DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1,3-16 and 23-26 are pending.
Claims 9-12 and 25-26 are withdrawn based on the election without traverse.
Claim 2 has been cancelled in amendments filed on 06/24/2026.
Claims 1-8,13-16, and 23-24 have been considered on the merits.
Status of Prior Rejections / Response to Arguments
RE: Request for Rejoinder
Applicant request withdrawn claims 9-12, 25 and 26 be rejoined and examined, if claim 1 is allowable.
This argument is not persuasive, as claim 1 or any dependent claims are not found to be allowable.
RE: Information Disclosure Statements
Applicants state in remarks filed on 06/24/2026 that not all references were initialed to indicate they were considered.
A new copy of an Examiner signed IDS originally filed on 10/09/2023 has been uploaded, stating that all references in the IDS have been considered.
RE: Rejections of claims 1-7,13-16,23, and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Simonson et al (US2019/0112578), and in view of De Francisco et al (2021/0113625).
Cancellation of claim 2 renders the rejection thereof moot.
Regarding the method claims 1, 3-7, 13-16, 23 and 24, Applicants have traversed the rejection of record on the following grounds:
The method, mesenchymal stromal cells (MSCs) cultured in the presence of laminin-521 or laminin-421 produce extracellular vesicles (EVs )that provide improved therapeutic effect compared to EVs from control MSCs.
Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al does not teach or suggest that biologically activated EVs isolated from mesenchymal stromal cells provide therapeutic effects of greater magnitude in comparison.
In response, these arguments are not persuasive.
Applicants argue the method culturing MSCs on laminin-521 or laminin-421 produce EVs with improved therapeutic effect, yet only claims 6,7, and 8 (and 9-1 which have been withdrawn from consideration) recite these limitations. The other claims under consideration not so limited, therefore any assertion of unexpected results is not commensurate in scope with the remaining claims.
Applicants further argue that the methods produce extracellular vesicles with greater in magnitude therapeutic effect than those taught by Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al. However, the claimed invention is method of which all the active steps are anticipated and rendered obvious by Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al. The magnitude of the therapeutic effects of the EVs are inherent because the active steps of the method are the same including culturing mesenchymal stromal cells with laminin-521 or laminin-421. Further, De Francisco et al was used for its teaching of isolation of EVs not the magnitude of the therapeutic effect, as it is not claim.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained over claims 1, 3-7, 13-16, and 23-24.
RE: Rejections of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Simonson et al (US2019/0112578) and De Francisco et al (2021/0113625), in further view of Doi et al (The Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2002).
Regarding the method claim 8, Applicants have traversed the rejection of record on the following grounds:
Claim 8 depends on claim 1.
Doi et al does not overcome the alleged deficiencies of Simonson et al and De Francisco et al relating to the magnitude of the therapeutic effects of the EVs produced by the claimed method.
In response, these arguments are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the method is patentable because claim 1, of which it depends on is patentable over Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al. This is not persuasive for the reasons set forth above. Applicants also argue that Doi et al does not overcome the alleged deficiencies of Simonson et al and De Francisco et al related to the magnitude of the therapeutic effects of the extracellular vesicles isolated of the method. This is not persuasive because Doi et al is used for the sequence of the polypeptide human laminin α5, which further specifies the human laminin α5 used in the method but does not change the active steps of the method which produces the extracellular vesicles nor the inherent properties obtained by the method.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained over claim 8.
RE: Rejections of claims 1-4,6-8,14-16, 23, and 24 of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,226,487, in view of De Francisco et al.
Cancellation of claim 2 renders the rejection thereof moot.
Regarding the method claim 1,3,4,6-8,14-16, and 23-24, Applicants have traversed the rejection of record on the following grounds:
Reference claims 1-3 of U.S. Pat. No. 10,226,487 does not teach isolating extracellular vesicles (EVs) generated from culturing mesenchymal stromal cells.
Reference claims 1-3 in view of De Francisco et al does not provide teaching or suggestion of the magnitude of the therapeutic effect of the EVs.
In response, these arguments are not persuasive.
Examiner acknowledged in office action filed on 04/02/2026, that the reference patent does not teach isolating the EVs but in view of De Francisco et al, one skilled in the art would add the active step of isolating the EVs of the method. For the reasons set forth above, De Francisco et al provides an additional method of isolating EVs in conjunction with the active steps of the reference patent U.S. Pat. No. 10,226,487. Further, as the active steps of the methods are read on by the reference patent in view of De Francisco et al, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained over claims 1,3-4,6-8,14-16, 23, and 24.
RE: Rejections of claims 1-8, 13-16, and 23-24 of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,240,124, in view of De Francisco et al.
