DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the species of sesame oleosin, SEQ ID NO 1, and Thermotoga maritima in the reply filed on 3/11/26 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
This action is written in response to applicant’s amendments received on 7/29/26.
The rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112(b) is overcome by amendment.
Any objection or rejection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment.
Amended claims 1-2,4,7-11 and 14 are under examination herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 10/7/23, 10/23/25, and 3/6/26 have been fully considered except where references have been lined through.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
New rejection necessitated by amendment. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 requires a standard 200w laboratory cell disruptor and a standard 10 cm horizontal centrifuge rotor. This is not supported in the specification.
New rejection necessitated by amendment. Claims 1-2 4, 7-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim is directed to a product and a process. This is indefinite, see MPEP 2173.05(p) II.
Regarding claim 14, Claim 14 recites the limitation " the use". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wichelecki (US20190017083A1) in view of Tseng ("Immobilization of Clostridium cellulolyticum D-psicose 3-epimerase on artificial oil bodies." Journal of agricultural and food chemistry 62.28 (2014): 6771-6776) and Chiang et al. "A useful method integrating production and immobilization of recombinant cellulase." Applied microbiology and biotechnology 97.20 (2013): 9185-9192. (Year: 2013).
Regarding claims 1 and 10-11, Wichelecki teaches enzymatic production of tagatose (abstract). Wichelecki teaches that that a series of enzymes can be used to create the tagatose (fig 2 and [0018]). Wichelecki teaches that alpha-glucan phosphorylase, phosphoglucomutase, phosphoglucoisomerase, fructose 6-phosphate epimerase and tagatose 6-phosphate phosphatase are used (fig 2 and [0018]). While Wichelecki uses the nomenclature of fructose 6-phosphate epimerase rather than the claimed tagatose 6-phosphate 4-empimerase, instant specification [0016] indicates that any enzyme capable of catalyzing the reaction of fructose-6-phosphate into tagatose-6-phosphate is a tagatose 6-phosphate 4-empimerase. As Wichelecki teaches that fructose 6-phosphate epimerase catalyzing the reaction of fructose-6-phosphate into tagatose-6-phosphate is a tagatose 6-phosphate 4-empimerase, one of ordinary skill in the arts understands that the enzyme of Wichelecki is the same as the claimed enzyme. Wichelecki teaches that E. coli harboring a protein expression plasmid (singular enzyme/distinct proteins) ([0073]). Weichelecki teaches that following individual protein expression and isolation, the proteins can be mixed together (multi-enzyme complex) (example 1).
Wichelecki does not explicitly teach the enzymes immobilized in an oil body or multiple enzymes present in the oil body.
Tseng teaches the immobilization of epimerases in an artificial oil body for the production of a rare sugar (abstract). Tseng teaches that this method saves time, money, and is easy and effective (introduction). Tseng teaches that recombinant enzymes are coupled to an oleosin gene, expressed, and inserted into the oil body (materials and methods, fig 1). Tseng teaches sesame oleosins can be used (introduction). Tseng teaches the protein is combined with buffer, olive oil (oil body), and phospholipids, then ultrasonicated, centrifuged, and collected (materials and methods). While Tseng does not explicitly specify collecting the upper layer, as the components are the same as the claimed invention and the layering is simply a result of the properties of the composition, one of ordinary skill in the arts would understand that the oil body would form on the top layer and it would have been obvious to collect such layer.
Wichelecki and Tseng does not explicitly teach multiple enzymes in an oil body
Chiang teaches useful methods for immobilizing a recombinant multienzyme complex (cellulase) (title). Chiang teaches that individual enzymes can be expressed, purified, and co-immobilized on an artificial oil body (AOB) (multi enzyme complex supported by a single artificial oil body) (abstract, fig 1). Chiang further teaches that “AOBs-immobilized cellulase exhibited 80 % of the original activity after four consecutive reaction cycles” and that the immobilized complex had a high degree of storage stability (p. 9189, under Reusability of AOBs-bound cellulase). Chiang teaches that the AOB multi enzymes are an easy and direct method to study various combinations of enzymes (discussion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the immobilized enzymes of Wichelecki in an oil body as taught by Tseng and Chiang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Tseng teaches that this method saves time, money, and is easy and effective. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because these artificial oil bodies have been successfully used to immobilize multienzyme complexes. Moreover, Chiang teaches that AOB-immobilization allows for a high degree of reusability and storage stability. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as both Wichelecki, Chiang, and Tseng are in the same field of endeavor of enzymes, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions.
