DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/12/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 01/19/2026. Claims 1 and 20 were amended. Claims 1-21 remains pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues (see page 9 line 23) that “rather than two receivers each receiving transmissions from two transmitters and reporting phase differences to a remote positioning engine to determine time, the present claims are directed to two radio units that determine phase differences from transmissions exchanged between them and use the phase difference to determine clock offsets”.
The applicant argument is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of the amendment made by the applicant.
Three new references Kazaz et al. (US 20220095262 A1), Bogdan (US 20090041104 A1) and Mansour et al. (US 20100272196 A1) in combination with existing references are now relied upon to teach the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 14 – 16, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazaz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0095262), Kazaz hereinafter, in view of Mansour et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0272196), Mansour hereinafter, and further in view of Bogdan (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0041104), Bogdan hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 1 and 20, Kazaz teaches a method for determining a clock offset between local clocks of at least one pair of radio units comprising at least a first radio unit and a second radio unit, the method comprising steps of (paragraph 0072 - ... is then to estimate a clock rate offset η0 and a distance d01 between two radio transceivers given the two-way communication between nodes and PDoA functionalities of the wireless nodes … . Paragraph 0117 to 0120 discloses processor, memory and program to implement the process)
a. performing first two-way transmissions between at least one pair of radio units using a first signal comprising a selected first frequency, wherein said transmissions are sent and received as broadcasts between the at least one pair of radio units, (paragraphs 0037 and 0041 discloses transmission of first, second, up to N frequencies in sequence from a transmitter to a receiver)
b. determining first phase information regarding the first signals received at the radio units, (paragraphs 0037 and 0041 discloses determination of first, second, up to N phase differences corresponding to first, second up to N frequencies in sequence from a transmitter to a receiver)
c. determining a first phase difference, for each pair of radio units, as a difference between the first phase information determined for each radio unit in the pair of radio units, (paragraphs 0037 and 0041 discloses determination of first, second, up to N phase differences corresponding to first, second up to N frequencies in sequence from a transmitter to a receiver)
d. performing second or subsequent two-way transmissions between the at least one pair of radio units using a second or subsequent signal comprising a selected second frequency or subsequent frequency, (paragraphs 0037 and 0041 discloses determination of first, second, up to N phase differences corresponding to first, second up to N frequencies in sequence from a transmitter to a receiver)
e. determining second or subsequent phase information regarding the second or subsequent signals received at the radio units, (paragraphs 0037 and 0041 discloses determination of first, second, up to N phase differences corresponding to first, second up to N frequencies in sequence from a transmitter to a receiver)
f. determining a second or subsequent phase difference, for each pair of radio units, as a difference between the second or subsequent phase information determined for each radio unit in the pair of radio units, (paragraphs 0037 and 0041 discloses determination of first, second, up to N phase differences corresponding to first, second up to N frequencies in sequence from a transmitter to a receiver)
g. determining a difference between the first phase difference and the second or subsequent phase difference, or a difference between the determined phase difference at the highest or lowest signal frequency and a subsequent phase difference, (paragraph 0053 discloses determination of difference between phase differences)
k. repeating the steps d-j using a subsequent selected frequency that differs from the first frequency by an amount that is more than the difference between the first frequency and the second or previously used frequency, if it is determined that the clock offset cannot be unambiguously determined. (paragraphs 0037 and 0041 discloses determination of first, second, up to N phase differences corresponding to first, second up to N frequencies in sequence from a transmitter to a receiver)
Yet, Kazaz does not expressly teach h. determining at least one clock offset variable, for each pair of radio units, being indicative of an approximated clock offset between the radio units in the pair of radio units, based on a difference determined at step g,
However, in the analogous art, Mansour explicitly discloses h. determining at least one clock offset variable, for each pair of radio units, being indicative of an approximated clock offset between the radio units in the pair of radio units, based on a difference determined at step g, (paragraphs 0037 and 0038 discloses determination of time offset using phase difference - [0037] In similar fashion, phase differences between the channel estimates at the highest and lowest frequencies of the tile may be used to drive a DPLL to correct a time offset …)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kazaz’s Phase-based distance determination for wireless networks to include Mansour's phase difference to compute time offset to get time offset from phase difference
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour does not expressly teach i. determining an estimated maximum error in the determined clock offset variable based at least on a maximum error of the first phase difference and a maximum error of the second or subsequent phase difference, j. determining if the maximum error of the clock offset variable allows the clock offset to be unambiguously determined, by determining a set of possible clock offset values obtained through variation of the clock offset corresponding to variations of integer numbers of half cycle periods at the first or subsequent frequency, said set of possible clock offset values being limited by the estimated maximum error in the determined clock offset variable,
However, in the analogous art, Bogdan explicitly discloses i. determining an estimated maximum error in the determined clock offset variable based at least on a maximum error of the first phase difference and a maximum error of the second or subsequent phase difference, (paragraphs 0504 to 0525 discloses time error minimization with phase difference - [0519] Such second version comprises using much simpler phase synthesizer (without phase jitter control & reduction), which can be implemented as modulo (nominal-number) counter of oscillator clocks wherein such phase error is applied as counter preset value) .