Cancellation of claim 2 renders the rejection thereof moot.
Regarding the method claim 1,3-4,6-8,13-16, and 23-24, Applicants have traversed the rejection of record on the following grounds:
Reference claim 1 of U.S. Pat. No. 10,240,124 does not teach isolating extracellular vesicles (EVs) generated from culturing mesenchymal stromal cells.
Reference claim 1 in view of De Francisco et al does not provide teaching or suggestion of the magnitude of the therapeutic effect of the EVs.
In response, these arguments are not persuasive.
Examiner acknowledged in office action filed on 04/02/2026, that the reference patent does not teach isolating the EVs but in view of De Francisco et al, one skilled in the art would add the active step of isolating the EVs of the method. For the reasons set forth above, De Francisco et al provides an additional method of isolating EVs in conjunction with the active steps of the reference patent U.S. Pat. No. 10,240,124.
Further, as the active steps of the methods are read on by the reference patent in view of De Francisco et al, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained over claims 1,3-8,13-16, and 23-24.
Maintained Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7,13-16, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonson et al (US 2019/0112578 A1) and in view of De Francisco et al (US 2021/0113625 A1).
Simonson et al disclosed a method for culturing mesenchymal stem (stromal) cells (MSCs), such that the MSCs are multipotent and immunomodulatory potential (See, Abstract).
Regarding claims 1,14, and 15, Simonson et al disclosed an invention drawn to a method for culturing MSCs with maintained or enhanced multipotency and/or immune-modulatory potential. The method comprises culturing the MSCs under hypoxic or normoxic conditions in the presence of at least one laminin α5 chain and/or at least one laminin α4 chain (See, ¶0023). The method disclosed by Simonson et al can also include an agent with Wnt canonical pathway to generate Isl1+ (See, ¶0026). Simonson et al disclosed that the multipotent Isl1+ cells can produce a population of extracellular vesicles that can have polypeptide abundance (See, ¶0038). Simonson et al further states that the characteristics of Isl1+ of producing extracellular vesicles (EVs) and modulate immune response are important for the clinical application of the invention (See, ¶0038).
Simonson et al does not teach the isolation of the EVs from cell culture medium.
De Francisco et al disclosed a method to prepare extracellular vesicles (EVs) from mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs), a composition of extracellular vesicles obtained from the method and composition comprising EVs that can be used as a medicament (See, Abstract). De Francisco et al teaches that EVs isolated from MSCs have emerged as a novel therapeutic and are much safer to administer than stem cells (i.e. MSCs) (See, ¶0007-0009).
De Francisco et al disclosed a method to produce a composition comprising EVs of mesenchymal stem cells. First step is to culture MSCs obtained from biological tissue or fluid to generate undifferentiated mesenchymal stem cells. Second step is to contact the cultured undifferentiated MSCs with culture medium containing growth factors or inflammatory mediators, to generate mesenchymal stem cells of interest to produce EVs (See, ¶0034-0037). De Francisco et al further disclosed 6 methods of isolating the EVs from the MSC culture, including differential centrifugation (See, ¶0094-99), density gradient centrifugation (See, ¶0100-0101), size exclusion chromatography (See,¶0102-0103), ultrafiltration (See,¶0104-0105), polymer based precipitation (See,¶0106-0107), and immunological separation (See,¶0108-0109).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the method of Simonson et al to comprise isolating the EVs generated from the culturing of MSCs as taught by De Francisco et al. One would be motivated to make this modification because Simonson et al teaches there is clinical relevance to EVs produced by their method and De Francisco et al teaches that EVs isolated from MSC culturing has emerged as a therapeutic, as they are safer to administer than stems cells such as MSCs. Therefore, the isolation of the EVs from cell culture medium is obvious in light of Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al because De Francisco et al discloses methods of isolation of EVs that can be generated from the method of Simonson et al.
Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success because isolation of the EVs from the cell culture of MSCs from De Francisco et al could be readily done to isolate the EVs generated from the culturing of MSC with laminin α5 of the method of Simonson et al.
As Simonson et al teaches the method with MSCs and that the culturing method produces EVs, and De Francisco et al teaches method of isolating EVs that includes ultracentrifugation, claims 14, and 15 are included in this rejection.
Therefore, claims 1, 14, and 15 are rendered obvious over Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al.
