DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 04/07/2021 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 06 October 2023.
Claims 1-10, 12-23, 35-39, 41-48 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been entered. The claims have been amended, original as follows:
Claims are amended: 2-3, 6-7.
Claims are original: 1, 5, 10, 13-22, .
Previously Presented: 4, 8-9, 12, 23, 35-39, 41-48
Claims are cancelled: 11, 24-34, 40.
Claims 1-10, 12-23, 35-39, 41-48 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 17-21, filed 01/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-23, and 35-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being allegedly obvious over Zhuo (US 20220174579 Al) in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e. have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
I). Applicant argues that 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e merely identifies topics for (details are FFS) and does not disclose how to restrict re-routing to a configured subset.Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection does not rely merely on the bare text of the meeting agenda. The rejection relies on the technical contributions and working assumptions agreed upon during the meeting under agenda Item 13.3.2 specifically, relies on 3GPP R3-211006 (Summary of offline discussion on IAB multi-Hop Performance, ComeBack # 39), which explicitly details the technical solution proposed by 3GPP member companies to solve the inter-Donor-DU packet drop problem.Firstly Source IP filtering R3-211006 explicitly list option 4: Only allow re-routing among a configured subset of IAB-donor-DU’s. this option aims at restricting the applicable area of inter-donor-DU re-routing to only a subset of IAB-donor-Dus. Furthermore, under Issue 2: BAP routing, Option 2 explicitly proposes: “Using shared BAP address among the subset of IAB-donor-DUs which allow re-routing, all the IAB-donor-DUs in the subset, should be configured with same BAP address.” These are not mere agenda items; they are concreate, agreed-upon technical proposals to solve the recognized IP filtering problem. The “configured subset” inherently requires a mechanism to identify the eligible DUs (i.e., the claimed “group identifier” or group address”), which the Donor CU must provide to the IAB nodes to enable the restricted re-routing.II). Applicant arguing that the assertion that the IAB node does not need the “group identifier” because IP filtering is performed by wireline routers.Examiner respectfully submits that this argument fundamentally misunderstands network routing logic. As explicitly stated in R3-211006 (Issue 1), the proposed solution to prevent the wireline/target DU from dropping the packets is to “Only allow re-routing among a configured subset of IAB-donor-DUs.”
In an IAB network, the IAB node is the entity that performs the local re-routing decision. If the network policy dictates that re-routing must be restricted to a “configured subset” to prevent those wireline drops, the IAB node must know which Donor DUs belong to that subset. An IAB node cannot possibly restrict its routing choices to a specific subset of DUs if the Donor CU has not provided it with the “group identifier” (or the shared group address/mapping relationship as proposed in R3-211006 option 2 and CATT’s comments) that defined that subset. Therefore, providing the group identifier to the IAB node is strictly necessary for the IAB node to make the correct routing decision and avoid the wireline packet drops recognized by the prior art.
III). Applicant arguing that Zhuo’s BAP header rewriting is the only solution, and there is no motivation to use the claimed “group identifier” approach.The examiner respectfully disagrees. The 3GPP prior art (R3-211006) explicitly recognizes that BAP hear modification(option 1) is not the only solution. The 3GPP working group actively considered and proposed alternative solutions including option 2 (issue 2) using a “shared BAP address among the subset of IAB-donor-DUs (which directly reads on the claimed “group address” in claim 5). Option 3 (issue 2): updating the donor DU’s receiving operation so that “no matter the destination BAP address in BAP header matches its own BAP address or not, the donor DU removes the BAP header and delivers the data packet to upper layer” based on configuration from the donor CU (which directly reads on the donor DU filtering logic). Under Broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) modifying Zhuo to use 3GPP-recognized “configured subset”(group identifier/shared BAP address) or the donor DU filtering configuration is a predictable application of standard networking principles to solve the known inter-DU re-routing problem.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-23, and 35-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being allegedly obvious over Zhuo (US 20220174579 Al) in view of (3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e.) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23, and 35-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuo (US 20220174579 A1) in view of 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e.
