Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Figures 5-8 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Within claim 1, line 5: “connection to further a coupling head” should be “connection to a further coupling head”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kemper (US 20080277366 A1).
Regarding claim 9: Kemper discloses a rail vehicle, comprising:
a carriage body (Para.[0055], lines 1-3);
a central buffer coupling (1; Fig.2) having, as elements, a coupling head (100; Fig.2), a bar-shaped coupling shaft (90; Fig.1) and a spring mechanism (93; Fig.1), wherein said coupling head is configured for connection to further a coupling head of a further rail vehicle (100; Fig.2), wherein said coupling head is connected to a first side of said bar-shaped coupling shaft (Fig.2) and in which a second side of said bar-shaped coupling shaft dips into said spring mechanism and is mounted and fastened therein such that, in an operative mode of the rail vehicle, impact forces or tensile forces acting on said coupling head are elastically absorbed by said spring mechanism (Para.[0052]), which is connected to said carriage body of the rail vehicle, and the impact forces and the tensile forces are transmitted to said carriage body (connected through coupling to rail vehicle; Para.[0055]);
a support coupled to said bar-shaped coupling shaft and connected to said carriage body (4,3; Fig.1), said support configured to vertically support said bar-shaped coupling shaft in order to downwardly support said bar-shaped coupling shaft in a resilient manner in a vertical direction, said support further configured to bear a dead weight of said elements of said central buffer coupling in order to implement a horizontal orientation of said central buffer coupling in the operative mode of the rail vehicle (4,3; Fig.1); and
a collision element disposed between said support and said carriage body and is connected both to said support and to said carriage body (60,40,50; Fig.2), said collision element having a deformation region (41; Fig.2) configured such that kinetic energy, which is transmitted via said bar-shaped coupling shaft and via said support to said collision element in an event of a collision, non-reversibly deforms said deformation region in a predefined manner (Para.[0056]).
Regarding claim 10: Kemper further discloses the rail vehicle according to claim 9, wherein: said carriage body has a front plate; said collision element has a first flange by way of which said collision element is firmly but releasably connected to said front plate of said carriage body by a screw connection (Para.[0055]); said collision element has a second flange (60; Fig.2) which lies opposite said first flange (50; Fig.2); said deformation region (41; Fig.2) is disposed between said first flange (50; Fig.2) and said second flange (60; Fig.2); said second flange is firmly but releasably connected to said support by a screw connection (Para.[0060], lines 7-10); and said screw connection of said second flange and said screw connection of said first flange are configured in such a way that an exchange of said collision element is possible after a collision (apparent from Fig.1).
Regarding claim 11: Kemper further discloses the rail vehicle according to claim 9, wherein said collision element at least partially surrounds said bar-shaped coupling shaft so as to enable a horizontal movement of said bar-shaped coupling shaft to a predetermined extent (Para.[0057], lines 8-13 and Para.[0067]).
Regarding claim 12: Kemper further discloses the rail vehicle according to claim 9, wherein said support at least partially surrounds said bar-shaped coupling shaft so as to enable a horizontal movement of said bar-shaped coupling shaft to a predetermined extent (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 13: Kemper further discloses the rail vehicle according to claim 12, wherein due to the at least partial surrounding of said bar-shaped coupling shaft by said support, a coupling of said support to said bar-shaped coupling shaft is implemented in such a way that, in the event of the collision, said bar-shaped coupling shaft executes a longitudinal movement in a direction of the rail vehicle or in a direction of said carriage body of the rail vehicle (Fig.5c), and as a result said coupling head is pushed against said support and the kinetic energy from the collision is transmitted via said support to said collision element, in order to there trigger a deformation of said deformation region (kinetic energy transferred from coupling head to bearing block including support plate 67 to deformation tube 41; Fig.5c).
Regarding claim 14: Kemper further discloses the rail vehicle according to claim 9, wherein said spring mechanism has energy dissipation elements which are configured in such a way that impact energy, which is transmitted via said bar-shaped coupling shaft to said spring mechanism in the event of the collision, irreversibly plastically deforms said energy dissipation elements for energy compensation purposes (apparent from Fig.5c).
Regarding claim 16: Kemper further discloses the rail vehicle according to claim 9, wherein said support is in a form of a beam support, which are in each case at least partially disposed under said bar-shaped coupling shaft (Fig.1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemper in view of Rosengren (US 0921564 A).
Regarding claim 15: Kemper teaches a rail vehicle with a central buffer coupling (1; Fig.1). Kemper does not teach the use of the coupling being part of a mixed train coupling.
However, Rosengren teaches the use of a mixed train coupling for use in a buffer coupling (Fig.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the rail vehicle of Kemper with the use of a mixed train coupling as in Rosengren since it is obvious to try identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615