Regarding claim 3 and 4, following the discussion of claim 2 above, Simonson et al discloses that the method of the invention comprising the step of culturing MSCs and the MSCs are obtainable from bone marrow, Wharton’s jelly, perinatal tissue, cord blood, amniotic tissue, adipose tissue, etc. (See, ¶0025). As Simonson et al discloses where the MSCs can be derived from and where or how the MSCs are differentiated from is included in the rejections because claim 4 is a product by process claim (See, MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 5, 6, and 7, following the discussion above of claim 1, Simonson et al disclosed that the culturing method of the present invention of MSC with at least one laminin comprising α5 chain can be laminin 511, 521,523 or any combination of said laminins (See, ¶0053). Simonson et al also discloses that any cell culture growth substratum or cell culture medium additive comprising laminin 511 or 521 or 523 can be used for the culturing (See, ¶0053). The laminin protocol was tested in the experimentation section of Simonson et al, it was concluded that optimal ratio of laminins α5 for the culturing is 25% α5 to promote attachment and growth (See, ¶0071). This reads on the limitation of claim 5, such that the substratum for cell culture comprises at least 10% of one polypeptide; limitation of claim 6, such that the polypeptide of human laminin α5 chain is laminin-511, laminin-521, laminin-522 or laminin-523; lastly on the limitation of claim 7, such that polypeptide human laminin α5 is either laminin-521.
Regarding claim 13, following the discussion about claim 1 above, Simonson et al discloses that for the context of the invention, the laminins used are coated on the cell/tissue culture equipment (See, ¶0032). This reads on the limitation of claim 13, wherein the composition is used to coat cell culture dishes, since the composition of claim 1 comprising polypeptide human laminin α5 chain.
Regarding claim 16, following the discussion of claim 1 above, Simonson et al disclosed that the cells in the invention can be in a pharmaceutical composition comprising the cells per the invention combined with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient for medicinal use, such as solubilized agent (See, ¶0064).
Simonson et al does not teach a pharmaceutical composition of extracellular vesicles in combination with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable constituent.
De Francisco et al further disclosed that the invention relates to the use of EVs for the manufacture of a medicament intended for treating subjects suffering from ischemic disease or disorder of the circulatory system (See,¶0132). It is disclosed that to enhance the efficacy and facilitate the administration of the medicament of the invention, the composition with the EVs may be mixed with any agent or biologically compatible material or device (See,¶0144). The EVs or the compositions containing EVs may be applied with a medical device such as, a stent, endoscope or syringe (See, ¶0144). Pharmacologically acceptable agents to mix with EVs or compositions containing EVs include, water, alcohols, polyols, glycerol, vegetable oils, etc. (See, ¶0145).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the method of Simonson et al to comprise having the pharmaceutical composition to comprise EVs with a pharmacologically acceptable agent as taught by De Francisco et al. One would be motivated to make this modification because Simonson et al teaches there is clinical relevance to EVs produced by their method and De Francisco et al teaches that EVs isolated from MSC culturing has emerged as a therapeutic, as they are safer to administer than stems cells such as MSCs. Therefore, pharmaceutical composition comprising EVs in combination with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable constituent is obvious in light of Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al because De Francisco et al discloses methods of isolating EVs that can be generated from the method of Simonson et al and generating a pharmaceutical composition with a pharmacologically acceptable agent.
Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success because De Francisco et al teaches that EVs are a safer therapeutic to administer than stem cells such as MSCs.
Therefore, claim 16 are rendered obvious over Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al.
Regarding claim 23 and 24, following the discussion about claim 15 above, Simonson et al disclosed that stents or other medical devices for implantation into a human or animal body can be coated with laminin α5 or α4, and the stent may be implanted with or without MSCs, progenitor cells to be further differentiated (See, ¶0062).
Simonson et al does not teach a medical device coated with EVs or what the medical device is.
De Francisco et al further disclosed that the invention relates to the use of EVs for the manufacture of a medicament intended for treating subjects suffering from ischemic disease or disorder of the circulatory system (See,¶0132). It is disclosed that to enhance the efficacy and facilitate the administration of the medicament of the invention, the composition with the EVs may be mixed with any agent or biologically compatible material or device (See,¶0144). The EVs or the compositions containing EVs may be applied with a medical device such as, a stent, endoscope or syringe (See, ¶0144).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the method of Simonson et al to comprise coating a medical device with extracellular vesicles as taught by De Francisco et al because a stent is a type of graft and therefore a medical device. One would be motivated to make this modification because Simonson et al teaches there is clinical relevance to EVs produced by their method and De Francisco et al teaches that EVs isolated from MSC culturing has emerged as a therapeutic, as they are safer to administer or use as a coating than stems cells such as MSCs. Therefore, a medical device coated with EVs and the medical device such that it is a graft is obvious in light of Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al because De Francisco et al discloses methods of isolating EVs that can be generated from the method of Simonson et al and coating a medical device with the composition comprising EVs.
Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success because De Francisco et al teaches that EVs are a safer therapeutic to administer or use as a coating than stem cells such as MSCs.
Therefore, claims 1,3-7, 13-16, and 23-24 are rendered obvious over Simonson et al in view of De Francisco et al.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simonson et al and De Francisco et al as applied to claims 1,3-7,13-16, and 23-24 above, and further in view of Doi et al (The journal of biological chemistry, 2002).
The teachings of Simonson et al and De Francisco et al are set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, following the discussion of claim 1 above, Simonson et al teaches a method comprises culturing the MSCs under hypoxic or normoxic conditions in the presence of at least one laminin α5 chain and/or at least one laminin α4 chain (See, ¶0023) and De Francisco et al teaches 6 methods of isolating the EVs from the MSC culture, including ultrafiltration (See,¶0104-0105), which rendered claim 1 obvious.
Simonson et al and De Francisco et al do not teach where the polypeptide of laminin α5 comprises amino acid SEQ ID NO: 1.
Doi et al teaches the roles of laminin 10 with endothelial cells and how the molecule could be useful in improving the biocompatibility and reendothelialization of vascular grafts (See, Abstract). Doi et al submitted laminin α5 to GenBank with accession number AF443072 (See, Methods). The amino acid sequence of accession number AF443072 is a 100% match with SEQ ID NO: 1 when aligned (See, appendix).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the method of Simonson et al and De Francisco et al to comprise laminin α5 with amino acid sequence of AF443072 as taught by Doi et al. One would be motivated to make this modification because it would be advantageous to use a sequence that is well known in the art. Therefore, the method of claim 1, wherein the polypeptide comprising human laminin α5 chain with amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 1 is obvious in light of Simonson et al and of De Francisco et al in view of Doi et al because it is advantageous to use a sequence known in the art.
Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success because Doi et al teaches that the molecule of human laminin α5 could be useful in improving biocompatibility and reendothelialization of vascular grafts.
Therefore, claim 8 is rendered obvious over Simonson et al and De Francisco et al in view of Doi et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,3-4, 6-8,14-16,23-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,2,3 of U.S. Patent No. 10226487B2 in view of De Francisco et al (US 2021/0113625 A1).
The teachings of De Francisco et al are set forth above.
Regarding claims 1-4,6-8, 14 and 15, the reference claim 1 recites, a method for deriving a multipotent Is11+ cell, comprising the step of:(i) culturing a mesenchymal cell in the presence of at least one laminin comprising an a5 chain, and in a medium comprising at least one agent which activates the Wnt canonical pathway. Reference claim 2 recites, wherein the mesenchymal cell is a cardiac mesenchymal cell, a bone marrow mesenchymal cell…. Reference claim 3 recites, wherein the at least one laminin comprising an a5 chain is selected from the group consisting of laminin 511, laminin 521, and a combination of laminin 511 and laminin 521.
These claims read on the method of claim 1 of the instant application but are missing the step of isolating the EVs generated from culturing MSCs of the method.
De Francisco et al further disclosed 6 methods of isolating the EVs from the MSC culture, including ultrafiltration (See,¶0104-0105).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the method of reference patent (US 10226487B2) to comprise isolating the EVs generated from the culturing of MSCs as taught by De Francisco et al. One would be motivated to make this modification because De Francisco et al teaches that EVs isolated from MSC culturing has emerged as a therapeutic, as they are safer to administer than stems cells such as MSCs. Therefore, the isolation of the EVs from cell culture medium is obvious in light of reference claims in view of De Francisco et al because De Francisco et al discloses methods of isolation of EVs that can be generated from the method of Reference patent.
Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success because isolation of the EVs from the cell culture of MSCs from De Francisco et al could be readily done to isolate the EVs generated from the culturing of MSC with laminin α5 of the method of reference patent. Regarding the sequence of human laminin 5α chain of instant claim 8, the sequence is well known in the art and it would be advantageous to use that with the method, therefore is included in the rejection.
Therefore, claims 1, 3-4,6,7,8,14 and 15 are rendered obvious over U.S. Patent No. 10226487B2 in view of De Francisco et al (US 2021/0113625 A1).
Regarding claim 16, 23, and 24, following the discussion above about claim 15, De Francisco et al further disclosed that the invention relates to the use of EVs for the manufacture of a medicament intended for treating subjects suffering from ischemic disease or disorder of the circulatory system (See,¶0132). It is disclosed that to enhance the efficacy and facilitate the administration of the medicament of the invention, the composition with the EVs may be mixed with any agent or biologically compatible material or device (See,¶0144). The EVs or the compositions containing EVs may be applied with a medical device such as, a stent, endoscope or syringe (See, ¶0144).
