DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/25 have been fully considered but they are unpersuasive. The Applicant asserts that independent claim 43 recites the following which is not found in the rejection based on Cao and Kulas:
when determining that a track point of a target operation is located outside the first window, display a first mark in response to the target operation; when determining that a track point of a target operation is located inside the first widow, display a second mark projected by the first electronic device, wherein the second mark moves synchronously with the track point of the target operation, wherein each of the first mark and the second mark comprises at least one of a cursor or content icon, the cursor indicates a location of the track point of the target operation, the content icon indicates operation content of the target operation, and the operation content is the second content or the first content, and a cursor comprised in the first mark is different from a cursor comprised in the second mark. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Cao teaches when determining that a track point of a target operation is located outside the first window, display a first mark in response to the target operation (Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405 when determining that a track point of a target operation is located outside the first window and displays a first mark as a more bolded cursor in window 362 in Fig. 6A in response to the target operation or drag); and when determining that a track point of a target operation is located inside the first widow, display a second mark projected by the first electronic device, wherein the second mark moves synchronously with the track point of the target operation (Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405 when target operation is located inside the first window 405, and a second mark as a cursor in Figs. 6B and 6C is projected by the first electronic device of smartphone (see cursor in Fig. 6C) which moves synchronously with the track point of the target operation of dragging mouse pointer 311), wherein each of the first mark and the second mark comprises at least one of a cursor or content icon, the cursor indicates a location of the track point of the target operation, the content icon indicates operation content of the target operation, and the operation content is the second content or the first content ((Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405; first mark is cursor in second window 362 in Fig. 6A, and second mark is cursor in first window 450 in Figs. 6B-C, with both cursor indicating a location of a track point of a dragging target operation). However, Cao does not explicitly disclose a cursor comprised in the first mark is different from a cursor comprised in the second mark.
Kulas teaches the concept of a cursor comprised in the first mark being different from a cursor comprised in the second mark ([0061], cursor is known to change sizes as the size of the active window). Kulas further explains that an advantage occurs that no tracking and correcting of the pointer positions need to be done when the pointer size changes with the size of the screen window changing. Thus, one skilled in the art would be motivated to use the teaching of Kulas in the system of Cao to has different window sizes between a first window and a second window to have a cursor in the first mark being different (i.e., in size) from a cursor in the second mark for the purpose of not needing to correct first and second pointer (or mark) positions when moving between the different sized first window and second window. Kulas is not being asserted for teaching the above features of claim 43, but is rather asserted as teaching a concept of how to change mark sizes for different widow sizes which when combined with the teachings of Cao results in the cited prior of claim 43 (or independent claim 63) being taught by the combination of references. For this reason, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-46, 58-59 and 62-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (CN 112527221 A, corresponding to US 2022/0342850, hereinafter “Cao”, cited by Applicant) in view of Kulas (US 2004/0014526).
Regarding claim 43, Cao discloses a cross-device content sharing system, wherein the system comprises a first electronic device (smartphone) and a second electronic device (laptop personal computer PC), wherein the second electronic device is configured to display a first window and a second window, the first window comprises first content projected by the first electronic device onto the second electronic device, and the second window comprises second content (Figs. 6A-B, [0266-0283, 0362, 0405, 0605], first electronic device is a smartphone and the second electronic device is a laptop personal computer PC that displays the first window 405 and a second window 362, the first window comprises first content (smartphone "content) projected by the first electronic device onto the second electronic device, and the second window comprises second content (file 1 of icon 366-1 as second content of laptop in window 362); wherein the second electronic device is configured to: send information about a first operation ([0276], step S203, information is “converted input instruction” sent to smartphone first device that first operation as a drag operation of dragging the icon 336-1 as icon 601 to smartphone occurred from window e to window f) to the first electronic device when receiving the first operation (Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283, 0290], icon 601 transmitted to the smartphone first electronic device via dragging from window e to window f when receiving first operation of dragging icon 601 to smartphone first device); and send second content (Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283], icon 366-1 converted to icon 601 when dragged and transferred as a word document as icon 605 in smartphone window 405) to the first electronic device, wherein the first operation comprises dragging the second content from the second window to the first window (Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283, 0290-0291], File 1 as icon 366-1 shown as icon 601 transmitted to the first electronic device when dragging from window e to window f (Fig. 6B, icon 605)); the first electronic device is configured to: receive the information about the first operation (Figs. 6A-B, [0277-0278, 0290-0291], step S204, icon 601 transmitted to the first electronic device when dragging from window e to window f (Fig. 6B, icon 605); smartphone first device receives “converted input instruction” as information about the first dragging operation of icon 601); receive the second content (Figs. 6A-B, [0283], step S207, smartphone first device receives second content as icon 605); and send projection data to the second electronic device in response to the received information about the first operation and the received second content, wherein the projection data comprises the first