DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed July 27, 2026. Claims 34-60 are pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 36, 42, 47, 54-56, 58 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koshta et al. (US 2022/0053314, “Koshta”).
Regarding claim 36, Koshta teaches a method performed by an authentication server (FIGs. 3-
7, AUSF 132) configured for use in a home network of a wireless device, the method comprising:
generating expected integrity protection data for checking an integrity of a set of one or more information fields contained in a transparent container that acknowledges successful reception by the wireless device of device configuration data from the home network ([0055] “At 605, the UDM 133 determines that a SoR list update is necessary… At 610, the UDM 133 transmits the SoR data to the AUSF 132 along with the SUPI and an indication of whether or not an acknowledgement (ACK) is requested from the UE 110. For purposes of this description, it will be assumed that the UDM 133 is requesting an ACK… the AUSF 132 sends a response to the UDM 133 containing the SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, the SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and the Counter_SoR” [0058] “the UE 110 sends an ACK in 660 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the SoR-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT.” [0060] “At 670, the UDM 133 compares the SoR-MAC-I_UE received from the AMF 131 at 665 with the SoR-XMAC-I_UE received from the AUSF 132 at 615. If the SoR-MAC-I_UE and the SoR-XMAC-I_UE are the same, then the UDM 133 treats the SoR procedure as successfully completed”. Note: AUSF 132 sends SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and Counter_SoR to UDM 133. It is understood SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and Counter_SoR are generated by AUSF 132); and
checking, or assisting a core network node (FIGs. 3-7, UDM 133) in the home network to check, the integrity of the set of one or more information fields using the expected integrity protection data ([0055] “the AUSF 132 sends a response to the UDM 133 containing the SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, the SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and the Counter_SoR” [0060] “At 670, the UDM 133 compares the SoR-MAC-I_UE received from the AMF 131 at 665 with the SoR-XMAC-I_UE received from the AUSF 132 at 615. If the SoR-MAC-I_UE and the SoR-XMAC-I_UE are the same, then the UDM 133 treats the SoR procedure as successfully completed”).
Regarding claim 42, Koshta teaches claim 36 and further teaches wherein the set of one or more information fields includes: an information field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain device parameter from the home network; and/or a field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain parameter for UPU ([0040] “the AMF 131 sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message containing the UPU container to the UE 110 at 350” [0041] “the UE 110 sends an ACK at 360 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the UPU-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT”. [0042] “UE 110 will process the UPU container as per the 3GPP specifications. For example, the UE 110 will compute the UPU-MAC-IAUSF and this is compared with the received UPU-MAC-IAUSF from network. If it is same, then it further goes ahead with processing the UPU container and sends an ACK, if requested, at 360” [0044] “If, after verifying the UPU-MAC-I_AUSF at 355, the UE 110 is unable to transmit the ACK due to, for example, a RLF, the UDM 133 is unaware if the UE 110 received the UPU container and/or successfully processed the UPU. if the UE 110 received the UPU container and/or successfully processed the UPU.” It is understood if ACK is correctly received by the UDM, ACK indicates UPU container has been received and successfully processed which indicates UPU is supported).
Regarding claim 47, Koshta teaches claim 36 and further teaches wherein said generating comprises: generating the expected integrity protection data after the home network receives the transparent container from the wireless device; or before the home network receives the transparent container from the wireless device, generating the expected integrity protection data from an expected transparent container, or an expected set of one or more information fields, that is expected to be received by the home network from the wireless device (FIG. 6, steps 610, 615 takes place before step 665. [0055] “At 610, the UDM 133 transmits the SoR data to the AUSF 132 along with the SUPI and an indication of whether or not an acknowledgement (ACK) is requested from the UE 110. For purposes of this description, it will be assumed that the UDM 133 is requesting an ACK. However, it should be noted that in some embodiments, an ACK is not necessary. At 615, the AUSF 132 sends a response to the UDM 133 containing the SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, the SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and the Counter_SoR.”)