With regarding Claim 1 Zhuo disclose a method for managing routing of data packets over wireless backhaul links in an integrated access and backhaul, IAB, network comprising a donor network node and a plurality of IAB network nodes, the donor network node comprising a donor central unit, CU, and a plurality of donor distributed units, DUs, each donor DU being assigned a unique address and each donor DU being assigned to one of one or more groups with a unique group identifier assigned to each group of the one or more groups, the method at the donor CU comprising: providing to each donor DU, the unique address of the donor DU (See FIG. 4, 7-9 and ¶[0004], [0070]-[0074], [0086], [0099]. Discloses that BAP-based routing in IAB, use if BAP addresses for Donor Dus, path identifiers in BAP headers, and rerouting in case of link failures or congestion. The donor may configure alternative destination nodes for given destination. And FIG. 4 explains IAB donor 1 as a group 1 and IAB donor 2 as a group 2, and also have unique DUs in an each group as shown in FIG. 4 as DU 1-4 in 2 donor groups[0090]: a DU ID allocated by the donor CU to each IAB node, an MT ID allocated by the donor CU to each IAB node, an evolved universal mobile telecommunication system terrestrial radio access network cell global identifier (ECGI), a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI), an IP address of an IAB node, an IP address of an IAB DU, or an IP address of an IAB MT.[0086] In a possible design, if the data packet is an uplink data packet, the first node uses a BAP address of a destination node configured by a donor CU for the first node as the destination node of the data packet received by the first node, where the BAP address of the destination node of the uplink data packet is configured by the donor CU for the first node.); providing routing configuration information to the plurality of IAB network nodes, the routing configuration information including the unique addresses of the donor DUs corresponding to destination donor DUs for data packets to be transmitted to the donor CU, path identifiers identifying routing paths to the destination donor DUs, and the group identifiers associated with the destination donor Dus (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0094]-[0099], [0140]-[0141], [0151]. Discloses (Donor 1) Unique Donor Du’s in FIG. 4. D1’s routing the tables use the destination BAP address (DU) as a Key; BAP headers also carry that destination address. And D1 teaches an optional routing path identifier (Path ID) in the BAP header and tables; nodes may choose next-hop using (destination BAP address, path ID[0105] Manner 2: The first path is a routing path with a highest priority in at least one routing path between the first node and the destination node in a routing table of the first node. Routing table information of the first node is configured by the donor CU for the first node. [0165] If the routing table of the first node includes the BAP address of the destination node, a next-hop node corresponding to the destination node, and a routing path identifier corresponding to the destination node, the first node may uniquely determine one next-hop node based on the BAP address of the destination node and the routing path identifier of the data packet.). Zhuo may not explicitly disclose each donor DU being assigned a unique address and each donor DU being assigned to one of one or more groups with a unique group identifier assigned to each group of the one or more groups, and the routing configuration information including the unique addresses of the donor DUs corresponding to destination donor DUs.13.3.2: re-routing among a configured subset of IAB-donor-DUs. (To prevent packet drop during inter-donor-DU re-routing, donor DUs must be grouped into a configured subset of IAB-donor-DUs(e.g., DUs sharing the same IP subnet or IAB Donor ID). This configured subset is as “group”, and the subnet/donor identifier is same as “group identifier”).)
However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E discloses each donor DU being assigned a unique address and each donor DU being assigned to one of one or more groups with a unique group identifier assigned to each group of the one or more groups, and the routing configuration information including the unique addresses of the donor DUs corresponding to destination donor DUs (See Section 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf:discloses Multi-DU IAB architectures: when an upstream packet is rerouted to an alternate donor DU due to link failure, the packet may be dropped by the wired IP backhaul due to source IP dress filtering.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E to combine Zhuo’s teachings. Zhuo teaching that the donor CU provides routing configuration information to the plurality of IAB nodes, the routing configuration information including the donor DUs corresponding to destination donor DUs for data packets to be transmitted to donor CU, and path identifying routing paths to the destination donor DUs(¶[0151]: BAP header includes destination BAP address and routing path identifiers; ¶[0140]-[0141]; routing tables configured by donor DU includes address and path IDs). 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E discloses that rerouting must be restricted to a logically grouped subset of donor DUs that share a common trust domain(e.g. same IP subnet), to avoid packet drops. The configured subset inherently required mechanism to identify eligible DUs(i.e. a group identifier) which would be provided to IAB nodes as part of routing configuration to enable valid rerouting decisions. This combination ensure prevent packet loss due to IP source filtering when rerouting to an alternate donor DU, thereby improving IAB network reliability and continuity of service.
With regarding Claim 2, Zhuo disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the routing configuration information comprises information for a routing configuration table including at least one entry information for each entry including the unique address of a destination donor DU for a destination address field of the routing configuration table the path identifier of a routing path to the destination donor DU for a path identifier field for the routing configuration table, the group identifier associated with the destination donor DU for a group identifier field of the routing configuration table(See FIG. 4 and ¶[0005], [0090], [0094]-[0099], [0165], [0189], [0105]. Discloses a backhaul routing configuration table with destination address and path identifier fields, and teaching rerouting to an alternative donor DU under the same donor CU. And FIG. 4 included a groups Donor DU (1-2, 3-4).