content and the second content (Figs. 6A-B, [0078-0080, 0082, 0086, 0266, 0269-0283], application data and projection data is shared from one device to another device; projection data is sent to second device to show projection data as icon 605 in window 405 of user interface 72 of second electronic device laptop PC in response to dragging operation and received second content of “File 1” 366-1 that includes first content as icon 605 and second content as icon 366-1); and the second electronic device is further configured to: receive the projection data (Fig. 6B; user interface 72 shows second electronic device laptop PC receiving projection data of icon 601 dragged from window e to window f); and update the first content in the first window to the first content and the second content in response to the received projection data (Figs. 6A-B; user interfaces 71/72 show second electronic device laptop PC receiving projection data of icon 601 dragged from window e to window f and updating the first content in first window 405 to show icon 605 in response to received projection data); and wherein the second electronic device is configured to (Fig. 6A-B, laptop as second electronic device): when determining that a track point of a target operation is located outside the first window, display a first mark in response to the target operation (Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405 when determining that a track point of a target operation is located outside the first window and displays a first mark as a more bolded cursor in window 362 in Fig. 6A in response to the target operation or drag); and when determining that a track point of a target operation is located inside the first widow, display a second mark projected by the first electronic device, wherein the second mark moves synchronously with the track point of the target operation (Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405 when target operation is located inside the first window 405, and a second mark as a cursor in Figs. 6B and 6C is projected by the first electronic device of smartphone (see cursor in Fig. 6C) which moves synchronously with the track point of the target operation of dragging mouse pointer 311), wherein each of the first mark and the second mark comprises at least one of a cursor or content icon, the cursor indicates a location of the track point of the target operation, the content icon indicates operation content of the target operation, and the operation content is the second content or the first content ((Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405; first mark is cursor in second window 362 in Fig. 6A, and second mark is cursor in first window 450 in Figs. 6B-C, with both cursor indicating a location of a track point of a dragging target operation). Cao does not explicitly disclose a cursor comprised in the first mark is different from a cursor comprised in the second mark.
Kulas teaches a cursor comprised in the first mark is different from a cursor comprised in the second mark ([0061], cursor is known to change sizes as the size of the active window). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cao having different window sizes between a first window and a second window to have a cursor in the first mark being different from a cursor in the second mark, such as taught by Kulas, for the purpose of not needing to correct first and second pointer (or mark) positions when moving between the first window and the second window. Regarding claim 44, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the second electronic device is further configured to: send information about a second operation to the first electronic device when receiving the second operation, wherein the second operation comprises dragging the first content from the first window to the second window (Cao, Fig. 5C, [0261], reverse dragging of first content (e.g., thumbnail 303-1 or icon 605) as a second operation from first window d of smartphone first electronic device to second window 362); the first electronic device is further configured to: receive the information about the second operation (Cao, [0261, 0269-0283], smartphone first electronic device receives dragging information about thumbnail 303-1 or icon 605); and send content data to the second electronic device in response to the received information about the second operation, wherein the content data comprises the first content (Cao, [0261, 0269-0283], smartphone first electronic device receives dragging information about thumbnail 303-1 and sends image picture 365 to laptop; or word doc file 605 if dragged like thumbnail 303-1); and the second electronic device is further configured to: receive the content data (Cao, Fig. 5C, [0261], content data of icon 365 is received by laptop second electronic device in window 362); and update the second content in the second window to the first content and the second content in response to the received content data (Cao, Fig. 5C, [0261], content data of icon 365 is received by laptop second electronic device in second window 362 and updates second window to show icon 362 when dragged from smartphone).
Regarding claim 45, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the first content is content that is on a first interface and that is displayed after being generated by the first electronic device, or the first content is content that is on a second interface and that is not displayed after being generated by the first electronic device (Cao, Figs. 6A-B, first content is content in window 405 that is on a first interface of smartphone first device and that is displayed after being generated by the smartphone first electronic device); and the second content is content displayed after being generated by the second electronic device, or the second content is content projected by a third electronic device onto the second electronic device (Cao, Figs. 6A-B, the second content is content displayed after being generated by the laptop PC second electronic device).
Regarding claim 46, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the system of claim 44, wherein the first operation or the second operation comprises at least one of the following: an operation indicated by operation information from the first electronic device, wherein the operation information is information about an operation performed on a first external input device of the first electronic device, and the first external input device is configured to report, to the first electronic device, the operation performed on the first external input device; an operation performed on a second external input device of the second electronic device, wherein the second external input device is configured to report, to the second electronic device, the operation performed on the second external input device; or a touch operation performed on a display of the second electronic device (Cao, Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0272], step S201, touch operation of icon 336-1 and drag event of icon 601 on laptop PC second electronic device).
