The present application, filed on or after 16 Mar 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Status
Amendments to the claims filed 17 Aug 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1, 6 and 8-11, 13-15, and 18-19 are amended. Claim 21 is canceled. Claims 22-23 are newly added. Claims 2 and 7 were previously canceled.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-20, and 22-23 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Objections to claims 1, 8, 13-14, and 18-19 are withdrawn to due to amendments to the claims to overcome the issues.
Claim 23 is newly objected to because of the following informalities:
It assumed that the abbreviation PCBMC is meant to be PBMC.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
For the purposes of examination, "PCBMC cell culture" recited in claim 23 is interpreted to mean peripheral blood mononuclear cell (PBMC) cell culture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Rejection of claims 3-5, 14, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is withdrawn due to amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) is withdrawn due to amendment to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Rejection of claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) is moot due to cancelation of the claim.
Rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) is withdrawn due to amendment to the claims that resolve the issues.
§ 112(a) – Response to Arguments
Rejection of 1, 3-6, and 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) with regard to route of administration (identified as Issue 1 in the Office Action mailed 26 May 2026) is withdrawn due to amendments to the claims to narrow the scope of the route of administration to direct administration.
Rejection of 1, 3-6, and 8-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) with regard to the method of inducing stress in the cultured PBMC to produce a supernatant for treatment of skin scars is withdrawn due to amendment to narrow the scope to ionizing radiation and in response to persuasive arguments.
Applicant argues that the claims are enabled for the entire genus of ionizing radiation and not just γ-radiation (Remarks filed 17 Aug 2026 p. 2 1st par.). Applicant provides Laggner (M. Laggner, et al., Mol Ther Methods Clin Dev, Jun 2021), which demonstrates that the transcriptome of PBMC and the regenerative capacity of PBMC in in vitro tube formation and aortic rings assays are equivalent between PBMC irradiated with γ-radiation and electron beam irradiation (Laggner Abstract and Results pp. 18-19, Remarks p. 3 2nd par. – p. 4 1st par.).
No prior art of the record prior to the earliest effective filing date of the present claims to indicate that other forms of ionizing radiation other than γ-radiation would produce a PBMC supernatant that would not be effective for the treatment of skin scars. The specification provides that the PBMC may be subjected to ionizing radiation that is preferably γ-radiation (par. 13), and therefore, the specification provides other forms of ionizing radiation as prophetic examples for inducing stress in PBMC. While Laggner was published 11 Jun 2011, which is after the earliest effective filing date of the present claims, 13 Apr 2021, it provides sufficient evidence to eliminate doubt that the specification provided an enabling disclosure as of the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejections of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are withdrawn due to amendments to the claims.
Rejections of claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is moot due to cancelation of the claim.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, and 11-19 remain rejected in modified form and claims 22-23 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hacker (S. Hacker, et al. Sci Rep, 2016) as evidenced by Pietrzak (M. Pietrzak, J Clin Med, 2025) and Beer 2015 (L. Beer, et al., Sci Rep, 2015, reference 2 in IDS filed 09 Oct 2023).
Hacker teaches a method of generating supernatant of a peripheral blood mononuclear cell (PBMC) culture (claim 1) for topical application (applied on the skin, claims 3 and 21) to reduce scar formation (claim 19) (Abstract). The method taught by Hacker comprises culturing PBMC in a serum-free cell growth medium (claim 8) CellGro® (claim 14) for 24 h (claims 12 and 17) (Materials and Methods p. 2). Prior to collection of conditioned media (cell culture supernatant), PBMC were irradiated to induce apoptosis (induction of stress, claims 9-10) by γ irradiation at 60 Gy (gamma irradiation, claims 1, 11, 16).
PBMC comprise monocytes, T cells, B cells, and natural killer (NK) cells (claims 1 and 19) (Pietrzak, Introduction p. 1).
Hacker further teaches that the method of treating skin grafts with supernatant of irradiated PBMC reduced the number of mast cells in the wounds (Results p. 4 and Fig. 5). Based on this observation, Hacker predicts that the method would be applicable to treating hypertrophic and keloid scars, which have elevated numbers of mast cells compared to normal scars (claims 1, 6, and 22) (Discussion p. 8).