j. determining if the maximum error of the clock offset variable allows the clock offset to be unambiguously determined, by determining a set of possible clock offset values obtained through variation of the clock offset corresponding to variations of integer numbers of half cycle periods at the first or subsequent frequency, said set of possible clock offset values being limited by the estimated maximum error in the determined clock offset variable, (paragraphs 0504 to 0525 discloses time error minimization using phase difference - [0519] Such second version comprises using much simpler phase synthesizer (without phase jitter control & reduction), which can be implemented as modulo (nominal-number) counter of oscillator clocks wherein such phase error is applied as counter preset value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kazaz’s Phase-based distance determination for wireless networks to include Bogdan''s time error minimization to minimize time error.
Regarding claim 2, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Kazaz further teaches wherein signals by at least a portion of different radio units are transmitted consecutively in a predetermined order, such that each consecutively transmitting radio unit transmits its respective signal in its own predetermined time slot. (paragraph 0041 - In an embodiment, the first node may transmit the response messages at an n-th carrier frequency as a time sequence of response messages to the first node, wherein a time interval between the p-th and the (p+1)-th response message of a time sequence of response messages may be defined as Δt(n,p+1)−Δt(n,p)=Δt/n, where p=1, . . . , P−1 and n=1, . . . , N. Δt may be a predetermined time interval. ...)
Regarding claim 3, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Bogdan further teaches wherein a set of possible clock offset values is based on variation of the clock offset corresponding to variations of integer numbers of half cycle periods at the highest used frequency (paragraph 0523 - Such phase (time offset) recovery from data sub-carriers (PRDS) methods comprise using said real-time synchronous processing techniques for recovering amplitudes and phases of sinusoidal cycles or half-cycles of a sub-carrier (tone) selected )
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Mansour further teaches wherein the clock offset is determined based on at least one of the determined phase differences, optionally based on a plurality of the determined phase differences or all of the phase differences (paragraphs 0037 and 0038 discloses determination of time offset using phase difference - [0037] In similar fashion, phase differences between the channel estimates at the highest and lowest frequencies of the tile may be used to drive a DPLL to correct a time offset …).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Kazaz further teaches wherein the method comprises performing two-way transmissions between a plurality of radio units and determining a plurality of clock offsets between pairs of radio units. (paragraphs 0037 and 0041 discloses determination of first, second, up to N phase differences corresponding to first, second up to N frequencies in sequence from a transmitter to a receiver)
Regarding claim 7, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Kazaz further teacheswherein one of the radio units is selected as a reference unit, preferably wherein the local oscillator phase of the reference unit is set as zero (paragraph 0085 - … The sensor node and anchor node may be part of a (fully) asynchronous wireless radio network. The local time of the anchor node may be chosen as a reference time. The anchor node may be implemented as a reliable device with a relatively stable clock oscillator and a known position, while the sensor node may have an unknown position and a non-ideal oscillator with a frequency offset relative to the oscillator of the anchor node.).
