DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11-12, 15-16, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Murray et al (US 20230156583 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Murray et al discloses an information sending method (fig. 6), performed by a terminal (devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), and comprising: determining (allow a UE to quickly and efficiently determine the slice available in a cell; paragraph 0055) related information (the UE may search for additional cells on a carrier that is based on the slices supported by the strongest cell; in addition, the UE determines that slices are supported by a cell; paragraph 0061, 0109) of a slice supported by a cell (devices may perform slice-aware PLMN selection, where information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may be reported to the NAS; determine slice-based cell ranking criteria for the serving cell and neighboring cells ; paragraph 0060, 0113); and sending (AMF sends a Registration Accept message to the UE and indicates to the UE that PDU Sessions are associated with the S-NSSAI ; paragraph 0385, 0219; furthermore, the network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access- stratum signaling message; paragraph 0388) the related information to a non-access stratum by means of an access stratum ( Non-Access-Stratum functions related to Mobile Station in idle mode ; Access and Mobility Management Function AS Access Stratum CD-SSB Cell Defining SSB CM Connection Management CMAS Commercial Mobile Alert System CN Core Network CRS-NSSAI Cell Reselection; paragraph 0304).
Regarding claim 2, Murray et al discloses an information sending method (fig. 6), performed by a terminal (devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), wherein the slice comprises at least one of: a slice supported by a cell where the terminal (a connected cell, a neighboring cell of the cell where the terminal is currently located) is currently located (the UE determines that slices are supported by a cell; paragraph 0061, 0109; devices may perform slice-aware PLMN selection, where information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may be reported to the NAS; paragraph 0060); a remapping slice supported by the cell where the terminal is currently located (mapping rules to determine an access category for an access attempt pertaining to a specific slice; the CRS-NSSAI may include a mapping of S-NSSAIs for the HPLMN to S-NSSAIs for the PLMN on which the UE 201 is searching for an acceptable cell; note that the slice supported by the cell an be remapped ; paragraph 0118, 0212); a slice supported by a neighboring cell of the cell; and a remapping slice supported by the neighboring cell of the cell (mapping rules to determine an access category for an access attempt pertaining to a specific slice ; determine slice-based cell ranking criteria for the serving cell and neighboring cells ; triggering cell reselection evaluation based on the S-NSSAI based cell selection criteria ; note that the slice supported by the cell can be remapped ; paragraph 0060 0118, 0260).
Regarding claim 3, Murray et al discloses an information sending method (fig. 6), performed by a terminal (devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), wherein the related information comprises at least one of: an identifier of the slice (a paging message may also include one or more slice identifiers ; a UE 201 may use such a slice identifier to identify or differentiate paging messages intended for a specific network slice; paragraph 0299); an identifier of the cell supporting the slice; signal quality of the cell supporting the slice; whether a network allows to access the slice (RNTI Radio Network Temporary Identifier RRC Radio Resource Control RRM Radio Resource Management RSRP Reference Signal Received Power RSRQ Reference Signal Received Quality SD Slice Differentiator SI System Information; the cell selection or cell reselections may use slice priority ; paragraph 0278, 0299, 0388); and a priority of the slice (S-NSSAIs with priority ; determine the reselection priority of a given frequency that is a function of the S-NSSAI availability;
Paragraph 0169-0170).
Regarding claim 4, Murray et al discloses an information sending method (fig. 6), performed by a terminal (devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), wherein the priority of the slice is determined based on at least one of: an indication of a base station (perform slice-based prioritized Random Access; perform cell selection using slice-based cell selection criteria; determine slice-based reselection priorities handling; a cell for reselection based on S-NSSAI availability; paragraph 0113, 0132, 0141); a quantity of cells supporting the slice; and signal quality of the cell supporting the slice (the indication may include an S-NSSAI that identifies the slice that is barred; an SST or SD value may be provided to indicate to the RAN node that slices that share the SST or SD value are barred; Second, the indication may include UE identifiers or UE Group Identifiers to indicate to the RAN node the identities of the UEs that are barred from the slice; paragraph 0252).
