DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
No claims were amended. Claims 3-4, 7, 12-13, 16, 18-20 were previously withdrawn. As such, claims 1-2, 6, 8-10, 14-15 remain under consideration in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoenly et al. (US 2012/0232599), hereinafter “Schoenly”.
Regarding claim 1, Schoenly discloses a device for insertion into bone (99d, FIGS. 4A-4C), comprising: a body (104) extending along a longitudinal axis (L) and including at least one broach (122); at least two cutting edges (118) extending along the body and defining at least one cutting face (106) therebetween, wherein the at least two cutting edges converge at an end of the body to form a point (116) in alignment with the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 2, Schoenly discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one cutting face is planar (FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 6, Schoenly discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one broach has an outer surface that extends parallel to the longitudinal axis (FIG. 4A).
Regarding claim 8, Schoenly discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the at least one broach is at least partially interrupted by one of the at least one cutting face (FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 9, Schoenly discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the at least one broach is fully interrupted by one of the at least one cutting face (FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 10, Schoenly discloses an anchor (99d) for insertion into a bone, comprising: a body (108); a tip (104) coupled to the body and extending along a longitudinal axis, wherein the tip includes at least one broach (122); and at least two cutting edges (118) extending along the tip and defining at least one cutting face (106) therebetween, wherein the at least two cutting edges converge at an end of the tip to form a point (116) in alignment with the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 14, Schoenly discloses the anchor of claim 11, wherein the tip and the body are integrally formed (FIG. 4B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenly in view of Fiechter et al. (US 2011/0257689), hereinafter “Fiechter”.
Regarding claim 15, Schoenly discloses an anchor (99d) for insertion into a bone as set forth in the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection above, except wherein the tip is formed from a first material and the body is formed from a second material that is different than the first material. Fiecther teaches an anchor (2, FIG. 2) for insertion into a bone comprising: a body (3’); a tip (7) coupled to the body and extending along a longitudinal axis, wherein the tip is formed from a first material and the body is formed from a second material that is different than the first material (¶16). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the harder tip of Fiechter with the anchor of Schoenly, for the purpose of piercing the bone more easily. In this case, one would form the tip of Schoenly with a harder material than used in the body.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant's argument that Schoenly fails to disclose “at least one broach”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner previously defined “broach” as “an elongated, tapered, serrated cutting tool for shaping and enlarging holes” (Dictionary.com). Applicant agrees with this definition but argues that Schoenly does not disclose a “serrated cutting tool”. However, Applicant’s invention also fails to disclose serrations in the elected embodiment of Figures 1-3. Applicant further argues that the Schoenly invention is not intended “for use for shaping and enlarging hole”. Not only are the above limitations not stated in the claims and not implicitly required under broadest reasonable interpretation, it has also been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. The device of Schoenly meets the claim.
Conclusion
/OLIVIA C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775