DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/06/2026. Claims 23-28 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 23, 24, 26 and 28 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) In line 9 of claim 23, replace “in case that” with --based on determining-- after “sessions,” (Note: "Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation." See MPEP 2103 I.C);
b) In line 14 of claim 24, replace “in case that” with --based on determining-- after “sessions,”;
c) In line 2 of claim 26, replace “in case that” with --based on determining-- after “released,”;
d) In line 2 of claim 28, replace “in case that” with --based on determining-- after “released,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites, “wherein the PDU sessions are released, in case that: the timer is expired; the UE does not have the list of available and allowable PLMNs; and the UE is unable to identify the higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN in the list.” However, independent claim 23 states, “performing a deregistration procedure releasing the PDU sessions, in case that: the time is expired, the UE has a list of available and allowable public land mobile networks (PLMNs); and the UE identifies a higher priority PLMN than a selected visited PLMN (VPLMN) in the list”. It is not clear how the UE can have both cases: first, a list of available PLMNs and identifies a higher priority PLMN than a selected visited PLMN (VPLMN) in the list; and second, the UE does not have the list of available and allowable PLMNs; and the UE is unable to identify the higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN in the list (when PDU sessions are released and the time is expired).
Claim 28 recites, “wherein the PDU sessions are released, in case that: the timer is expired; the UE does not have the list of available and allowable PLMNs; and the UE is unable to identify the higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN in the list.” However, independent claim 24 states, “release the PDU sessions, in case that: the time is expired, the UE has a list of available and allowable public land mobile networks (PLMNs); and the UE identifies a higher priority PLMN than a selected visited PLMN (VPLMN) in the list”. It is not clear how the UE can have both cases: first, a list of available PLMNs and identifies a higher priority PLMN than a selected visited PLMN (VPLMN) in the list; and second, the UE does not have the list of available and allowable PLMNs; and the UE is unable to identify the higher priority PLMN than the selected VPLMN in the list (when PDU sessions are released and the time is expired).
Applicant’s clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KUGE -US 20240114587 A1- (hereinafter Kuge).
Regarding claim 23, Kuge discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for handling steering of roaming connected mode control information (SoR-CMCI) configuration during a cell change of the UE in a wireless communication system (par.0150 and 0154-0155 for, “The steering of roaming connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) refers to HPLMN information for controlling a timing at which the UE transitions from the 5GMM connected mode to the 5GMM non-connected mode in order to perform the SOR”), the method comprising:
receiving, from a fifth-generation core (5GC) network node, a SoR-CMCI, wherein the SoR CMCI includes a value of a timer indicating that the UE waits before releasing protocol data unit (PDU) sessions (FIG. 6, par. 0232, “NW notifies the UE_A 10 of the SOR-CMCI in order for the NW to configure a timing at which the UE_A 10 transitions from the connected mode to the idle mode will be described with reference”; par. 0251-0252, “While the first timer is running, the UE_A 10 receiving the first identification information may stop the first timer based on the reception of the new SOR-CMCI, set the first timer to the first timer value based on the new SOR-CMCI, and start the first timer.”);
starting the timer based on the value included in the SoR-CMCI (par. 0246-0249, “set the first timer to the first timer value based on the new SOR-CMCI, and start the first timer”);
performing a deregistration procedure releasing the PDU sessions (par. 0371-0379), in case that:
the time is expired (par. 0372, “The NW, while the first timer is running, may initiate a procedure for release of the PDU session associated with the first timer to immediately stop the first timer, and to indicate that the UE_A 10 releases all the established PDU sessions”),
the UE has a list of available and allowable public land mobile networks (PLMNs) (par. 0118 for “the UE may store, in a USIM, an Equivalent HPLMN list for identifying one or multiple Equivalent HPLMNs (EHPLMNs). A PLMN different from the HPLMN and/or the EHPLMN may be a Visited PLMN (VPLMN)”); and
the UE identifies a higher priority PLMN than a selected visited PLMN (VPLMN) in the list (par. 0379, “The UE having transitioned to the idle mode may select a PLMN with a high priority and attempt to acquire a service for the selected PLMN”);
entering an idle mode from a connected mode after releasing the PDU (par. 0371-0379, “The NW, while the first timer is running, may initiate a procedure for release of the PDU session associated with the first timer to immediately stop the first timer, and to indicate that the UE_A 10 releases all the established PDU sessions and transitions to the idle mode for the SOR”); and
obtaining a service on the higher priority PLMN (par. 0379, “The UE_A 10 may release all the established PDU sessions and transition to the idle mode for the SOR. The UE having transitioned to the idle mode may select a PLMN with a high priority and attempt to acquire a service for the selected PLMN”).