Regarding claim 5, Murray et al discloses an information sending method (fig. 6), performed by a terminal (devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), wherein sending the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum comprises: sending (information element that is sent to the UE during registration, or during a configuration update, is updated to include a unique identifier that identifies the set of definitions that are carried in the IE; perform slice-based prioritized random access ; paragraph 0063, 0119), in response to determining an update of the related information (Slice Specific Mobility Restrictions provided by the AMF in the NAS Registration and Configuration Update procedures may be used to inform the UE of the availability of a slice in a geographical region or frequency layer; furthermore, the CRS-NSSAI may be updated to be based on the Configured NSSAI for the PLMN on which the UE 201 is searching for an acceptable cell; paragraph 0123, 0211), the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum (the UE 201 receives a UE Configuration Update Command to inform the UE 201 that it can transmit data for PDU sessions associated with S-NSSAI.sub.y. ; performing cell re-selection, allowing the UE to determine that slices are supported by a cell; in addition, the network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access- stratum signaling message; Non-Access-Stratum functions related to Mobile Station in idle mode ; Access and Mobility Management Function AS Access Stratum CD-SSB Cell Defining SSB CM Connection Management CMAS Commercial Mobile Alert System CN Core Network CRS-NSSAI Cell Reselection; paragraph 0129, 0388; paragraph 0221-0222).
Regarding claim 6, Murray et al discloses an information sending method (fig. 6), performed by a terminal (devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), wherein sending the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum comprises: sending (AMF sends a Registration Accept message to the UE and indicates to the UE that PDU Sessions are associated with the S-NSSAI ; paragraph 0385, 0219; furthermore, the network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access- stratum signaling message; paragraph 0388), in response to a terminal residing in a reselected cell after cell reselection (the UE 201 receives a UE Configuration Update Command to inform the UE 201 that it can transmit data for PDU sessions associated with S-NSSAI.sub.y. ; performing cell re-selection, allowing the UE to determine that slices are supported by a cell; determine the reselection priority of a given frequency that is a function of the S-NSSAI availability; determining slice-based reselection priorities handling; paragraph 0113, 0132, 0141), related information of a slice supported by the reselected cell (the NAS Layer may order the S-NSSAI’s in the CRS-NSSAI in priority order and, once cell re-selection is completed, the RRC layer may provide the NAS layer with an indication of whether the selected cell supports each S-NSSAI in the CRS-NSSAI; the RRC Layer may have considered the priority information when performing cell re-selection; paragraph 0132) to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum (Non-Access-Stratum functions related to Mobile Station in idle mode ; Access and Mobility Management Function AS Access Stratum CD-SSB Cell Defining SSB CM Connection Management CMAS Commercial Mobile Alert System CN Core Network CRS-NSSAI Cell Reselection; paragraph 0304 ).
Regarding claims 11, 16, Murray et al discloses an information sending method (fig. 6), performed by a base station (the communications system 100 may include a base station 114a and a base station 114b; paragraph 0310, 0312), and comprising: sending related information of a slice supported by a cell (the network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access- stratum signaling message; Non-Access-Stratum functions related to Mobile Station in idle mode ; Access and Mobility Management Function AS Access Stratum CD-SSB Cell Defining SSB CM Connection Management CMAS Commercial Mobile Alert System CN Core Network CRS-NSSAI Cell Reselection; paragraph 0304, 0388) corresponding to the base station to a terminal (note that the UE 201 may autonomously select, or configured by the network (for example a core network function or node such as the AMF, or base station function or node such as gNB) or select in coordination with the network, a slice or a group of slices for paging monitoring and reception purposes; paragraph 0287).
Regarding claim 12, Murray et al discloses an information sending method (fig. 6), performed by a base station (the base station 114a may be configured to transmit or receive wireless signals within a particular geographic region, which may be referred to as a cell paragraph 0310, 0312), further comprising : sending (send a message to the UE and indicates to the UE that PDU Sessions are associated with the S-NSSAI; paragraph 0385-0386) indication information to a terminal to indicate the terminal (the UE 201 may indicate to the network, the requested slice or group of slices by using a random-access resource that maps to the desired or intended or requested network slice or group slice; paragraph 0280) to send the related information to a non-access stratum by means of a access stratum (the network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access- stratum signaling message; Non-Access-Stratum functions related to Mobile Station in idle mode ; Access and Mobility Management Function AS Access Stratum CD-SSB Cell Defining SSB CM Connection Management CMAS Commercial Mobile Alert System CN Core Network CRS-NSSAI Cell Reselection; paragraph 0304 ; paragraph 0129, 0388).