[0105] Manner 2: The first path is a routing path with a highest priority in at least one routing path between the first node and the destination node in a routing table of the first node. Routing table information of the first node is configured by the donor CU for the first node. [0165] If the routing table of the first node includes the BAP address of the destination node, a next-hop node corresponding to the destination node, and a routing path identifier corresponding to the destination node, the first node may uniquely determine one next-hop node based on the BAP address of the destination node and the routing path identifier of the data packet.[0090]: a DU ID allocated by the donor CU to each IAB node, an MT ID allocated by the donor CU to each IAB node, an evolved universal mobile telecommunication system terrestrial radio access network cell global identifier (ECGI), a new radio cell global identifier (NCGI), an IP address of an IAB node, an IP address of an IAB DU, or an IP address of an IAB MT.[0099] That gNB-DU 2 and gNB-DU 1 belong to a same IAB donor (or IAB donor CU-UP)). Zhuo may not explicitly disclose group identifier.
However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E disclose group identifier((See Section 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf:discloses rerouting traffic to an alternate donor DU may fail due to IP source address filtering in the wired backhaul.” Only allow re-routing among a configured subset of IAB-donor-DUs, where source IP filtering is not activated.” configured subset of IAB-Donor-DUs (e.g., Dus sharing the same IP subnet or IAB donor ID). This configured subset is "group" and subnet/donor identifier is "group identifier" (13.2.2 only allow re-routing among a configured subset of IAB-donor-DUs.))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E to modify routing table of Zhuo teachings by adding a group identifier field to each entry, as suggested by the problem- solution framework during local rerouting. This combination ensure avoiding packet drops due to IP filtering and improving network reliability.
With regarding Claim 3 Zhuo disclose method of claim 1, wherein the routing configuration information comprises information for a routing configuration table including at least one entry, information for each entry including the unique address of a destination donor DU and the group identifier associated with the destination donor DU for a destination address field of the routing configuration table and the path identifier of a routing path to the destination donor DU(See FIG. 7-8 and ¶[0018], [0069]-[0071], [0094]-[0099], [0187]-[0191], [0209], [0105], [0165]. Discloses a backhaul routing configuration table with destination address and path identifier fields, and teaches rerouting to an alternate donor DU under the same donor CU. And identifier in the destination address field). Zhuo may not explicitly disclose each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU and the group identifier associated with the destination donor DU.
However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E disclose each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU and the group identifier associated with the destination donor DU (See Section 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf:discloses rerouting traffic to an alternate donor DU may fail due to IP source address filtering in the wired backhaul.” Only allow re-routing among a configured subset of IAB-donor-DUs, where source IP filtering is not activated.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine PR-210757 to modify Zhuo teaching, Zhuo teaches destination address field and path identifier filed. And 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E discloses that donor DUs must be logically grouped, an IAB nodes must be able to identify which DUs belongs to same group to enable valid rerouting. Therefore the routing table of Zhuo such that each entry includes both the unique address of destination donor DU and its associated group identifier in the destination address field, as suggested problem solution framework in PR-210757. This combination ensure to enable fast, reliable rerouting within a trusted group of donor DUs while avoiding packet drops due to IP filtering.
With regarding Claim 4 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the group identifier is represented by one or more bits in the (See FIG. 5B, 9 and ¶[0018], [0071], [0026], [0134], [0209], [0165], [0189]. Discloses a routing configuration table with destination address and path identifier fields for BAP-based routing in an IAB network, group information within address fields). Zhuo may not explicitly disclose group identifier However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E (See Section 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf:disclose that rerouting must be restricted to a logically grouped subset of donor DUs that share a common trust domain(e.g. same IP subnet), to avoid packet drops. The configured subset inherently required mechanism to identify eligible DUs(i.e. a group identifier) which would be provided to IAB nodes as part of routing configuration to enable valid rerouting decisions Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E to Zhuo teachings the destination address field of Zhuo to include one or more bits representing the group identifier, as suggested by the problem-solution framework in 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-E and consistent.
With regarding Claim 5 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the group identifier is a group address, wherein each of the donor DUs in a group is assigned the same group address such that each donor DU is assigned a unique address and a group address (See FIG. 4, 8, 10 and ¶,[0086], [0096]-[0099]. Discloses that each donor Du is assigned a Unique BAP address and that the donor CU configures IAB nodes with routing information enabling rerouting to an alternate donor DU if both belong to the same IAB donor.).
Zhuo may not explicitly disclose wherein the group identifier is a group address.
However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose wherein the group identifier is a group address.(See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf: This establishes that donor DUs must be logically grouped based on shared backhaul properties and rerouting must be confined to DUs within the same group.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111 to modify Zhuo’ system by assigning each donor DU both a unique BAP address and shared group address (common to all DUs in the same IP subset or trust domain) as a direct implementation of the configured subset solution agreed upon in RAN3#111e. This combination ensure to enable IAB nodes to route packets using the group address when rerouting, and to allow donor DUs to accept packets addressed to the group, thereby avoiding packet drops due to strict address filtering in the wired backhaul.