Regarding claim 14, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Kazaz further teaches wherein the method comprises sending at least two signals by one radio unit at least partially simultaneously (paragraph 0037 - … the first node transmitting N request messages based on N carrier signals at N carrier frequencies to the second node and receiving for each of the N request signals, a time series of P response messages from the second node …)
Regarding claim 15, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Kazaz further teaches wherein the first radio unit is a master unit and the remaining radio units, comprising at least the second radio unit, are slave units, the master unit being configured to transmit the first signal, wherein the master unit is configured to check before transmission of the first signal at each measurement cycle whether a radio channel is free for transmission and if the channel is free, the at least first signal is transmitted, said transmitting not being executed if the channel is not free, further wherein the slave units are preferably configured to determine, before transmitting of a signal in a given measurement cycle, if a previous radio unit in a predetermined order of radio units has transmitted a signal in the measurement cycle, and if yes, transmit their respective signal (paragraph 0085 - [0085] FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate an example of a phase-based distance determination method. In particular, FIG. 4A depicts a sensor node 402 (node 0) and an anchor node 404 (node 1) in a radio network such as a wireless network. ).
Regarding claim 16, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Kazaz further teaches wherein the method comprises determining a clock rate difference between the at least first radio unit and second radio unit and accounting for said clock rate difference in the determining of the clock offset (paragraph 0045 - In an embodiment, the method may further comprise: determining a difference in clock rate between the first wireless node and the second wireless node based on the frequency offset. Such a difference in clock rate may be used to determine or predict other errors, or for synchronisation between various nodes.).
Regarding claim 18, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Kazaz further teaches wherein the method comprises transmission of signals in one or more time slots in a measurement frame and transmission of data in one or more time slots in a communication frame. (paragraph 0041 - In an embodiment, the first node may transmit the response messages at an n-th carrier frequency as a time sequence of response messages to the first node, wherein a time interval between the p-th and the (p+1)-th response message of a time sequence of response messages may be defined as Δt(n,p+1)−Δt(n,p)=Δt/n, where p=1, . . . , P−1 and n=1, . . . , N. Δt may be a predetermined time interval. ...).
Regarding claim 21, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Kazaz further teaches a computer program product comprising non-transitory computer program code means configure to execute the method of claim 1 when run on a processor (paragraph 0117 to 0120 - [0117] … 1100 may include at least one processor 1102 coupled to memory elements 1104 through a system bus 1106. As such, the data processing system may store program code within memory elements 1104. Further, processor 1102 may execute the program code accessed from memory elements 1104 via system bus 1106. …).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazaz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0095262), Kazaz hereinafter, in view of Mansour et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0272196), Mansour hereinafter, and further in view of Bogdan (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0041104), Bogdan hereinafter and further in view of Marshall (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0241105), Marshall hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan does not expressly teach wherein the method additionally comprises selecting a frequency for the second or subsequent signals by determining a possible range for the clock offset variable based on its maximum error and selecting the second or subsequent frequency such that expected minimum and maximum values of the second or subsequent phase difference corresponding to the minimum and maximum values of the clock offset variable do not differ more than a threshold value of 2π.
However, in the analogous art, Marshall explicitly discloses teach wherein the method additionally comprises selecting a frequency for the second or subsequent signals by determining a possible range for the clock offset variable based on its maximum error and selecting the second or subsequent frequency such that expected minimum and maximum values of the second or subsequent phase difference corresponding to the minimum and maximum values of the clock offset variable do not differ more than a threshold value of 2π (paragraph 0232 - Note that, when there is no direct causal relationship between the signals (that is, one signal is not transmitted in response to the other), the phase difference information at the far end has to be combined with the phase difference at the near end in order to measure the round trip phase change over twice the path length. All phase measurements and differences formed are subject to the 2π phase ambiguity.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kazaz’s Phase-based distance determination for wireless networks to include Marshall's phase comparison of multi-frequency transmissions for determination of time to get time input in more coverage.
Regarding Claim 17, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan does not expressly teach additionally comprising determining a Doppler frequency resulting from relative motion between the at least first radio unit and second radio unit, and taking said Doppler frequency into account in the determining of the clock offset.
However, in the analogous art, Marshall explicitly discloses additionally comprising determining a Doppler frequency resulting from relative motion between the at least first radio unit and second radio unit, and taking said Doppler frequency into account in the determining of the clock offset (paragraphs 0067 - wherein the first wireless signal is transmitted by a transmitter at a first frequency and received by a first receiver and the second wireless signal is transmitted by the transmitter at a second frequency and received by a second receiver, wherein the second frequency is different from the first frequency, the method further comprising using the obtained Doppler information to assist in the calculation of the velocity or timing drift.)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 5 is also applied to claim 17.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazaz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0095262), Kazaz hereinafter, in view of Mansour et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0272196), Mansour hereinafter, and further in view of Bogdan (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0041104), Bogdan hereinafter and further in view of Ren (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0381922), Ren hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan does not expressly teach, wherein the method comprises unambiguous determination of the clock offset at least once in an integer ambiguity mode and subsequently repeatedly sending subsequent signals, optionally in a selected frequency range, at selected time intervals in a tracking mode to determine subsequent phase differences to repeatedly determine clock offset information being indicative of a change in clock offset between the first and second radio unit during the selected time interval.