Hacker further teaches that the method of treating skin grafts with supernatant of irradiated PBMC reduced wound contraction (Fig. 5), which is desirable for functional (therapeutic) and aesthetic (cosmetic) applications (claims 1 and 19) (Discussion p. 8).
Hacker recites culturing PBMC "at a concentration of 25 × 106 cells" but does not teach a concentration on a per mL basis (Methods p. 9). However, Hacker notes that "components of the secretome of cultured peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs) used in this study were examined in several previous studies by our group" (Introduction p. 2), citing Beer 2015. Beer 2015 recites the same steps as those in Hacker with the only difference that Beer 2015 recites a culture of 25 · 106 PBMC/mL (within the range of 105 to 108 PBMC/mL, claim 13 and within the range of 106 to 107 PBMC/mL, claim 18) (Beer 2015 Materials and Methods p. 9).
Hacker does not teach a culture of 2·106 to 5·106 PBMC/mL as required by claim 23. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%). Furthermore, it is routine procedure to optimize component amounts to arrive at an optimal product that is superior for its intended use, since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute treatment of burn scars comprising applying a supernatant of irradiated PBMC for the treatment of skin grafts as taught by Hacker for treatment of hypertrophic or keloid scars as taught by Hacker to arrive at the claimed invention. One would be motivated to make such a combination as Hacker teaches that mast cells are elevated in hypertrophic and keloid scars compared to normal scars. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in making the combination as Hacker demonstrates that the method of applying a supernatant of irradiated PBMC reduces the number of mast cells in a wound and results in improved scar qualities important in therapeutic and cosmetic applications.
Claims 4-5 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hacker (S. Hacker, et al. Sci Rep, 2016) as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11-19, and 22-23 above and in further view of Yang (D. Yang, et al. Acta Biomater, Feb 2021) and Martanto (W. Martanto, et al., J Control Release, 2006).
Hacker teaches a method of treating hypertrophic and keloid scars by administering peripheral blood mononuclear cell (PBMC) supernatant as discussed above in the rejection of claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11-19, and 22-23 under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Hacker does not teach injection into the skin scar as required by claims 4-5.
However, Yang teaches microneedle assemblies comprising a plurality of microneedles as one of many options for delivering pharmaceutical solutions to the skin (claims 4-5) (Fig. and pp. 119-121). Yang further teaches that microneedle injection for scar tissue overcomes drawbacks to standard bolus injections, including uneven drug distribution (p. 125). Yang notes that a challenge to administration using hollow microneedles is compression of the tissue, which hinders flow of the drug solution.
Martanto teaches that this challenge to injecting a solution into the skin using a microneedle assembly can be overcome by partial retraction of microneedles to allow "the skin to recoil back to its original position" (claim 5) (Abstract). Partial retraction of microneedles allowed for increased flow conductivity and wider area of drug distribution (Martanto Results and Conclusion pp. 358-360 and Fig. 1). Martanto further teaches that partial retraction of microneedles "is an effective approach to infuse fluid into the skin in a minimally invasive manner" (Conclusion p. 360).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to improve the base method of administering PBMC supernatant to hypertrophic and keloid scars as taught by Hacker using the technique known in the art of administering the solution during partial retraction of microneedles as taught by Yang and Martanto to arrive at the claimed invention. One would be motivated to make such a combination as Yang teaches that microneedle injection is a method used broadly in the art of treating scars with improved distribution and as Martanto teaches partial retraction as an improved technique to microneedle injection. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in making the combination as Martanto demonstrates that partial retraction of microneedles improves distribution of the delivered solution to the skin.
Claim 20 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hacker (S. Hacker, et al. Sci Rep, 2016) as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11-19, and 22-23 above and in further view of Al-Himdani (S. Al-Himdani, et al., Br J Dermatol, 2014).
Hacker teaches a method of treating hypertrophic and keloid scars by administering peripheral blood mononuclear cell (PBMC) supernatant as discussed above in the rejection of claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11-19, and 22-23 under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Hacker does not teach a method treating stretch marks as required by claim 20.
However, Al-Himdani teaches that mast cell degranulation and release of enzymes by mast cells are key initiatory processes in striae distensae (another term for stretch marks) pathogenesis (p. 530).
