DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 03/13/2026 in which claims 10-18, 20 and 22-29 are pending. Claims 1-9, 19 and 21 were cancelled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 03/13/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 10 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to the claims, further consideration and search were performed resulting in a new ground(s) of rejection presented below. Applicant’s amendment to the title overcomes the specification objection previously set in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 12/17/2025. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 10-18, 20 and 22-29 are pending.
Claims 1-9, 19 and 21 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Therefore, the amended independent claim 10 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claim 20 recites similar distinguishing features as claim 10, thus is also rendered unpatentable. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14, 17, 25 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geirhofer et al (US 2012/0044815), hereinafter “Geirhofer” in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0312178), hereinafter “Wu” and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0146094), hereinafter “Wu ‘094”.
As to claim 10, Geirhofer teaches a data transmission method, applied to a first device (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0050]-[0051], a process for P2P communication including a P2P device B), wherein the method comprises:
performing device discovery based on detecting a preset trigger signal acting on to-be- shared data (Geirhofer, [0025], “A P2P device is a device that is interested or engaged in P2P communication, e.g., a device that has traffic data for another device within proximity of the P2P device”, Fig. 3, [0050], “two P2P devices A and B desire to communicate peer-to-peer”, [0051], “A trigger to initiate formation of a P2P group for P2P devices A and B may be received (block 312)…The trigger may initiate an access procedure used by P2P devices A and B to form a new P2P group. P2P device A and/or P2P device B may then perform peer discovery to detect the presence of one another”. The P2P device performs peer discovery after receiving the trigger where the P2P device desire to communicate (send data) with another peer);
establishing physical links with n discovered second devices (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0052], “P2P device B may detect a proximity detection signal from P2P device A (block 314)”, [0056], “P2P device B may perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure on the assigned resources to establish a communication link with P2P device A”, [0050], “The case involving more than two P2P devices can follow straightforwardly”. A link is established between the P2P device B and A, where more than P2P devices can be implemented resulting in multiple detected P2P devices and links) wherein Wi-Fi direct connection functions of the first device and the n second devices are enabled (Geirhofer, [0042], the P2P communication includes WiFi-direct radio technology. Fig. 3, [0050], “P2P devices A and B desire to communicate peer-to-peer. The case involving more than two P2P devices can follow straightforwardly”); and
sending the to-be-shared data to the target device (Geirhofer, [0025], “A P2P device is a device that is interested or engaged in P2P communication, e.g., a device that has traffic data for another device within proximity of the P2P device”, Fig. 3, [0056], “P2P devices A and B may then communicate peer-to-peer on the assigned resources (block 328)”) based on detecting a selection signal of the target device (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0052], “P2P device B may detect a proximity detection signal from P2P device A (block 314)”. [0053], the proximity detection signal is used to select the P2P group formation (step 316) and [0056] select the P2P communication (step 324, wherein the target device is one of the n second devices (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0052], the P2P device A is one P2P device from the P2P devices in proximity to the P2P device, such as the neighboring P2P group owners), wherein n is a positive integer greater than 1 (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0052], “P2P device B may detect a proximity detection signal from P2P device A (block 314)…P2P device B may also detect proximity detection signals from neighboring P2P group owners”, [0050], “The case involving more than two P2P devices can follow straightforwardly”. One or more P2P devices are in proximity with the P2P device B).
Geirhofer teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 10, establishing physical links with n discovered second devices before a target device is selected for data transmission; for each of the n discovered second devices, each of the physical links is established by exchanging physical layer capability information and performing IP address allocation and information exchange.
However, Wu teaches establishing physical links with n discovered second devices (Wu, [0004], “determining that multiple second UEs are available to operate as a relay for the first UE, wherein the determining is based on measurement data corresponding to communication interfaces between the first UE and each of the second UEs”, Fig. 8, [0069], “one or more sidelinks are available…tune the transceiver 225 to scan various frequency bands to search for a discovery message…the remote UE 110 may have previously transmitted a discovery query and the indication may be received in response to the discovery query”. The UE establishes communication multiple second UEs based on transmitting and receiving data/messages with the multiple second UEs) before a target device is selected for data transmission Wu, [0004], “…selecting a second UE from the multiple second UEs and transmitting a signal to the second UE”, Fig. 8, [0070] “In 810, the remote UE 110 selects a sidelink. The selection may be performed on any appropriate basis. For example, the remote UE 110 may collect measurement data corresponding to the available sidelinks. If there is a single sidelink available, the remote UE 110 may select the sidelink if the measurement data indicates that the sidelink is of adequate quality”, step 815, “Transmit a signal from the relay UE”. The UE first communicates with multiple second UEs and then selects a second UE (relay UE) for sidelink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer to have the features, as taught by Wu, in order to select a sidelink with adequate quality when there are multiple sidelinks available (Wu, [0070]).