With regarding Claim 6 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the routing configuration information comprises a routing configuration table including at least one entry, each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU or the group address of the destination donor DU, and a path identifier field for the path identifier of a routing path to the destination donor DU (See FIG. 4, 5A, 5B, 6 and ¶[0005], [0017], [0158], [0096]-[0099], [0165], [0189] Discloses routing configuration and includes destination node of a data packet and a next-hop node corresponding to destination node it have unique donor DUs link, DU-1 to DU 2 in same group. And teaches destination node may corresponding to one or more routing path identifiers.). Zhuo may not explicitly disclose each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU or the group address of the destination donor DU. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU or the group address of the destination donor DU.(See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf: establishes the need to logically group donor DUs and enable routing mechanisms that operate at the group level.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine to RAN WG3111-e to modify Zhuo teachings. Zhuo teaches structure of a routing table entry with unique address and path ID. RAN WG3111-e is discloses the logically group donor DUs and enable routing mechanisms that operate at the group level. This combination ensure enable flexible routing.
With regarding Claim 7 Zhuo disclose the method of claims 2, wherein a unique address is assigned to each IAB network node in the IAB network, wherein the information for the routing configuration table further comprises a next-hop address field for the unique address of a donor DU or IAB network node of the IAB network that is next in the routing path DU (See FIG. 5a, 7 and ¶[0005], [0086]-[0090], [0158]-[0159], [0165], [0179], [0187]-[0191], . Discloses Unique address for donor and routing table with next-hope address fields, and teaches routing table includes the BAP ID of the donor DU, a next-hop node corresponding to the donor DU). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine to RAN WG3111-e to modify Zhuo teachings. Zhuo discloses that routing table includes a next-hop address of destination node, a next-hop node corresponding to the destination node, and a routing path identifier, and the routing table of IAB node 1 includes the BAP ID of the donor DU, a next-hop node corresponding to Donor DU.
With regarding Claim 8 Zhuo disclose the method of any one of claims 3 2(See FIG. 5a and ¶[0007], [0077]-[0079], [0165] Discloses that the routing configuration table is a BAP routing configuration table in which each entry includes a BAP routing identifier comprising the destination address field and the path identifier field). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine to RAN WG3111-e to modify Zhuo teachings. Zhuo discloses that routing in the IAB network is performed using the backhaul adaptation protocol. This combination ensure the grouping donor DUs to IP filtering during rerouting.
With regarding Claim 9 Zhuo disclose the method of any one of the preceding claims 1,wherein each group of the one or more groups is associated with a respective IP subnetwork of an IP network coupled between the donor CU and the plurality of donor DUs (See FIG. 5a and ¶[0073], [0129]-[0130] discloses that the donor CU and donor DUs are interconnected via a wired IP network.) Zhuo may not explicitly disclose wherein each group of the one or more groups is associated with a respective IP subnetwork. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose wherein each group of the one or more groups is associated with a respective IP subnetwork .(See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf: Discloses configured subset is defined by shared IP backhaul properties, such as belonging to the same IP subnet, where IP source filtering policies are consistent). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine to RAN WG3111-e to modify Zhuo by grouping donor DUs according to their IP subnetworks in the wired backhaul, as discloses by RAN3#111e. This combination is to ensure that rerouted packets are only sent to donor DUs that share the same IP filtering policy, thereby preventing packet discards and maintaining upstream connectivity.