As noted above, Hacker teaches that the method of treating skin grafts with supernatant of irradiated PBMC reduced the number of mast cells in the wounds (Results p. 4 and Fig. 5). Based on this observation, Hacker predicts that the method would be applicable to treating scars with elevated numbers of mast cells compared to normal scars (Discussion p. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the method of administering PBMC supernatant to hypertrophic and keloid scars as taught by Hacker to treat stretch marks prophylactically as taught by Al-Himdani to arrive at the claimed invention. One would be motivated to make such a combination as Al-Himdani teaches that mast cell activity is a key early event in stretch mark pathogenesis and as Hacker suggests using PBMC supernatant to treat skin scars with elevated mast cell numbers. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in making the combination as Hacker teaches that PBMC supernatant can reduce mast cell numbers in skin scars.
§ 103 – Response to Arguments
Regarding rejection of claims 1, 3, 6, 8, and 11-19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hacker, Applicant argues that Hacker does not teach or suggest therapeutic treatment of hypertrophic or keloid scars or cosmetic treatment of skin scars (Remarks p. 4). Applicant further argues that treatment of active wounds and mature remodeling are distinct such that it would not be obvious to apply a method for treating burn wounds to treatment of scars (Remarks pp. 4-5).
In response, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Hacker explicitly provides the following teachings:
"Prolonged time to wound closure may result in unfavorable results, such as hypertrophic scarring, contracture, or wound infections39-42." (Discussion p. 6).
"These short-term results indicate a possible beneficial effect of Apo-SecPBMC [(secretome of apoptotic PBMC)] on skin regeneration and scar quality after thermal injuries and skin grafting. A soft and elastic scar and minimal contraction is highly desirable after split-thickness skin grafting. Excessive scar formation and contraction lead to functional impairment and bad aesthetic results58.One possible mechanism for the improved scarring described in this study is the decreased number of mast cells in the wounds treated with PBMC secretomes. Chronic activation and high numbers of mast cells are found in hypertrophic scars and keloids, forms of pathological scarring, whereas fewer mast cells are present in regular scars." (Discussion p. 8).
Thus, Hacker teaches that hypertrophic scarring is a common and undesirable effect of healing burn wounds. Furthermore, the breadth of the claims is not limited to treatment of mature scars. Prevention of scarring is a therapeutic treatment. Hacker further provides that mast cells are elevated in hypertrophic and keloid scarring compared to other scar types, therefore providing a suggestion to apply the method of applying a PBMC secretome from unstressed or γ-irradiated PBMC to mature scars and a reasonable expectation of success as the PBMC secretome resolves mast cell inflammation in a similar wound type. Hacker provides explicit teachings to apply such treatment to hypertrophic, keloid, and aesthetic (cosmetic) scar treatment.
A prima facie case of obviousness for combining the teachings of the cited art was set forth in the previous Office Action, and a mere statement that the references fail to teach or suggest the combination does not overcome the rejection. Once a prima facie case of obviousness is made by the USPTO through citation of references, burden is on the applicant to produce contrary evidence. In re Hoeksema, 399 F.2d at 274, 158 USPQ at 601. In Hoeksema, the contrary evidence was that the applied reference did not disclose or render obvious a process for producing the claimed compounds. Id. at 274-75, 158 USPQ at 601. See MPEP § 2145. The cited art teaches the method encompassed by the amended claims as set forth in the rejections above.
Regarding the ranges of cultured PBMC density, Applicant argues that there is no motivation to optimize the ranges in the context of mature scar treatment (Remarks p. 5). Applicant further argues that the ranges provide unexpected therapeutic and cosmetic efficacy.
In response, Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
As noted previously and as maintained above, courts have held that where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap but are merely close, the prior art is not patentably distinct from the claimed invention and that optimization within prior art conditions through routine experimentation does not support patentability. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP § 2144.05. Absent evidence to the contrary, the secretome of PBMC grown at different densities is expected to have the same properties. Moreover, Hacker additionally teaches adjustment of the concentration after culture by lyophilizing the secretome and dissolving a concentration equivalent to the secretome of 108 cells/mL (Methods p. 9). Therefore, a skilled artisan would recognize that the density of the resulting secretome could be adjusted after to achieve therapeutic efficacy.