Geirhofer and Wu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer and Li do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 10, for each of the n discovered second devices, each of the physical links is established by exchanging physical layer capability information and performing IP address allocation and information exchange.
However, Wu ‘094 teaches for each of the n discovered second devices (Wu ‘094, [0108], “the unicast connection over the sidelink may generally be used for sidelink communications (e.g., D2D communications) between any two UEs 115”, [0110], “UE 115-a may then monitor for and receive the broadcasted service announcement to identify potential UEs 115 for corresponding unicast connections”), each of the physical links is established by exchanging physical layer capability information (Wu ‘094, [0107], the unicast connection may be established based on parameters (e.g., capabilities, connection parameters, etc.) for the first UE 115 and/or the second UE 115 that are transmitted in the respective request message and/or response message. For example, the parameters may include PDCP parameters, RLC parameter, MAC parameters, PHY layer parameters, capabilities of either UE 115, or a combination thereof) and performing IP address allocation (Wu ‘094, [0109], “IP configurations (e.g., IP versions, addresses, etc.) may be negotiated for the unicast connection between UE 115-a and UE 115-b”) and information exchange (Wu ‘094, [0107], the unicast connection may be established based on parameters (e.g., capabilities, connection parameters, etc.) for the first UE 115 and/or the second UE 115 that are transmitted in the respective request message and/or response message. For example, the parameters may include PDCP parameters, RLC parameter, MAC parameters, PHY layer parameters, capabilities of either UE 115, or a combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer and Wu to have the features, as taught by Wu ‘094, in order to establish a unicast connection between two wireless devices (e.g., user equipment (UEs), vehicles, sensors, etc.) that provides efficient techniques for sidelink communications (e.g., V2X communications, device-to-device communications (D2D), etc.) (Wu ‘094, [0066]).
As to claim 20, Geirhofer teaches an electronic device (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0050]-[0051], a P2P device B performing a process for P2P communication), comprising:
a processor (Geirhofer, Fig. 7A, [0101]-[0102], the P2P device 120x includes a processor); and
a memory coupled to the processor, configured to store instructions that can be executed by the processor (Geirhofer, Fig. 7A, [0101]-[0102], [0118], the device includes a memory storing data and program codes executed by the processor to perform the functions of the device), wherein
upon executing the instructions, the processor is configured to implement a data transmission method including (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0050]-[0051], Fig. 7A, [0101]-[0102], [0118], the device includes a memory storing data and program codes executed by the processor to perform the functions of the device, including P2P communications):
performing device discovery based on detecting a preset trigger signal acting on to-be-shared data (Geirhofer, [0025], “A P2P device is a device that is interested or engaged in P2P communication, e.g., a device that has traffic data for another device within proximity of the P2P device”, Fig. 3, [0050], “two P2P devices A and B desire to communicate peer-to-peer”, [0051], “A trigger to initiate formation of a P2P group for P2P devices A and B may be received (block 312)…The trigger may initiate an access procedure used by P2P devices A and B to form a new P2P group. P2P device A and/or P2P device B may then perform peer discovery to detect the presence of one another”. The P2P device performs peer discovery after receiving the trigger where the P2P device desire to communicate (send data) with another peer);
establishing physical links with n discovered second devices (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0052], “P2P device B may detect a proximity detection signal from P2P device A (block 314)”, [0056], “P2P device B may perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure on the assigned resources to establish a communication link with P2P device A”, [0050], “The case involving more than two P2P devices can follow straightforwardly”. A link is established between the P2P device B and A, where more than P2P devices can be implemented resulting in multiple detected P2P devices and links), wherein Wi-Fi direct connection functions of the first device and the n second devices are enabled (Geirhofer, [0042], the P2P communication includes WiFi-direct radio technology. Fig. 3, [0050], “P2P devices A and B desire to communicate peer-to-peer. The case involving more than two P2P devices can follow straightforwardly”); and
