DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Regarding rejections of the claims under §103:
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, 14-17, and 19 were rejected as being obvious over Renault in view of Bulatow. Claims 4 and 13 were rejected as being obvious over Renault in view of Bulatow and Bosch. Claims 9 and 18 were rejected as being obvious over Renault in view of Bulatow and Germann. The Applicant added new claim 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argued that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric machine of Renault with the insulating coating of Bulatow does not disclose an additional component of the stator, stating that the deformable nature of the coating would not predictably support the additional stator component of Renault and that Bulatow is subject to forces in the circumferential direction which would not be suitable for supporting the additional stator component. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore, the insulating coating of Bulatow would reliably support the additional stator component of Renault as it imparts a compression force that would reliably contain the pole shoes (Bulatow Translation page 4). Therefore, the claims remain rejected over the prior art of reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over French Patent No. 2 998 112 to Renault SA (hereinafter Renault; provided by Applicant on 10/9/2023) in view of WIPO Publication No. 2007/107134 to Bulatow et al. (hereinafter Bulatow).
Regarding claim 1, Renault teaches an electric machine (Paragraph [0001]) comprising: a stator (FIG. 1, 100), a rotor (Paragraph [0006]) and an air gap (Paragraph [0007]) located between the stator and the rotor, wherein
the stator has:
a stator body (FIG. 1, 101);
a stator winding (FIG. 6, 151);
an insulating coating (FIG. 6, 160; Paragraph [0010]) arranged between the stator winding and the stator body for providing electric insulation between the stator winding and the stator body (Paragraph [0009]); and
a local depression (FIG. 6, 173) provided in the stator body,
wherein the insulating coating is arranged in the local depression (Paragraph [0024]), and
the local depression is arranged on a side of the stator body facing the air gap (FIG. 6, 170 faces air gap).
Renault does not teach the insulating coating being applied to the stator body.
However, Bulatow teaches a stator body (FIG. 1, 2) having a coating (FIG. 1, 5) applied to it (Translation Page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric machine of Renault with the insulation coating of Bulatow to ensure a more effective connection between the insulation and the stator body.
Regarding claim 2, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being arranged exclusively in the local depression (FIG. 6, 181) on a side of the stator body facing the air gap.
Regarding claim 3, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Renault further teaches the electric machine being an electric axial flux machine and the stator and the rotor with the air gap located in between are arranged coaxially to one another in a direction axial to a main axis of the electric axial flux machine (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Renault further teaches the stator body having a stator tooth (FIG. 1, 103) and a stator yoke (FIG. 1, 101), and the local depression being provided in the stator tooth (FIG. 5, 173).
Regarding claim 6, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 5, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being provided on the stator yoke on a side of the stator yoke facing the air gap (FIG. 6, 163).
Regarding claim 7, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being arranged directly on the stator (Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 8, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 5, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being provided on a side face of the stator tooth (FIG. 6, 108) adjoining the stator yoke (FIG. 6, 164).
Regarding claim 10, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 1, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being an overmold coating (Paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 11, Renault teaches a stator (FIG. 1, 100) for an electric machine (Paragraph [0001]) comprising:
a stator body (FIG. 1, 101);
a stator winding (FIG. 6, 151);
an insulating coating (FIG. 6, 160; Paragraph [0010]) arranged between the stator winding and the stator body for providing electric insulation between the stator winding and the stator body (Paragraph [0009]); and
a local depression (FIG. 6, 173) provided in the stator body,
wherein the insulating coating is arranged in the local depression (Paragraph [0024]).
Renault does not teach the insulating coating being applied to the stator body.
However, Bulatow teaches a stator body (FIG. 1, 2) having a coating (FIG. 1, 5) applied to it (Translation Page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric machine of Renault with the insulation coating of Bulatow to ensure a more effective connection between the insulation and the stator body.
Regarding claim 12, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the stator according to claim 11, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being arranged exclusively in the local depression (FIG. 6, 181).