Combined with the reference claims 1,2, and 3, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the method of reference patent (US 10226487B2) to comprise isolating the EVs generated from the culturing of MSCs and creating a pharmaceutical composition or coating a medical device with the isolated EVs as taught by De Francisco et al. One would be motivated to make this modification because De Francisco et al teaches that EVs isolated from MSC culturing has emerged as a therapeutic, as they are safer to administer than stems cells such as MSCs. Therefore, the isolation of the EVs from cell culture medium is obvious in light of reference claims in view of De Francisco et al because De Francisco et al discloses methods of isolation of EVs that can be generated from the method of reference patent.
Therefore, claims 1,3-4, 6-8,14-16,23-24 are unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10226487B2 in view of De Francisco et al (US 2021/0113625 A1).
Claims 1,3-8,13-16, and 23-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10240124B2 in view of De Francisco et al (US 2021/0113625 A1).
The teachings of De Francisco et al are set forth above.
Regarding claims 1, claim 1 of the reference patent recites, a method for maintaining stem cells, comprising: plating the stem cells on a substrate comprising a laminin and a cadherin, wherein the laminin is an intact protein or a protein fragment; and exposing the stem cells to a cell culture medium comprising at least 0.3 mM of albumin-wherein the laminin islaminin-521;wherein the cadherin is e-cadherin; and wherein the weight ratio of the laminin-521 to the e-cadherin is from 5:1 to 10:1 or from 5:1-15:1.
The limitations of reference claim 1 read on the method of claim 1 of the instant application because laminin-521 is a human laminin α5 chain polypeptide and MSCs are stem cells but are missing the step of isolating the EVs generated from culturing MSCs of the method.
De Francisco et al further disclosed 6 methods of isolating the EVs from the MSC culture, including ultrafiltration (See,¶0104-0105).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the method of reference patent (US 10240124B2) to comprise isolating the EVs generated from the culturing of MSCs as taught by De Francisco et al. One would be motivated to make this modification because De Francisco et al teaches that EVs isolated from MSC culturing has emerged as a therapeutic, as they are safer to administer than stems cells such as MSCs. Therefore, the isolation of the EVs from cell culture medium is obvious in light of reference claims in view of De Francisco et al because De Francisco et al discloses methods of isolation of EVs that can be generated from the method of Reference patent.
Further, one would have a reasonable expectation of success because isolation of the EVs from the cell culture of MSCs from De Francisco et al could be readily done to isolate the EVs generated from the culturing of MSC with laminin α5 (laminin 521) of the method of reference patent.
The combination of the teachings of reference claim 1 and De Francisco et al set forth read on instant claims 1,4, 6-7, and 14-15. Regrading claim 3, where MSCs are derived from, does not change the properties of MSCs, therefore it is included in the rejection and read on by the teachings set forth. Regarding claim 5, the reference claim provides a ratio of laminin 5α for culturing, that reads on instant claim 5. Regarding the sequence of human laminin 5α chain of instant claim 8, the sequence is well known in the art and it would be advantageous to use that with the method, therefore is included in the rejection. Regarding claim 13, reference claim 1 recites that the substrate on plating for stem cell culturing have laminin 521, which reads on the instant claim 13 of the composition of human laminin 5α chain to be coated on to cell culture dish.
Regarding claim 16, 23, and 24, following the discussion above about claim 15, De Francisco et al further disclosed that the invention relates to the use of EVs for the manufacture of a medicament intended for treating subjects suffering from ischemic disease or disorder of the circulatory system (See,¶0132). It is disclosed that to enhance the efficacy and facilitate the administration of the medicament of the invention, the composition with the EVs may be mixed with any agent or biologically compatible material or device (See,¶0144). The EVs or the compositions containing EVs may be applied with a medical device such as, a stent, endoscope or syringe (See, ¶0144).
Combined with the reference claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modify the method of reference patent (US 10240124B2) to comprise isolating the EVs generated from the culturing of MSCs and creating a pharmaceutical composition or coating a medical device with the isolated EVs as taught by De Francisco et al. One would be motivated to make this modification because De Francisco et al teaches that EVs isolated from MSC culturing has emerged as a therapeutic, as they are safer to administer than stems cells such as MSCs. Therefore, the isolation of the EVs from cell culture medium is obvious in light of reference claims in view of De Francisco et al because De Francisco et al discloses methods of isolation of EVs that can be generated from the method of reference patent.
Therefore, claims 1,3-8,13-16, and 23-24 are unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10240124B2 in view of De Francisco et al (US 2021/0113625 A1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLINE M LARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633