DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 01/15/2026, claims 7 and 9 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DING et al. (US 2024/0276521 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0217771 A1).
Regarding claim 7; Ding teaches a terminal that is a first terminal (See Fig. 18: Third terminal (i.e., being analyzed as a first terminal recited in the claim). ¶ [0213]), comprising:
a reception unit configured to:
receive first reservation information for reserving a first resource from a second terminal (See Fig. 18: At operation 202-1, the third terminal receives and determines a first resource set (i.e., first resource reservation info) based on time-frequency resources for a first terminal (i.e., the second terminal recited in the claim) to send data; ¶ [0214]) and
receive second reservation information for reserving a second resource from a third terminal (See Fig. 18: at operation 202-2, the third terminal receives and determines a second resource set (i.e., second resource reservation info) based on time-frequency resources for a second terminal (i.e., the third terminal recited in the claim) to send data. ¶ [0214]); and
a control unit configured to determine whether or not transmission of information related to a collision is to be allowed in a case (See Fig. 18: At operation 204-1, in a case where the first resource set φ and the second resource set θ satisfy a resource conflict condition… The resource conflict condition is a condition to determine whether the first resource set φ conflicts or overlaps with the second resource set β in at least one of time domain or frequency domain. ¶ [0221-0222]);
Even though, Ding teaches the method of determining resource collision or conflict condition between the first and second resource sets, Ding doesn’t explicitly provide the method wherein determining a destination of the first reservation information is not the first terminal and wherein the control unit detects the collision based on a value of RSRP (Reference signal received power) of a signal transmitted from the second terminal or the third terminal.
However, Liu further discloses the method wherein determining a destination of the first reservation information is not the first terminal (Liu: See Fig. 7, a sidelink UE (i.e., first terminal) may be configured with a list of sidelink UE IDs. The sidelink UE IDs on the list may correspond to sidelink UE that are part of a same group as the sidelink UE. When the sidelink UE receives SCI, the sidelink UE may compare a source/destination ID associated with the SCI to the list of sidelink UE IDs, and determine whether the SCI is for sidelink UEs in the group. When the SCI is not for sidelink UEs in the group (i.e., destination of the resource info is not the first terminal), the sidelink UE may not share a COT with a sender of the SCI. ¶ [0079]), and wherein the control unit detects the collision based on a value of RSRP (Reference signal received power) of a signal transmitted from the second terminal or the third terminal (See Fig. 3: the UE 305 may measure an RSSI parameter (e.g., a sidelink-RSSI (S-RSSI) parameter) associated with various sidelink channels, may measure an RSRP parameter (e.g., a PSSCH-RSRP parameter) associated with various sidelink channels…and may select a channel for transmission of a sidelink communication based at least in part on the measurement(s). ¶ [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method wherein determining a destination of the first reservation information is not the first terminal as taught by Liu to have incorporated in the system of Ding, so that it would provide that one sidelink UE to share a COT with other sidelink UEs in a group, effectively making the COT a group COT that is shared with the other sidelink UEs. Large groups of sidelink UEs may have an advantage over smaller groups of sidelink UEs in clearing the LBT procedure and sharing a COT with other sidelink UEs in the group. ¶ [0094].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “in a case where…or…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 9; Ding teaches a communication method performed by a terminal that is a first terminal, the communication method comprising:
receiving first reservation information for reserving a first resource from a second terminal (See Fig. 18: At operation 202-1, the third terminal receives and determines a first resource set (i.e., first resource reservation info) based on time-frequency resources for a first terminal (i.e., the second terminal recited in the claim) to send data; ¶ [0214]) and
receive second reservation information for reserving a second resource from a third terminal (See Fig. 18: at operation 202-2, the third terminal receives and determines a second resource set (i.e., second resource reservation info) based on time-frequency resources for a second terminal (i.e., third terminal recited in the claim) to send data. ¶ [0214]); and
determining whether or not transmission of information related to a collision is to be allowed in a case (See Fig. 18: At operation 204-1, in a case where the first resource set φ and the second resource set θ satisfy a resource conflict condition… The resource conflict condition is a condition to determine whether the first resource set φ conflicts or overlaps with the second resource set β in at least one of time domain or frequency domain. ¶ [0221-0222]).
Even though, Ding teaches the method of determining resource collision or conflict condition between the first and second resource sets, Ding doesn’t explicitly provide the method wherein determining a destination of the first reservation information is not the first terminal and wherein the control unit detects the collision based on a value of RSRP (Reference signal received power) of a signal transmitted from the second terminal or the third terminal.
