DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/29/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 55, 58, 60, 64 and 111 have been amended. Claims 2 and 56 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 4, 6, 10-11, 22-23, 55, 58, 60, 64-65, 76-77, 111-112 and 115-116 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 55 and 111 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 22-23, 55, 58, 60, 76-77, 111-112 and 115-116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Echigo et al. (US 2024/0179688, hereinafter Echigo) in view of Dai et al. (US 2023/0291515, hereinafter Dai).
Regarding claim 1, Echigo discloses a frequency hopping method, performed by a terminal device, comprising: determining a frequency hopping pattern of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Echigo discloses that a UE may determine the hopping pattern of the UL channel (e.g. PUSCH or PUCCH) specified by the network or according to a predetermined rule (Echigo paragraph 0225)];
Determining at least one of a number of hops or a time-domain length of a hop [Echigo discloses that the hop period may be determined based on number of repetitions and may be expressed in terms such as hopping duration or duration per hop, and indicated by a time length (Echigo paragraphs 0236-0242)], wherein a transmission pattern of the PUSCH is transport block processing over multi-slots (TBoMS) [Echigo discloses that PUSCH may be allocated across multiple slots (i.e. support TBoMS) (Echigo paragraph 0094). Echigo Figure 4 discloses an example of PUSCH allocation by TBoMS (Echigo Figure 4, paragraph 0105)].
Although Echigo discloses that the UE may determine the hopping pattern based on number of slots (Echigo paragraphs 0225, 0253-0257); Echigo does not expressly disclose the features of performing frequency hopping according to the frequency hopping pattern of the PUSCH, and the at least one of the number of hops or the time-domain length of the hop, wherein determining the number of hops comprises: determining the number of hops according to a protocol agreement..
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Dai discloses that the UE may transmit PUSCH repetitions based on a frequency hopping pattern, PUSCH repetition configuration, and transport block size; and the repetition may also be based on hop length (Dai paragraph 0064 and Figure 5). In some examples, the happing pattern may correspond to M slot unit per hop (i.e. hop length or duration) (Dai paragraph 0067). Dai further discloses that a transport block size may be determined based on a set of PUSCH resources corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions that are configured to be transmitted over a repetition unit having a plurality of slots in accordance with a frequency hopping pattern that is configured such that a repetition slot count associated with the repetition unit and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (Dai paragraph 0080). The UE may then transmit the PUSCH repetitions based on the transport block size (Dai paragraph 0081). Dai further discloses that the frequency hop length may not be indicated by the frequency hopping pattern, and it can be determined based on repetition slot count (Dai paragraph 0087). This indicates that number of hops may be determined according to protocol agreement (i.e. relationship between frequency transport block size, repetition slot count, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Echigo to have the features of performing frequency hopping according to the frequency hopping pattern of the PUSCH, and the at least one of the number of hops or the time-domain length of the hop, wherein determining the number of hops comprises: determining the number of hops according to a protocol agreement; as taught by Dai. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve coverage or transmission reliability, and to improve frequency resource diversity (Dai paragraphs 0055 and 0059).
Regarding claim 4, Echigo and Dai disclose the method according to claim 1. Echigo and Dai further disclose wherein determining the number of hops according to the protocol agreement comprises: obtaining a time-domain length occupied by the transport block; and determining the number of hops according to a correspondence relationship agreed by the protocol between the time-domain length occupied by the transport block and the number of hops, and the obtained time-domain length occupied by the transport block [Echigo discloses that the size of the transport block may be determined based on the configuration information received (i.e. obtaining the TB length) (Echigo paragraph 0094 and 0096). Dai discloses that a transport block size may be determined based on a set of PUSCH resources corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions that are configured to be transmitted over a repetition unit having a plurality of slots in accordance with a frequency hopping pattern that is configured such that a repetition slot count associated with the repetition unit and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (Dai paragraph 0080). The UE may then transmit the PUSCH repetitions based on the transport block size (Dai paragraph 0081). Dai further discloses that the frequency hop length may not be indicated by the frequency hopping pattern, and it can be determined based on repetition slot count (Dai paragraph 0087). This indicates that number of hops may be determined according to protocol agreement (i.e. relationship between frequency transport block size, repetition slot count, etc.)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Echigo and Dai disclose the method according to claim 1. Echigo and Dai further disclose wherein determining the number of hops according to the protocol agreement comprises: obtaining a time-domain length occupied by the transport block [Echigo discloses that the size of the transport block may be determined based on the configuration information received (i.e. obtaining the TB length) (Echigo paragraph 0094 and 0096)]; and
