DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because the additional/modified claim language by the amendment necessitates new grounds of rejection. Examiner has augmented the prior art rejections in light of Applicant's amendments and/or arguments, as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 6-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US 20240066701 A1) in view of Fujieda (US 20100098324 A1) and Yanagawa (US 20110238215 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a method of determining a point for processing a workpiece, comprising:
receiving an input representing an offset for adjusting a sample workpiece point, the sample workpiece point corresponding to a workpiece point for processing the workpiece (Fig 9, para 0057, 0080, 0098 wherein the deviation of the teaching points are provided based on the 3D model and actual workpiece position; “[0098] FIG. 9 illustrates an image of the operation path, the robot model, the workpiece model, and the point group of the three-dimensional points after the operation information is corrected in the operation program”; “[0080] The distance calculating unit 60 of the processing unit 54 can calculate an actual distance between any point on the workpiece models 65M and 66M and one three-dimensional point 87a included in the simulation image”);
acquirinq, from a 3D camera, a plurality of sample workpiece contour points representing a contour of the sample workpiece (Fig 8-9, para 0400, 0089 wherein “Referring to FIGS. 7 and 8, in an image 84, by imaging the workpieces 65 and 66 with the vision sensor 30, the point group 87 of the three-dimensional points 87a is displayed as three-dimensional position information”; “[0040] The vision sensor 30 according to the present embodiment is a three-dimensional camera that can acquire three-dimensional position information on a surface of an object”);
determining a plurality of model contour points (Fig 8-9, para 0089 wherein the workpiece model and the operation path 86a with points for workpiece processing is provided; “In the image 84, the robot device model 3M, the workpiece models 65M and 66M, the point group 87 of the three-dimensional points 87a, and the operation path 86a are displayed. The operation path 86a is a path generated in the simulation based on the positions of the workpiece models 65M and 66M”);
adjusting the sample workpiece point based on the input, so as to generate an adjusted sample workpiece point (Fig 9, para 0057, 0098 wherein the teaching points are corrected; “By correcting the position and the orientation of the workpiece coordinate system as the operation information, the position of each of the teaching points and the orientation of the robot at each of the teaching points are corrected. The respective teaching points 89b, 89e, and 89g are moved as indicated by an arrow 106, and corrected teaching points 90b, 90e, and 90g are set. When the simulation executing unit 56 performs the simulation, a corrected operation path 86b is displayed”); and
determining the workpiece point based on the adjusted sample workpiece point (Fig 9, para 0098 wherein the corrected teaching points for the operating program is determined based on the adjusted teaching points; “The respective teaching points 89b, 89e, and 89g are moved as indicated by an arrow 106, and corrected teaching points 90b, 90e, and 90g are set. When the simulation executing unit 56 performs the simulation, a corrected operation path 86b is displayed”);
processing the workpiece based on the workpiece point using an industrial robot (para 0098-0100 wherein “In the operation program, the operation information can be corrected by changing the position and the orientation of the workpiece coordinate system without needing to change the position of each of the teaching points and the orientation of the robot at each of the teaching points represented in the workpiece coordinate system”).
However, Yamazaki fails to teach determining, based on a plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, a workpiece matrix for transforming the plurality of model contour points to the plurality of sample workpiece contour points; and wherein determining the workpiece point comprises determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece based on the plurality of workpiece contour points.
Fujieda teaches determining, based on a plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, a workpiece matrix for transforming the plurality of model contour points to the plurality of sample workpiece contour points (para 0058-0060, 0125-0127 wherein transformation matrix between the model points and points of the virtual representation of the object is determined; “[0125] Also in the present embodiment, a predetermined number of feature points are extracted in advance from a three-dimensional model for the components 51 to be recognized, and model triangles are thereby set and registered in the image processing device 20. In the picking process, the three-dimensional coordinates of a plurality of feature points are located using the images photographed by the cameras 1A and 1B, a comparison object triangle and a model triangle that are defined by these feature points are then matched with each other, thereby specifying an optimal transformation matrix for describing the relationship between the feature points of the model and the feature points to be processed”).