Regarding claim 54, Koshta teaches a method performed by a wireless device (FIG. 6, UE 110), the method comprising:
receiving device configuration data from a home network of the wireless device ([0057] “the UDM 133 notifies the AMF 131 of the changes to the parameters by the means of the Nudm_SDM_Notification. This operation includes the updated SoR list as well as an indication of whether or not the UE needs to send an ACK” [0058] “the AMF 131 sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message containing the UPU container to the UE 110 at 650”); and
transmitting a transparent container that acknowledges successful reception of the device configuration data, contains a set of one or more information fields, and contains integrity protection data that integrity protects the set of one or more information fields ([0058] “the UE 110 sends an ACK in 660 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the SoR-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT.”)
Regarding claim 55, Koshta teaches claim 54 and further teaches wherein the set of one or more information fields includes: an information field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain device parameter from the home network; and/or a field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain parameter for UPU ([0040] “the AMF 131 sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message containing the UPU container to the UE 110 at 350” [0041] “the UE 110 sends an ACK at 360 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the UPU-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT”. [0042] “UE 110 will process the UPU container as per the 3GPP specifications. For example, the UE 110 will compute the UPU-MAC-IAUSF and this is compared with the received UPU-MAC-IAUSF from network. If it is same, then it further goes ahead with processing the UPU container and sends an ACK, if requested, at 360” [0044] “If, after verifying the UPU-MAC-I_AUSF at 355, the UE 110 is unable to transmit the ACK due to, for example, a RLF, the UDM 133 is unaware if the UE 110 received the UPU container and/or successfully processed the UPU. if the UE 110 received the UPU container and/or successfully processed the UPU.” It is understood if ACK is correctly received by the UDM, ACK indicates UPU container has been received and successfully processed which indicates UPU is supported).
Regarding claim 56, Koshta teaches an authentication server (FIGs. 3-7, AUSF 132) configured for use in a home network of a wireless device, the authentication server comprising:
communication circuitry; and processing circuitry ([0068]) configured to:
generate expected integrity protection data for checking an integrity of a set of one or more information fields contained in a transparent container that acknowledges successful reception by the wireless device of device configuration data from the home network ([0055] “At 605, the UDM 133 determines that a SoR list update is necessary… At 610, the UDM 133 transmits the SoR data to the AUSF 132 along with the SUPI and an indication of whether or not an acknowledgement (ACK) is requested from the UE 110. For purposes of this description, it will be assumed that the UDM 133 is requesting an ACK… the AUSF 132 sends a response to the UDM 133 containing the SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, the SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and the Counter_SoR” [0058] “the UE 110 sends an ACK in 660 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the SoR-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT.” [0060] “At 670, the UDM 133 compares the SoR-MAC-I_UE received from the AMF 131 at 665 with the SoR-XMAC-I_UE received from the AUSF 132 at 615. If the SoR-MAC-I_UE and the SoR-XMAC-I_UE are the same, then the UDM 133 treats the SoR procedure as successfully completed”. Note: AUSF 132 sends SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and Counter_SoR to UDM 133. It is understood SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and Counter_SoR are generated by AUSF 132); and
check, or assist a core network node in the home network (FIGs. 3-7, UDM 133) to check, the integrity of the set of one or more information fields using the expected integrity protection data ([0055] “the AUSF 132 sends a response to the UDM 133 containing the SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, the SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and the Counter_SoR” [0060] “At 670, the UDM 133 compares the SoR-MAC-I_UE received from the AMF 131 at 665 with the SoR-XMAC-I_UE received from the AUSF 132 at 615. If the SoR-MAC-I_UE and the SoR-XMAC-I_UE are the same, then the UDM 133 treats the SoR procedure as successfully completed”).
Regarding claim 58, Koshta teaches claim 36, wherein the set of one or more information fields conveys information other than acknowledgement of successful reception of the device configuration data and other than integrity protection data against which the expected integrity protection data is to be checked, and wherein at least one of the information fields is configurable to have any of multiple possible values allowed for that information field (it appears claimed information is a non-functional descriptive material or printed matter, “the printed matter owed no patentable weight.” See MPEP 211.05. 1976). Also see C R BARD INC. v. ANGIODYNAMICs, INC, Fed. Cir 2020 (“While historically “printed matter” referred to claim elements that literally encompassed “printed” material, the doctrine has evolved over time to guard against at-tempts to monopolize the conveyance of information using any medium. See Praxair Distrib., Inc. v. Mallinckrodt Hosp. Prods. IP Ltd., 890 F.3d 1024, 1032 (Fed. Cir. 2018); In re Distefano, 808 F.3d 845, 849 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Today, printed matter encompasses any information claimed for its communicative content, and the doctrine prohibits patenting such printed matter unless it is “functionally related” to its “substrate,” which encompasses the structural elements of the claimed invention. Praxair, 890 F.3d at 1032; DiStefano, 808 F.3d at 848–49.”)