Determining the number of hops according to a time-domain length of the hop agreed by the protocol, a correspondence relationship agreed by the protocol among the time-domain length of the hop, the time-domain length occupied by the transport block and the number of hops, and the obtained time-domain length occupied by the transport block [Dai discloses that the UE may transmit the set of PUSCH repetitions based on the transport block size, a frequency hopping pattern, and/or the PUSCH repetition. The hopping pattern (e.g. shown as FH pattern 2 in Figure 5), may include a pattern with multiple M-slot units (Dai paragraph 0064). Determining the total number of slots may include multiplying a parameter by the frequency hop length (Dai paragraph 0066). Thus, number of hops may be determined based on length of the hop, number of hops, and transport block length]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, Echigo and Dai disclose the method according to claim 1. Echigo and Dai further disclose wherein determining the time- domain length of the hop comprises: determining the time-domain length of the hop according to a protocol agreement [Echigo discloses that the hoping duration (i.e. length of the hop) may be indicated by a time length or the number of repetitions, such as duration per hop reported by the network (i.e. a protocol agreement) (Echigo paragraphs 0237-0239). Dai discloses that the frequency hopping pattern may be configured such that a repetition slot count M and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (i.e. a protocol agreement) (Dai paragraph 0063)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, Echigo and Dai disclose the method according to claim 22. Echigo and Dai further disclose wherein determining the time- domain length of the hop according to the protocol agreement comprises: obtaining a preset value agreed by the protocol, wherein the preset value is an integer greater than zero; and determining the preset value as the time-domain length of the hop [Echigo discloses that the hoping duration (i.e. length of the hop) may be indicated by a time length or the number of repetitions, such as duration per hop reported by the network (i.e. a preset value) (Echigo paragraphs 0237-0239). Dai discloses that the frequency hopping pattern may be configured such that a repetition slot count M and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (i.e. an integer). In some cases the base station may transmit a RRC configuration that includes indication of hop length X (i.e. a preset value) (Dai paragraph 0063)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 22.
Regarding claim 55, Echigo discloses a frequency hopping method, performed by a base station, comprising: determining a frequency hopping pattern of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Echigo discloses that a UE may determine the hopping pattern of the UL channel (e.g. PUSCH or PUCCH) specified by the network (radio base station) or according to a predetermined rule (Echigo paragraph 0225)];
Determining at least one of a number of hops or a time-domain length of a hop of a user equipment (UE), wherein a transmission pattern of the PUSCH is transport block processing over multi-slots (TBoMS) [Echigo discloses that the hop period may be determined based on number of repetitions and may be expressed in terms such as hopping duration or duration per hop, and indicated by a time length (Echigo paragraphs 0236-0242). Echigo discloses that PUSCH may be allocated across multiple slots (i.e. support TBoMS) (Echigo paragraph 0094). Echigo Figure 4 discloses an example of PUSCH allocation by TBoMS (Echigo Figure 4, paragraph 0105)].
Echigo does not expressly disclose the features of performing frequency hopping for the UE according to the frequency hopping pattern of the PUSCH, and the at least one of the number of hops or the time-domain length of the hop, wherein determining the number of hops comprises: determining the number of hops according to a protocol agreement.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Dai discloses that the UE may transmit PUSCH repetitions based on a frequency hopping pattern, PUSCH repetition configuration, and transport block size; and the repetition may also be based on hop length (Dai paragraph 0064 and Figure 5). In some examples, the happing pattern may correspond to M slot unit per hop (i.e. hop length or duration) (Dai paragraph 0067). Dai further discloses that a transport block size may be determined based on a set of PUSCH resources corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions that are configured to be transmitted over a repetition unit having a plurality of slots in accordance with a frequency hopping pattern that is configured such that a repetition slot count associated with the repetition unit and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (Dai paragraph 0080). The UE may then transmit the PUSCH repetitions based on the transport block size (Dai paragraph 0081). Dai further discloses that the frequency hop length may not be indicated by the frequency hopping pattern, and it can be determined based on repetition slot count (Dai paragraph 0087). This indicates that number of hops may be determined according to protocol agreement (i.e. relationship between frequency transport block size, repetition slot count, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Echigo to have the features of performing frequency hopping for the UE according to the frequency hopping pattern of the PUSCH, and the at least one of the number of hops or the time-domain length of the hop, wherein determining the number of hops comprises: determining the number of hops according to a protocol agreement; as taught by Dai. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve coverage or transmission reliability, and to improve frequency resource diversity (Dai paragraphs 0055 and 0059).