Regarding claim 15, Murray et al discloses a terminal (UE : WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122; paragraph 0365), comprising : a processor; and a memory configured to store a computer program (the steps may be stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, a device, server, or computer system; paragraph 0304), wherein in response to determining that the computer program is executed by the processor (stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless or network communications or a computer system ; paragraph0376), the computer program implements : determining (allow a UE to quickly and efficiently determine the slice available in a cell; paragraph 0055) related information (the UE may search for additional cells on a carrier that is based on the slices supported by the strongest cell; in addition, the UE determines that slices are supported by a cell; paragraph 0061, 0109) of a slice supported by a cell (devices may perform slice-aware PLMN selection, where information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may be reported to the NAS; determine slice-based cell ranking criteria for the serving cell and neighboring cells ; paragraph 0060, 0113); and sending (AMF sends a Registration Accept message to the UE and indicates to the UE that PDU Sessions are associated with the S-NSSAI ; paragraph 0385, 0219) the related information to a non-access stratum by means of an access stratum (send a message or deliver data to the registered UE; furthermore, the network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access- stratum signaling message; Non-Access-Stratum functions related to Mobile Station in idle mode ; Access and Mobility Management Function AS Access Stratum CD-SSB Cell Defining SSB CM Connection Management CMAS Commercial Mobile Alert System CN Core Network CRS-NSSAI Cell Reselection; paragraph 0304 ; paragraph 0129, 0388).
Regarding claim 19, Murray et al discloses a terminal (UE; devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), wherein the slice comprises at least one of: a slice supported by a cell where the terminal (a connected cell, a neighboring cell of the cell where the terminal is currently located) is currently located (the UE determines that slices are supported by a cell; paragraph 0061, 0109; devices may perform slice-aware PLMN selection, where information that can be used to determine the slice availability for one or more PLMNs at the UEs current location may be reported to the NAS; paragraph 0060); a remapping slice supported by the cell where the terminal is currently located (mapping rules to determine an access category for an access attempt pertaining to a specific slice; the CRS-NSSAI may include a mapping of S-NSSAIs for the HPLMN to S-NSSAIs for the PLMN on which the UE 201 is searching for an acceptable cell; note that the slice supported by the cell can be remapped ; paragraph 0118, 0212); a slice supported by a neighboring cell of the cell; and a remapping slice supported by the neighboring cell of the cell (mapping rules to determine an access category for an access attempt pertaining to a specific slice ; determine slice-based cell ranking criteria for the serving cell and neighboring cells ; triggering cell reselection evaluation based on the S-NSSAI based cell selection criteria ; note that the slice supported by the cell can be remapped ; paragraph 0060 0118, 0260).
Regarding claim 20, Murray et al discloses a terminal (UE; devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), wherein the related information comprises at least one of: an identifier of the slice (a paging message may also include one or more slice identifiers ; a UE 201 may use such a slice identifier to identify or differentiate paging messages intended for a specific network slice; paragraph 0299); an identifier of the cell supporting the slice; signal quality of the cell supporting the slice; whether a network allows to access the slice (RNTI Radio Network Temporary Identifier RRC Radio Resource Control RRM Radio Resource Management RSRP Reference Signal Received Power RSRQ Reference Signal Received Quality SD Slice Differentiator SI System Information; the cell selection or cell reselections may use slice priority ; paragraph 0278, 0299, 0388); and a priority of the slice (S-NSSAIs with priority ; determine the reselection priority of a given frequency that is a function of the S-NSSAI availability; paragraph 0169-0170).
Regarding claim 21, Murray et al discloses a terminal (UE; devices may perform slice-based cell selection and reselection, where the UE considers the available slices in a cell when deciding which cell to re- select; paragraph 0056, 0113), wherein the priority of the slice is determined based on at least one of: an indication of a base station (perform slice-based prioritized Random Access; perform cell selection using slice-based cell selection criteria; determine slice-based reselection priorities handling; a cell for reselection based on S-NSSAI availability; paragraph 0113, 0132, 0141); a quantity of cells supporting the slice; and signal quality of the cell supporting the slice (the indication may include an S-NSSAI that identifies the slice that is barred; an SST or SD value may be provided to indicate to the RAN node that slices that share the SST or SD value are barred; Second, the indication may include UE identifiers or UE Group Identifiers to indicate to the RAN node the identities of the UEs that are barred from the slice; paragraph 0252).