Regarding claim 60, Koshta teaches claim 54, wherein the set of one or more information fields conveys information other than acknowledgement of successful reception of the device configuration data and other than the integrity protection data, and wherein at least one of the information fields is configurable to have any of multiple possible values allowed for that information field (it appears claimed information is a non-functional descriptive material or printed matter, “the printed matter owed no patentable weight.” See MPEP 211.05. 1976). Also see C R BARD INC. v. ANGIODYNAMICs, INC, Fed. Cir 2020 (“While historically “printed matter” referred to claim elements that literally encompassed “printed” material, the doctrine has evolved over time to guard against at-tempts to monopolize the conveyance of information using any medium. See Praxair Distrib., Inc. v. Mallinckrodt Hosp. Prods. IP Ltd., 890 F.3d 1024, 1032 (Fed. Cir. 2018); In re Distefano, 808 F.3d 845, 849 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Today, printed matter encompasses any information claimed for its communicative content, and the doctrine prohibits patenting such printed matter unless it is “functionally related” to its “substrate,” which encompasses the structural elements of the claimed invention. Praxair, 890 F.3d at 1032; DiStefano, 808 F.3d at 848–49.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-41are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta in view of Liu (US 2021/0037415).
Regarding claim 37, Koshta teaches claim 36 but does not teach wherein the transparent container contains a header and a body, wherein: the header includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the header; and/or the body includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the body.
Liu teaches wherein the transparent container contains a header and a body, wherein: the header includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the header; and/or the body includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the body ([0111] “After the UE 302 formats the payload container, the UE 302 includes the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs in the NAS message container IE and ciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE using the ciphering key from the NAS security context of the UE 302. This is illustrated in the example control plane service request message content 1800 shown in FIG. 18. The UE 302 sets the security header type of the step 405 control plane service request message to “integrity protected” and sends the control plane service request message containing the cleartext IEs and the NAS message container IE to the network (e.g., to AMF 308).” [0112] “When the AMF 308 receives an integrity protected control plane service request message that includes a NAS message container IE, the AMF 308 performs the integrity check at the network side. Once the integrity check is successful, the AMF 308 deciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE and extracts the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs” Note: NAS message container IE includes payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs and is integrity protected. It is understood all of the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs data integrity’s is protected).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the transparent container contains a header and a body, wherein: the header includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the header; and/or the body includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the body, as taught by Liu in Koshta to ensure important data is protected.
Regarding claim 38, Koshta in view of Liu teaches claim 36 but Koshta does not teach wherein generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the header comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the header.
Liu teaches wherein generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the header comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the header ([0111] “After the UE 302 formats the payload container, the UE 302 includes the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs in the NAS message container IE and ciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE using the ciphering key from the NAS security context of the UE 302. This is illustrated in the example control plane service request message content 1800 shown in FIG. 18. The UE 302 sets the security header type of the step 405 control plane service request message to “integrity protected” and sends the control plane service request message containing the cleartext IEs and the NAS message container IE to the network (e.g., to AMF 308).” [0112] “When the AMF 308 receives an integrity protected control plane service request message that includes a NAS message container IE, the AMF 308 performs the integrity check at the network side. Once the integrity check is successful, the AMF 308 deciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE and extracts the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs” Note: NAS message container IE includes payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs and is integrity protected. It is understood all of the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs data integrity’s is protected).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the transparent container contains a header and a body, wherein: the header includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the header; and/or the body includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the body, as taught by Liu in Koshta to ensure important data is protected.
Regarding claim 39, Koshta in view of Liu teaches claim 36 but Koshta does not teach wherein the body includes the integrity protection data, and wherein generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the body comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from all of the body except the integrity protection data.