With regarding Claim 10 Zhuo disclose a method, at an IAB network node, for routing data packets over one or more wireless backhaul links in an integrated access and backhaul, IAB, network comprising a donor network node and a plurality of IAB network nodes, the donor network node comprising a donor central unit, CU, and a plurality of donor distributed units, DUs (See FIG. 7-9 and ¶[0073], [0182]. Discloses an IAB network with donor CU, multiple donor DUs, and IAB nodes), each donor DU and IAB network node being assigned a unique address and each donor DU being assigned to one of one or more groups with a unique group identifier assigned to each group of the one or more groups (See ¶[0086], [0139] Discloses each donor DU and IAB node is assigned a unique BAP address), the IAB network node being configured with routing configuration information including a unique address of at least one donor DU corresponding to at least one destination donor DU for data packets to be transmitted by the IAB network node, at least one path identifier identifying at least one routing path to the at least one destination donor DU, the unique address of a donor DU or IAB network node of the IAB network that is a next node in the at least one routing path and the group identifier associated with the at least one destination donor DU (See ¶[0165], [0189] Discloses next-hop address(Donor DU or IAB node)),, the method comprising: receiving a data packet for a destination donor DU, the data packet including the unique address of the destination donor DU for the data packet and a path identifier identifying the routing path to the destination donor DU (See ¶[0189- [0190] Discloses receiving a data packet with destination BAP address and path ID, the IAB node checks routing table and determines if a routing path is available),; determining whether there is an available routing path to the destination donor DU based on the unique address of the destination donor DU and the path identifier included in the data packet and the routing configuration information, and based on the unique address of the destination donor DU included in the data packet and the routing configuration information, when no available routing path is determined, determining an alternate routing path for the data packet for the destination donor DU using the routing configuration information and based on the unique address of the destination donor DU and the group identifier associated with the destination donor DU, wherein the alternate routing path is to a different destination donor DU in the same group as the destination donor DU with the same group identifier; routing the data packet using the determined alternate routing path (See ¶[0099] Discloses if the primary path fails, the IAB node determines an alternate routing path to a different donor DU that belongs to the same IAB donor and updates the destination BAP address accordingly, also discloses rerouting to an alternate donor DU of the same donor when the primary path fails).
Zhuo may not explicitly disclose wherein the alternate routing path is to a different destination donor DU in the same group as the destination donor DU with the same group identifier. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose wherein the alternate routing path is to a different destination donor DU in the same group as the destination donor DU with the same group identifier. .(See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf: Discloses that rerouting must be restricted to a logically grouped subset of donor DUs that share a common backhaul policy (e.g. same IP subnet), to avoid packet drops due to IP source filtering.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify the rerouting method of Zhuo by associating each donor DU with a group identifier and using that identifier to select only alternate donor DUs with the same group during rerouting, as suggested by RAN3#111e. This combination ensure that rerouting
With regarding Claim 12 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the routing configuration information comprises a routing configuration table including at least one entry, each entry having: a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU, a path identifier field for the path identifier of a routing path to the destination donor DU, a next-hop address field for the unique address of a donor DU or IAB network node of the IAB network that is a next node in the routing path, and a group identifier field for the group identifier associated with the destination donor DU (See ¶[0165], [0189]. Discloses the core routing table structure and a routing configuration table that includes, for each entry. A destination address field containing the unique BAP address of a destination donor DU, and a path identifier field for identifying the routing path and a next-hop address field containing the unique address of the next node (which may be a donor DU or another IAB node, next-hop node corresponding to the destination node.); or a destination address field for the unique address of the destination donor DU and the group identifier associated with the destination donor DU, a path identifier field for the path identifier of a routing path to the destination donor DU, and a next-hop address field for the unique address of a donor DU or IAB network node of the IAB network that is a next node in the routing path.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify Zhuo’s teachings. Zhuo discloses all structural fields except the group identifier and RAN3#111e identifies that rerouting to an alternate donor Dumay fail due to IP source filtering in the wired backhaul and establishes the need to logically group donor DUs and associate each with a group identifier to enable valid rerouting decisions. This combination ensure to enable IAB nodes to identify alternate donor DUs within the same trusted group during local rerouting, thereby avoiding packet drops due to IP filtering and improving network reliability.
With regarding Claim 13 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 12, wherein determining whether there is an available routing path to the destination donor DU comprises: comparing the unique address of the destination donor DU and the path identifier included in the data packet with the routing configuration table and when there is a match with a unique address and path identifier in an entry of the routing configuration table, checking whether a backhaul wireless link to a next node in the routing path identified by the unique address in the next-hop address field for the entry is available (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0165], [0189]-[0190], [0166], [0172], [0099] Discloses the routing table of the first node includes the BAP address of the destination node, a next-hop node corresponding to the destination node, and a routing path identifier corresponding to the destination node and IAB node uses both destination BAP address and path ID to look up routing entry and determine next-hop. If multiple paths exist, the node may select based on link availability(e.g. radio link failure or congestion).; when the backhaul wireless link is not available or there is no match with a unique address and path identifier in the routing configuration table, comparing the unique address of the destination donor DU included in the data packet with the routing configuration table and when there is a match with a unique address in an entry of the routing configuration table, checking whether a backhaul wireless link to a next node identified by the unique address in the next-hop address field for the entry is available, wherein no available routing path is determined when there is no match with a unique address in the routing configuration table or the backhaul wireless link is not available, (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0099] Discloses if no alternate path to same destination exists, the node considers rerouting to another donor DU- implying that no path to original destination is available.): Zhuo may not explicitly disclose wherein determining an alternate routing path comprises identifying another entry in the routing configuration table having the same group identifier as the group identifier for an entry having at least the unique address of the destination donor in the destination address field, and determining, from the next-hop address field of the another entry, an alternate routing path to a different destination donor DU in the same group as the destination donor DU. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose wherein determining an alternate routing path comprises identifying another entry in the routing configuration table having the same group identifier as the group identifier for an entry having at least the unique address of the destination donor in the destination address field, and determining, from the next-hop address field of the another entry, an alternate routing path to a different destination donor DU in the same group as the destination donor DU.(See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf: discloses Donor DUs must be logically grouped, and rerouting restricted to same group.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify Zhuo’s teachings includes the BAP address of the destination node and a next-hop node, and describes address-only matching when path-specific route is unavailable or unspecified. 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e teaches donor DUs must be logically grouped, and rerouting restricted to same group. This combination ensure a group identifier in the routing table to implement this restriction is a routine.