Regarding claim 22, Murray et al discloses a terminal (UE), the computer program further implements: sending (information element that is sent to the UE during registration, or during a configuration update, is updated to include a unique identifier that identifies the set of definitions that are carried in the IE; perform slice-based prioritized random access ; paragraph 0063, 0119), in response to determining an update of the related information (Slice Specific Mobility Restrictions provided by the AMF in the NAS Registration and Configuration Update procedures may be used to inform the UE of the availability of a slice in a geographical region or frequency layer; furthermore, the CRS-NSSAI may be updated to be based on the Configured NSSAI for the PLMN on which the UE 201 is searching for an acceptable cell; paragraph 0123, 0211), the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum (the UE 201 receives a UE Configuration Update Command to inform the UE 201 that it can transmit data for PDU sessions associated with S-NSSAI.sub.y. ; performing cell re-selection, allowing the UE to determine that slices are supported by a cell; in addition, the network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access- stratum signaling message; Non-Access-Stratum functions related to Mobile Station in idle mode ; Access and Mobility Management Function AS Access Stratum CD-SSB Cell Defining SSB CM Connection Management CMAS Commercial Mobile Alert System CN Core Network CRS-NSSAI Cell Reselection; paragraph 0129, 0388; paragraph 0221-0222).
Regarding claim 23, Murray et al discloses a terminal (UE), the computer program further implements: : sending (AMF sends a Registration Accept message to the UE and indicates to the UE that PDU Sessions are associated with the S-NSSAI ; paragraph 0385, 0219; furthermore, the network slice configuration may have been received in system information broadcast signaling, a paging message, or a non-access- stratum signaling message; paragraph 0388), in response to a terminal residing in a reselected cell after cell reselection (the UE 201 receives a UE Configuration Update Command to inform the UE 201 that it can transmit data for PDU sessions associated with S-NSSAI.sub.y. ; performing cell re-selection, allowing the UE to determine that slices are supported by a cell; determine the reselection priority of a given frequency that is a function of the S-NSSAI availability; determining slice-based reselection priorities handling; paragraph 0113, 0132, 0141), related information of a slice supported by the reselected cell (the NAS Layer may order the S-NSSAI’s in the CRS-NSSAI in priority order and, once cell re-selection is completed, the RRC layer may provide the NAS layer with an indication of whether the selected cell supports each S-NSSAI in the CRS-NSSAI; the RRC Layer may have considered the priority information when performing cell re-selection; paragraph 0132) to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum (Non-Access-Stratum functions related to Mobile Station in idle mode ; Access and Mobility Management Function AS Access Stratum CD-SSB Cell Defining SSB CM Connection Management CMAS Commercial Mobile Alert System CN Core Network CRS-NSSAI Cell Reselection; paragraph 0304).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 9, 10, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al (US 20230156583 A1) in view of Fu et al (US 20230092926 A1).
Regarding claims 7, 24, Murray et al discloses all the features of claims 1, and 15, except the features of determining an expected slice needed for the non-access stratum; and the related information at least comprising: whether a suitable cell supporting the expected slice exists in a cell where a terminal is currently located and a neighboring cell of the cell.
However, Fu et al discloses the features of determining (the terminal device determines a random access resource for random access based on information of the network slice; paragraph 0096, 0098) an expected slice needed for the non-access stratum (a network slice group required by the terminal device, a network slice type required by the terminal device, a network slice expected by the terminal device, a network slice group expected by the terminal device, a network slice type expected by the terminal device; paragraph 0097, 0150) and the related information at least comprising: whether a suitable cell supporting the expected slice exists in a cell where a terminal is currently located and a neighboring cell of the cell (the terminal device determines a first random access resource as the random access resource for random access, if the terminal device supports a network slice or the network slice of the terminal device matches the network slice supported by the network device; paragraph 0100-0101, 0126). Furthermore, the terminal device determines a second random access resource as the random access resource for random access, if the terminal device supports a network slice and a network slice selected, required, or supported by the terminal device is configured with no corresponding first random access resource or fails to match a slice supported by a network device (paragraph 0102-0103, 0204, 0159). For instance, if the terminal device supports a network slice, but the network slice selected, required, or supported by the terminal device is configured with no corresponding first random access resource, the terminal device performs random access with the second random access resource corresponding to not supporting or not matching a network slice (paragraph 0104-0105). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of to the communication system of in order to provide a method for random access resource configuration, where the first configuration information includes at least two random access resources associated with or corresponding to a network slice.
