Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 08/07/2025 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 12 and 17 recites the limitation " digitally signing … within a UICC of the device using a private key of a private and public key pair stored within the UICC". The limitation “digitally signing … within a UICC of the device using a private key of a private and public key pair stored within the UICC” is vague and lacks sufficient clarity because it is unclear whether the UICC itself performs the digital signing or merely stores the private key that is used by another component to perform signing. There is insufficient antecedent and structural support for how the “UICC” executes a signing operation. The specification defines “UICC” as a SIM card or secure element, but the claim language does not specify the actor or mechanism that performs the signing function. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. therefore, they are rejected based on the same rational as applied to their parent claims above.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-23 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claim 1, 12 and 17 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-13, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poornachandran(US Publication No. 20170178072 A1) in view of Smith (US Publication No. 20170317997 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Poornachandran discloses:
A method for distributing sensor data, the method comprising the steps of: recording data from one or more sensors of a device(Poornachandran, [0053], In turn owner-record, buyer-public-key, hash, xfer-time and seller-endorsement may dynamically be updated as a result of an ownership transfer. However, in some cases a device-id may change on ownership transfer to protect privacy… Platform elements could include (in addition to device ID) make/model/version/serial# of the device. It may further include attributes that are sensed via sensors attached to the device (e.g., accelerometer, barometric pressure, ultrasonic, infrared etc.));
digitally signing information based on the data within a UICC of the device using a private key of a private and public key pair stored within the UICC of the device(Ruit, [0117-0118], a SIM/UICC card provided by your network operator, and an SD card that can be inserted into the mobile phone. the cryptographic kernel is configured to generate keys. Generating keys is advantageously done in the cryptographic kernel as this avoids exporting the private key outside of the secure parts. As access to the private key is reduced so is the security increased. A private key may be generated from a seed, which may be stored in high security data area. Storing a key in the high security data area may comprise exporting key derivation data to the low security data area, and keeping the seed in the high security data area.);
authenticating the digitally signed information by a server(Ruit, [0119], A further advantage of the cryptographic kernel, is that it may verify the transaction. For example, the cryptographic kernel may obtain information from the data to be signed, e.g., information that represents the transaction);
and transmitting the digitally signed information from the device to the requester(Ruit, [0187] the signature from the private key, by a cryptographic kernel application comprising the signing interface, transmitting (660) the transactionthe transaction for inclusion in the blockchain.).
Poornachandran does not disclose:
in response to authenticating the digitally signed information triggering an entry into a distributed ledger identifying the, digitally signed information
receiving a request from a requester for the information in response to the entry within the distributed ledger
Smith teaches:
in response to authenticating the digitally signed information triggering an entry into a distributed ledger identifying the, digitally signed information (Smith, [0183], the attestor 120 will initially attempt to confirm the authenticity of the information using a validation protocol 204. This validation protocol 204 may be performed by a validator (e.g. validator 130 of FIG. 1). [0187]-0188], … The verification protocol 210 verifies that the attestation transaction is still valid and has not been revoked, checking that the attestation transaction is still in the centralized or distributed ledger 150. A successful verification indicates that the authenticated user information is still valid. the verification protocol 210 may send a challenge cryptographic nonce to the user 110 to be signed using the signing protocol… );
receiving a request from a requester for the information in response to the entry within the distributed ledger(Smith, [0196], the verifier receives the information requested from the user. In one embodiment, the verifier receives the user's public key in addition to the information requested… the verifier may check that the attestation address of the attestation transaction is valid, by verifying the existence of the attestation transaction at the attestation address in the centralized or distributed ledger).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Smith in order to enhance the mechanism into a distributed ledger is triggered by the successful authentication of the data.
The motivation is to ensure that only authorized parties can retrieve the authenticated data or its derivatives, while leveraging the decentralized nature of distributed ledgers to resist tampered and central points of failures within the system.
Regarding Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the request from the requester is digitally signed by the requester, the method further comprising the step of authenticating the digitally signed request by the server before the digitally signed information is transmitted to the requester(Poornachandran [0066], the smart package receives a signed request for ownership title transfer. Using this request, the smart package may determine whether the signature is verified (diamond 540). If so, control passes to block 545, where the smart package may perform various operations, including generating a signed hash of the existing ownership title record of the smart package (referred to in this embodiment as an “old title”) (block 545).).