Regarding claim 58, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the system of claim 43, wherein the information about the first operation comprises at least one of the following: first drag event information, or second drag event information (Cao, Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283], drag event information of dragging icon 601 to smartphone first electronic device); and the first drag event information comprises a location of a track point at which the first operation ends and information about the second content, and the second drag event information comprises a location at which a track point of the first operation enters the first window and the information about the second content (Cao, Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283], mouse pointer performs tracking of drag event information of dragging icon 601 to smartphone first electronic device at window f to provide File 1 at location 605 at and end point of the first operation of dragging and which is information of a location at which the track point of the first operation enters the first window f and information about the second content of File 1).
Regarding claim 59, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the system of claim 58, wherein the send information about the first operation to the first electronic device when receiving a first operation comprises: when determining that the first operation ends, send the first drag event information to the first electronic device (Cao, Figs. 6A-B, [0291], step S203, when detecting that the user drags the icon 336-1 from window e to window f, the laptop may send the file information about the word document to the smartphone. The file icon is used to indicate a drag position of the word document; smartphone uses converted coordinate information that is sent to it by laptop); or when determining that the track point of the first operation enters the first window, send the second drag event information to the first electronic device, and synchronize the first operation to the first electronic device (this sentence is optional because of preceding “or”).
Regarding claim 62, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the system of claim 43, wherein a display area of the second window is comprised in a display area of the first window (Cao, Fig. 6A, display area of the second window 362 is comprised in a display area of the first window 405); or the first window and the second window are located in different display areas (this sentence is optional because of preceding “or”). Regarding claim 63, Cao discloses a second electronic device, comprising (, Figs. 6A-B): at least one processor (Figs. 2A, 6A-C, [0046-0047], processor 110, laptop personal computer PC as a second electronic device); and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the second electronic device to perform steps comprising (Figs. 2A, 6A-C, [0046-0047], laptop personal computer PC includes one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the second electronic device to perform steps comprising): sending information about a first operation ([0276], step S203, information is “converted input instruction” sent to smartphone first device that first operation as a drag operation of dragging the icon 336-1 as icon 601 to smartphone occurred from window e to window f) to a first electronic device when receiving the first operation (Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283, 0290], icon 601 transmitted to the smartphone first electronic device via dragging from window e to window f when receiving first operation of dragging icon 601 to smartphone first device as element 605 in Fig. 6B); sending second content (Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283], icon 366-1 converted to icon 601 when dragged and transferred as a word document as icon 605 in smartphone window 405) to the first electronic device, wherein the first operation comprises dragging the second content from a second window to a first window (Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283, 0290-0291], File 1 as icon 366-1 shown as icon 601 transmitted to the first electronic device when dragging from window e to window f (Fig. 6B, icon 605)), wherein the second electronic device is configured to display the first window and the second window, wherein the first window comprises first content projected by the first electronic device onto the second electronic device, and the second window comprises second content (Figs. 6A-B, [0266-0283, 0362, 0405, 0605], first electronic device is a smartphone and the second electronic device is a laptop personal computer PC that displays the first window 405 and a second window 362, the first window comprises first content (smartphone “Hello” content) projected by the first electronic device onto the second electronic device or laptop, and the second window comprises second content (file 1 of icon 366-1 as second content of laptop in window 362)); receiving projection data from the first electronic device, wherein the projection data comprises the first content and the second content (Fig. 6B, [0284-0289], projection data as “Hello” first content and File 1 second content 605); updating the first content in the first window to the first content and the second content in response to the received projection data (Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0291], first content “Hello” and second content File 1 as element 601 is updated in Fig. 6B and Fig. 6C based on updated content being projected from the smartphone and drag operation of File 1); when determining that a track point of a target operation is located outside the first window, display a first mark in response to the target operation (Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405 when determining that a track point of a target operation is located outside the first window and displays a first mark as a more bolded cursor in window 362 in Fig. 6A in response to the target operation or drag); and when determining that a track point of a target operation is located inside the first window, display a second mark projected by the first electronic device, wherein the second mark moves synchronously with the track point of the target operation (Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405 when target operation is located inside the first window 405, and a second mark as a cursor in Figs. 6B and 6C is projected by the first electronic device of smartphone (see cursor in Fig. 6C) which moves synchronously with the track point of the target operation of dragging mouse pointer 311), wherein each of the first mark and the second mark comprises at least one of a cursor or a content icon, the cursor indicates a location of the track point of the target operation, the content icon indicates operation content of the target operation, and the operation content is the second content or the first content ((Figs. 6A-C, [0267-0270, 0275-0276, 0278, 0288-0291], cursor moves with item 601 to determine track point of target operation as a drag operation of moving item 601 from second window 362 to first window 405; first mark is cursor in second window 362 in Fig. 6A, and second mark is cursor in first window 450 in Figs. 6B-C, with both cursor indicating a location of a track point of a dragging target operation). Cao does not explicitly disclose a cursor comprised in the first mark is different from a cursor comprised in the second mark.