With regarding Claim 14 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 13, wherein routing the data packet using the determined alternate routing path comprises checking whether a backhaul wireless link to a next node in the routing path identified by the unique address in the next-hop address field for the another entry is available and when the backhaul wireless link is available routing the data packet using the determined alternate routing path (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0099], [0124]-[0125], [0165], [0189]. Discloses that before using and routing path primary or alternate the IAB node verifies that the backhaul wireless link to the next-hop node is available). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify Zhuo’s teaches that before using any routing path primary or alternate, and 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e: Discloses group based alternate routing with RAN3#111e. This combination ensure reliable packet delivery by avoiding selection of alternate paths that are themselves failed or degraded.
With regarding Claim 15 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the group identifier is a group address, wherein each of the donor DUs in a group is assigned the same group address such that each donor DU is assigned a unique address and a group address (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0099], [0124]-[0125], [0165], [0189]. Discloses that each donor DU is assigned a unique BAP address and that the donor CU configures IAB nodes with routing information enabling rerouting to an alternate donor DU if both DUs belong to the same IAB donor). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify system of Zhuo’s by assigning each donor DU both a unique BAP address and a shared group address (common to all DUs in the same IP subnet or trust domain), as a direct implementation of the configured subset solution agreed upon in RAN3#111e. This combination enable IAB nodes to route packets using the group address when rerouting, and to allow donor DUs to accept packets addressed to the group, thereby avoiding packet drops due to strict address filtering in the wired backhaul.
With regarding Claim 16 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the routing configuration information comprises a routing configuration table including at least one entry, each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU or the group address of the destination donor DU, a path identifier field for the path identifier of a routing path to the destination donor DU and a next-hop address field for the unique address of a donor DU or IAB network node of the IAB network that is next in the routing path (See ¶[0099], [0165], [0189]. Discloses a routing table entry with a destination address field, a path identifier field, and a next-hop address field.) Zhuo may not explicitly disclose each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU or the group address of the destination donor DU, However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose each entry having a destination address field for the unique address of a destination donor DU or the group address of the destination donor DU .(See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf: discloses as established in prior rejections, RAN3#111e identifies that rerouting to an alternate donor DU may fail due to IP source filtering in the wired backhaul and proposed), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify the routing table of Zhuo to allow the destination address field to contain either the unique address or the group address of a destination donor DU, as suggested by RAN3#111e. This combination enable flexible routing use the unique address for normal routing and use the group address to facilitate local rerouting to any eligible donor DU in the same group when the primary path fails without requiring per DU configuration, thereby improving scalability and reliability.
