more DRX (discontinuous reception mode) configurations for one or more MBMS sessions (MBS) as shown in step 505 of Figure 5A and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0063]; where base station 110 of Figure 2 includes a processor 240 coupled to a memory 242.
Wei also teaches the base station 110 that transmits, and the UE 120 receives, DCI (target control information) that indicates a wakeup signal for a broadcast/multicast session in a session-specific field of the DCI as shown in step 510 of Figure 5A as well as step 610 of Figure 6, where the UE 120 selectively performs (activate or deactivate), for the broadcast/multicast session, a wakeup operation for a DRX cycle based at least in part on the wakeup signal as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065] as well as page 8, paragraphs [0090]-[0091]; and where the UE 120 performs PDCCH monitoring (reception monitoring) associated with a MBMS (MBS) session in the DRX cycle in relation to the wakeup signal as spoken of on page 9, paragraph [0084].
Wei does not explicitly teach “wherein the target control information comprises a target media access control layer control element (MAC CE); wherein the target control information further comprises indication information of the MBS, the indication information of the MBS comprises an MBS scheduling identifier, and the MBS scheduling identifier comprises at least one of: a dynamic scheduling identifier, wherein the dynamic scheduling identifier is a Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier (G-RNTI); or a semi-persistent scheduling identifier, wherein the semi-persistent scheduling identifier is a Semi-Persistent Scheduling Radio Network Temporary Identifier (SPS-RNTI)”.
However, Fujishiro teaches a communication control method for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a base station to a user equipment where a gNB 200 (network device) transmits to a UE 100 (terminal) an indication (target control information) to individually activate or deactivate a PTP leg and a PTM leg; where a MAC entity of the gNB 200 may transmit a MAC CE including the indication to the UE 100; and where the MAC CE may include an identifier such as a G-RNTI (dynamic scheduling identifier) associated with the MBS session to be indicated as shown in step S12 of Figure 9 and spoken of on page 5, paragraphs [0095]-[0097].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the use of a MAC CE including an MBS scheduling identifier as taught in Fujishiro to the target control information transmission of Wei in order to allow for more dynamic control compared with a case by use of an RRC message, thereby providing a more adaptive system that may better adjust to network conditions as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0098] of Fujishiro.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Fujishiro and Liu et al. (U.S. 2022/0210766) (hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claim 3, Wei in view of Fujishiro teaches claim 2 as described above. While Wei also teaches where the received DCI PDCCH wakeup signal is scrambled by a RNTI as spoken of on page 7, paragraph [0065], Wei does not explicitly teach “wherein the target DCI is identified by a power saving radio network temporary identification (PS-RNTI)”.
However, Liu teaches a method and system for DCI monitoring for multicast/broadcast services where a base station may transmit a group-common wakeup signal (GC-WUS) in a MBS bandwidth part 405 (BWP) when the MBS BWP is inactive, dormant, or active e.g. for downlink DCI format 2_6 with group-power-saving-RNTI (G-PS-RNTI) for MBS transmissions, which may include a bitmap for multiple services or for downlink DCI format 2_6 with power-saving-RNTI (PS-RNTI), which may include a bitmap for unicast services and MBSs as spoken of on page 14, paragraph [0126].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply a power saving RNTI as taught in Liu to the DCI transmission of Wei in view of Fujishiro in order to improve the efficiency of the communication system by using an RNTI with additional power savings as spoken of on page 14, paragraph [0126] of Liu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1-12, 14, 15, 17, 18, 20-22, and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467