However, Liu further discloses the method wherein determining a destination of the first reservation information is not the first terminal (Liu: See Fig. 7, a sidelink UE (i.e., first terminal) may be configured with a list of sidelink UE IDs. The sidelink UE IDs on the list may correspond to sidelink UE that are part of a same group as the sidelink UE. When the sidelink UE receives SCI, the sidelink UE may compare a source/destination ID associated with the SCI to the list of sidelink UE IDs, and determine whether the SCI is for sidelink UEs in the group. When the SCI is not for sidelink UEs in the group (i.e., destination of the resource info is not the first terminal), the sidelink UE may not share a COT with a sender of the SCI. ¶ [0079]), and wherein the control unit detects the collision based on a value of RSRP (Reference signal received power) of a signal transmitted from the second terminal or the third terminal (See Fig. 3: the UE 305 may measure an RSSI parameter (e.g., a sidelink-RSSI (S-RSSI) parameter) associated with various sidelink channels, may measure an RSRP parameter (e.g., a PSSCH-RSRP parameter) associated with various sidelink channels…and may select a channel for transmission of a sidelink communication based at least in part on the measurement(s). ¶ [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the method wherein determining a destination of the first reservation information is not the first terminal as taught by Liu to have incorporated in the system of Ding, so that it would provide that one sidelink UE to share a COT with other sidelink UEs in a group, effectively making the COT a group COT that is shared with the other sidelink UEs. Large groups of sidelink UEs may have an advantage over smaller groups of sidelink UEs in clearing the LBT procedure and sharing a COT with other sidelink UEs in the group. ¶ [0094].
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “in a case where one of a…”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendment, Applicant argues that the cited prior art references, Ding et al. (US 2024/0276521 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0217771 A1), fail to teach: “wherein the control unit detects the collision based on a value of RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) of a signal transmitted from the second terminal or the third terminal.”
Examiner’s responses:
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ding et al. teaches a first terminal receiving reservation information from multiple terminals and determining whether a resource collision exists.
Specifically, Ding teaches:
A third terminal (analyzed as the claimed first terminal) receiving first reservation information associated with a first resource from a second terminal; and
Receiving second reservation information associated with a second resource from a third terminal.
See: Fig. 18 and ¶ [0213]–[0214]:
At operation 202-1, the third terminal receives and determines a first resource set based on time-frequency resources for a first terminal to send data;
At operation 202-2, the third terminal receives and determines a second resource set based on time-frequency resources for a second terminal to send data.
Ding further teaches: Determining whether the first resource set and the second resource set satisfy a resource conflict condition. See: Fig. 18 and ¶ [0221]–[0222]. The control unit determines whether the first resource set conflicts or overlaps with the second resource set in at least one of the time domain or frequency domain. Thus, Ding teaches a control unit configured to detect resource collision/conflict conditions based on reservation information received from different terminals.
Although Ding teaches collision detection between resource reservations, Ding does not explicitly disclose that the destination of the reservation information is not the first terminal.
However, Liu et al. teaches this feature. Specifically, Liu discloses:
A sidelink UE configured with a list of sidelink UE IDs corresponding to members of a group;
Comparing source/destination IDs associated with SCI against the list; and
Determining whether received SCI is intended for the sidelink UE or for another UE/group. See: Fig. 7 and ¶ [0079].
Liu further teaches that:
When the SCI is not intended for sidelink UEs in the group, the sidelink UE determines that the SCI is not for itself.
Thus, Liu teaches determining that the destination of the reservation information is not the first terminal. Liu further teaches measuring radio signal parameters, including RSRP, associated with sidelink transmissions. See: Fig. 3 and ¶ [0068]:
The UE may measure RSSI parameters and RSRP parameters associated with sidelink channels; and
The UE may select channels for sidelink communication based at least in part on those measurements.
Because channel/resource selection is based on measured RSRP associated with sidelink signals transmitted by other terminals, Liu teaches using RSRP measurements to determine channel/resource conditions, including potential conflicts or collisions among sidelink transmissions. Accordingly, Liu teaches that the control unit detects or determines collision/resource conflict conditions based on a measured RSRP value of signals transmitted from other terminals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Liu’s RSRP-based sidelink measurement and SCI destination determination techniques into Ding’s collision detection framework.
Ding teaches collision/conflict determination between reserved resources;
Liu teaches:
determining whether reservation information is intended for the first terminal; and
measuring RSRP values of sidelink signals for resource/channel selection.
Combining these teachings would have predictably improved sidelink collision management by allowing the control unit to evaluate resource conflicts using measured sidelink signal strength information. Liu expressly teaches advantages associated with group-based sidelink coordination and channel occupancy sharing. See ¶ [0094]: One sidelink UE may share a channel occupancy time (COT) with other sidelink UEs in a group;
Group-based sharing may improve the ability to satisfy LBT requirements and improve communication efficiency.
One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have been motivated to apply Liu’s RSRP-based sidelink resource evaluation techniques to Ding’s reservation conflict detection system in order to improve collision detection, resource coordination, and sidelink transmission efficiency.
Ding teaches receiving reservation information from different terminals and determining resource collision/conflict conditions;
Liu teaches:
determining that reservation information is not intended for the first terminal; and
measuring RSRP associated with sidelink signals for channel/resource determination.
Together, Ding and Liu teach or at least render obvious: detecting the collision based on a value of RSRP of a signal transmitted from the second terminal or the third terminal. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416