Regarding claim 58, Echigo and Dai disclose the method of claim 55. Echigo and Dai further disclose wherein determining the number of hops according to the protocol agreement comprises: obtaining a time-domain length occupied by the transport block; and determining the number of hops according to a correspondence relationship agreed by the protocol between the time-domain length occupied by the transport block and the number of hops, and the obtained time-domain length occupied by the transport block [Echigo discloses that the size of the transport block may be determined based on the configuration information received (i.e. obtaining the TB length) (Echigo paragraph 0094 and 0096). Dai discloses that a transport block size may be determined based on a set of PUSCH resources corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions that are configured to be transmitted over a repetition unit having a plurality of slots in accordance with a frequency hopping pattern that is configured such that a repetition slot count associated with the repetition unit and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (Dai paragraph 0080). The UE may then transmit the PUSCH repetitions based on the transport block size (Dai paragraph 0081). Dai further discloses that the frequency hop length may not be indicated by the frequency hopping pattern, and it can be determined based on repetition slot count (Dai paragraph 0087). This indicates that number of hops may be determined according to protocol agreement (i.e. relationship between frequency transport block size, repetition slot count, etc.)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 56.
Regarding claim 60, Echigo and Dai disclose the method of claim 55. Echigo and Dai further disclose wherein determining the number of hops according to the protocol agreement comprises: obtaining a time-domain length occupied by the transport block [Echigo discloses that the size of the transport block may be determined based on the configuration information received (i.e. obtaining the TB length) (Echigo paragraph 0094 and 0096)]; and
Determining the number of hops according to a time-domain length of the hop agreed by the protocol, a correspondence relationship agreed by the protocol among the time-domain length of the hop, the time-domain length occupied by the transport block and the number of hops, and the obtained time-domain length occupied by the transport block [Dai discloses that the UE may transmit the set of PUSCH repetitions based on the transport block size, a frequency hopping pattern, and/or the PUSCH repetition. The hopping pattern (e.g. shown as FH pattern 2 in Figure 5), may include a pattern with multiple M-slot units (Dai paragraph 0064). Determining the total number of slots may include multiplying a parameter by the frequency hop length (Dai paragraph 0066). Thus, number of hops may be determined based on length of the hop, number of hops, and transport block length]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 56.
Regarding claim 76, Echigo and Dai disclose the method of claim 55. Echigo and Dai further disclose wherein determining the time- domain length of the hop comprises: determining the time-domain length of the hop according to a protocol agreement [Echigo discloses that the hoping duration (i.e. length of the hop) may be indicated by a time length or the number of repetitions, such as duration per hop reported by the network (i.e. a protocol agreement) (Echigo paragraphs 0237-0239). Dai discloses that the frequency hopping pattern may be configured such that a repetition slot count M and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (i.e. a protocol agreement) (Dai paragraph 0063)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 55.
Regarding claim 77, Echigo and Dai disclose the method of claim 76. Echigo and Dai further disclose wherein determining the time-domain length of the hop according to the protocol agreement comprises: obtaining a preset value agreed by the protocol, wherein the preset value is an integer greater than zero; and determining the preset value as the time-domain length of the hop [Echigo discloses that the hoping duration (i.e. length of the hop) may be indicated by a time length or the number of repetitions, such as duration per hop reported by the network (i.e. a preset value) (Echigo paragraphs 0237-0239). Dai discloses that the frequency hopping pattern may be configured such that a repetition slot count M and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (i.e. an integer). In some cases the base station may transmit a RRC configuration that includes indication of hop length X (i.e. a preset value) (Dai paragraph 0063)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 76.
Regarding claim 111, Echigo discloses a terminal, comprising; a processor; and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to [Echigo Figure 19 discloses a hardware configuration of gNB and UE comprising a processor, a memory, a communication device, input/output device, etc. The processor performs computing by loading a computer program on the processor and the memory, and realizes various functions (Echigo Figure 19, paragraphs 0342-0354)]:
Determine a frequency hopping pattern of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) [Echigo discloses that a UE may determine the hopping pattern of the UL channel (e.g. PUSCH or PUCCH) specified by the network or according to a predetermined rule (Echigo paragraph 0225)];
Determine at least one of a number of hops or a time-domain length of a hop, wherein a transmission pattern of the PUSCH is transport block processing over multi- slots (TBoMS) [Echigo discloses that the hop period may be determined based on number of repetitions and may be expressed in terms such as hopping duration or duration per hop, and indicated by a time length (Echigo paragraphs 0236-0242). Echigo discloses that PUSCH may be allocated across multiple slots (i.e. support TBoMS) (Echigo paragraph 0094). Echigo Figure 4 discloses an example of PUSCH allocation by TBoMS (Echigo Figure 4, paragraph 0105)].