Regarding Claim 6:
The method according to claim 1, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the sensor data includes any one or more of: video, audio, weight, light intensity, location, GPS, speed, direction and volume(Poornachandran, [0081], a smart package may include a global positioning satellite (GPS) sensor to maintain track of its location. In other embodiments, a beacon or other type of sensor may be provided within the smart package to enable location determination.).
Regarding Claim 7:
The method according to claim 1, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the information is formed as a package(Poornachandran, [0039], a smart package 110 may be any type of container used to deliver goods/information from a source to a destination. In one embodiment, smart package 110 may be a reusable container).
Regarding Claim 8:
The method of claim 7, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the package is formed by an algorithm using the data from one or more sensors as an input(Poornachandran, [0065], it is determined next whether a group identifier (received from the wireless device in the smart package) identifies a valid direct anonymous attestation (DAA) verification key of a DAA group. An Intel® Enhanced Privacy ID (EPID) and a Trusted Platform Module elliptic curve cryptography-based DAA (TPM ECDAA) are examples of DAA keys that implement a DAA algorithm.).
Regarding Claim 9:
The method of claim 8, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the algorithm is received from a server external to the device before executing on the device(Poornachandran, [0074], Also during sub-flow 740, device 710 may generate a shared public key, gdb, perform various pseudo-random function (PRF) calculations, and then generate a keyed hash, tB, e.g., according to a suitable hash algorithm. More specifically in sub-flow 740, first device 710 may perform the following: gdb←(gd)b; dk←prf(0,gdb); delete b and gdb; ak←prf(dk,1); and tB←prf(ak,gb∥group-nameB). In an embodiment, this group-name may include a hint to find a DAA verification key for a DAA group with which the device is associated.).
Regarding Claim 11:
The method according to claim 1, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches further comprising the step of authenticating the device and/or the requester(Poornachandran, [0087], one or more authentication devices 995 may be used to receive, e.g., user biometric input for use in authentication operations.).
Regarding Claim 12:
Poornachandran discloses:
A system comprising: a distributed ledger; a device comprising: one or more sensors configure to generate sensor data (Poornachandran, [0087], A plurality of sensors 925, including one or more multi-axis accelerometers may couple to application processor 910 to enable input of a variety of sensed information such as motion and other environmental information, e.g);
a UICC(Poornachandran, [0087], a universal integrated circuit card (UICC) 940);
one or more processors; and memory containing program instructions to cause the one or more processors to(Poornachandranm, [0086], application processor 910 can couple to a user interface/display 920, e.g., a touch screen display. In addition, application processor 910 may couple to a memory system including a non-volatile memory):
record information based on data from one or more sensors of the device(Poornachandran, [0053], In turn owner-record, buyer-public-key, hash, xfer-time and seller-endorsement may dynamically be updated as a result of an ownership transfer. However, in some cases a device-id may change on ownership transfer to protect privacy… Platform elements could include (in addition to device ID) make/model/version/serial# of the device. It may further include attributes that are sensed via sensors attached to the device (e.g., accelerometer, barometric pressure, ultrasonic, infrared etc.);
and digitally signing the information within the UICC of the device using a private key of a private and public key pair stored within the UICC of the device (Ruit, [0117-0118], a SIM/UICC card provided by your network operator, and an SD card that can be inserted into the mobile phone. the cryptographic kernel is configured to generate keys. Generating keys is advantageously done in the cryptographic kernel as this avoids exporting the private key outside of the secure parts. As access to the private key is reduced so is the security increased. A private key may be generated from a seed, which may be stored in high security data area. Storing a key in the high security data area may comprise exporting key derivation data to the low security data area, and keeping the seed in the high security data area.);
a requester device having one or more processors and memory containing program instructions to cause the one or more processors of the requester device to: issue a request for the data or information derived from the data(Poornachandran, [0089], 915 couples to application processor 910 to perform platform level power management. To this end, PMIC 915 may issue power management requests to application processor 910 to enter certain low power states as desired. Furthermore, based on platform constraints, PMIC 915 may also control the power level of other components of system 900);
and a server having one or more processors and memory containing program instructions to cause the one or more processors of the server to: authenticate the digitally signed data or information derived from the data (Ruit, [0119], A further advantage of the cryptographic kernel, is that it may verify the transaction. For example, the cryptographic kernel may obtain information from the data to be signed, e.g., information that represents the transaction);
and transmit the digitally signed information from the device to the requester device, (Ruit, [0187] the signature from the private key, by a cryptographic kernel application comprising the signing interface, transmitting (660) the transaction the transaction for inclusion in the blockchain.).