Liu teaches wherein the body includes the integrity protection data, and wherein generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the body comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from all of the body except the integrity protection data ([0111] “After the UE 302 formats the payload container, the UE 302 includes the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs in the NAS message container IE and ciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE using the ciphering key from the NAS security context of the UE 302. This is illustrated in the example control plane service request message content 1800 shown in FIG. 18. The UE 302 sets the security header type of the step 405 control plane service request message to “integrity protected” and sends the control plane service request message containing the cleartext IEs and the NAS message container IE to the network (e.g., to AMF 308).” [0112] “When the AMF 308 receives an integrity protected control plane service request message that includes a NAS message container IE, the AMF 308 performs the integrity check at the network side. Once the integrity check is successful, the AMF 308 deciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE and extracts the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs” Note: NAS message container IE includes payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs and is integrity protected. It is understood all of the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs data integrity’s is protected).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the transparent container contains a header and a body, wherein: the header includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the header; and/or the body includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the at least one information field included in the body, as taught by Liu in Koshta to ensure important data is protected.
Regarding claim 40, Koshta teaches claim 36 but does not teach wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the whole transparent container except for the integrity protection data.
Liu teaches wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the whole transparent container except for the integrity protection data ([0111] “After the UE 302 formats the payload container, the UE 302 includes the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs in the NAS message container IE and ciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE using the ciphering key from the NAS security context of the UE 302. This is illustrated in the example control plane service request message content 1800 shown in FIG. 18. The UE 302 sets the security header type of the step 405 control plane service request message to “integrity protected” and sends the control plane service request message containing the cleartext IEs and the NAS message container IE to the network (e.g., to AMF 308).” [0112] “When the AMF 308 receives an integrity protected control plane service request message that includes a NAS message container IE, the AMF 308 performs the integrity check at the network side. Once the integrity check is successful, the AMF 308 deciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE and extracts the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs” Note: NAS message container IE includes payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs and is integrity protected. It is understood all of the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs data integrity’s is protected).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the whole transparent container except for the integrity protection data, as taught by Liu in Koshta to ensure important data is protected.
Regarding claim 41, Koshta teaches claim 36 but does not teach wherein the device configuration data includes:
steering of roaming information, wherein the steering of roaming information comprises information for encouraging the wireless device to roam to a preferred roamed-to-network indicated by the home network ([0058] “If the AMF 131 is able to communicate with the UE 110, however, the AMF 131 sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message containing the UPU container to the UE 110 at 650. It should be noted that this message may be sent following 625 (the original transmission of the SoR container) or 640 (a retransmission of the SoR container) if the AMF 131 is able to communicate with the UE 110.” Claim 12 states “updated steering of roaming (SoR) list including a list of preferred operator controlled public land mobile networks (PLMNs) and associated access technologies, and wherein the updated SoR list is included in a SoR container”); an information field that indicates the wireless device supports steering of roaming connected mode control information, wherein the steering of roaming connected mode control information comprises information to control timing for the wireless device to move from connected mode to idle mode in order to perform steering of roaming; and/or a set of one or more device parameters, wherein the set of one or more device parameters includes: a parameter that indicates default configured network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI); and/or a parameter that indicates routing indicator data.
Claims 43 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta in view of Rajadurai et al. (US 2020/0221281, “Rajadurai”).
Regarding claim 43, Koshta teaches claim 36 but does not teach wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the set of one or more information fields.
Rajadurai teaches wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the set of one or more information fields ([0159] “the UE 100 may responds with a message to the UDM 320/AUSF 310 (via AMF 210/SEAF 220) carrying a protected acknowledgement IE. The protection mechanism is same as the above mentioned procedure, but the UE 100 performs the MAC-I calculation on the response message (may carry the preferred PLMN/access technology combinations) and the UDM 320/AUSF 310 performs the XMAC-I calculation on the received message and checks whether the MAC-I is same as XMAC-I.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the set of one or more information fields, as taught by Rajadurai in Koshta to ensure important data is protected.
