DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, Applicant’s reply is noted.
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102 and/or 103 that HATTORI does not disclose ‘at least one additional winding, being separate from the first winding, that at least partially surrounds a radially outer face of said first winding and the at least one of the stator teeth about which the first winding is wound, and a connecting section electrically connecting the first winding and the at least one additional winding” as claimed in the amended independent claims 1 and 11.
The winding layers of HATTORI are ‘separate’ as broadly claimed and in a manner similar to the disclosed first and additional windings of the instant application. The instant specification fails to define ‘separate’ in a manner to distinguish from the structure of HATTORI; the term ‘separate’ does not appear in the written description. However, to the extent that the first and additional windings (50,60) in the instant application appear to be separate, as seen in Fig. 4, they are situated circumferentially one inside the other. This is the same manner that the layers of HATTORI are separate, and further satisfies the claimed relationships of “at least partially surrounds a radially outer face of said first winding and the at least one of the stator teeth about which the first winding is wound” (see para [0052] “the flat wire 40 in a second layer is wound to lap on the outside of the flat wire 40 in a first layer” and, at least, Fig. 9)
Regarding “connecting section electrically connecting the first winding and the at least one additional winding”, the portions of the flat wire (40) of HATTORI which connect the upper portion of a respective first layer to the upper portion of its surrounding second layer are each a ‘connecting section’ as broadly claimed. The instant specification fails to define ‘connecting section’ in a manner to distinguish from the structure of HATTORI. However, the first and additional windings (50,60) in the instant application are connected by a connecting section (55). As seen in Fig. 4, the connecting section appears to be a contiguous section of wire that bends from one winding to its surrounding winding. This is the same manner that the layers of HATTORI are connected (see annotated Figs. 6A, 8A, and 9, below)
Double Patenting
Claim 9 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18282001 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘free space’ of claim 9 in the instant application is anticipated by the ‘gap’ of claim 5 in the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “separate” in line 4 renders the claim indefinite; ‘separate’ is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Are the windings separated by vertical, horizontal, circumferential, electrical, or other means?
Claims 2-10 depend from indefinite claim 1
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a connecting section" in line 4. It is unclear whether this is the same as the connecting section recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the term “separate” in line 4 renders the claim indefinite; ‘separate’ is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Are the windings separated by vertical, horizontal, circumferential, electrical, or other means?
Claims 12-19 depend from indefinite claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HATTORI (US 20190013708; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, HATTORI discloses a stator (20,30) of an axial flux machine (axial gap type brushless motor 1, see para [0036]), comprising:
a plurality of axially protruding stator teeth (24)(see para [0042] and Fig. 5A-5B);
a first winding (first layer) wound about at least one of the stator teeth (24); and
at least one additional winding (the second and/or third layer), separate from the first winding (by virtue of being circumferentially outside the first winding) that at least partially surrounds a radially outer face of said first winding and the at least one of the stator teeth (24) around which the first winding is wound; and a connecting section electrically connecting the first winding and the at least one additional winding. (see annotated Fig. 6A, 8A, and 9 and para [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 2, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 1, wherein
the first winding (26) and the at least one additional winding arranged on a respective one of the stator teeth (24) are electrically connected in series with one another (see Fig. 9 and para [0050]).
Regarding claim 3, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 2, wherein the first winding (26) and the at least one additional winding arranged radially directly adjacent to one another on the respective one of the stator teeth (24) are electrically in each case connected to one another by [the] connecting section (see Fig. 9 and para [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 1, wherein
the first winding (26) and the at least one additional winding arranged on the respective one of the stator teeth (24) have at least one of a same pitch or a same winding direction (they are wound in the same direction; see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 1, wherein
the first winding (26) and the at least one additional winding arranged on the respective one of the stator teeth (24) have rod-shaped longitudinal elements (see Fig. 9; straight portions at label 40) which run essentially radially with respect to an axis of rotation (unlabeled; at center of shaft 2) of an axial flux machine (1) equipped with a rotor (10).
Regarding claim 7, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 5, wherein
at least two of the rod-shaped longitudinal elements of at least one of the first winding (26) or the at least one additional winding are fixed to one another (i.e. made of the same flat wire 40. See Fig. 9 and para [0051]).
Regarding claim 8, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 5, wherein
at least two of the rod-shaped longitudinal elements are fixed to each other by the first winding (26) and the at least one additional winding arranged directly adjacent to one another (i.e. made of the same flat wire 40. See Fig. 9 and para [0051]).
Regarding claim 10, HATTORI discloses an axial flux machine, comprising at least one stator (20,30) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, HATTORI discloses a stator (20,30) of an axial flux machine (1), comprising:
a plurality of axially protruding stator teeth (24)(see para [0042] and Fig. 5A-5B);
a first winding (first layer) wound about at least one of the stator teeth (24); and
at least one additional winding (the second and/or third layer), separate from the first winding (by virtue of being circumferentially outside the first winding) that at least partially surrounds a radially outer face of said first winding and the at least one of the stator teeth (24) around which the first winding is wound; and a connecting section electrically connecting the first winding and the at least one additional winding. (see annotated Fig. 8A, Fig. 9 and para [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 12, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 11, wherein
the first winding (26) and the additional winding arranged on a respective one of the stator teeth (24) are electrically connected in series with one another by the connecting section (see Fig. 9 and para [0050]).