Poornachandran does not disclose:
wherein the request is issued in response to the entry within the distributed ledger
entering the digitally signed information into the distributed ledger identifying the data or information derived from the data
receive a request from the requester device for the information in response to the entry within the distributed ledger
Klein teaches:
wherein the request is issued in response to the entry within the distributed ledger(Smith, [0185], …In one embodiment, the user information is stored in an attestor application on a user device. In one embodiment, the user information is captured in a visual or moving code on the user's device. Note that, although transactions are communicated over the Bitcoin network for entry into the blockchain, participants referred to as “miners” may ultimately be the entities that perform transaction verification and entry into the blockchain.)
entering the digitally signed information into the distributed ledger identifying the data or information derived from the data (Smith, [0183], the attestor 120 will initially attempt to confirm the authenticity of the information using a validation protocol 204. This validation protocol 204 may be performed by a validator (e.g. validator 130 of FIG. 1). [0187]-0188], … The verification protocol 210 verifies that the attestation transaction is still valid and has not been revoked, checking that the attestation transaction is still in the centralized or distributed ledger 150. A successful verification indicates that the authenticated user information is still valid. the verification protocol 210 may send a challenge cryptographic nonce to the user 110 to be signed using the signing protocol… );
receive a request from the requester device for the information in response to the entry within the distributed ledger (Smith, [0196], the verifier receives the information requested from the user. In one embodiment, the verifier receives the user's public key in addition to the information requested… the verifier may check that the attestation address of the attestation transaction is valid, by verifying the existence of the attestation transaction at the attestation address in the centralized or distributed ledger).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Smith in order to enhance the mechanism into a distributed ledger is triggered by the successful authentication of the data.
The motivation is to ensure that only authorized parties can retrieve the authenticated data or its derivatives, while leveraging the decentralized nature of distributed ledgers to resist tampered and central points of failures within the system.
Regarding Claim 13:
The system of claim 12, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the memory of the requester device containing program instructions further cause the one or more processors of the requester device to digitally sign the request, and further wherein the memory of the server containing program instructions further cause the one or more processors of the server to authenticate the digitally signed request before the digitally signed information is transmitted to the requester(Poornachandran [0066], the smart package receives a signed request for ownership title transfer. Using this request, the smart package may determine whether the signature is verified (diamond 540). If so, control passes to block 545, where the smart package may perform various operations, including generating a signed hash of the existing ownership title record of the smart package (referred to in this embodiment as an “old title”) (block 545).).
Regarding Claim 15:
The system according to claim 12, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the device further comprises any one or more of a: camera; microphone; weight sensor; light sensor; location sensor; GPS receiver; accelerometer; gyroscope; and/or pressure sensor(Poornachandran, [0081], a smart package may include a global positioning satellite (GPS) sensor to maintain track of its location. In other embodiments, a beacon or other type of sensor may be provided within the smart package to enable location determination.).
Regarding Claim 16:
The system according to claim 12, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the memory of the device containing program instructions further cause the one or more processors of the device to generate the information as a package using an algorithm using the data from one or more sensors as an input(Poornachandran, [0065], it is determined next whether a group identifier (received from the wireless device in the smart package) identifies a valid direct anonymous attestation (DAA) verification key of a DAA group. An Intel® Enhanced Privacy ID (EPID) and a Trusted Platform Module elliptic curve cryptography-based DAA (TPM ECDAA) are examples of DAA keys that implement a DAA algorithm.).