Regarding claim 44, Koshta in view of Rajadurai teaches claim 36 but does not teach wherein generating the expected integrity protection data comprises: forming an input to a key derivation function from a set of input parameters, wherein the set of input parameters includes at least the set of one or more information fields; calculating an output of the key derivation function with the formed input; and generating the expected integrity protection data from the output of the key derivation function.
Rajadurai teaches wherein generating the expected integrity protection data comprises: forming an input to a key derivation function from a set of input parameters, wherein the set of input parameters includes at least the set of one or more information fields; calculating an output of the key derivation function with the formed input; and generating the expected integrity protection data from the output of the key derivation function ([0159] “the UE 100 may responds with a message to the UDM 320/AUSF 310 (via AMF 210/SEAF 220) carrying a protected acknowledgement IE. The protection mechanism is same as the above mentioned procedure, but the UE 100 performs the MAC-I calculation on the response message (may carry the preferred PLMN/access technology combinations) and the UDM 320/AUSF 310 performs the XMAC-I calculation on the received message and checks whether the MAC-I is same as XMAC-I.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein generating the expected integrity protection data comprises: forming an input to a key derivation function from a set of input parameters, wherein the set of input parameters includes at least the set of one or more information fields; calculating an output of the key derivation function with the formed input; and generating the expected integrity protection data from the output of the key derivation function, as taught by Rajadurai in Koshta to ensure important data is protected.
Claims 45, 48-53 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta
in view of De Kievit et al. (US 2021/0409942, “De Kievit”).
Regarding claim 45, Koshta teaches claim 36 but does not teach receiving the transparent container, or the set of one or more information fields, from the core network node, as received by the core network node from the wireless device.
De Kievit teaches receiving the transparent container, or the set of one or more information fields, from the core network node, as received by the core network node from the wireless device ([0053] “The UE will send the confirmation, the MAC and the counter to the AMF, which will forward it to the UDM. Upon reception, the UDM will forward the message, the MAC and the counter to the AUSF so that the AUSF can verify the MAC.” [0054] “Variations to the above could be made. For example, one could derive a specific key from the KAUSF for this method and use a different integrity protection mechanism. However, it is noted though that such a KAUSF based solution would only protect the message exchange between the ME and the AUSF.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature receiving the transparent container, or the set of one or more information fields, from the core network node, as received by the core network node from the wireless device, as taught by De Kievit in Koshta to provide a robust security mechanism.
Regarding claim 48, Koshta teaches a method performed by a core network node (FIG. 6 UDM 133) configured for use in a home network of a wireless device, the method comprising:
{transmitting, from the core network node to an authentication server in the home network, a transparent container or a set of one or more information fields contained in the transparent container, wherein the transparent container acknowledges successful reception by the wireless device of device configuration data from the home network; and}
receiving, from the authentication server, integrity checking information that either: indicates a result of a check by the authentication server of the integrity of the set of one or more information fields; or is usable by the core network node to check the integrity of the set of one or more information fields ([0055] “the AUSF 132 sends a response to the UDM 133 containing the SoR-MAC-I_AUSF, the SoR-XMAC-I_UE, and the Counter_SoR” [0060] “At 670, the UDM 133 compares the SoR-MAC-I_UE received from the AMF 131 at 665 with the SoR-XMAC-I_UE received from the AUSF 132 at 615. If the SoR-MAC-I_UE and the SoR-XMAC-I_UE are the same, then the UDM 133 treats the SoR procedure as successfully completed”).
Koshta does not teach transmitting, from the core network node to an authentication server in the home network, a transparent container or a set of one or more information fields contained in the transparent container, wherein the transparent container acknowledges successful reception by the wireless device of device configuration data from the home network.
De Kievit teaches transmitting, from the core network node to an authentication server in the home network, a transparent container or a set of one or more information fields contained in the transparent container, wherein the transparent container acknowledges successful reception by the wireless device of device configuration data from the home network ([0053] “The UE will send the confirmation, the MAC and the counter to the AMF, which will forward it to the UDM. Upon reception, the UDM will forward the message, the MAC and the counter to the AUSF so that the AUSF can verify the MAC.” [0054] “Variations to the above could be made. For example, one could derive a specific key from the KAUSF for this method and use a different integrity protection mechanism. However, it is noted though that such a KAUSF based solution would only protect the message exchange between the ME and the AUSF.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature transmitting, from the core network node to an authentication server in the home network, a transparent container or a set of one or more information fields contained in the transparent container, wherein the transparent container acknowledges successful reception by the wireless device of device configuration data from the home network, as taught by De Kievit in Koshta to provide a robust security mechanism.