Yanagawa teaches wherein determining the workpiece point comprises determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece (Fig 9-11, para 0082-0091 wherein a workpiece section of a groove is determined; “[0089] The target angle posture value and the advance/retraction angle posture value are associated as a welding torch work posture at the groove position coordinates A' in the task program in progress of updating stored in the second storage region 23b”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yamazaki’s teachings of adjusting sample workpiece point, using model contour points and determining the workpiece point to incorporate Fujieda’s teachings of determining, based on a plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, a workpiece matrix for transformation and Yanagawa’s teaching of determining the workpiece point comprises determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece in order to have determining, based on a plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, a workpiece matrix for transforming the plurality of model contour points to the plurality of sample workpiece contour points; and wherein determining the workpiece point comprises determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece based on the plurality of workpiece contour points. Using the transformation matrix would enable matching and aligning the workpiece with corresponding model before processing allowing efficient workpiece processing. Furthermore, determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece based on the plurality of workpiece contour points would constitute combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of efficiently processing workpiece grooves.
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yamazaki further teaches wherein adjusting the sample workpiece point comprises:
acquiring a plurality of model contour points representing a contour of a model associated with the sample workpiece and a model point representing a position for processing the model (Fig 8-9, para 0089 wherein the workpiece model and the operation path 86a with points for workpiece processing is provided; “In the image 84, the robot device model 3M, the workpiece models 65M and 66M, the point group 87 of the three-dimensional points 87a, and the operation path 86a are displayed. The operation path 86a is a path generated in the simulation based on the positions of the workpiece models 65M and 66M”);
adjusting, based on the plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, the sample workpiece point that corresponds to the model point for processing the sample workpiece (Fig 9, para 0057, 0098 wherein the teaching points are corrected; “By correcting the position and the orientation of the workpiece coordinate system as the operation information, the position of each of the teaching points and the orientation of the robot at each of the teaching points are corrected. The respective teaching points 89b, 89e, and 89g are moved as indicated by an arrow 106, and corrected teaching points 90b, 90e, and 90g are set. When the simulation executing unit 56 performs the simulation, a corrected operation path 86b is displayed”).
Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki teaches wherein the input is received via a human machine interface (Fig 8-9, para 0089, 0098 wherein “[0089] FIG. 8 illustrates an image of a point group of three-dimensional points acquired from the output of the vision sensor. Referring to FIGS. 7 and 8, in an image 84, by imaging the workpieces 65 and 66 with the vision sensor 30, the point group 87 of the three-dimensional points 87a is displayed as three-dimensional position information”).
Regarding claim 6, Yamazaki teaches wherein processing the workpiece comprises processing the workpiece based on any of: a gluing operation, a drilling operation, a machining operation, and a welding operation (para 0053 wherein “The teaching points 89b, 89e, and 89g correspond to the welding points 68a, 68b, and 68c at which the spot welding is performed”).
Regarding claim 7, Yamazaki teaches an apparatus of determining a point for processing a workpiece, comprising:
an input reception module configured to receive an input representing an offset for adjusting a sample workpiece point, the sample workpiece point corresponding to a workpiece point for processing the workpiece (Fig 2, 9, para 0057, 0080, 0098 wherein the deviation of the teaching points are provided based on the 3D model and actual workpiece position; “[0098] FIG. 9 illustrates an image of the operation path, the robot model, the workpiece model, and the point group of the three-dimensional points after the operation information is corrected in the operation program”; “[0080] The distance calculating unit 60 of the processing unit 54 can calculate an actual distance between any point on the workpiece models 65M and 66M and one three-dimensional point 87a included in the simulation image”);
a sample workpiece acquisition module configured to acquire, from a 3D camera, a plurality of sample workpiece contour points representing a contour of the sample workpiece (Fig 8-9, para 0400, 0089 wherein “Referring to FIGS. 7 and 8, in an image 84, by imaging the workpieces 65 and 66 with the vision sensor 30, the point group 87 of the three-dimensional points 87a is displayed as three-dimensional position information”; “[0040] The vision sensor 30 according to the present embodiment is a three-dimensional camera that can acquire three-dimensional position information on a surface of an object”);
an adjustment module configured to adjust the sample workpiece point based on the input, so as to generate an adjusted sample workpiece point (Fig 2, 9, para 0057, 0098 wherein the teaching points are corrected; “By correcting the position and the orientation of the workpiece coordinate system as the operation information, the position of each of the teaching points and the orientation of the robot at each of the teaching points are corrected. The respective teaching points 89b, 89e, and 89g are moved as indicated by an arrow 106, and corrected teaching points 90b, 90e, and 90g are set. When the simulation executing unit 56 performs the simulation, a corrected operation path 86b is displayed”); and
a workpiece determination module configured to determine the workpiece point based on the adjusted sample workpiece point (Fig 2, 9, para 0098 wherein the corrected teaching points for the operating program is determined based on the adjusted teaching points; “The respective teaching points 89b, 89e, and 89g are moved as indicated by an arrow 106, and corrected teaching points 90b, 90e, and 90g are set. When the simulation executing unit 56 performs the simulation, a corrected operation path 86b is displayed”);
a processing module configured to process the workpiece based on the workpiece point using an industrial robot (para 0098-0100 wherein “In the operation program, the operation information can be corrected by changing the position and the orientation of the workpiece coordinate system without needing to change the position of each of the teaching points and the orientation of the robot at each of the teaching points represented in the workpiece coordinate system”).