Regarding claim 24, Kuge discloses a user equipment (UE) for handling steering of roaming connected mode control information (SoR-CMCI) configuration during a cell change of the UE, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver; and at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions executable by the at least one processor individually or in any combination to cause the UE to (FIG. 3 par. 0048-0049 and par. 0380; par.0150 and 0154-0155 for, “The steering of roaming connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI) refers to HPLMN information for controlling a timing at which the UE transitions from the 5GMM connected mode to the 5GMM non-connected mode in order to perform the SOR.”):
receive, from a fifth-generation core (5GC) network node, a SoR-CMCI, wherein the SoR-CMCI includes a value of a timer indicating that the UE waits before releasing protocol data unit (PDU) sessions (FIG. 6, par. 0232, “NW notifies the UE_A 10 of the SOR-CMCI in order for the NW to configure a timing at which the UE_A 10 transitions from the connected mode to the idle mode will be described with reference”; par. 0251-0252, “While the first timer is running, the UE_A 10 receiving the first identification information may stop the first timer based on the reception of the new SOR-CMCI, set the first timer to the first timer value based on the new SOR-CMCI, and start the first timer.”),
start the timer based on the value included in the SoR-CMCI (par. 0246-0249, “set the first timer to the first timer value based on the new SOR-CMCI, and start the first timer.”), and
release the PDU sessions and the services, in case that (par. 0371-0379), in case that:
the time is expired (par. 0372, “The NW, while the first timer is running, may initiate a procedure for release of the PDU session associated with the first timer to immediately stop the first timer, and to indicate that the UE_A 10 releases all the established PDU sessions”),
the UE has a list of available and allowable public land mobile networks (PLMNs) (par. 0118 for “the UE may store, in a USIM, an Equivalent HPLMN list for identifying one or multiple Equivalent HPLMNs (EHPLMNs). A PLMN different from the HPLMN and/or the EHPLMN may be a Visited PLMN (VPLMN)”); and
the UE identifies a higher priority PLMN than a selected visited PLMN (VPLMN) in the list (par. 0379, “The UE having transitioned to the idle mode may select a PLMN with a high priority and attempt to acquire a service for the selected PLMN”);
enter an idle mode from a connected mode after releasing the PDU (par. 0371-0379, “The NW, while the first timer is running, may initiate a procedure for release of the PDU session associated with the first timer to immediately stop the first timer, and to indicate that the UE_A 10 releases all the established PDU sessions and transitions to the idle mode for the SOR”); and
obtain a service on the higher priority PLMN (par. 0379, “The UE_A 10 may release all the established PDU sessions and transition to the idle mode for the SOR. The UE having transitioned to the idle mode may select a PLMN with a high priority and attempt to acquire a service for the selected PLMN”).
Regarding claim 25, as applied to claim 23 above, Kuge discloses wherein the SoR-CMCI is received over a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling (par. 0390, “receives a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) Mobility Management (MM) message including Steering of roaming connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI)…”).
Regarding claim 27, as applied to claim 24 above, Kuge discloses wherein the SoR-CMCI is received over a non-access stratum (NAS) signaling (par. 0390, “receives a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) Mobility Management (MM) message including Steering of roaming connected mode control information (SOR-CMCI)…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 26 and 28 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues, “cited paragraph [0373] in Kuge… fails to expressly or impliedly teach the timer is expired (in case that the timer is expired) AND the UE possesses an available/allowable PLMN list AND a PLMN with higher priority than the current VPLMN is identified in that list, as directed to in the rejected claims. That is, deregistration is performed in the rejected claims when all three of these conditions are satisfied, whereas Kuge in cited paragraph [373] teaches deregistration is performed immediately (with no intervening condition) based on the timer expiration OR stopping, in contrast to the three-stage structure directed to in the rejected claims.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kuge discloses the claimed limitations in paragraph [0118] indicating, the UE stores, “in a USIM, an Equivalent HPLMN list for identifying one or multiple Equivalent HPLMNs (EHPLMNs). A PLMN different from the HPLMN and/or the EHPLMN may be a Visited PLMN (VPLMN)”; and further in paragraphs [0371]-[0379], “a procedure for release of the PDU session associated with the first timer to immediately stop the first timer, and to indicate that the UE_A 10 releases all the established PDU sessions… The UE having transitioned to the idle mode may select a PLMN with a high priority and attempt to acquire a service for the selected PLMN”.
On page 7 of the Applicant’s remarks, Applicant further argues, “the independent claims do not merely describe a PLMN concept or an automatic selection mode, but rather, recite a conditional PLMN determination operation that is triggered after the occurrence of the SoR-CMCI timer expiration. That is, the cited paragraphs of Kuge fail to expressly or impliedly teach the conditional flow of determining whether an available/allowable PLMN list is possessed and identifying a higher-priority PLMN based thereon, in association with SoR-CMCI timer expiration, and therefore, fail to expressly or impliedly teach the timer is expired (in case that the timer is expired) AND the UE possesses an available/allowable PLMN list AND a PLMN with higher priority than the current VPLMN is identified in that list, as directed to in the rejected claims”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above, Kuge discloses the claimed limitations in paragraphs [0118] and [0371]-[0379], “a procedure for release of the PDU session associated with the first timer to immediately stop the first timer, and to indicate that the UE_A 10 releases all the established PDU sessions… The UE having transitioned to the idle mode may select a PLMN with a high priority and attempt to acquire a service for the selected PLMN”.
On page 7 of the Applicant’s remarks, Applicant further asserts, “it was alleged that cited paragraph [0270] in Kuge teaches the "entering" and "obtaining a service" clauses formerly in the dependent claims and now recited in the independent claims. Applicant respectfully disagrees. It is respectfully asserted that the citation in Kuge teaches setting/starting the timer at the time of receiving the SoRCMCI, while in contrast, the recitations at issue set forth entering idle mode and acquiring service after deregistration has been completed following timer expiration, unlike Kuge.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Kuge discloses, entering the idle mode based on stopping the first timer (see paragraphs [0371]-[0379]). Furthermore, paragraph [0379], discloses selecting a PLMN with high priority and acquire a service from the selected PLMN.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Prakasam et al. - US 20220053313 A1- disclose Steering Of Roaming PLMN List Update And Management.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLAHYAR KASRAIA N/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642