Although Echigo discloses that the UE may determine the hopping pattern based on number of slots (Echigo paragraphs 0225, 0253-0257); Echigo does not expressly disclose the features of performing frequency hopping according to the frequency hopping pattern of the PUSCH, and the at least one of the number of hops or the time-domain length of the hop, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the number of hops according to a protocol agreement.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Dai discloses that the UE may transmit PUSCH repetitions based on a frequency hopping pattern, PUSCH repetition configuration, and transport block size; and the repetition may also be based on hop length (Dai paragraph 0064 and Figure 5). In some examples, the happing pattern may correspond to M slot unit per hop (i.e. hop length or duration) (Dai paragraph 0067). Dai further discloses that a transport block size may be determined based on a set of PUSCH resources corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions that are configured to be transmitted over a repetition unit having a plurality of slots in accordance with a frequency hopping pattern that is configured such that a repetition slot count associated with the repetition unit and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (Dai paragraph 0080). The UE may then transmit the PUSCH repetitions based on the transport block size (Dai paragraph 0081). Dai further discloses that the frequency hop length may not be indicated by the frequency hopping pattern, and it can be determined based on repetition slot count (Dai paragraph 0087). This indicates that number of hops may be determined according to protocol agreement (i.e. relationship between frequency transport block size, repetition slot count, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Echigo to have the features of performing frequency hopping according to the frequency hopping pattern of the PUSCH, and the at least one of the number of hops or the time-domain length of the hop, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the number of hops according to a protocol agreement; as taught by Dai. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve coverage or transmission reliability, and to improve frequency resource diversity (Dai paragraphs 0055 and 0059).
Regarding claim 112, Echigo and Dai disclose the method of claim 55. Echigo and Dai further disclose a base station comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 55 [Echigo Figure 19 discloses a hardware configuration of gNB (a base station) comprising a processor, a memory, a communication device, input/output device, etc. The processor performs computing by loading a computer program on the processor and the memory, and realizes various functions (Echigo Figure 19, paragraphs 0342-0354)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 55.
Regarding claim 115, Echigo and Dai disclose the method of claim 1. Echigo and Dai further disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the method of claim 1 [Echigo Figure 19 discloses a hardware configuration of gNB and UE comprising a processor, a memory, a communication device, input/output device, etc. The processor performs computing by loading a computer program on the processor and the memory, and realizes various functions. The memory may be a computer readable medium and may store programs, software modules, etc., that are capable of executing a method according to the disclosure (Echigo Figure 19, paragraphs 0342-0354)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 116, Echigo and Dai disclose the method of claim 55. Echigo and Dai further disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a base station, cause the base station to perform the method of claim 55 [Echigo Figure 19 discloses a hardware configuration of gNB and UE comprising a processor, a memory, a communication device, input/output device, etc. The processor performs computing by loading a computer program on the processor and the memory, and realizes various functions. The memory may be a computer readable medium and may store programs, software modules, etc., that are capable of executing a method according to the disclosure (Echigo Figure 19, paragraphs 0342-0354)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 55.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 64-65 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10 and 64 would be allowable because the closest prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious the features of wherein determining the number of hops according to the protocol agreement comprises: obtaining a position of a slot boundary in the PUSCH; and determining a frequency hopping start position and a frequency hopping end position according to a correspondence relationship agreed by the protocol among the position of the slot boundary, the frequency hopping start position and the frequency hopping end position, and the obtained position of the slot boundary in the PUSCH; in combination with all other limitations in the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/29/2025 with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 12-13 of Applicant's remarks, the Applicant argues the following with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103.:
…Therefore, the repetition slot count involved in Dai cannot be equated to the “number of hops” recited in claim 1. Consequently, Dai also fails to teach or suggest…
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments for the following reasons:
Claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation during patent examination (MPEP § 2111). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Dai discloses that the UE may determine a transport block size based at least in part on a set of PUSCH resources corresponding to a set of PUSCH repetitions that are configured to be transmitted over a repetition unit having a plurality of slots in accordance with a frequency hopping pattern that is configured such that a repetition slot count associated with the repetition unit and a frequency hop length are related by an integer-multiple relationship (Dai paragraph 0080). The UE may then transmit the PUSCH repetitions based on the transport block size (Dai paragraph 0081). Dai further discloses that the frequency hop length may not be indicated by the frequency hopping pattern, and it can be determined based on repetition slot count (Dai paragraph 0087). Thus, number of hops may be determined according to a protocol agreement (i.e. relationship between frequency transport block size, repetition slot count, etc.); and above teachings of Dai clearly disclose the claimed feature of determining the number of hops according to a protocol agreement.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414