Applicant has not provided empirical evidence that the instantly claimed concentrations are critical to the instantly claimed invention. "The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims ... In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range." In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also Minerals Separation, Ltd. v. Hyde, 242 U.S. 261, 271 (1916) (a patent based on a change in the proportions of a prior product or process (changing from 4-10% oil to 1% oil) must be confined to the proportions that were shown to be critical (1%)); In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205 (CCPA 1946) ("Where the issue of criticality is involved, the applicant has the burden of establishing his position by a proper showing of the facts upon which he relies."); In re Becket, 88 F.2d 684 (CCPA 1937). A mere statement that the range of cell density produces unexpected results is not evidence.
Regarding rejection of claims 4-5 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hacker as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, 8, and 11-19 and in further view of Yang and Martanto, Applicant reiterates arguments applied to independent claims 1 and 19 and further argues that the teachings of Hacker cannot be combined with the microneedle assembly taught by Yang (Remarks pp. 5-6). Applicant further argues that a skilled artisan would not apply the microneedle delivery method taught by Yang to treatment of burn wounds.
In response, Applicant's argument are fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding the incompatibility of combining the teachings of Hacker and Yang, Yang provides that hollow microneedles (MN) have "an empty space inside the MN to hold the drug dispersion or solution with a hole in the needle tip" (§ 2.3 p. 121). Therefore, Yang does in fact teach delivery of solutions. Furthermore, the assertion that microneedles would be expected to damage the components of the secretome during delivery is made without evidence. Arguments of counsel alone cannot take the place of evidence in the record once an examiner has advanced a reasonable basis for questioning the disclosure.
Regarding lack of motivation to combine the teachings of Hacker and Yang, Yang provides that microneedle delivery is a general solution to resolve issues with traditional delivery by intralesional injection with a single needle (Yang § 3.1.3.3 p. 125). The teachings of Yang are not limited to delivery of specific components as a skilled artisan would be able to recognize that delivery of numerous types of therapeutic solutions would be applicable to a new therapeutic solution. Furthermore, Martanto provides methods to achieve a reasonable expectation of success when making the combination. Use of a known technique to improve similar devices, methods, or products in the same way is a rationale to support a conclusion of obviousness supported by the Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See MPEP § 2143(I).
Regarding impermissible hindsight combinations, there is no requirement that an "express, written motivation to combine must appear in prior art references before a finding of obviousness." Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 1276, 69 USPQ2d 1686, 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See KSR, 550 U.S. at 402, 82 USPQ2d at 1389 ("The diversity of inventive pursuits and of modern technology counsels against confining the obviousness analysis by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion, and motivation, or by overemphasizing the importance of published articles and the explicit content of issued patents."). Applicant has not identified rationale presented in the rejection that was not found in the prior art.
Regarding the inoperability of applying microneedle delivery to treatment of burn wounds, the prior art need not disclose limitations not present in the claims. Arguments regarding treatment of burn wounds are not addressed as such arguments are not relevant to the presented claims, which are drawn to treatment of skin scars and not to treatment of burn wounds.
Regarding rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hacker as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, 8, and 11-19 and in further view of Al-Himdani, Applicant reiterates arguments applied to independent claims 1 and 19 and further argues that the presence of mast cells in stretch marks is insufficient to establish that treatment with a PBMC supernatant will repair or prevent the scar (Remarks p. 7).
In response, Applicant's argument are fully considered but are not persuasive.
The statement that the "presence of mast cells alone does not establish that a wound-healing supernatant will therapeutically repair or prevent the physical tearing of dermal tissue" is made without evidence. A prima facie case of obviousness for combining the teachings of the cited art was set forth in the previous Office Action, and a mere statement that the references fail to teach or suggest the combination does not overcome the rejection. Once a prima facie case of obviousness is made by the USPTO through citation of references, burden is on the applicant to produce contrary evidence. See In re Hoeksema, 399 F.2d at 274, 158 USPQ at 601 In Hoeksema, the contrary evidence was that the applied reference did not disclose or render obvious a process for producing the claimed compounds. Id. at 274-75, 158 USPQ at 601. See MPEP § 2145. The cited art teaches the method encompassed by the amended claims as set forth in the rejections above. Al-Himdani teaches that elastases released during mast cell degranulation are a key initiatory event in stretch mark pathogenesis (p. 530). Degranulation of mast cells is an active inflammatory process, and as noted above, the claims are not limited to treatment of mature wounds. Furthermore, disruption of pathological processes in a disease or wound is a treatment method. Applicant is reminded the Court commented that "[r]esponding to concerns about uncertainty in the prior art influencing the purported success of the claimed combination, this Court [in O'Farrell] stated: “[o]bviousness does not require absolute predictability of success ... all that is required is a reasonable expectation of success."' Kubin, 561 F.3d at 1360 (citing In re O'Farrell, 853 F.2d at 903-904).