sending the to-be-shared data to the target device (Geirhofer, [0025], “A P2P device is a device that is interested or engaged in P2P communication, e.g., a device that has traffic data for another device within proximity of the P2P device”, Fig. 3, [0056], “P2P devices A and B may then communicate peer-to-peer on the assigned resources (block 328)”) based on detecting a selection signal of the target device (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0052], “P2P device B may detect a proximity detection signal from P2P device A (block 314)”. [0053], the proximity detection signal is used to select the P2P group formation (step 316) and [0056] select the P2P communication (step 324)), wherein the target device is one of the n second devices (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0052], the P2P device A is one P2P device from the P2P devices in proximity to the P2P device, such as the neighboring P2P group owners), wherein n is a positive integer greater than 1 (Geirhofer, Fig. 3, [0052], “P2P device B may detect a proximity detection signal from P2P device A (block 314)…P2P device B may also detect proximity detection signals from neighboring P2P group owners”, [0050], “The case involving more than two P2P devices can follow straightforwardly”. One or more P2P devices are in proximity with the P2P device B).
Geirhofer teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 20, establishing physical links with n discovered second devices before a target device is selected for data transmission; for each of the n discovered second devices, each of the physical links is established by exchanging physical layer capability information and performing IP address allocation and information exchange.
However, Wu teaches establishing physical links with n discovered second devices (Wu, [0004], “determining that multiple second UEs are available to operate as a relay for the first UE, wherein the determining is based on measurement data corresponding to communication interfaces between the first UE and each of the second UEs”, Fig. 8, [0069], “one or more sidelinks are available…tune the transceiver 225 to scan various frequency bands to search for a discovery message…the remote UE 110 may have previously transmitted a discovery query and the indication may be received in response to the discovery query”. The UE establishes communication multiple second UEs based on transmitting and receiving data/messages with the multiple second UEs) before a target device is selected for data transmission Wu, [0004], “…selecting a second UE from the multiple second UEs and transmitting a signal to the second UE”, Fig. 8, [0070] “In 810, the remote UE 110 selects a sidelink. The selection may be performed on any appropriate basis. For example, the remote UE 110 may collect measurement data corresponding to the available sidelinks. If there is a single sidelink available, the remote UE 110 may select the sidelink if the measurement data indicates that the sidelink is of adequate quality”, step 815, “Transmit a signal from the relay UE”. The UE first communicates with multiple second UEs and then selects a second UE (relay UE) for sidelink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer to have the features, as taught by Wu, in order to select a sidelink with adequate quality when there are multiple sidelinks available (Wu, [0070]).
Geirhofer and Wu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer and Li do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 20, for each of the n discovered second devices, each of the physical links is established by exchanging physical layer capability information and performing IP address allocation and information exchange.
However, Wu ‘094 teaches for each of the n discovered second devices (Wu ‘094, [0108], “the unicast connection over the sidelink may generally be used for sidelink communications (e.g., D2D communications) between any two UEs 115”, [0110], “UE 115-a may then monitor for and receive the broadcasted service announcement to identify potential UEs 115 for corresponding unicast connections”), each of the physical links is established by exchanging physical layer capability information (Wu ‘094, [0107], the unicast connection may be established based on parameters (e.g., capabilities, connection parameters, etc.) for the first UE 115 and/or the second UE 115 that are transmitted in the respective request message and/or response message. For example, the parameters may include PDCP parameters, RLC parameter, MAC parameters, PHY layer parameters, capabilities of either UE 115, or a combination thereof) and performing IP address allocation (Wu ‘094, [0109], “IP configurations (e.g., IP versions, addresses, etc.) may be negotiated for the unicast connection between UE 115-a and UE 115-b”) and information exchange (Wu ‘094, [0107], the unicast connection may be established based on parameters (e.g., capabilities, connection parameters, etc.) for the first UE 115 and/or the second UE 115 that are transmitted in the respective request message and/or response message. For example, the parameters may include PDCP parameters, RLC parameter, MAC parameters, PHY layer parameters, capabilities of either UE 115, or a combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer and Wu to have the features, as taught by Wu ‘094, in order to establish a unicast connection between two wireless devices (e.g., user equipment (UEs), vehicles, sensors, etc.) that provides efficient techniques for sidelink communications (e.g., V2X communications, device-to-device communications (D2D), etc.) (Wu ‘094, [0066]).