With regarding Claim 17 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 16, wherein determining whether there is an available routing path to the destination donor DU comprises: comparing the unique address of the destination donor DU and the path identifier included in the data packet with the routing configuration table and when there is a match with a unique address and path identifier in an entry of the routing configuration table, checking whether a backhaul wireless link to a next node in the routing path identified by the unique address in the next-hop address field for the entry is available (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0165], [0189]-[0190], [0166], [0172], [0099] Discloses the routing table of the first node includes the BAP address of the destination node, a next-hop node corresponding to the destination node, and a routing path identifier corresponding to the destination node and IAB node uses both destination BAP address and path ID to look up routing entry and determine next-hop. If multiple paths exist, the node may select based on link availability(e.g. radio link failure or congestion).; when the backhaul wireless link is not available or there is no match with a unique address and path identifier in the routing configuration table, comparing the unique address of the destination donor DU included in the data packet with the routing configuration table and when there is a match with a unique address in an entry of the routing configuration table, checking whether a backhaul wireless link to a next node identified by the unique address in the next-hop address field for the entry is available (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0099]. Discloses if no alternate path to same destination exists, the node considers rerouting to another donor DU- implying that no path to original destination is available.), wherein no available routing paths are determined when there is no match with a unique address in the routing configuration table or the backhaul wireless link is not available (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0099]. Discloses if no alternate path to same destination exists, the node considers rerouting to another donor DU- implying that no path to original destination is available.) Zhuo may not explicitly disclose wherein determining an alternate routing path comprises: identifying another entry in the routing configuration table having the group address corresponding to the unique address or the same group address as the group address for an entry having the unique address of the destination donor in the destination address field and determining, from the another entry, an alternate routing path to a different destination donor DU with the same group address as the destination donor DU. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose wherein determining an alternate routing path comprises: identifying another entry in the routing configuration table having the group address corresponding to the unique address or the same group address as the group address for an entry having the unique address of the destination donor in the destination address field and determining, from the another entry, an alternate routing path to a different destination donor DU with the same group address as the destination donor DU (See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf: Discloses Donor DUs must be logically grouped, and rerouting restricted to same group and using a group address to identify eligible alternate DUs is a predictable implementation of RAN3#111e’s configured subset requirement.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify the routing table of Zhuo’s. Zhuo teaching routing table includes BAP address of destination node, next-hop node, and routing path identifier. And IAB node uses both destination BAP address and path ID to look up entry and determine next-hop. And 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 teaches a group address to identify eligible alternate DUs is discloses in RAN3#111e configured subset requirement.
With regarding Claim 18 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 17, wherein routing the data packet using the determined alternate routing path comprises checking whether a backhaul wireless link to a next node in the routing path identified by the unique address in the next-hop address field for the another entry is available and when the backhaul wireless link is available routing the data packet using the determined alternate routing path (See ¶[0099], [0124]-[0125], [0165], [0189]. Discloses that before using any routing path primary or alternate the IAB node verifies that the backhaul wireless link to the next-hop node is available). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify the routing table of Zhuo’s Zhuo’s teaches the same link availability verification used for primary paths in Zhuo to these group-based alternate paths,. This combination ensure reliable packet delivery by avoiding selection of alternate paths that are themselves failed or degraded.
With regarding Claim 19 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 15, further comprising: generating a data packet for routing to a destination donor DU, wherein the data packet includes the unique address or the group address of the destination donor DU (See FIG. 4 and ¶[0038], [0044], [0148]-[0151] discloses generating a packet with the unique address of the destination donor DU.). Zhuo may not explicitly disclose the group address of the destination donor. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose the group address of the destination donor (See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf Discloses as established in prior rejections, RAN3#111e identifies that rerouting to an alternate donor DU may fail due to IP source filtering and proposes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify the packet generation method of Zhuo to allow the destination address in the BAP header to be either the unique address or the group address of the destination donor DU, as suggested by RAN3#111e’s configured subset requirement and confirmed. This combination enable efficient local rerouting without requiring header updates at intermediate nodes, thereby improving reliability and reducing signaling overhead.
With regarding Claim 20 Zhuo disclose a method for processing data packets at a donor DU of a wireless integrated access and backhaul, IAB, network comprising a donor network node and a plurality of IAB network nodes, the donor network node comprising a donor central unit, CU, and a plurality of donor distributed units, DUs (See ¶[0086], [0099]. Discloses unique BAP address for donor DUs and rerouting to another DU of same donor), each donor DU being assigned a unique address and each donor DU being assigned to one of one or more groups with a unique group identifier assigned to each group of the one or more groups, the donor DU being configured with configuration information including the unique address of the donor DU and the group identifier associated with the donor DU (See FIG.4 ¶[0199], [0249] to implement configured subset the Donor CU is provide group identifier to each DU.), the method comprising: receiving a data packet, the data packet including a header comprising the unique address of a donor DU corresponding to a destination donor DU for the data packet (See ¶[0198], [0192] Discloses the donor DU reads the BAP header and BAP header includes BAP ID of the donor DU as destination address.); determining whether the unique address in the header matches the unique address of the donor DU in the configuration information (See ¶[0198]. Discloses the donor DU reads the BAP header, determines that the donor DU is the destination node); Zhuo may not explicitly disclose when the unique addresses do not match, determining whether a predetermined filtering condition is met; when the predetermined filtering condition is met, accepting the received data packet for further processing. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e discloses when the unique addresses do not match, determining whether a predetermined filtering condition is met; when the predetermined filtering condition is met, accepting the received data packet for further processing (See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf discloses to enable rerouting without header updates, DUs must accept packets not addressed to them, provided they belong to the same configured subset. And to accept packet when filtering condition is satisfied, to avoid discarding rerouted traffic). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify the packet generation method of Zhuo and RAN3#111e’s teaches to assign a unique group identifier to each group, as a direct implementation of RAN3#111e configured subset. This combination use of predetermine filtering condition tied to a group identifier is a routine and predictable implementation.