Double Patenting
Rejection of claim 20 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent 11,235,003 B2 in view of Hacker (S. Hacker, et al. Sci Rep, 2016) and as evidenced by Coentro (J.Q. Coentro, et al., Adv Drug Deliv Rev, 2019, cited in IDS filed 09 Oct 2023) is moot due to cancelation of the claim.
Claims 1, 8-11, 15-16, and 19 remain rejected and claim 22 is newly rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent 11,235,003 B2 (hereafter '003) in view of Hacker (S. Hacker, et al. Sci Rep, 2016) and as evidenced by Coentro (J.Q. Coentro, et al., Adv Drug Deliv Rev, 2019, cited in IDS filed 09 Oct 2023).
Claim 1 of '003 is drawn to a method of treating an ischemia-associated inflammatory skin condition by topically applying a supernatant from cultured peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMC) irradiated at 60 Gy. Every element of claim 1 of '003 is recited in claims 1, 8-11, 15-16, 19 and 22 of the immediate application except that the claims of immediate application are drawn to hypertrophic and keloid skin scars rather than ischemic skin conditions and require irradiation by ionizing radiation.
Coentro notes that skin scarring is a part of the wound healing process, which is initiated by inflammation, and can form in the absence of a wound during chronic inflammation and further notes that hypertrophic and keloid scars display hypervascularity (Abstract and p. 39). Therefore, while hypertrophic and keloid scars are not considered to be ischemic, they do represent inflammatory skin conditions.
Hacker teaches that topical application of supernatant from cultured PBMC γ-irradiated (ionizing radiation) at 60 Gy to skin grafts following burn injury improves scar quality (Abstract and p. 8). Hacker further teaches that the method of treating skin grafts with supernatant of irradiated PBMC reduced the number of mast cells (inflammatory cells) in the wounds (Results p. 4 and Fig. 5). Based on this observation, Hacker predicts that the method would be applicable to treating hypertrophic and keloid scars, which have elevated numbers of mast cells compared to normal scars (Discussion p. 8). Hacker further teaches that one method for generating a secretome with regenerative capacity from PBMC is to stress the cells with ionizing radiation, such as γ-radiation (Introduction p. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the method of claim 1 of '003 to treating hypertrophic and keloid skin scars using supernatant from PBMC irradiated with ionizing radiation to arrive at the claimed invention. One would be motivated to apply the known technique claimed in '003 to treating hypertrophic and keloid skin scars as Hacker teaches that mast cells are elevated in hypertrophic and keloid scars compared to normal scars. One would be motivated to use ionizing radiation as the radiation type as Hacker teaches that ionizing radiation is a known technique for generating a regenerative PBMC supernatant. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in applying the method to treating hypertrophic and keloid skin scars as Hacker demonstrates that the method of applying a supernatant of irradiated PBMC reduces the number of mast cells in a wound and results in improved scar qualities important in therapeutic and cosmetic applications. One would have a reasonable expectation of success in generating a regenerative PBMC supernatant using ionizing radiation as Hacker teaches that supernatant from γ-irradiated PBMC can reduce the number of inflammatory mast cells in a wound model.
Double Patenting – Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that it would not be obvious to apply a treatment of an ischemia-associated inflammatory skin condition, as claimed in the '003 patent, to treatment of hypertrophic and keloid scars, as claimed in the present application, which are hypervascularized structures (Remarks pp. 7-8).
In response, Applicant's arguments are fully considered but are not persuasive.