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geirhofer et al (US 2012/0044815), hereinafter “Geirhofer” in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0312178), hereinafter “Wu” and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0146094), hereinafter “Wu ‘094” and further in view of Li et al. (US 2015/0019717), hereinafter “Li”.
Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein the performing the device discovery based on detecting the preset trigger signal acting on the to-be-shared data comprises:
sending first information based on detecting the preset trigger signal acting on the to-be-shared data, wherein
for any one of the n second devices, a physical link between the second device and the first device is established by the second device based on the received first information, or is established by the first device after the first device receives response information fed back by the second device.
As to claim 11, Li teaches wherein the performing the device discovery based on detecting the preset trigger signal acting on the to-be-shared data comprises:
sending first information (Li, Fig. 5, [0067], “At 516, the first discovery function 204a broadcasts or sends a "to be discovered" message over the assigned channel, and waits for the response to the discovery request from a peer or peers in the proximity, such as the second peer 504 for example”) based on detecting the preset trigger signal acting on the to-be-shared data (Li, Fig. 5, [0067], “the first peer 502 wants to start a P2P session in proximity with an application depicted for purposes of example in FIG. 5 as Application 1. At 506, the first upper layer 202a sends the first peer 502 an MLME-START-APP Lrequest to trigger the first discovery function 204a”, [0007], the application is proximity based and is used to transmit data. An application is started for data transmission (step 506) and, after step 506, the “to be discovered” message is transmitted), wherein
for any one of the n second devices, a physical link between the second device and the first device is established by the second device (Li, Fig. 5, [0069], “At 542, the second association function 206b sends an association request to the first peer 502, over the air. The association request includes related context-aware association information. The first association function 206a receives the request”) based on the received first information (Li, Fig. 5, [0067], “At 516, the first discovery function 204a broadcasts or sends a "to be discovered" message over the assigned channel, and waits for the response to the discovery request from a peer or peers in the proximity, such as the second peer 504 for example”, [0068], “At 526, in accordance with the illustrated embodiment, the second general scan function 210B scans for Application1, for example, by scanning Beacons, preambles, paging and/or broadcast messages for peer discovery with context information related to Application1, such as Context Category and/or Context ID for example”), or is established by the first device after the first device receives response information fed back by the second device (Li, Fig. 5, [0069], “At 548, the first association function 206a responds back to the second peer 504 via the air interface. The second association function 206b notifies the second upper layer 202b a confirmation message (MLME-ASSOCIATION-APP1.confirm). Thus, at 552, the first and second peers 502 and 504 may enter the P2P session with each other for Application1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 to have the features, as taught by Li, in order to establish P2P proximity communications which are used in social networking, advertising, emergency situations, gaming, smart transportation, and network to network scenarios (Li, [0002]).
Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 22, wherein the performing the device discovery based on detecting the preset trigger signal acting on the to-be-shared data comprises:
sending first information based on detecting the preset trigger signal acting on the to-be-shared data, wherein
for any one of the n second devices, a physical link between the second device and the first device is established by the second device based on the received first information, or is established by the first device after the first device receives response information fed back by the second device.