With regarding Claim 21 Zhuo disclose a method for processing data packets at a donor DU of a wireless integrated access and backhaul, IAB, network comprising a donor network node and a plurality of IAB network nodes, the donor network node comprising a donor central unit, CU, and a plurality of donor distributed units, DUs, each donor DU being assigned a unique address and each donor DU being assigned to one of one or more groups with a group address assigned to each group of the one or more groups, wherein each of the donor DUs in a group is assigned the same group address such that each donor DU is assigned a unique address and a group address, the donor DU being configured with configuration information including the unique address of the donor DU and the group address associated with the donor DU, the method comprising: receiving a data packet, the data packet including a header comprising the unique address of a donor DU or the group address of the donor DU corresponding to a destination donor DU for the data packet; determining whether the unique address or the group address in the header matches the unique address or the group address of the donor DU in the received routing configuration information; when the unique addresses or the group addresses match, accepting the received data packet for further processing (See ¶[0086], [0099], [0198], [0192], [0099]. Discloses base packet processing and unique addressing). Zhuo may not explicitly disclose wherein each of the donor DUs in a group is assigned the same group address such that each donor DU is assigned a unique address and a group address, the donor DU being configured with configuration information including the unique address of the donor DU and the group address associated with the donor DU However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose wherein each of the donor DUs in a group is assigned the same group address such that each donor DU is assigned a unique address and a group address, the donor DU being configured with configuration information including the unique address of the donor DU and the group address associated with the donor DU (See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf discloses group based addressing to solve IP filtering) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify Zhuo’s invention. Zhuo teaches packet processing and unique addressing, andRAN3#11e teaches group-based addressing to solve IP filtering. This combination ensure dual address configuration and dual match acceptance.
With regarding Claim 22 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 21, wherein when the unique addresses or the group addresses do not match, determining whether a predetermined filtering condition is met and when the predetermined filtering condition is met, accepting the received data packet for further processing.
Zhuo may not explicitly disclose wherein when the unique addresses or the group addresses do not match, determining whether a predetermined filtering condition is met and when the predetermined filtering condition is met, accepting the received data packet for further processing. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose wherein when the unique addresses or the group addresses do not match, determining whether a predetermined filtering condition is met and when the predetermined filtering condition is met, accepting the received data packet for further processing (See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf discloses flexible filtering and avoid packet discard requires accepting rerouting packets). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify Zhuo’s invention. Zhuo teaches packet processing and unique addressing, andRAN3#11e teaches group-based addressing to solve IP filtering. This combination ensure filtering condition is a direct implementation of RAN3#111e configured subset requirement.
With regarding Claim 23 Zhuo disclose the method of claim 21, wherein the predetermined filtering condition includes one of: all data packets received at the donor DU can be accepted for further processing; or the unique address in the header of the data packet matches a unique address included in a list of unique addresses of acceptable donor DUs provided to the donor DU by the donor CU; or the header of the data packet includes a group identifier that matches a group identifier provided to the donor DU by the donor CU.
Zhuo may not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined filtering condition includes one of: all data packets received at the donor DU can be accepted for further processing; or the unique address in the header of the data packet matches a unique address included in a list of unique addresses of acceptable donor DUs provided to the donor DU by the donor CU; or the header of the data packet includes a group identifier that matches a group identifier provided to the donor DU by the donor CU. However, in analogous art, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e disclose wherein the predetermined filtering condition includes one of: all data packets received at the donor DU can be accepted for further processing; or the unique address in the header of the data packet matches a unique address included in a list of unique addresses of acceptable donor DUs provided to the donor DU by the donor CU; or the header of the data packet includes a group identifier that matches a group identifier provided to the donor DU by the donor CU(See 13.3.2. Multi-Hop Performance: # 39_IAB_MultiHopPerf discloses flexible filtering and avoid packet discard requires accepting rerouting packets). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine 3GPP TSG-RAN WG3 #111-e to modify Zhuo’s invention. Zhuo teaches packet processing and unique addressing, andRAN3#11e teaches group-based addressing to solve IP filtering. This combination ensure avoid packet discards due to IP source filtering during inter-donor-DU rerouting.
With regarding Claim 35, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 35 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 10, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 36, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 36 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 20, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 37, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 37 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 4, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 38, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 38 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 8, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 39, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 39 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 23, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 40, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 40 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 11, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 41, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 41 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 12, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 42, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 42 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 13, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 43, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 43 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 14, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 44, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 44 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 15, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 45, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 45 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 16, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 46, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 46 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 17, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 47, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 47 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 18, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 48, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 48 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 23, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468