However, in the analogous art, Ren explicitly discloses wherein the method comprises unambiguous determination of the clock offset at least once in an integer ambiguity mode and subsequently repeatedly sending subsequent signals, optionally in a selected frequency range, at selected time intervals in a tracking mode to determine subsequent phase differences to repeatedly determine clock offset information being indicative of a change in clock offset between the first and second radio unit during the selected time interval (paragraph 0113 discloses first clock offset value is obtained and subsequent clock offset is estimated using phase measurement value)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kazaz’s Phase-based distance determination for wireless networks to include Ren's first and preliminary clock offset to get time faster
Regarding Claim 9, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan does not expressly wherein the method comprises obtaining or determining a preliminary clock offset variable as a first approximation of the clock offset, preferably before performing the first two-way transmissions to determine a maximum possible value for the clock offset.
However, in the analogous art, Ren explicitly discloses wherein the method comprises obtaining or determining a preliminary clock offset variable as a first approximation of the clock offset, preferably before performing the first two-way transmissions to determine a maximum possible value for the clock offset (fig. 4 and paragraphs 0173 to 0175 discloses obtaining prelimnary clock offset)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 8 is also applied to claim 9.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazaz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0095262), Kazaz hereinafter, in view of Mansour et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0272196), Mansour hereinafter, and further in view of Bogdan (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0041104), Bogdan hereinafter and further in view of Da et al (U.S. PGPUB 20220082652), Da hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan does not expressly teach the method comprising at least resolving an integer ambiguity by performing the two-way transmissions in at least two frequency ranges to determine the set of clock offset values and determining the clock offset through:
sending primary signals comprising frequencies in a first frequency range, and determining at least one set of one or more possible clock offset values through:
performing two-way transmissions utilizing at least a first primary frequency and a second primary frequency,
determining at least first and second primary phase information,
determining at least first and second primary phase differences,
determining a first clock offset variable and its estimated maximum error, optionally based on the first and second primary phase differences and their maximum errors,
determining the set of possible clock offset values based on the first clock offset variable and its estimated maximum error, and
sending one or more auxiliary signals comprising frequencies in at least one second frequency range, and determining the clock offset by:
performing two-way transmissions utilizing at least a first auxiliary frequency,
determining at least first auxiliary phase information,
determining at least a first auxiliary phase difference,
determining a second clock offset variable and its estimated maximum error based on the first primary and first auxiliary phase differences and their maximum errors,
determining the clock offset based on a selected likely clock offset value, selected from the set of possible clock offset values as fitting an error margin in the second clock offset variable,
wherein the method additionally comprises determining if the likely clock offset value can be unambiguously selected from the set of possible clock offset values, and if not, sending one or more second or subsequent auxiliary signals comprising frequencies in a third or subsequent frequency range.
However, in the analogous art, Da explicitly discloses the method comprising at least resolving an integer ambiguity by performing the two-way transmissions in at least two frequency ranges to determine the set of clock offset values and determining the clock offset through: (paragraph 0071 - In the present application, a PRS and at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies are sent by the transmitting end, so that the receiving end determines at least two phase measurement values and uses the at least two phase measurement values to construct a virtual phase measurement value to quickly search for the virtual integer ambiguity of the virtual phase value, and then uses the virtual integer ambiguity and the virtual phase measurement value to calculate the location of UE.
sending primary signals comprising frequencies in a first frequency range, and determining at least one set of one or more possible clock offset values through: (paragraph 0071] In the present application, a PRS and at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies are sent by the transmitting end, so that the receiving end determines at least two phase measurement values and uses the at least two phase measurement values to construct a virtual phase measurement value to quickly search for the virtual integer ambiguity of the virtual phase value,
performing two-way transmissions utilizing at least a first primary frequency and a second primary frequency, (paragraph 0078- The receiving device receives the at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies from the transmitting device, determines at least two phase measurement values according to the at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies, and constructs a virtual phase measurement value by using the at least two phase measurement values. Here, the virtual phase value is mainly determined by the receiving device according to the determined actual phase measurement values corresponding to the C-PRSs.)