Regarding Claim 17:
Poornachandran discloses:
One or more non-transitory computer storage media storing computer readable instructions which, when executed by a processor, configure a data processing system to perform a method for distributing sensor data, the method comprising: recording data from one or more sensors of a device (Poornachandran, [0053], In turn owner-record, buyer-public-key, hash, xfer-time and seller-endorsement may dynamically be updated as a result of an ownership transfer. However, in some cases a device-id may change on ownership transfer to protect privacy… Platform elements could include (in addition to device ID) make/model/version/serial# of the device. It may further include attributes that are sensed via sensors attached to the device (e.g., accelerometer, barometric pressure, ultrasonic, infrared etc.));
digitally signing the data or information derived from the data within a UICC of the device using a private key of a private and public key pair stored within the UICC of the device (Ruit, [0117-0118], a SIM/UICC card provided by your network operator, and an SD card that can be inserted into the mobile phone. the cryptographic kernel is configured to generate keys. Generating keys is advantageously done in the cryptographic kernel as this avoids exporting the private key outside of the secure parts. As access to the private key is reduced so is the security increased. A private key may be generated from a seed, which may be stored in high security data area. Storing a key in the high security data area may comprise exporting key derivation data to the low security data area, and keeping the seed in the high security data area.);
authenticating the digitally signed data or information derived from the data by a server (Ruit, [0119], A further advantage of the cryptographic kernel, is that it may verify the transaction. For example, the cryptographic kernel may obtain information from the data to be signed, e.g., information that represents the transaction);
and transmitting the data or information derived from the data from the device to the requester (Ruit, [0187] the signature from the private key, by a cryptographic kernel application comprising the signing interface, transmitting (660) the transaction for inclusion in the blockchain.)
Poornachandran does not disclose:
triggering, by the authenticated data or information derived from the data, an entry into a distributed ledger identifying the data or information derived from the data
receiving a request from a requester for the data or information derived from the data in response to the entry within the distributed ledger
Klein teaches:
triggering, by the authenticated data or information derived from the data, an entry into a distributed ledger identifying the data or information derived from the data (Smith, [0183], the attestor 120 will initially attempt to confirm the authenticity of the information using a validation protocol 204. This validation protocol 204 may be performed by a validator (e.g. validator 130 of FIG. 1). [0187]-0188], … The verification protocol 210 verifies that the attestation transaction is still valid and has not been revoked, checking that the attestation transaction is still in the centralized or distributed ledger 150. A successful verification indicates that the authenticated user information is still valid. the verification protocol 210 may send a challenge cryptographic nonce to the user 110 to be signed using the signing protocol… );
receiving a request from a requester for the data or information derived from the data in response to the entry within the distributed ledger (Smith, [0196], the verifier receives the information requested from the user. In one embodiment, the verifier receives the user's public key in addition to the information requested… the verifier may check that the attestation address of the attestation transaction is valid, by verifying the existence of the attestation transaction at the attestation address in the centralized or distributed ledger).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Smith in order to enhance the mechanism into a distributed ledger is triggered by the successful authentication of the data.
The motivation is to ensure that only authorized parties can retrieve the authenticated data or its derivatives, while leveraging the decentralized nature of distributed ledgers to resist tampered and central points of failures within the system.
Regarding Claim 18:
The computer storage media of claim 17, Poornachandran in view of Smith teaches wherein the request from the requester is digitally signed by the requester, the method further comprising authenticating the digitally signed request by the server before the data or information derived from the data is transmitted to the requester(Poornachandran [0066], the smart package receives a signed request for ownership title transfer. Using this request, the smart package may determine whether the signature is verified (diamond 540). If so, control passes to block 545, where the smart package may perform various operations, including generating a signed hash of the existing ownership title record of the smart package (referred to in this embodiment as an “old title”) (block 545).).
Claims 3-5, 10, 14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poornachandran(US Publication No. 20170178072 A1) in view of Smith (US Publication No. 20170317997 A1) in further view of Klein (US Publication No. 20200404468 A1)
Regarding Claim 3:
Poornachandran in view of Klein disclose:
The method of claim 1…
Poornachandran in view of Smith do not disclose:
further comprising the step of adding an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the request
Klein discloses:
further comprising the step of adding an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the request(Klein, [0053], location by access points and their signal strength are received by device Wi-Fi receiver 17 reporting nearby Wi-Fi access point data to microcontroller module 73, and further transmitted by GSM radio method 6, so it can be recorded, shared and managed in a distributed ledger and distributed standard under ledger systems 69 in a remote blockchain database 65.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandrans in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Klein in order to enhance the mechanism into a distributed ledger is triggered by the successful authentication of the data.