Regarding claim 2, Wichelecki teaches bacteria expressing the enzymes (expression vectors) can be transformed, expressed and isolated ([0070-0075]). Wichelecki teaches the enzymes can be derived from Thermotoga maritima ([0076]). Wichelecki teaches the enzymes are thermostable ([0074]). Chiang teaches the each enzyme can be coupled to oleosin (fusion proteins, single oleosin and single enzyme), transformed into recombinant bacteria and expressed (materials and methods).
Regarding claim 7, Wichelecki teaches that the enzymes can be present in any desired ratio to maximize the product yield ([0032]). Therefore, the mass ratios of the enzymes is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill in the arts would be motivated to experiment with the mass ratios of the enzymes to arrive at the claimed concentration. See MPEP 2144.05 II. B.
Regarding claim 11, Wichelecki teaches the process is carried out at 40-70oc ([0014]). Wichelecki teaches the phosphate (inorganic phosphate) can be in the range of 0-150mM ([0035]). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious. Wichelecki teaches the starch can be degraded (debranched) using enzymes ([0038-0042]). Wichelecki teaches the debranching enzymes can be used at 5 U/mL (example 5) Wichelecki teaches HEPES buffer in the range of 5-8 pH can be used ([0062]). Wichelecki teaches that 100 mM HEPES can be used (example 5). Wichelecki teaches that 5 mM MgCl2 and 0.5 mM ZnCl2 can be used (example 5). Wichelecki teaches that starch or its derivative including maltodextrin can be used ([0009]). Wichelecki teaches that maltodextrin can be used at a concentration of 50 g/L (example 13). MPEP 2144.04 states that “selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results”
Regarding claim 14, Tseng teaches that the artificial oil body comprising enzymes can be recycled (Reusability of the AOB-lmmobilized CC-DPEase).
Claims 8 -9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wichelecki (US20190017083A1) and Tseng ("Immobilization of Clostridium cellulolyticum D-psicose 3-epimerase on artificial oil bodies." Journal of agricultural and food chemistry 62.28 (2014): 6771-6776) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-7 and9-14 above, and further in view of Wijesundera (US20140024714A1).
Regarding claim 8, Tseng teaches olive oil can be used (vegetable oil containing triglyceride) (material and methods).
Wichelecki and Tseng do not explicitly teach where the phospholipid is lecithin.
Wijesundera teaches artificial oil bodies (abstract). Wijesundera teaches lecithin can be used as a phospholipid for creation of the oil bodies ([120-121]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use lecithin in the invention of Tseng and Wichelecki above. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because these phospholipids have been successfully used to create artificial oil bodies, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as both Tseng and Wijesundera are in the same field of endeavor of oil bodies.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is a product by process claim and as such is only limited by the product and not the process steps needed to make the product. In instant case, the mass ratios are construed as the process, and the product only needs to comprise the enzyme oil body with triglyceride and lecithin which is met by the combination of references in claim 8. There are no clear mass ratio limitations regarding the final product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the species election (election restriction). The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are biological alternatives and not a serious burden to examine. This is not found persuasive because a serious burden exists, see the restriction requirement mailed on 1/13/26 (e.g., individual species would require separate searches and would require different prior art references).
Applicant argues that the cited art does not teach multiple enzymes in an AOB (p9 second paragraph, p9-10 bridging paragraph). This argument is moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Applicant further argues a series of unclaimed purported unexpected results. This is not persuasive as the argued efficiency is not present in the claims or in affidavit of unexpected results. Applicant bears the burden of producing objective evidence establishing that any purported differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance (MPEP 716.02(b)). Such evidence must be factually supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration to be of probative value (MPEP 716.01 (a)). The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record (MPEP 716.01 (a)). Moreover, any unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claims the evidence is offered to support (MPEP 716.02(d)).
Applicant argues there is no reasonable motivation to combine the art (p9 3rd paragraph). Tseng teaches that this method saves time, money, and is easy and effective (introduction). Moreover, Chiang teaches that AOB-immobilization allows for a high degree of reusability and storage stability. See the rejection above for detail.
Applicant argues that long term recyclability is important (p9 4th paragraph). This is not persuasive as the argued recyclability is not present in the claims or in affidavit of unexpected results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR KANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657