Regarding claim 14, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the stator according to claim 11, wherein Renault further teaches the stator body having a stator tooth (FIG. 1, 103) and a stator yoke (FIG. 1, 101), and the local depression being provided in the stator tooth (FIG. 5, 173).
Regarding claim 15, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the stator according to claim 14, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being provided on the stator yoke on a side of the stator yoke (FIG. 6, 163).
Regarding claim 16, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the stator according to claim 15, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being arranged directly on the stator (Paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 17, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the stator according to claim 16, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being provided on a side face of the stator tooth (FIG. 6, 108) adjoining the stator yoke (FIG. 6, 164).
Regarding claim 19, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the stator according to claim 11, wherein Renault further teaches the insulating coating being an overmold coating (Paragraph [0010]).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renault in view of Bulatow and in further view of German Patent No. 10 2015 212 011 to Bosch GmbH Robert (hereinafter Bosch; provided by Applicant on 10/9/2023).
Regarding claim 4, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 3.
Renault in view of Bulatow does not teach the local depression being formed such that, in the direction axial to the main axis, a common height of the stator body and the insulating coating arranged in the local depression is less than or equal to a height of the stator body outside a region of the local depression.
However, Bosch teaches an insulation (FIG. 6, 220) and a stator body local depression (FIG. 6, 244) having a common height equal to a height of the stator body outside a region of the local depression (FIG. 3, 234).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric machine of Renault in view of Bulatow with the flush insulation of Bosch to provide a reliable fit of the insulation to the stator (Paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 13, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the stator according to claim 11.
Renault in view of Bulatow does not teach the local depression being formed such that, in the direction axial to the main axis, a common height of the stator body and the insulating coating arranged in the local depression is less than or equal to a height of the stator body outside a region of the local depression.
However, Bosch teaches an insulation (FIG. 6, 220) and a stator body local depression (FIG. 6, 244) having a common height equal to a height of the stator body outside a region of the local depression (FIG. 3, 234).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stator of Renault in view of Bulatow with the flush insulation of Bosch to provide a reliable fit of the insulation to the stator (Paragraph [0045]).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renault in view of Bulatow and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 4,251,745 to Germann.
Regarding claim 9, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 8.
Renault in view of Bulatow does not teach that between the insulating coating provided on the side face of the stator tooth adjoining the stator yoke and the stator winding a spacer element is provided for forming a cooling channel between the insulating coating and the stator winding.
However, Germann teaches a spacer (FIG. 1, 12) arranged between the insulation of a slot (FIG. 1, 10) and a winding (FIG. 1, 11) to form a cooling channel (FIG. 1, 12’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric machine of Renault in view of Bulatow with the spacer of Germann to provide further cooling to the stator windings and improve thermal performance.
Regarding claim 18, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the stator according to claim 17.
Renault in view of Bulatow does not teach that between the insulating coating provided on the side face of the stator tooth adjoining the stator yoke and the stator winding a spacer element is provided for forming a cooling channel between the insulating coating and the stator winding.
However, Germann teaches a spacer (FIG. 1, 12) arranged between the insulation of a slot (FIG. 1, 10) and a winding (FIG. 1, 11) to form a cooling channel (FIG. 1, 12’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stator of Renault in view of Bulatow with the spacer of Germann to provide further cooling to the stator windings and improve thermal performance.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renault in view of Bulatow and in further view of Korean Patent No. 10-2016-0086698 to Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 20, Renault in view of Bulatow teaches the electric machine according to claim 1.
Renault in view of Bulatow does not teach the insulating coating being at least one of a lacquer or a fluidized bed sinter.
However, Lee teaches an insulating coating (FIG. 4(b), 150) being at least one of a lacquer or a fluidized bed sinter (Paragraph [0029]-[0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric machine of Renault in view of Bulatow with the insulating coating production method of Lee as it may be more economical to produce the insulating coating via lacquer or fluidized bed sinter compared to overmolding.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834