The motivation is to ensure that only authorized parties can retrieve the authenticated data or its derivatives, while leveraging the decentralized nature of distributed ledgers to resist tampered and central points of failures within the system.
Regarding Claim 4:
Poornachandran in view of Klein disclose:
The method according to claim 1…
further comprising the step of adding an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the transmission of the data or information in response to the digitally signed information being successfully transmitted from the device to the requester
Klein discloses:
further comprising the step of adding an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the transmission of the data or information in response to the digitally signed information being successfully transmitted from the device to the requester(Klein, [0063], The final buyer or package delivery recipient can access a complete record of information and trust that the information is accurate and complete since the blockchain adds an immutable and distributed ledger that can't be hacked…, record and share data from device with GSM sensor data reporting including location and other embedded sensor data such as from the accelerometer with built-in internal thermometer so multiple data telemetry can be shared with trusted accurately and with completeness.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Klein in order to verifiable tracking data transmission events in the distributed systems.
The motivation is to enhance the mechanism by providing a secure audit trail confirming not only the transmission itself but also the identity of the transmitted content and its successful delivery. Furthermore, this event is a distributed ledger system establishes an immutable record that record used to prove that specific data was sent.
Regarding Claim 5:
Poornachandran in view of Klein disclose:
The method according to claim 1…
wherein the triggering step is based on a smart contract within the distributed ledger
Klein discloses:
wherein the triggering step is based on a smart contract within the distributed ledger(Klein, [0025], with the location journey of package shipments shared and managed in an immutable and distributed ledger applying blockchain technology and smart contract interactions.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Klein in order ensure that the systems utilizes smart contracts within a distributed ledger to trigger specific actions.
The motivation is to eliminate reliance on controlled mechanisms by reducing the risk of manipulation or delay. Wherein the smart contracts provide deterministic execution and ensuring that security critical evens only trigger when all requisite conditions are met. Furthermore, this enhances trust and consistency in security enforcement.
Regarding Claim 10:
Poornachandran in view of Smith disclose:
The method according to claim 8…
Poornachandran in view of Smith do not disclose:
wherein the algorithm provides an indication of an available freight capacity for a delivery vehicle
Klein discloses:
wherein the algorithm provides an indication of an available freight capacity for a delivery vehicle(Klein, [0011], A common practice is barcode scanning each piece as it is loaded onto the airplane or truck. That allows the shipper to login to a custom airline cargo portal to see if it has made the flight, or similarly, to a truck vehicle delivering the package.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Klein in order to ensure trust in automated decision making processes the algorithm provides an indication of the available freight to operate in a secure manner.
The motivation is to enhance the integrity and authenticity of capacity within a secure system and mitigate risks such as false reporting or unauthorized resource allocation. Also reduce and exposure or fraud or system abuse within the freight capacity.
Regarding Claim 14:
Poornachandran in view of Smith disclose:
The system of claim 12…
Poornachandran in view of Smith do not disclose:
wherein the memory of the server containing program instructions further cause the one or more processors of the server to add an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the transmission of the digitally signed of the information in response to the data or information derived from the data being successfully transmitted from the device to the requester device
Klein discloses:
wherein the memory of the server containing program instructions further cause the one or more processors of the server to add an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the transmission of the digitally signed of the information in response to the data or information derived from the data being successfully transmitted from the device to the requester device(Klein, [0063], The final buyer or package delivery recipient can access a complete record of information and trust that the information is accurate and complete since the blockchain adds an immutable and distributed ledger that can't be hacked…, record and share data from device with GSM sensor data reporting including location and other embedded sensor data such as from the accelerometer with built-in internal thermometer so multiple data telemetry can be shared with trusted accurately and with completeness.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Klein in order to verifiable tracking data transmission events in the distributed systems.
The motivation is to enhance the mechanism by providing a secure audit trail confirming not only the transmission itself but also the identity of the transmitted content and its successful delivery. Furthermore, this event is a distributed ledger system establishes an immutable record that record used to prove that specific data was sent.