Regarding claim 49, Koshta in view of De Kievit teaches claim 48, and further teaches wherein the integrity checking information is usable by the core network node to check the integrity of the set of one or more information fields, wherein the method further comprises using the integrity checking information to check the integrity of the set of one or more information fields ([0060] “At 670, the UDM 133 compares the SoR-MAC-I_UE received from the AMF 131 at 665 with the SoR-XMAC-I_UE received from the AUSF 132 at 615. If the SoR-MAC-I_UE and the SoR-XMAC-I_UE are the same, then the UDM 133 treats the SoR procedure as successfully completed.”)
Regarding claim 50, Koshta in view of De Kievit teaches claim 49, and further teaches wherein the integrity checking information comprises expected integrity protection data, and wherein said using comprises checking whether the expected integrity protection data corresponds to the integrity protection data contained in the transparent container ([0058] “the UE 110 sends an ACK in 660 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the SoR-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT..” [0060] “At 670, the UDM 133 compares the SoR-MAC-I_UE received from the AMF 131 at 665 with the SoR-XMAC-I_UE received from the AUSF 132 at 615. If the SoR-MAC-I_UE and the SoR-XMAC-I_UE are the same, then the UDM 133 treats the SoR procedure as successfully completed.”)
Regarding claim 52, Koshta in view of De Kievit teaches claim 48 and further teaches wherein the device configuration data includes: steering of roaming information, wherein the steering of roaming information comprises information for encouraging the wireless device to roam to a preferred roamed-to-network indicated by the home network ([0058] “If the AMF 131 is able to communicate with the UE 110, however, the AMF 131 sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message containing the UPU container to the UE 110 at 650. It should be noted that this message may be sent following 625 (the original transmission of the SoR container) or 640 (a retransmission of the SoR container) if the AMF 131 is able to communicate with the UE 110.” Claim 12 states “updated steering of roaming (SoR) list including a list of preferred operator controlled public land mobile networks (PLMNs) and associated access technologies, and wherein the updated SoR list is included in a SoR container”); an information field that indicates the wireless device supports steering of roaming connected mode control information, wherein the steering of roaming connected mode control information comprises information to control timing for the wireless device to move from connected mode to idle mode in order to perform steering of roaming; and/or a set of one or more device parameters, wherein the set of one or more device parameters includes: a parameter that indicates default configured network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI); and/or a parameter that indicates routing indicator data.
Regarding claim 53, Koshta in view of De Kievit teaches claim 48 and further teaches wherein the set of one or more information fields includes: an information field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain device parameter from the home network; and/or a field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain parameter for UPU ([0040] “the AMF 131 sends a DL NAS TRANSPORT message containing the UPU container to the UE 110 at 350” [0041] “the UE 110 sends an ACK at 360 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the UPU-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT”. [0042] “UE 110 will process the UPU container as per the 3GPP specifications. For example, the UE 110 will compute the UPU-MAC-IAUSF and this is compared with the received UPU-MAC-IAUSF from network. If it is same, then it further goes ahead with processing the UPU container and sends an ACK, if requested, at 360” [0044] “If, after verifying the UPU-MAC-I_AUSF at 355, the UE 110 is unable to transmit the ACK due to, for example, a RLF, the UDM 133 is unaware if the UE 110 received the UPU container and/or successfully processed the UPU. if the UE 110 received the UPU container and/or successfully processed the UPU.” It is understood if ACK is correctly received by the UDM, ACK indicates UPU container has been received and successfully processed which indicates UPU is supported).
