DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-13, and 16-18 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-13, and 16-18 are rejected herein. This is a Final Rejection as necessitated by the amendment and arguments (hereinafter “the Response”) dated 12 Oct 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8-13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by CUNNAH et al. (US 20220299354).
Regarding claim 1: CUNNAH discloses: A method for determining a fill level of a liquid in a container, said method comprising the steps of: attaching a sensor device (105, 107 in FIG. 1) to the container (30; “in contact” in para. 80); providing to a computer processor (110) via a communication interface (all arrows into and out of computing device 110 in FIG. 1) a digital representation of the container (“features” of container in para. 154); wherein the digital representation of the container comprises data selected from at least one of: data on the filling volume of the container, data on the content of the container, data on the initial filling level, filling date (para. 13, 20), data on the location of the container (para. 13, 15), data on the age of the container (para. 154), data on the use cycle of the container (para. 15), data on the maintenance intervals of the container, data on the maximum life time of the container, expiry date of container content, and any combination thereof; acoustically stimulating (by speaker 105) the container by means of the sensor device to generate at least one audio signal being indicative of the fill level of the liquid in the container (para. 80-81); detecting the at least one generated audio signal by at least one microphone of the sensor device resulting from the acoustic stimulation of the container (by microphone 107); processing the at least one detected audio signal; said processing comprising: digitally sampling with the computer processor the at least one audio signal, calculating with the computer processor a Fourier spectrum of the at least one digital audio sample (conversion from the time domain to the frequency domain in para. 54), and extracting at least one predefined feature from the Fourier spectrum (Averaging of acoustic profiles, which are in the frequency domain, is discussed in para. 128.); selecting with the computer processor at least one data driven model (algorithm 150 in para. 82) based on the provided digital representation of the container (choosing between different models based on whether the container is in use in para. 156; choosing the model based on the type of container or its contents in para. 38, 53, 85), parameterized on historical audio signals, historical known fill levels of liquids in containers corresponding to the historical audio signals, and historical digital representations of the containers (training on data from many containers with initialization “using fill levels from a reference level meter” in para. 101); determining, with the computer processor, the fill level of the liquid in the container based on the provided digital representation of the container, the at least one feature extracted from the Fourier spectrum (para. 28), and the at least one selected data driven model (output as an indication of the fill level of the container in para. 123); and providing via the communication interface the determined fill level of the liquid in the container (step B6 in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 2: CUNNAH discloses: the fill level of the liquid in the container is a classifier corresponding to the container being empty or the container not being empty (para. 125).
Regarding claim 5: CUNNAH discloses: acoustically stimulating the container to generate at least one audio signal being indicative of the fill level of the liquid in the container includes beating on the outer wall of the container by means of the actuator (105 in FIG. 1) of the sensor device to induce the at least one audio signal (para. 80-81).
Regarding claim 8: CUNNAH discloses: the audio samples are aligned prior to calculating a Fourier spectrum of the at least one digital audio sample (temporal normalization as described in para. 96).
Regarding claim 9: CUNNAH discloses: the at least one predefined feature is selected from the group consisting of frequency with the highest energy, the normalized average frequency (Averaging of acoustic profiles, which are in the frequency domain, is discussed in para. 128.), the normalized median frequency, the standard deviation of the frequency distribution, the skew of the frequency distribution the deviation of the frequency distribution from the average or median frequency in different L spaces, the spectral flatness, the normalized root-mean-square, fill-level specific audio coefficients, the fundamental frequency computed by the yin algorithm, the normalized spectral flux between two consecutive frames and any combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 10: CUNNAH discloses: the at least one selected data driven model is derived from a trained machine learning algorithm (para. 121).
Regarding claim 11: CUNNAH discloses: The method according to claim 10, wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained by selecting inputs and outputs to define an internal structure of the machine learning algorithm, applying a collection of input and output data samples to train the machine learning algorithm, verifying the accuracy of the machine learning algorithm by applying input data samples of known fill levels and comparing the produced output values with expected output values, and modifying the parameters of the machine learning algorithm using an optimization algorithm in case the received output values are not corresponding to the known fill level (para. 121, 147-149).
Regarding claim 12: CUNNAH discloses: providing the determined fill level of the liquid in the container via the communication interface comprises displaying the determined fill level of the liquid of the container on the screen of a display device (“Remote monitoring by customers” as discussed in para. 140 inherently involves displaying data on a screen.).