determining at least first and second primary phase information, (paragraph 0071] In the present application, a PRS and at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies are sent by the transmitting end, so that the receiving end determines at least two phase measurement values and uses the at least two phase measurement values to construct a virtual phase measurement value to quickly search for the virtual integer ambiguity of the virtual phase value,)
determining at least first and second primary phase differences, (paragraph 0071 - In the present application, a PRS and at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies are sent by the transmitting end, so that the receiving end determines at least two phase measurement values and uses the at least two phase measurement values to construct a virtual phase measurement value to quickly search for the virtual integer ambiguity of the virtual phase value,)
determining a first clock offset variable and its estimated maximum error, optionally based on the first and second primary phase differences and their maximum errors, (paragraph 0069] (6) The term “dual differential mode” in the embodiments of the present application refers to performing the differential operation on the measurement values after the single differential mode to simultaneously eliminate the measurement errors related to the transmitting end and the receiving end, such as the clock offset of the base station (BS) and UE.).
determining the set of possible clock offset values based on the first clock offset variable and its estimated maximum error, and (paragraph 0069] (6) The term “dual differential mode” in the embodiments of the present application refers to performing the differential operation on the measurement values after the single differential mode to simultaneously eliminate the measurement errors related to the transmitting end and the receiving end, such as the clock offset of the base station (BS) and UE.)
sending one or more auxiliary signals comprising frequencies in at least one second frequency range, and determining the clock offset by: (paragraph 0069] (6) The term “dual differential mode” in the embodiments of the present application refers to performing the differential operation on the measurement values after the single differential mode to simultaneously eliminate the measurement errors related to the transmitting end and the receiving end, such as the clock offset of the base station (BS) and UE.)
performing two-way transmissions utilizing at least a first auxiliary frequency, (paragraph 0071 - In the present application, a PRS and at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies are sent by the transmitting end, so that the receiving end determines at least two phase measurement values and uses the at least two phase measurement values to construct a virtual phase measurement value to quickly search for the virtual integer ambiguity of the virtual phase value, and then uses the virtual integer ambiguity and the virtual phase measurement value to calculate the location of UE.)
determining at least first auxiliary phase information, (paragraph 0089 - The receiving device determines the actual phase measurement value corresponding to each C-PRS, in a non-differential mode, specifically, if the receiving device receives a C-PRS from a transmitting device, a non-differential actual phase measurement value is determined according to the C-PRS through the carrier phase measurement algorithm operation.)
determining at least a first auxiliary phase difference, (paragraph 0089] The receiving device determines the actual phase measurement value corresponding to each C-PRS, in a non-differential mode, specifically, if the receiving device receives a C-PRS from a transmitting device, a non-differential actual phase measurement value is determined according to the C-PRS through the carrier phase measurement algorithm operation.)
determining a second clock offset variable and its estimated maximum error based on the first primary and first auxiliary phase differences and their maximum errors, (paragraph 0134] After N.sub.ab,v.sup.ij is obtained, the virtual phase measurement value P.sub.ab,v.sup.ij can be directly used for positioning. At this time, the positioning accuracy depends on the virtual phase measurement error w.sub.ab,v.sup.ij.)
determining the clock offset based on a selected likely clock offset value, selected from the set of possible clock offset values as fitting an error margin in the second clock offset variable, (paragraph 0127] Here, the double superscript “ij” represents the difference between the transmitting ends i and j, and the double subscript “ab” represents the difference between the receiving ends a and b. From equations (14), (15) and (16), it can be seen that the clock offset errors of the transmitter and receiver have been eliminated after the dual differential operation.)
wherein the method additionally comprises determining if the likely clock offset value can be unambiguously selected from the set of possible clock offset values, and if not, sending one or more second or subsequent auxiliary signals comprising frequencies in a third or subsequent frequency range. (paragraph 0071 - In the present application, a PRS and at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies are sent by the transmitting end, so that the receiving end determines at least two phase measurement values and uses the at least two phase measurement values to construct a virtual phase measurement value to quickly search for the virtual integer ambiguity of the virtual phase value, ...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kazaz’s Phase-based distance determination for wireless networks to include Da's integer ambiguity resolution to get more accurate time.
