Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 and 8 in the reply filed on 03/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over “Electrical properties of La2Mo2O9/Al2O3 nanocomposites fabricated by microwave sintering method” to Zhang et al.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. discloses high density nanocrystalline La2Mo2O9 ceramics with addition of alumina. See page2340, left column. Zhang et al. disclose sintered La2Mo2O9 comprising alumina of 1, 2.25, 4.5, 9, and 18 mol%. Table 2 discloses that the Al% is at 2.48% for sintered La2Mo2O9 comprising alumina of 18 mol%. See 2.1. Synthesis; Table 2. Thus, it is reasonable to expect that the 1 mole% alumina is read on the claimed more than 0% by mass and 0.5% or less by mass (2.48/18%)
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
In the alterative, the reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "encompassing" ranges, and encompassing ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. discloses that all the raw materials (La(NO3)3·6H2O, (NH4)6Mo7O24·4H2O and Al(NO3)3·9H2O) were from Sinopharm Chemical Reagent Co. Ltd., and the purity are higher than 99.0% (AR). For La(NO3)3·6H2O, the major impurities include other rare earth (<0.1%), Ca (<0.02%), Fe (<0.001%), Pb (<0.001%), Cl (<0.001%), SO4 (<0.001%), etc. For (NH4)6Mo7O24·4H2O, the major impurities include SO4 (<0.02%), insoluble matters in water (<0.01%), Pb (<0.001%), Cl (<0.001%), SiO2 (<0.001%), etc. And for Al(NO3)3·9H2O, the major impurities include alkali and earth (<0.2%), insoluble matters in water (<0.01%), SO4 (<0.005%), Fe (<0.002%), Pb (<0.001%), Cl (<0.001%), etc. On all accounts, the impurities are difficult to be examined by experiments due to the too many types and too low concentration. See 2.1. Thus, the ceramic material is free of an element selected from the group consisting of Cd, Hg, Pb, Ra, and U.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Zhang et al. discloses high density nanocrystalline La2Mo2O9 ceramics with addition of alumina. See page 2340, left column.
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731