Regarding claim 59, Koshta in view of De Kievit teaches claim 48, wherein the set of one or more information fields conveys information other than acknowledgement of successful reception of the device configuration data and other than integrity protection data for checking the integrity of the set of one or more information fields, and wherein at least one of the information fields is configurable to have any of multiple possible values allowed for that information field (it appears claimed information is a non-functional descriptive material or printed matter, “the printed matter owed no patentable weight.” See MPEP 211.05. 1976). Also see C R BARD INC. v. ANGIODYNAMICs, INC, Fed. Cir 2020 (“While historically “printed matter” referred to claim elements that literally encompassed “printed” material, the doctrine has evolved over time to guard against at-tempts to monopolize the conveyance of information using any medium. See Praxair Distrib., Inc. v. Mallinckrodt Hosp. Prods. IP Ltd., 890 F.3d 1024, 1032 (Fed. Cir. 2018); In re Distefano, 808 F.3d 845, 849 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Today, printed matter encompasses any information claimed for its communicative content, and the doctrine prohibits patenting such printed matter unless it is “functionally related” to its “substrate,” which encompasses the structural elements of the claimed invention. Praxair, 890 F.3d at 1032; DiStefano, 808 F.3d at 848–49.”)
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta in view of
in view of De Kievit further in view of Rajadurai.
Regarding claim 46, Koshta in view of De Kievit teaches claim 45 but does not teach wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the transparent container, or the set of one or more information fields, received from the core network node.
Rajadurai teaches wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the set of one or more information fields ([0159] “the UE 100 may responds with a message to the UDM 320/AUSF 310 (via AMF 210/SEAF 220) carrying a protected acknowledgement IE. The protection mechanism is same as the above mentioned procedure, but the UE 100 performs the MAC-I calculation on the response message (may carry the preferred PLMN/access technology combinations) and the UDM 320/AUSF 310 performs the XMAC-I calculation on the received message and checks whether the MAC-I is same as XMAC-I.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein said generating comprises generating the expected integrity protection data from the set of one or more information fields, as taught by Rajadurai in Koshta to ensure important data is protected.
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta in view of De Kievit and further in view of Liu.
Regarding claim 51, Koshta teaches claim 48 but does not teach wherein the transparent container contains a header and a body, wherein: the header includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein the integrity protection data protects the integrity of the set of one or more information fields by integrity protecting the at least one information field included in the header; and/or the body includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein the integrity protection data protects the integrity of the set of one or more information fields by integrity protecting the at least one information field included in the body.
Liu teaches wherein the transparent container contains a header and a body, wherein: the header includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein the integrity protection data protects the integrity of the set of one or more information fields by integrity protecting the at least one information field included in the header; and/or the body includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein the integrity protection data protects the integrity of the set of one or more information fields by integrity protecting the at least one information field included in the body ([0111] “After the UE 302 formats the payload container, the UE 302 includes the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs in the NAS message container IE and ciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE using the ciphering key from the NAS security context of the UE 302. This is illustrated in the example control plane service request message content 1800 shown in FIG. 18. The UE 302 sets the security header type of the step 405 control plane service request message to “integrity protected” and sends the control plane service request message containing the cleartext IEs and the NAS message container IE to the network (e.g., to AMF 308).” [0112] “When the AMF 308 receives an integrity protected control plane service request message that includes a NAS message container IE, the AMF 308 performs the integrity check at the network side. Once the integrity check is successful, the AMF 308 deciphers the value part of the NAS message container IE and extracts the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs” Note: NAS message container IE includes payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs and is integrity protected. It is understood all of the payload container type IE, payload container IE and other non-cleartext IEs data integrity’s is protected).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the transparent container contains a header and a body, wherein: the header includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein the integrity protection data protects the integrity of the set of one or more information fields by integrity protecting the at least one information field included in the header; and/or the body includes at least one information field in the set of one or more information fields, wherein the integrity protection data protects the integrity of the set of one or more information fields by integrity protecting the at least one information field included in the body, as taught by Liu in Koshta to ensure important data is protected.
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshta in view of Hashmi et al. (US 2024/0305971, “Hashmi”).
Regarding claim 55, Koshta teaches claim 54, but does not teach wherein the set of one or more information fields includes: an information field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain device parameter from the home network; and/or a field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain parameter for UPU.