As to claim 22, Li teaches wherein the performing the device discovery based on detecting the preset trigger signal acting on the to-be-shared data comprises:
sending first information (Li, Fig. 5, [0067], “At 516, the first discovery function 204a broadcasts or sends a "to be discovered" message over the assigned channel, and waits for the response to the discovery request from a peer or peers in the proximity, such as the second peer 504 for example”) based on detecting the preset trigger signal acting on the to-be-shared data (Li, Fig. 5, [0067], “the first peer 502 wants to start a P2P session in proximity with an application depicted for purposes of example in FIG. 5 as Application 1. At 506, the first upper layer 202a sends the first peer 502 an MLME-START-APP Lrequest to trigger the first discovery function 204a”, [0007], the application is proximity based and is used to transmit data. An application is started for data transmission (step 506) and, after step 506, the “to be discovered” message is transmitted), wherein
for any one of the n second devices, a physical link between the second device and the first device is established by the second device (Li, Fig. 5, [0069], “At 542, the second association function 206b sends an association request to the first peer 502, over the air. The association request includes related context-aware association information. The first association function 206a receives the request”) based on the received first information (Li, Fig. 5, [0067], “At 516, the first discovery function 204a broadcasts or sends a "to be discovered" message over the assigned channel, and waits for the response to the discovery request from a peer or peers in the proximity, such as the second peer 504 for example”, [0068], “At 526, in accordance with the illustrated embodiment, the second general scan function 210B scans for Application1, for example, by scanning Beacons, preambles, paging and/or broadcast messages for peer discovery with context information related to Application1, such as Context Category and/or Context ID for example”), or is established by the first device after the first device receives response information fed back by the second device (Li, Fig. 5, [0069], “At 548, the first association function 206a responds back to the second peer 504 via the air interface. The second association function 206b notifies the second upper layer 202b a confirmation message (MLME-ASSOCIATION-APP1.confirm). Thus, at 552, the first and second peers 502 and 504 may enter the P2P session with each other for Application1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 to have the features, as taught by Li, in order to establish P2P proximity communications which are used in social networking, advertising, emergency situations, gaming, smart transportation, and network to network scenarios (Li, [0002]).
Claims 12-13 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geirhofer et al (US 2012/0044815), hereinafter “Geirhofer” in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0312178), hereinafter “Wu” and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0146094), hereinafter “Wu ‘094” and further in view of Li et al. (US 2015/0019717), hereinafter “Li” and further in view of Bradley et al. (US 2014/0366105), hereinafter “Bradley”.
Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein after the establishing the physical links with the n discovered second devices, the method further comprises:
establishing a logical link with at least one of the n second devices; and
wherein the sending the to-be-shared data to the target device based on detecting the selection signal of the target device comprises:
sending the to-be-shared data to the target device based on the selection signal of the target device being detected and the target device meetings a first preset condition, wherein
the first preset condition comprises that the physical link and the logical link are established between the first device and the target device.
As to claim 12, Bradley teaches wherein after the establishing the physical links with the n discovered second devices (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0044] ln 103, the controller device 100 discovers the accessory device. [0047], at block 308, the controller device 100 performs a Wi-Fi association process to associate to the accessory device 102, in order to establish physical layer and data link layer connectivity between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102. [0073], other wireless devices are also connected to the devices in the network), the method further comprises:
establishing a logical link with at least one of the n second devices (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], at block 308, the controller device 100 performs a Wi-Fi association process to associate to the accessory device 102, in order to establish physical layer and data link layer connectivity between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102. [0054], “the controller device 100 may then establish a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection to the accessory device 102”); and
wherein the sending the to-be-shared data to the target device based on detecting the selection signal of the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0044], “The controller device 100 may receive one or more beacon messages transmitted by the accessory device 102, and/or otherwise discover the accessory device 102”) comprises:
sending the to-be-shared data to the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3B, [0072], “the controller device 100 may connect to accessory device 102 using the received information, and then may stream audio data to the accessory device 102; the accessory device 102 may receive the streamed audio data and generate corresponding audible sound waves”) based on the selection signal of the target device being detected (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0044], “The controller device 100 may receive one or more beacon messages transmitted by the accessory device 102, and/or otherwise discover the accessory device 102”) and the target device meetings a first preset condition (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], [0054], a physical layer, data link layer and TCP connection are established with the accessory device 102), wherein
the first preset condition comprises that the physical link and the logical link are established between the first device and the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], [0054], a physical layer, data link layer and TCP connection are established between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li to have the features, as taught by Bradley, in order to detect that a wireless device is available and is configurable, thereby transmitting configuration information to the wireless device, where the configuration information includes credentials that may be used to access a wireless network (e.g., a password to access a Wi-Fi network) (Bradley, abstract).
Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, further comprising:
establishing the logical link with the target device based on the selection signal of the target device being detected and the target device not meeting the first preset condition; and
sending, by the first device, the to-be-shared data to the target device after the logical link is successfully established.