However, Yamazaki fails to teach an adjustment module configured to determining, based on a plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, a workpiece matrix for transforming the plurality of model contour points to the plurality of sample workpiece contour points; and wherein determining the workpiece point comprises determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece based on the plurality of workpiece contour points.
Yamazaki further teaches determining a plurality of model contour points (Fig 8-9, para 0089 wherein the workpiece model and the operation path 86a with points for workpiece processing is provided; “In the image 84, the robot device model 3M, the workpiece models 65M and 66M, the point group 87 of the three-dimensional points 87a, and the operation path 86a are displayed. The operation path 86a is a path generated in the simulation based on the positions of the workpiece models 65M and 66M”).
Fujieda teaches determining, based on a plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, a workpiece matrix for transforming the plurality of model contour points to the plurality of sample workpiece contour points (para 0058-0060, 0125-0127 wherein transformation matrix between the model points and points of the virtual representation of the object is determined; “[0125] Also in the present embodiment, a predetermined number of feature points are extracted in advance from a three-dimensional model for the components 51 to be recognized, and model triangles are thereby set and registered in the image processing device 20. In the picking process, the three-dimensional coordinates of a plurality of feature points are located using the images photographed by the cameras 1A and 1B, a comparison object triangle and a model triangle that are defined by these feature points are then matched with each other, thereby specifying an optimal transformation matrix for describing the relationship between the feature points of the model and the feature points to be processed”).
Yanagawa teaches wherein determining the workpiece point comprises determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece (Fig 9-11, para 0082-0091 wherein a workpiece section of a groove is determined; “[0089] The target angle posture value and the advance/retraction angle posture value are associated as a welding torch work posture at the groove position coordinates A' in the task program in progress of updating stored in the second storage region 23b”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Yamazaki’s teachings of adjusting sample workpiece point, using model contour points and determining the workpiece point to incorporate Fujieda’s teachings of determining, based on a plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, a workpiece matrix for transformation and Yanagawa’s teaching of determining the workpiece point comprises determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece in order to have adjustment module configured to determining, based on a plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, a workpiece matrix for transforming the plurality of model contour points to the plurality of sample workpiece contour points; and wherein determining the workpiece point comprises determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece based on the plurality of workpiece contour points. Using the transformation matrix would enable matching and aligning the workpiece with corresponding model before processing allowing efficient workpiece processing. Furthermore, determining a workpiece section of a workpiece groove of the sample workpiece based on the plurality of workpiece contour points would constitute combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of efficiently processing workpiece grooves.
Regarding claim 8, Yamazaki teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yamazaki further teaches wherein adjustment module comprises:
a model acquisition module configured to acquire a plurality of model contour points representing a contour of a model associated with the sample workpiece and a model point representing a position for processing the model (Fig 2, 8-9, para 0089 wherein the workpiece model and the operation path 86a with points for workpiece processing is provided; “In the image 84, the robot device model 3M, the workpiece models 65M and 66M, the point group 87 of the three-dimensional points 87a, and the operation path 86a are displayed. The operation path 86a is a path generated in the simulation based on the positions of the workpiece models 65M and 66M”);
wherein the adjustment module is further configured to adjust, based on the plurality of model contour points and the plurality of sample workpiece contour points, the sample workpiece point that corresponds to the model point for processing the sample workpiece (Fig 2, 9, para 0057, 0098 wherein the teaching points are corrected; “By correcting the position and the orientation of the workpiece coordinate system as the operation information, the position of each of the teaching points and the orientation of the robot at each of the teaching points are corrected. The respective teaching points 89b, 89e, and 89g are moved as indicated by an arrow 106, and corrected teaching points 90b, 90e, and 90g are set. When the simulation executing unit 56 performs the simulation, a corrected operation path 86b is displayed”).
Regarding claim 9, it is rejected for the same reasons as provided in the rejection of claim 3
mutandis mutatis.
Regarding claim 12, it is rejected for the same reasons as provided in the rejection of claim 6
mutandis mutatis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAGAR KC/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657