Regarding Claim 19, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan teaches claim 1.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan does not expressly teach the signals comprise a sine wave, optionally a sine wave with a scrambling code.
However, in the analogous art, Da explicitly discloses the signals comprise a sine wave, optionally a sine wave with a scrambling code (paragraph 0072 - It should be noted that the C-PRS may be a pure sinusoidal carrier and the occupied bandwidth is very narrow, so it will not occupy too much radio resources to send at least two C-PRSs on different frequencies.)
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 10 is also applied to claim 19.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazaz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0095262), Kazaz hereinafter, in view of Mansour et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0272196), Mansour hereinafter, and further in view of Bogdan (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0041104), Bogdan hereinafter and further in view of Da et al (U.S. PGPUB 20220082652), Da hereinafter hereinafter and further in view of Marshall (U.S. PGPUB 2020/0241105), Marshall hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan and further in view of Da teaches claim 10.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan and further in view of Da does not expressly teach wherein the method comprises sending a plurality of primary signals, preferably wherein the method additionally comprises sending a plurality of auxiliary signals, further wherein preferably the frequency of at least consecutive primary signals and/or frequency of possible consecutive auxiliary signals are separated from each other by under 20 MHz, more preferably under 10 MHz.
However, in the analogous art, Marshall explicitly discloses wherein the method comprises sending a plurality of primary signals, preferably wherein the method additionally comprises sending a plurality of auxiliary signals, further wherein preferably the frequency of at least consecutive primary signals and/or frequency of possible consecutive auxiliary signals are separated from each other by under 20 MHz, more preferably under 10 MHz (paragraph 0100 - The first frequency optionally differs from the second frequency by at least 2 kHz, preferably at least 100 kHz, more preferably at least 1 MHz, most preferably at least 10 MHz).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 5 is also applied to claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan and further in view of Da teaches claim 10.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan and further in view of Da does not expressly teach wherein a difference between the first frequency range and the second or subsequent frequency range is at least 150 MHz, preferably at least 200 MHz, most preferably at least 500 MHz.
However, in the analogous art, Marshall explicitly discloses wherein a difference between the first frequency range and the second or subsequent frequency range is at least 150 MHz, preferably at least 200 MHz, most preferably at least 500 MHz (paragraph 0100 - The first frequency optionally differs from the second frequency by at least 2 kHz, preferably at least 100 kHz, more preferably at least 1 MHz, most preferably at least 10 MHz.).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 5 is also applied to claim 12.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazaz et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0095262), Kazaz hereinafter, in view of Mansour et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0272196), Mansour hereinafter, and further in view of Bogdan (U.S. PGPUB 2009/0041104), Bogdan hereinafter and further in view of Da et al (U.S. PGPUB 20220082652), Da hereinafter and further in view of Zhang et al (U.S. PGPUB 20230180172), Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 13, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan and further in view of Da teaches claim 10.
Yet, Kazaz in view of Mansour and further in view of Bogdan and further in view of Da does not expressly teach wherein the first frequency range and/or the second frequency range encompasses a maximum bandwidth of 100 Hz-100 kHz, preferably 10-100 kHz in the case of only one signal sent in said range or 5-100 MHz, preferably 10-50 MHz in the case of a plurality of signals being sent in said range.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses wherein the first frequency range and/or the second frequency range encompasses a maximum bandwidth of 100 Hz-100 kHz, preferably 10-100 kHz in the case of only one signal sent in said range or 5-100 MHz, preferably 10-50 MHz in the case of a plurality of signals being sent in said range (paragraph 0093 - The C-PRSs at different frequencies may be on different carriers or different subcarriers of the same carrier. For example, in a FDD mode, the C-PRSs may also be sent by the first and last Resource Elements (REs) of a carrier with a bandwidth (BW)=100 MHz, or PRSs of the first RE and the last RE of the carrier with BW=100 MHz serve as the C-PRSs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Kazaz’s Phase-based distance determination for wireless networks to include Zhang's first and second frequency bandwidth to get more accurate time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472