As to claim 13, Bradley teaches further comprising:
establishing the logical link with the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], at block 308, the controller device 100 performs a Wi-Fi association process to associate to the accessory device 102, in order to establish physical layer and data link layer connectivity between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102. [0054], “the controller device 100 may then establish a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection to the accessory device 102”) based on the selection signal of the target device being detected (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0044], “The controller device 100 may receive one or more beacon messages transmitted by the accessory device 102, and/or otherwise discover the accessory device 102”) and the target device not meeting the first preset condition (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], [0054], a physical layer, data link layer and TCP connection are established with the accessory device 102, while there is no a physical layer, data link layer and TCP connection previously established); and
sending, by the first device, the to-be-shared data to the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3B, [0072], “the controller device 100 may connect to accessory device 102 using the received information, and then may stream audio data to the accessory device 102; the accessory device 102 may receive the streamed audio data and generate corresponding audible sound waves”) after the logical link is successfully established (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], at block 308, the controller device 100 performs a Wi-Fi association process to associate to the accessory device 102, in order to establish physical layer and data link layer connectivity between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102. [0054], “the controller device 100 may then establish a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection to the accessory device 102”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li to have the features, as taught by Bradley, in order to detect that a wireless device is available and is configurable, thereby transmitting configuration information to the wireless device, where the configuration information includes credentials that may be used to access a wireless network (e.g., a password to access a Wi-Fi network) (Bradley, abstract).
Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 23, wherein after the establishing the physical links with the n discovered second devices, the method further comprises:
establishing a logical link with at least one of the n second devices; and
wherein the sending the to-be-shared data to the target device based on detecting the selection signal of the target device comprises:
sending the to-be-shared data to the target device based on the selection signal of the target device being detected and the target device meetings a first preset condition, wherein
the first preset condition comprises that the physical link and the logical link are established between the first device and the target device.
As to claim 23, Bradley teaches wherein after the establishing the physical links with the n discovered second devices (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0044] ln 103, the controller device 100 discovers the accessory device. [0047], at block 308, the controller device 100 performs a Wi-Fi association process to associate to the accessory device 102, in order to establish physical layer and data link layer connectivity between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102. [0073], other wireless devices are also connected to the devices in the network), the method further comprises:
establishing a logical link with at least one of the n second devices (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], at block 308, the controller device 100 performs a Wi-Fi association process to associate to the accessory device 102, in order to establish physical layer and data link layer connectivity between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102. [0054], “the controller device 100 may then establish a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection to the accessory device 102”); and
wherein the sending the to-be-shared data to the target device based on detecting the selection signal of the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0044], “The controller device 100 may receive one or more beacon messages transmitted by the accessory device 102, and/or otherwise discover the accessory device 102”) comprises:
sending the to-be-shared data to the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3B, [0072], “the controller device 100 may connect to accessory device 102 using the received information, and then may stream audio data to the accessory device 102; the accessory device 102 may receive the streamed audio data and generate corresponding audible sound waves”) based on the selection signal of the target device being detected (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0044], “The controller device 100 may receive one or more beacon messages transmitted by the accessory device 102, and/or otherwise discover the accessory device 102”) and the target device meetings a first preset condition (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], [0054], a physical layer, data link layer and TCP connection are established with the accessory device 102), wherein
the first preset condition comprises that the physical link and the logical link are established between the first device and the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], [0054], a physical layer, data link layer and TCP connection are established between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li to have the features, as taught by Bradley, in order to detect that a wireless device is available and is configurable, thereby transmitting configuration information to the wireless device, where the configuration information includes credentials that may be used to access a wireless network (e.g., a password to access a Wi-Fi network) (Bradley, abstract).
Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 24, wherein the method further comprises:
establishing the logical link with the target device based on the selection signal of the target device being detected and the target device not meeting the first preset condition; and
sending, by the first device, the to-be-shared data to the target device after the logical link is successfully established.