Regarding claim 13, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 12, wherein
the first winding (26) and the additional winding are arranged radially directly adjacent to one another on the respective one of the stator teeth (24) (see Fig. 9 and para [0050]).
Regarding claim 14, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 11, wherein
the first winding (26) and the additional winding arranged on the respective one of the stator teeth (24) have at least one of a same pitch or a same winding direction (they are wound in the same direction; see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 15, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 11, wherein
the first winding (26) and the additional winding arranged on the respective one of the stator teeth (24) have rod-shaped longitudinal elements (see Fig. 9; straight portions at label 40) which run essentially radially with respect to an axis of rotation (unlabeled; at center of shaft 2) of a rotor (10) that is adapted to be located within the stator (20,30) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 15, wherein
at least two of the rod-shaped longitudinal elements of at least one of the first winding (26) or the additional winding are fixed to one another (i.e. made of the same flat wire 40. See Fig. 9 and para [0051]).
Regarding claim 18, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 15, wherein
at least two of the rod-shaped longitudinal elements are fixed to each other by the first winding (26) and the additional winding arranged directly adjacent to one another (i.e. made of the same flat wire 40. See Fig. 9 and para [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HATTORI in view of HOLZHEU (US 20040046475).
Regarding claim 6, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 5, as discussed above.
HATTORI discloses a cross section of one said rod-shaped longitudinal element has a width and a thickness smaller than the width (see para [0051])
However, HATTORI does not specifically disclose a width B and a thickness D, wherein B/D> 1.5.
HOLZHEU discloses a stator of a brushless motor with a winding thickness (H) and width (B) wherein B/H=3 which is >1.5 (see para [0077].)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the stator of HATTORI with a winding dimensioned similar to that of HOLZHEU with a width B and a thickness D, wherein B/D> 1.5.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to enable several windings to be placed in a slot together, as taught by HOLZHEU in para [0077].
Regarding claim 16, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 15, as discussed above.
HATTORI discloses a cross section of one said rod-shaped longitudinal element has a width and a thickness smaller than the width (see para [0051])
However, HATTORI does not specifically disclose a width B and a thickness D, wherein B/D> 1.5.
HOLZHEU discloses a stator of a brushless motor with a winding thickness (H) and width (B) wherein B/H=3 which is >1.5 (see para [0077])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the stator of HATTORI with a winding dimensioned similar to that of HOLZHEU with a width B and a thickness D, wherein B/D> 1.5.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to enable several windings to be placed in a slot together, as taught by HOLZHEU in para [0077].
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HATTORI in view of KATO (JP 2005304174; previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 1, as discussed above.
However, HATTORI does not disclose the first winding is spaced apart from the stator tooth by means of at least one radial spacer element, such that a free space is located between a radial inner side of the first winding and the stator tooth that is adapted for a cooling fluid flow therebetween.
KATO discloses a stator of an axial flux machine (1) with stator winding (24) spaced apart from the stator tooth (22) by means of at least one radial spacer element (23, see Fig. 2), such that a free space (29) is located between a radial inner side of the first winding and the stator tooth that is adapted for a cooling fluid flow therebetween(see para [0015]).
KATO, Fig. 2
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the stator of HATTORI with a spacer similar to that of KATO wherein the first winding is spaced apart from the stator tooth by means of at least one radial spacer element, such that a free space is located between a radial inner side of the first winding and the stator tooth that is adapted for a cooling fluid flow therebetween.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to induce coolant into the coil of the stator and improve cooling capacity, as KATO teaches at para [0007]
Regarding claim 19, HATTORI discloses the stator of an axial flux machine according to claim 11, wherein
However, HATTORI does not disclose the first winding is spaced apart from the stator tooth by at least one radial spacer element, such that a free space is located between a radial inner side of the first winding and the stator tooth that is adapted for a cooling fluid flow (see para [0015]).
KATO discloses stator of an axial flux machine (1) with stator winding (24) spaced apart from the stator tooth (22) by means of at least one radial spacer element (23, see Fig. 2), such that a free space (29) is located between a radial inner side of the first winding and the stator tooth that is adapted for a cooling fluid flow therebetween.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the stator of HATTORI with a spacer similar to that of KATO wherein the first winding is spaced apart from the stator tooth by means of at least one radial spacer element, such that a free space is located between a radial inner side of the first winding and the stator tooth that is adapted for a cooling fluid flow therebetween.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to induce coolant into the coil of the stator and improve cooling capacity, as KATO teaches at para [0007]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20060267439-A1 Rajasingham; US-20170353072-A1 MCSHEERY; and US-11424666-B1 Paritee all disclose multiple winding layers, separated horizontally, vertically, and circumferentially, wound around a single tooth.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834