Detailed Action
Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are currently pending.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Figure 1 is described in Para 147 as “a waterfall plot of best overall response in target lesions”. It is unclear what metric serves as the basis of comparison in Figure 1. Is lesion area or diameter assessed? Is fluorescence or staining used and quantitatively assessed? Clarification is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because “a oxidized” should read “an oxidized”
Claim 13 and 19 are objected to because at least one immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI) is repeated: pembrolizumab. The duplicate inhibitor must be removed. All duplicate structures should be limited to one iteration.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “and carbonyl -CH2CO-R7”. It is unclear whether carbonyl is meant to be its own item or a carbonyl is attached somehow to the structure that follows.
Claim 1 recites “substituted nitro”. It is unclear what a substituted nitro is or how such a group would be achieved. A nitro is stabilized through resonance in which electrons on the N and two O atoms are exchanged
. Substitution disrupts the resonance structures and is not expected to occur to form a lab stable functional group.
Claims 2-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 17 recites “co-administering to the subject an immune checkpoint inhibitor”. Claim 1, upon which Claim 17 depends, is now amended to include the limitation of administering the Formula (I) compound “in combination with one or more” ICI. Therefore, Claim 17 no longer further limits independent Claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-15, 17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS) in view of Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16).
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Cancer species to be treated include a myriad of those claimed including lung cancer (Para 65). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenus like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the specific ICI resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the prior art combinations in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success despite the specific ICI resistance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Jenkins as applied to Claims 1-3, 5-15, 17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 in further view of Arakawa (Journal of Thoracic Oncology Vol. 15 No. 8. 1-2).
The teachings of Huang and Jenkins are set forth above and incorporated by reference herein.
Huang does not teach the particular form of lung cancer: recurrent small cell.
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab.
One of skill in the art seeking to treat recurrent SCLC resistant to PD-L1i, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or other non-PD-L1i. In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the prior art combinations in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
1. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 6, 11-20, 25-26, 28, 30-32, and 38 of copending Application No. 17293418 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS), Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16), and Arakawa (Journal of Thoracic Oncology Vol. 15 No. 8. 1-2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating cancer comprising administering plinabulin.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with ICI or other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Cancer species to be treated include a myriad of those claimed including lung cancer (Para 65). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
One of skill in the art seeking to treat recurrent SCLC resistant to PD-L1i, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or other non-PD-L1i, and using the methods described in detail above for the aforementioned reasons.
Since both applications teach the administration of plinabulin for the treatment of cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18952618 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS), Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16), and Arakawa (Journal of Thoracic Oncology Vol. 15 No. 8. 1-2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating cancer (NSCLC) comprising administering plinabulin and ICI.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Cancer species to be treated include a myriad of those claimed including lung cancer (Para 65). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
One of skill in the art seeking to treat recurrent SCLC resistant to PD-L1i, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or other non-PD-L1i, and using the methods described in detail above for the aforementioned reasons.
Since both applications teach the administration of plinabulin for the treatment of cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
NONPROVISIONAL:
1. Claims 1-3, 5-15, 17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 8618292 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS) and Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating melanoma comprising administering plinabulin and ICI.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
2. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-49 of U.S. Patent No. 9358289 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS), Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16), and Arakawa (Journal of Thoracic Oncology Vol. 15 No. 8. 1-2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating cancer comprising administering plinabulin and ICI.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Cancer species to be treated include a myriad of those claimed including lung cancer (Para 65). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
One of skill in the art seeking to treat recurrent SCLC resistant to PD-L1i, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or other non-PD-L1i, and using the methods described in detail above for the aforementioned reasons.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
3. Claims 1-3, 5-15, 17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10076518 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS) and Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating brain cancer comprising administering plinabulin and ICI in combination with radiation therapy.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
4. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 10238650 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS), Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16), and Arakawa (Journal of Thoracic Oncology Vol. 15 No. 8. 1-2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating cancers comprising administering plinabulin.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with ICI or other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Cancer species to be treated include a myriad of those claimed including lung cancer (Para 65). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
One of skill in the art seeking to treat recurrent SCLC resistant to PD-L1i, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or other non-PD-L1i, and using the methods described in detail above for the aforementioned reasons.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
5. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10357491 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS) and Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating brain cancer comprising administering plinabulin and ICI in combination with radiation therapy.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
6. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 21 of U.S. Patent No. 10668063 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS), Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16), and Arakawa (Journal of Thoracic Oncology Vol. 15 No. 8. 1-2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating cancers comprising administering plinabulin.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with ICI or other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Cancer species to be treated include a myriad of those claimed including lung cancer (Para 65). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
One of skill in the art seeking to treat recurrent SCLC resistant to PD-L1i, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or other non-PD-L1i, and using the methods described in detail above for the aforementioned reasons.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
7. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11045467 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS), Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16), and Arakawa (Journal of Thoracic Oncology Vol. 15 No. 8. 1-2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating cancers comprising administering plinabulin.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with ICI or other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Cancer species to be treated include a myriad of those claimed including lung cancer (Para 65). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
One of skill in the art seeking to treat recurrent SCLC resistant to PD-L1i, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or other non-PD-L1i, and using the methods described in detail above for the aforementioned reasons.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
8. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11918574 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring) in view of Huang (WO2016130839, 1/13/2025 IDS), Jenkins (British Journal of Cancer (2018) 118, 9–16), and Arakawa (Journal of Thoracic Oncology Vol. 15 No. 8. 1-2).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating cancers comprising administering plinabulin in combination with radiation therapy.
BeyondSpring does not teach a combination therapy regimen with ICI or other agents to treat ICI resistant cancer.
Huang teaches methods of administering the elected species, plinabulin, in combination with ICI (Title). ICI subgenera include inhibitors of CTLA-4, PD-1, PD-L1, PD-L2, LAG-3, among others, and species to be used include “nivolumab…[and] ipilimumab” (Para 13-16; Para 64). Cancer species to be treated include a myriad of those claimed including lung cancer (Para 65). Specific tested combinations include plinabulin, PD-1i, and/or CTLA-4i antibodies (Para 89). Additional agents are taught to be used including taxanes and docetaxel specifically, without restriction as to the order of administration (Para 23; Para 74). Agents may be administered together or separately, one after the other (Para 54). Further therapies to be used include radiation therapy (Para 56).
Huang does not teach administering the taught combinations of plinabulin and ICI to patient identified as having innate or acquired resistance to or progression after any ICI therapy.
Jenkins teaches ICI targeting CTLA-4, PD-1, and PD-L1 is a generally effective method of treating cancer; however, natural progression and acquired resistance are still potential outcomes of treatment. Jenkins describe emerging trends in pre-clinical data to identify innate and acquired resistance in cancer patients (Abstract; Page 9, Para 2). Individual and composite biomarkers are an emergent technology for identifying potential resistances in patients (Pages 12, Left Col, Para 2 and 14).
Arakawa reports a case wherein NSCLC recurred as SCLC following treatment with PD-L1i, durvalumab (whole document).
One of skill in the art, seeking to treat a patient described in Jenkins as identified as resistant to CTLA-4, PD-1, and/or PD-L1 blockades, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or PD-L1i, among others (e.g., treating a PD-1i resistant patient with an ICI antibody of a different subgenera like a CTLA-4i). In doing so, the immune resistance is circumvented and successful treatment would be expected before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Because plinabulin interacts synergistically with such inhibitors (Huang: Para 80, 82, 86, and 89), the same artisan would seek to treat patients with progressed or resistant cancers using the agents and methods identified in BeyondSpring and Huang in conjunction with additional agents and therapies and again reasonably expect success through circumventing the specific ICI resistance.
One of skill in the art seeking to treat recurrent SCLC resistant to PD-L1i, would find it obvious to potentiate an immune response to the tumor through administering ICI which are not resisted by the patient, CTLA-4i, PD-1i, and/or other non-PD-L1i, and using the methods described in detail above for the aforementioned reasons.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
9. Claims 1-3, 5-17, 19, 20, 34, 42, 43, and 47 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12377094 (hereinafter referred to as BeyondSpring).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a method of treating ICI resistant cancer (SCLC) comprising administering a combination of ICI and plinabulin with other agents (docetaxel) and radiation therapy.
Since both claim sets teach a method of administering plinabulin to treat cancer, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of BeyondSpring.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627