Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Charaziak (US 20190159702).
Regarding claim 1, Charaziak teaches a method to calibrate an earpiece (correcting otoacoustic emissions for ear-canal acoustics, [0003]), the method comprising: calculating the Thevenin equivalent impedance of at least one loudspeaker ( represent the OAE pressure measured at the entrance of the ear canal as either the OAE pressure at the eardrum as it would appear in an anechoic ear canal (emitted pressure level, PEPL) or as a Thévenin-equivalent OAE source pressure level at the eardrum (PTPL), [0008]); calculating the load impedance at a reference plane in the ear canal as a function of the estimated Thevenin equivalent impedance (acoustic load can change, for example, by changing the distance (L) between the OAE probe and the eardrum, [0047-0049]); estimating forward pressure (Pforward) emitted by the loudspeaker at the reference plane based on the calculated load impedance and on the measured sound pressure level (forward pressure level, [0048]); and calculating a correction value to be applied on the loudspeaker based on the estimated forward pressure level (correcting the OAE pressure derives the Thévenin-equivalent OAE source pressure at the eardrum PTPL, [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charaziak and Schonfelder (US 2002103115491).
Regarding claim 5, Charaziak teaches the method of claim 1.
Although Charaziak does not explicitly teach the feature of the calculation of the correction value to be applied on the loudspeaker further comprising using a gain table, Schonfelder teaches a gain table for a hearing aid calibration (Schonfelder, [0068]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a gain table in the system of Charaziak since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Regarding claim 6, Charaziak and Schonfelder teach the method of claim 5.
Although Charaziak and Schonfelder do not specifically teach the calculation of the correction value to be applied further comprising finding difference between a desired sound pressure level and the Pforward value at a specific frequency in the gain table, it would have been obvious to use the preset correction value in the gain table since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18-20, 22, 25-28, 30, and 31 are allowed.
Conclusion
/KILE O BLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691