Kulas teaches a cursor comprised in the first mark is different from a cursor comprised in the second mark ([0061], cursor is known to change sizes as the size of the active window). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cao having different window sizes between a first window and a second window to have a cursor in the first mark being different from a cursor in the second mark, such as taught by Kulas, for the purpose of not needing to correct first and second pointer (or mark) positions when moving between the first window and the second window. Regarding claim 64, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the second electronic device of claim 63, wherein the steps comprise: sending information about a second operation to the first electronic device when receiving the second operation, wherein the second operation comprises dragging the first content from the first window to the second window (Cao, Fig. 5C, [0261], reverse dragging of first content (e.g., thumbnail 303-1 or icon 605 in addition to “Hello” for this claim) as a second operation from first window d of smartphone first electronic device to second window 362); receiving content data from the first electronic device, wherein the content data comprises the first content (Cao, Fig. 5C, [0261], content data of icon 365 is received by laptop second electronic device in window 362 from the smartphone first electronic device); and updating the second content in the second window to the first content and the second content in response to the received content data (Cao, Fig. 5C, [0261], content data of icon 365 is received by laptop second electronic device in second window 362 and updates second window to show icon 362 when dragged from smartphone).
Claims 60 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Kulas as applied to claims 43-46, 58-59 and 62-64, and further in view of Tsai (US 2012/0174012). Regarding claim 60, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the system of claim 59, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: after the second electronic device sends the first drag event information to the first electronic device, display a first transparent window in response to receiving the first drag event information, wherein the first transparent window is used to carry out an event of dragging the second content by the first electronic device; and stop displaying the first transparent window. Tsai teaches to generate a transparent window for facilitating the first drag event of the content by the electronic device, and stopping display of the transparent window (Figs. 3 and 6, [0019, 0025, 0040-0044], transparent window W3 is formed to facilitate transfer of content from window W1 to window W2 via a drag event and transparent window is destroyed upon completion of drag event [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cao as modified by Kulas to have wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: after the second electronic device sends the first drag event information to the first electronic device, display a first transparent window in response to receiving the first drag event information, wherein the first transparent window is used to carry out an event of dragging the second content by the first electronic device; and stop displaying the first transparent window, such as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of detecting the drag and drop event in the second window (Tsai, [0004]). Regarding claim 61, Cao as modified by Kulas discloses the system of claim 59, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first electronic device is further configured to: when the second electronic device synchronizes the first operation to the first electronic device, determine an operation of dragging the second content on the first electronic device based on the first operation synchronized by the second electronic device (Cao, Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283], mouse pointer performs tracking of drag event information of dragging icon 601 to smartphone first electronic device at window f to provide File 1 at location 605 at and end point of the first operation of dragging second content of File 1 to display area 405 when laptop second electronic device synchronizes the dragging operation to the smartphone first electronic device); and when determining that the first operation synchronized by the second electronic device ends, determine to end the event of dragging the second content (Cao, Figs. 6A-B, [0269-0283], mouse pointer performs tracking of drag event information of dragging icon 601 to smartphone first electronic device at window f to provide File 1 at location 605 at and end point of the first operation of dragging second content of File 1 to display area 405 when laptop second electronic device ends synchronization with the smartphone first electronic device).
Cao as modified by Kulas does not explicitly disclose after the second electronic device sends the second drag event information to the first electronic device, display a second transparent window in response to receiving the second drag event information, wherein the second transparent window is used by the first electronic device to generate an event of dragging the second content; and stop displaying the second transparent window. Tsai teaches to generate a transparent window for facilitating the first drag event of the content by the electronic device, and stopping display of the transparent window (Figs. 3 and 6, [0019, 0025, 0040-0044], transparent window W3 is formed to facilitate transfer of content from window W1 to window W2 via a drag event and transparent window is destroyed upon completion of drag event [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cao as modified by Kulas to have after the second electronic device sends the second drag event information to the first electronic device, display a second transparent window in response to receiving the second drag event information, wherein the second transparent window is used by the first electronic device to generate an event of dragging the second content; and stop displaying the second transparent window, such as taught by Tsai, for the purpose of detecting the drag and drop event in the second window (Tsai, [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 47-49, 52-54 and 56-57 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 47, none of the cited prior art teaches a system wherein the second electronic device is further configured to: display a first mark and a second mark when determining that a track point of a target operation is located inside the first window, wherein the second mark is transparent and the first mark moves synchronously with the second mark, or the first mark is transparent and the second mark moves synchronously with the first mark.
Claims 48-49, 52-54 and 56-57 are allowable based on their dependency from claim 47.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/J.P.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622