Regarding claim 13: CUNNAH discloses: A system (FIG. 1) for determining a fill level of a liquid in a container, comprising: a container (30); a sensor device (para. 105, 107) for generating and detecting at least one audio signal being indicative of the fill level of the liquid in the container (para. 80); a data storage medium (what processor 110 uses) storing a plurality of data driven models parameterized on historical audio signals (para. 101; multiple models are discussed in para. 48, 53, 85), historical known fill levels of liquids in containers corresponding to the historical audio signals (Para. 101 states that the model may “be initialised under controlled conditions using fill levels from a reference level meter.”) and historical digital representations of the containers (para. 154); a communication interface (120) for providing the digital representation of the container (para. 154), and the at least one detected audio signal to the computer processor (para. 81-82); wherein the digital representation of the container comprises data selected from at least one of: data on the filling volume of the container, data on the content of the container (para. 53), data on the initial filling level, filling date (para. 13, 20), data on the location of the container (para. 13, 15), data on the age of the container (para. 154), data on the use cycle of the container (para. 15), data on the maintenance intervals of the container, data on the maximum life time of the container, expiry date of container content, and any combination thereof; a computer processor (CP) (110 and where 150 is stored) in communication with the communication interface and the data storage medium, the computer processor programmed to: receive via the communication interface the digital representation of the container and the at least one detected audio signal (para. 81-82); process the at least one received audio signal by digitally sampling the at least one received audio signal (para. 80-81), calculating a Fourier spectrum of the at least one digital audio sample (conversion from the time domain to the frequency domain in para. 54), and extracting at least one predefined feature from the calculated Fourier spectrum (Averaging of acoustic profiles, which are in the frequency domain, is discussed in para. 128); select at least one data driven model stored in the data storage medium based on the provided digital representation of the container (choosing between different models based on whether the container is in use in para. 156; choosing the model based on the type of container or its contents in para. 38, 53, 85) determine the fill level of the liquid in the container based on the received digital representation of the container, the at least one feature extracted from the Fourier spectrum (para. 28), and the at least one selected data driven model (para. 123); and provide the determined fill level of the liquid in the container via the communication interface (para. 140).
Regarding claim 17: CUNNAH discloses: detecting the at least one generated audio signal is performed following a predetermined time delay after the acoustic simulation (Para. 81 states that the same transducer can be used to stimulate the container and to measure the acoustic response which means that there has be a predetermined time delay after the acoustic stimulation before detection begins.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CUNNAH in view of LAVRA et al. (US 20160098673).
Regarding claim 4: As best understood, CUNNAH does not disclose storing information on an attached tag.
LAVRA however does teach attaching an identification tag to the container (abstract), retrieving the digital representation of the container stored on said attached tag or obtaining the digital representation of the container based on the information stored on said attached tag (“inventory interrogation and data collection means” in para. 11), and providing the obtained digital representation of the container to the computer processor (control unit in para. 7) via the communication interface. Please note that the RFID tag of LAVRA uniquely identifies the container and provides information about the container such as volume, gas composition, pressure etc. (para. 12).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the information storing tag of LAVRA on the containers of CUNNAH so that information can be determined about a container, quickly and easily, at point of use, even if the container is misplaced.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CUNNAH in view of YAMADA et al. (US 20240004030).
Regarding claim 16: CUNNAH does not disclose determining signal anomalies.
YAMADA however teaches that it is known when doing Fourier analysis of signals of this type (para. 793-794) that one can use an estimated value based on an allowable range of values and indicate an error if the determined parameter is outside of this range of allowable values (para. 14).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the error indication of YAMADA to determine if there is an error in the signals of CUNNAH so that the sensor does not return incorrect readings. Furthermore, because the measurements of CUNNAH are taken periodically (para. 86), the container would then be acoustically stimulated after a predetermined time period.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CUNNAH.
CUNNAH teaches most aspects of the instant invention, and although CUNNAH discloses in para. 81 that the same transducer can be used for acoustic stimulation and detection, which means that there will have to be a predetermined time delay while the transducer switches from one mode to the other, CUNNAH does not explicitly teach how long that time delay will be. Nonetheless, the skilled artisan would know too that the time delay would determine how much of the signal gets captured because the acoustic signal will decay over time.
The specific claimed range, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” range disclosed by CUNNAH that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation (see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)) based, among other things, on the desired strength of the signal that needs to be captured, how fast the electronics are that switch the transducer from transmitting mode to receiving mode, manufacturing costs, etc. (see In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), and neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e. results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the range is used, as already suggested by CUNNAH.
Since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph) of the range stated and since these ranges are in common use in similar devices in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use these values in the device of CUNNAH.
Please note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed range or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The Applicant has argued (pages 7-8 of the Response) that the independent claims now recite that “historical known fill levels of liquids in containers corresponding to the historical audio signals” are used to build the model which is in contrast to the disclosure of CUNNAH which trains its model “live in the field” (page 8 of the Response). This argument has been fully considered and is not persuasive. The Applicant has referenced para. 101 of CUNNAH and states (page 8 of the Response) that “although a model may be ‘initialized’ under controlled decisions, model training is performed without a reference level meter” (emphasis in the original). The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s position. The explicit language in para. 101 of CUNNAH stating that “the model may in certain embodiments be initialised under controlled conditions using fill levels from a reference level meter” means that the model is “parameterized on historical audio signals” and uses “historical known fill levels of liquids in container corresponding to the historical audio signals” as recited in claims 1 and 13. The whole point of the invention of CUNNAH is have a robust model that accurately determines fill level with as little reference level measurements as possible, but it allows that some reference level measurements may be needed as stated in the abstract of CUNNAH.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855