DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 10 recite the limitation "the low power mode". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the low power mode” will be interpreted as “the power-saving mode”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murison (US 2017/0064997).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Murison teaches an electronic cigarette vaporizer system (non-combustible aerosol provision system) comprising: an heating unit (aerosol generator) to generate aerosols [0158]; a power source to supply power to the aerosol generator [0171, 0179]; and a Bluetooth connection (transmitter/receiver element) configured to communicably couple the non-combustible aerosol provision system to a smartphone (user device) [0589, 0615]; wherein the non-combustible aerosol provision system is operable in a standard mode and a discrete (power-saving) mode, wherein when the non-combustible aerosol provision system is in the power-saving mode, the power source is configured to supply less power to the aerosol generator than when the non-combustible aerosol provision system is in the standard mode; and wherein the transmitter/receiver element is configured to receive an instruction from the user device, the instruction configured to cause the non-combustible aerosol provision system to enter the power-saving mode [0298-0303].
Regarding claims 3-4 and 7-8, Murison teaches the discrete mode involves reducing the power delivered to the aerosol generator, compared to a normal mode, e.g. by 10% [0302]. This is interpreted as the instruction comprises one or more instructions that write a specific power range for aerosol generator, wherein the specific power range is a specific power value. Since vapor (aerosol) is still generated in the discrete mode, just a decreased amount [0301], a minimum power is necessarily supplied. Thus, the power source is configured to supply, when in the power saving mode, a minimum operational power to the aerosol generator, and a power within a contiguous subset of an overall operational power settings range of the aerosol generator, the subset including a minimum operational power setting.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Murison teaches the system includes indicator lights which are dimmed in the power-saving mode [0053]. In other words, the power source is configured to supply, when in the power-saving mode, a low operational power level to the one or more indicator lights.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murison as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hoffman (US 2018/0020727).
Murison does not teach the instruction comprises one or more instructions to operate according to low power mode instructions previously stored by the system. Hoffman teaches an electronic smoking device comprising instructions to operate different modes according to instructions previously stored by the device [0082]. In view of Hoffman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the system of Murison such that the instruction comprises one or more instructions to operate according to low power mode instructions previously stored by the system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the instructions must be conveyed somehow to the system and the results associated with simply previously storing the instructions in the system as suggested by Hoffman would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murison as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bellinger (US 2013/0104916).
Murison teaches the aerosol generator comprises a heater [0302] but does not teach the power source is configured to supply less power to the aerosol generator by reducing a power supply voltage to the heater. Bellinger teaches an electronic vaporizer wherein a power source is configured to control power to the aerosol generator by adjusting a power supply voltage to the heater [0031, 0032, 0036]. As this is a conventional technique known in the art for controlling power, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the device of Murison such that the power source is configured to supply less power to the aerosol generator by reducing a power supply voltage to the heater to yield predictable results.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murison as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cameron (US 2017/0135412).
Murison teaches the system includes a processor [0133, 0164] but does not teach a power-saving mode wherein the power source is configured to supply less power to the processor. Cameron teaches an electronic vapor device including a sleep mode which reduces an amount of power consumed by the controller [0047], i.e. by supplying less power to the controller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art to further include such a power-saving sleep mode with the system of Murison, wherein the power source is configured to supply less power to the processor, for the benefit of energy savings.
Conclusion
/ERIC YAARY/Examiner, Art Unit 1755