As noted in the Response to Arguments regarding § 103 rejections above, Hacker explicitly teaches applying PBMC supernatant to treatment of hypertrophic and keloid skin scars. Additionally, as noted above, the present claims are not limited to treatment of mature scars. Except for which disease is treated, the methods claimed in '003 and the present application are identical. As noted above and as maintained, Hacker provides teachings sufficient for a skilled artisan to apply the treatment method to hypertrophic and keloid skin scars. As provided by Hacker, angiogenesis is not the only mechanism by which PBMC supernatant induces healing in skin wounds. Hacker additionally teaches that PBMC supernatant dampens mast cell inflammation, which would make the method useful for hypertrophic and keloid skin scars and would improve the aesthetic (cosmetic) appearance of scars. Therefore, it is within the skill of an ordinary artisan to apply a treatment method to one inflammatory skin condition to treatment of another inflammatory skin condition by relying on the teaching and suggestions provided by Hacker.
Applicant is reminded the Court commented that "[r]esponding to concerns about uncertainty in the prior art influencing the purported success of the claimed combination, this Court [in O'Farrell] stated: “[o]bviousness does not require absolute predictability of success ... all that is required is a reasonable expectation of success."' Kubin, 561 F.3d at 1360 (citing In re O'Farrell, 853 F.2d at 903-904). The assertion that treating a hypervascularized scar with a therapeutic agent that promotes angiogenesis does not override the teachings of Hacker to apply the PBMC supernatant to hypertrophic or keloid scars. Furthermore, there is no evidence of the record that the PBMC supernatant would, in fact, induce pathological angiogenesis in a scar. Arguments of counsel alone cannot take the place of evidence in the record once an examiner has advanced a reasonable basis for questioning the disclosure.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Claims 9-10 contain subject matter that is free of the prior art. The nearest prior art Hacker (S. Hacker, et al. Sci Rep, 2016), which teaches a method of treating hypertrophic and keloid scars by administering peripheral blood mononuclear cell (PBMC) supernatant as discussed above. Hacker does not teach subjecting the PBMC to one more additional stress-inducing condition before or during cultivation to produce a PBMC supernatant for the treatment of hypertrophic scars or keloid scars.
Beer 2016 (L. Beer, et al., Apoptosis, 2016, cited in IDS filed 09 Oct 2023) provides a review of preclinical models of apoptotic cell therapy (Table 1 pp. 1340-1342). Most therapies reviewed by Beer 2016 do not address fibrotic disease, and those that do are not in PBMC (UV irradiated Jurkat T cells for pulmonary fibrosis, Table 1 p. 1340 and antigen-stimulated lymphocytes for myocardial infarction, Table 1 p. 1342). Preclinical and clinical models of apoptotic PBMC supernatant are limited to γ-irradiation as the method of stress induction (Beer 2016 Table 2 p. 1344). Beer 2016 further teaches that the secretome of apoptotic (stressed) PBMC comprises proteins, extracellular vesicles, and lipids and further teaches that the biologically active component(s) of the secretome is unknown (p. 1346).
Simader (E. Simader, et al., Cell Death Dis, 2019, cited previously in PTO-892 mailed 26 May 2026) found that each of the PBMC subpopulations (monocytes, T cells, B cells, and NK cells) have distinct responses to γ irradiation and that interactions between the subpopulations contributes to the composition of the PBMC secretome (Abstract, Results pp. 5-6, and Fig. 2-3). Simader concludes from these observations that "paracrine communication between different cell types is fundamental for the release of a unique composition of tissue-regenerating mediators" (Discussion p. 12). Therefore, studies on response to stress induction on isolated cell populations will not be predictive for the composition of supernatant of a mixed population of stressed PBMC. Simader further notes that induction of necroptosis is required for generating the pro-angiogenic portion of the PBMC supernatant; however, the mechanism by which γ irradiation induces necroptosis is unknown (Results pp. 9-10, Fig. 6, and Discussion p. 13). Therefore, the prior art does not provide sufficient teaching or suggestion for applying a stress inducing condition in addition to ionizing radiation, such as non-ionizing UV radiation, hypoxia, ozone, heat, osmotic pressure, or pH shift to PBMC for preparing a supernatant for the treatment of skin scars.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Eric B Wright, PhD
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/Eric B Wright/Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/VALARIE E BERTOGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632