Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howe et al. (US 4,696,119).
Regarding claim 1, Howe et al. disclose an animal tag applicator (“A”; Figures 9-17, Title) comprising: a first body portion (Figure 14) comprising: a first jaw portion (see Jaws in drawing below; the boundary between the jaw portions and the central portions can be arbitrarily designated) configured to engage a first portion of an animal tag; a first handle portion (34; see Handle Portions in drawing below); and a first central portion (see Possible Central Portions in drawing below - the boundaries of the central portion can be arbitrarily set as claimed) between the first jaw portion and the first handle portion; a second body portion (Figure 16) comprising: a second jaw portion (see Jaws in drawing below; the jaw of Figure 16 being the second jaw portion) configured to engage a second portion of an animal tag; a second handle portion (35; see Handle Portions in drawing below); and a second central portion (see Possible Central Portions in drawing below) between the second jaw portion and the second handle portion; and a clamp bush (38) configured to retain the first central portion and the second central portion together (col. 9, line 39 to col. 10, line 16); wherein an outer face (radially outward surface of 37) of the first central portion comprises a raised first border and an outer face (radially outward surface of 36) of the second central portion comprises a raised second border (see raised border below; each side of the applicator would have a raised border which can be regarded as the first or second border).
[AltContent: arc][AltContent: arc][AltContent: textbox (Raised Border)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Jaws)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Possible Central Portions)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Handle Portions)]
Regarding claim 4, the clamp bush is configured to limit side-to-side movement of the first central portion and the second central portion within the clamp bush (col. 9, line 68 to col. 10, line 11).
Regarding claim 6, the clamp bush is configured to minimize friction when the first central portion and/or second central portion move relative to the clamp bush (col. 10, lines 12-17 - the clamp bush helps maintain a tight yet usable clearance which would minimize wear/friction as compared to an overly tight or loose clearance).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, the raised borders are around an outer edge of the outer face of the each central portion as evident from the drawing above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howe et al. (US 4,696,119) in view of Herbert (US 5,560,107).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15 and 16, Howe et al. fail to disclose the specific height of the raised borders. The borders are formed from a countersink portion of the outer face (col. 10, lines 5-11).
Herbert discloses a plier-type tool (such tools being reasonably pertinent to Applicant’s problem of using a plier-type tool for tagging animals) having a countersink portion (60; Figure 3) depth of between about 0.1mm and about 0.5mm or about 0.3mm (col. 3, lines 24-26) for accommodation of a pivoting structure (64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and in view of Herbert to have made the height of the border (i.e. depth of the countersink) relative to the outer face to be between about 0.1mm and 0.5mm or about 0.3mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howe et al. (US 4,696,119) in view of Puro (US 4,414,868).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Howe et al. fail to disclose a specific clearance between the clamp bush and the borders as claimed.
Puro disclose a plier-type tool (Title; such tools being reasonably pertinent to Applicant’s problem of using a plier-type tool for tagging animals) and further teach that a clearance between moving parts should be about 0.1mm in order to minimize wear (col. 5, lines 44-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and in view of Puro to have made a clearance of about 0.1mm between all surfaces of the clamp bush and the surrounding surfaces in order to minimize wear.
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howe et al. (US 4,696,119) in view of Lefevre et al. (US 2018/0126517).
Regarding claim 8, Howe et al. fail to disclose what force is needed to move the animal tag applicator into a closed position.
Lefevre et al., in Applicant's field of plier-type gripping tools, teaches that a typical closing force from a user's hand of 100 N should be sufficient to cut a wire (¶[0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the applicator of Reggers et al. so that a closing force of 100 N or less is required to operate the device as this is a typical closing force sufficient to cut through stronger objects than tissue using pliers as taught by Lefevre et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS MCEVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771