Regarding Claim 19:
Poornachandran in view of Smith disclose:
The computer storage media of claim 17…
Poornachandran in view of Smith do not disclose:
wherein the method further comprises adding an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the request
Klein discloses:
wherein the method further comprises adding an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the request(Klein, [0053], location by access points and their signal strength are received by device Wi-Fi receiver 17 reporting nearby Wi-Fi access point data to microcontroller module 73, and further transmitted by GSM radio method 6, so it can be recorded, shared and managed in a distributed ledger and distributed standard under ledger systems 69 in a remote blockchain database 65.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Klein in order to enhance the mechanism into a distributed ledger is triggered by the successful authentication of the data.
The motivation is to ensure that only authorized parties can retrieve the authenticated data or its derivatives, while leveraging the decentralized nature of distributed ledgers to resist tampered and central points of failures within the system.
Regarding Claim 20:
Poornachandran in view of Smith disclose:
The computer storage media according to claim 17…
Poornachandran in view of Smith do not disclose:
wherein the method further comprises adding an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the transmission of the data or information derived from the data in response to the data or information derived from the data being successfully transmitted from the device to the requester
Klein discloses:
wherein the method further comprises adding an entry onto the distributed ledger recording the transmission of the data or information derived from the data in response to the data or information derived from the data being successfully transmitted from the device to the requester(Klein, [0063], The final buyer or package delivery recipient can access a complete record of information and trust that the information is accurate and complete since the blockchain adds an immutable and distributed ledger that can't be hacked…, record and share data from device with GSM sensor data reporting including location and other embedded sensor data such as from the accelerometer with built-in internal thermometer so multiple data telemetry can be shared with trusted accurately and with completeness.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Klein in order to verifiable tracking data transmission events in the distributed systems.
The motivation is to enhance the mechanism by providing a secure audit trail confirming not only the transmission itself but also the identity of the transmitted content and its successful delivery. Furthermore, this event is a distributed ledger system establishes an immutable record that record used to prove that specific data was sent.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poornachandran(US Publication No. 20170178072 A1) in view of Smith (US Publication No. 20170317997 A1) in further view of Neild (US Publication No. 20190230075 A1)
Regarding Claim 21:
Poornachandran in view of Smith disclose:
The method of claim 1…
Poornachandran in view of Smith do not disclose:
wherein the information based on the data comprises sensor data or information derived from sensor data
Neild discloses:
wherein the information based on the data comprises sensor data or information derived from sensor data(Neild, [0073], the sensor 1 attempts to obtain access to the Internet of Things Platform 18, whose IP address is on the address whitelist, such an attempt will result in the success, as illustrated by the bottom section of FIG. 2. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Neild in order ensure that any changes or tampering are detectable and the origin of the data is assured.
The motivation is to enhance the sensor readings originated from a trusted source and have not been altered in transit or storage and protect against unauthorized access or attacks within the system.
Regarding Claim 22:
Poornachandran in view of Smith disclose:
The system of claim 12…
Poornachandran in view of Smith do not disclose:
wherein the information based on the data comprises sensor data or information derived from sensor data
Neild discloses:
wherein the information based on the data comprises sensor data or information derived from sensor data(Neild, [0073], the sensor 1 attempts to obtain access to the Internet of Things Platform 18, whose IP address is on the address whitelist, such an attempt will result in the success, as illustrated by the bottom section of FIG. 2. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Neild in order ensure that any changes or tampering are detectable and the origin of the data is assured.
The motivation is to enhance the sensor readings originated from a trusted source and have not been altered in transit or storage and protect against unauthorized access or attacks within the system.
Regarding Claim 23:
Poornachandran in view of Smith disclose:
The computer storage media of claim 17…
Poornachandran in view of Smith do not disclose:
wherein the information based on the data comprises sensor data or information derived from sensor data
Neild discloses:
wherein the information based on the data comprises sensor data or information derived from sensor data(Neild, [0073], the sensor 1 attempts to obtain access to the Internet of Things Platform 18, whose IP address is on the address whitelist, such an attempt will result in the success, as illustrated by the bottom section of FIG. 2. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Poornachandran in view of Smith’s system, apparatus and method for transferring ownership of a smart delivery package by enhancing Poornachandran in view of Smith’s sensors device and the verification server to the blockchain with distributed ledger validation within the device as taught by Neild in order ensure that any changes or tampering are detectable and the origin of the data is assured.
The motivation is to enhance the sensor readings originated from a trusted source and have not been altered in transit or storage and protect against unauthorized access or attacks within the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYASA A. SHAAWAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433