As to claim 24, Bradley teaches wherein the method further comprises:
establishing the logical link with the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], at block 308, the controller device 100 performs a Wi-Fi association process to associate to the accessory device 102, in order to establish physical layer and data link layer connectivity between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102. [0054], “the controller device 100 may then establish a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection to the accessory device 102”) based on the selection signal of the target device being detected (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0044], “The controller device 100 may receive one or more beacon messages transmitted by the accessory device 102, and/or otherwise discover the accessory device 102”) and the target device not meeting the first preset condition (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], [0054], a physical layer, data link layer and TCP connection are established with the accessory device 102, while there is no a physical layer, data link layer and TCP connection previously established); and
sending, by the first device, the to-be-shared data to the target device (Bradley, Fig. 3B, [0072], “the controller device 100 may connect to accessory device 102 using the received information, and then may stream audio data to the accessory device 102; the accessory device 102 may receive the streamed audio data and generate corresponding audible sound waves”) after the logical link is successfully established (Bradley, Fig. 3A, [0047], at block 308, the controller device 100 performs a Wi-Fi association process to associate to the accessory device 102, in order to establish physical layer and data link layer connectivity between the controller device 100 and the accessory device 102. [0054], “the controller device 100 may then establish a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) connection to the accessory device 102”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li to have the features, as taught by Bradley, in order to detect that a wireless device is available and is configurable, thereby transmitting configuration information to the wireless device, where the configuration information includes credentials that may be used to access a wireless network (e.g., a password to access a Wi-Fi network) (Bradley, abstract).
Claims 15 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geirhofer et al (US 2012/0044815), hereinafter “Geirhofer” in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0312178), hereinafter “Wu” and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0146094), hereinafter “Wu ‘094” and further in view of Li et al. (US 2015/0019717), hereinafter “Li” and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0082495), hereinafter “Kim”.
Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, wherein the first information further indicates the at least one of the n second devices to: start countdown after the at least one second device receives the first information; and after the countdown times out, disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state.
As to claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the first information further indicates the at least one of the n second devices to: start countdown after the at least one second device receives the first information (Kim, Fig. 19, [0204], “the requesting UE defines a maximum inactivity period and transmits the maximum inactivity period to the peer UE by including the maximum inactivity period in the direct communication request message [S1930]…timing right after signaling transmission is completed) after a wireless connection is established, the peer UE starts an inactivity timer T4abcd. The timer T4abcd corresponds to a timer that operates during a period as much as the aforementioned maximum inactivity period”); and after the countdown times out, disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state (Kim, Fig. 19, [0205] “If the timer T4abcd expires, the peer UE determines that a wireless connection established with the requesting UE is not valid anymore and locally releases the wireless connection [S1960]”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li to have the features, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce a radio resource of a UE and unnecessary power consumption in a ProSe communication process (Kim, [0003]).
Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 26, wherein the first information further indicates the at least one of the n second devices to: start countdown after the at least one second device receives the first information; and after the countdown times out, disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state.
As to claim 26, Kim teaches wherein the first information further indicates the at least one of the n second devices to: start countdown after the at least one second device receives the first information (Kim, Fig. 19, [0204], “the requesting UE defines a maximum inactivity period and transmits the maximum inactivity period to the peer UE by including the maximum inactivity period in the direct communication request message [S1930]…timing right after signaling transmission is completed) after a wireless connection is established, the peer UE starts an inactivity timer T4abcd. The timer T4abcd corresponds to a timer that operates during a period as much as the aforementioned maximum inactivity period”); and after the countdown times out, disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state (Kim, Fig. 19, [0205] “If the timer T4abcd expires, the peer UE determines that a wireless connection established with the requesting UE is not valid anymore and locally releases the wireless connection [S1960]”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu, Wu ‘094 and Li to have the features, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce a radio resource of a UE and unnecessary power consumption in a ProSe communication process (Kim, [0003]).
Claims 16, 18, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geirhofer et al (US 2012/0044815), hereinafter “Geirhofer” in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0312178), hereinafter “Wu” and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2020/0146094), hereinafter “Wu ‘094” in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0095232), hereinafter “Li ‘232”.
Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, further comprising:
sending second information based on detecting the selection signal of the target device, wherein the second information indicates the second devices except the target device to disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state.