Hashmi teaches wherein the set of one or more information fields includes: an information field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain device parameter from the home network; and/or a field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain parameter for UPU ([0051] “The UDM 300 asks the UE 100 to send acknowledgement for the SOR information in Nudm_SDM_Get. The UE 100 send the SOR availability indication, SOR-CMCI availability indication together with Acknowledgement in the registration accept message in SOR transparent container.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the feature wherein the set of one or more information fields includes: an information field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain device parameter from the home network; and/or a field indicating that, or whether, the wireless device supports a certain parameter for UPU, as taught by Hashmi in Koshta to allow an UE to select higher priority PLMN.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 57 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 36, 54 and 56, Applicant argues Koshta does not teach the claims because “what Koshta uses Sor-XMAC-I_UE to check the integrity of is the ACK itself not any information field contained in the UL NAS TRANSPORT message and “treating the ACK itself as the claimed “set of one or more information field” and “the cited portions of Koshta do not disclose those information fields” (pages 11-12).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0058] of Kohsta recites “the UE 110 sends an ACK in 660 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the SoR-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT.” This steps corresponds embodiment of FIG. 6, message 660 shown as “UL NAS TRANSPORT (SOR ACK)”. Clearly, message 660 and “UL NAS TRANSPORT” message are the same message. Based on paragraph [0058] and FIG. 6, message 660 includes at least two information items, ACK and SoR-MAC-IUE. Further, the phrase “integrity protecting the ACK” indicates that data corresponding to the ACK is integrity protected. In other words, the ACK being sent in 660 is represented by the data that is integrity protected. Therefore, ACK being integrity and protected sent in message 660 UL NAS TRANSPORT teaches the claimed “integrity of a set of one more information fields contained in a transparent container”
The Examiner submits that Koshta teaches all limitations of claims 36, 54 and 56
Regarding the rejection of claim 48, Applicant relies on the arguments against claim 36, 54 and 56 above “for the similar reasons as demonstrated above, this disclosure does not teach the claimed integrity checking information… the thing verified using SoR-XMAC-I_UE is the ACK it self not any information field contained in the UL NAS TRANSPORT message” (page 14), “[r]eading claim 48 otherwise would collapse the claimed integrity checking of “the set of one or more information fields” in to ordinary verification of an ACK or MAC” (page 15)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above message 660 and “UL NAS TRANSPORT” message are the same message which includes at least two information items, ACK and SoR-MAC-IUE (see FIG. 6 and paragraph [0058]). ACK being integrity and protected sent in message 660 UL NAS TRANSPORT teaches the claimed “integrity of a set of one more information fields contained in a transparent container”
Further the argument argues “the rejection has also not articulated a reason that would yield the claimed method.” The Examiner submits that De Kievit provides “a robust security mechanism” for updating network information ([0011]), therefore, it is obvious to combine.
Accordingly, the Examiner submits Koshta in view of De Kievit teaches all limitations of claim 48.
Regarding the rejection of claim 42, Applicant argues the cited paragraphs “do not disclose an information field in the UE’s transparent acknowledgement container indicating whether the UE supports a certain device parameter from the home network or whether the UE supports a certain parameter for UPU” (page 16)
The rejection now includes paragraphs disclosing UPU embodiment with better clarity. Paragraph [0041] recites “the UE 110 sends an ACK at 360 to the network after integrity protecting the ACK as per the 3GPP specifications and including the UPU-MAC-IUE in the UL NAS TRANSPORT.” This corresponds to FIG. 3 which shows message 360 and UL NAS Transport message are the same message. Based on paragraph [0041] and FIG.3, message 360 UL NAS Transport includes two information items the ACK and UPU-MAC-IUE. Since, [0044] “If, after verifying the UPU-MAC-I_AUSF at 355, the UE 110 is unable to transmit the ACK due to, for example, a RLF, the UDM 133 is unaware if the UE 110 received the UPU container and/or successfully processed the UPU. if the UE 110 received the UPU container and/or successfully processed the UPU,” it is understood if ACK is correctly received by the UDM, ACK indicates UPU container has been received and successfully processed which indicates UPU is supported.
Therefore, the Examiner submit ACK teaches UE supports a certain parameter for UPU.
The claims 53 and 55 are rejected for the same reasons above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
Zaus et al. (US 2020/0344606) discusses SoR data delivery to a UE.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUOC THAI N VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642