Regarding claims 8, 9, Murray et al discloses all the features of claim 1, except the features of determining an expected slice needed for the non-access stratum; and sending the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum comprising: sending, in response to inexistence of a suitable cell supporting the expected slice in a cell where a terminal is currently located and a neighboring cell of the cell, the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum.
However, Fu et al discloses the features of determining (the terminal device determines a random access resource for random access based on information of the network slice; paragraph 0096, 0098) an expected slice needed for the non-access stratum (a network slice group required by the terminal device, a network slice type required by the terminal device, a network slice expected by the terminal device, a network slice group expected by the terminal device, a network slice type expected by the terminal device; paragraph 0097, 0150); and sending the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum comprising: sending (a terminal device transmits a random access preamble to a network device via message 1; paragraph 0028-0029), in response to inexistence of a suitable cell supporting the expected slice in a cell (a network slice expected by the terminal device, a network slice group expected by the terminal device, a network slice type expected by the terminal device, a network slice configured for the terminal device, a network slice group configured for the terminal device, a network slice type configured for the terminal device, a network slice allowed for the terminal device; paragraph 0186, 0227) where a terminal is currently located and a neighboring cell of the cell (the network device supports two configurations of random access occasion and preamble; in addition, after detecting the preamble transmitted by the terminal device, the network device transmits a random access response message to the terminal device via message 2, to inform the terminal device of information of a UL resource that can be used by the terminal device when transmitting Msg3, allocate a temporary radio network temporary identity for the terminal device, provide a time advance command for the terminal device; paragraph 0043, 0030-0031), the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum (the network device can distinguish the type of random access selected by the terminal device according to the time-frequency location of the received preamble; determine a first random access resource as the random access resource for random access when the terminal device supports a network slice, where the first random access resource corresponds to at least one of: supporting a network slice, supporting a network slice group, and supporting a network slice type; paragraph0045, 0229-0231). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of to the communication system of in order to provide a method for random access resource configuration, where the first configuration information includes at least two random access resources associated with or corresponding to a network slice.
Regarding claim 10, Murray et al discloses all the features of claim 1, except the features of determining an expected slice needed for the non-access stratum; and sending the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum comprising: sending related information of a suitable slice belonging to the expected slice in the slice to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum.
However, Fu et al discloses the features of determining (the terminal device determines a random access resource for random access based on information of the network slice; paragraph 0096, 0098) an expected slice needed for the non-access stratum (a network slice group required by the terminal device, a network slice type required by the terminal device, a network slice expected by the terminal device, a network slice group expected by the terminal device, a network slice type expected by the terminal device; paragraph 0097, 0150); and sending (a terminal device transmits a random access preamble to a network device via message 1; paragraph 0028-0029) the related information to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum comprising: sending (the terminal device transmits a selected preamble on a selected physical random access channel time-domain resource, and according to the preamble, the network device is able to estimate a UL timing and the size of a UL grant required for the terminal device to transmit message 3; paragraph 0029) related information of a suitable slice belonging to the expected slice in the slice (a network slice expected by the terminal device, a network slice group expected by the terminal device, a network slice type expected by the terminal device, a network slice configured for the terminal device, a network slice group configured for the terminal device, a network slice type configured for the terminal device, a network slice allowed for the terminal device; paragraph 0186, 0227) to the non-access stratum by means of the access stratum (the network device can distinguish the type of random access selected by the terminal device according to the time-frequency location of the received preamble; determine a first random access resource as the random access resource for random access when the terminal device supports a network slice, where the first random access resource corresponds to at least one of: supporting a network slice, supporting a network slice group, and supporting a network slice type; paragraph0045, 0229-0231). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of to the communication system of in order to provide a method for random access resource configuration, where the first configuration information includes at least two random access resources associated with or corresponding to a network slice.
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641