As to claim 16, Li ‘232 teaches further comprising:
sending second information (Li ‘232, [0067], wake up indication from the Tx UE. [0059], “At block 515, the Rx UE monitors for at least one wake up indication from at least one other UE”) based on detecting the selection signal of the target device (Li ‘232), [0058], the RX UE communicates with other UEs via groupcast, unicast or broadcast), wherein the second information indicates the second devices except the target device to disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state (Li ‘232, [0067], “the Rx UE(s) may decide to wake up or not for monitoring the scheduling SCI within the coming SL DRX on phase based on the detected wake up indication from at least one Tx UE (e.g., to wake up or go to sleep for the coming one or multiple SL DRX On durations as indicated in the wake up indication)”. A wake up indication is sent by the TX UE to Rx UEs to go to sleep for one or multiple SL DRX On durations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 to have the features, as taught by Li ‘232, in order to save power based on a power saving configuration, or to improve reliability based on power saving or QoS configuration (Li, [0067] ln 15-19).
Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, further comprising:
sending fourth information after a broadcast service ends, wherein the fourth information indicates the n second devices to disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state.
As to claim 18, Li ‘232 teaches further comprising:
sending fourth information (Li ‘232, [0067], wake up indication from the Tx UE. [0059], “At block 515, the Rx UE monitors for at least one wake up indication from at least one other UE”) after a broadcast service ends (Li ‘232), [0058], the RX UE communicates with other UEs via groupcast, unicast or broadcast), wherein the fourth information indicates the n second devices to disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state (Li ‘232, [0067], “the Rx UE(s) may decide to wake up or not for monitoring the scheduling SCI within the coming SL DRX on phase based on the detected wake up indication from at least one Tx UE (e.g., to wake up or go to sleep for the coming one or multiple SL DRX On durations as indicated in the wake up indication)”. A wake up indication is sent by the TX UE to Rx UEs to go to sleep for one or multiple SL DRX On durations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 to have the features, as taught by Li ‘232, in order to save power based on a power saving configuration, or to improve reliability based on power saving or QoS configuration (Li, [0067] ln 15-19).
Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 27, wherein the method further comprises:
sending second information based on detecting the selection signal of the target device, wherein the second information indicates the second devices except the target device to disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state.
As to claim 27, Li ‘232 teaches wherein the method further comprises:
sending second information (Li ‘232, [0067], wake up indication from the Tx UE. [0059], “At block 515, the Rx UE monitors for at least one wake up indication from at least one other UE”) based on detecting the selection signal of the target device (Li ‘232), [0058], the RX UE communicates with other UEs via groupcast, unicast or broadcast), wherein the second information indicates the second devices except the target device to disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state (Li ‘232, [0067], “the Rx UE(s) may decide to wake up or not for monitoring the scheduling SCI within the coming SL DRX on phase based on the detected wake up indication from at least one Tx UE (e.g., to wake up or go to sleep for the coming one or multiple SL DRX On durations as indicated in the wake up indication)”. A wake up indication is sent by the TX UE to Rx UEs to go to sleep for one or multiple SL DRX On durations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer to have the features, as taught by Li ‘232, in order to save power based on a power saving configuration, or to improve reliability based on power saving or QoS configuration (Li, [0067] ln 15-19).
Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 29, wherein the method further comprises:
sending fourth information after a broadcast service ends, wherein the fourth information indicates the n second devices to disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state.
As to claim 29, Li ‘232 teaches wherein the method further comprises:
sending fourth information (Li ‘232, [0067], wake up indication from the Tx UE. [0059], “At block 515, the Rx UE monitors for at least one wake up indication from at least one other UE”) after a broadcast service ends (Li ‘232), [0058], the RX UE communicates with other UEs via groupcast, unicast or broadcast), wherein the fourth information indicates the n second devices to disable the Wi-Fi direct connection function or enter a low power consumption state (Li ‘232, [0067], “the Rx UE(s) may decide to wake up or not for monitoring the scheduling SCI within the coming SL DRX on phase based on the detected wake up indication from at least one Tx UE (e.g., to wake up or go to sleep for the coming one or multiple SL DRX On durations as indicated in the wake up indication)”. A wake up indication is sent by the TX UE to Rx UEs to go to sleep for one or multiple SL DRX On durations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Geirhofer, Wu and Wu ‘094 to have the features, as taught by Li ‘232, in order to save power based on a power saving configuration, or to improve reliability based on power saving or QoS configuration (Li, [0067] ln 15-19).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473