DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions on 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Amendments
Acknowledgment of receiving amendments to the claims, which were received by the Office on 07/15/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In that remarks, applicant argues in substance:
Applicant argues: “Applicant has incorporated the allowable subject matter of dependent claims 7 and 19 into independent claim 1 and the allowable subject matter of dependent claim 19 into independent claims 12 and 14. Thus, claims 1, 12, and 14, and all claims dependent thereon, are allowable.”
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not include all limitations of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0247622 A1) in view of Lefaudeux (US 2009/0079982 A1) in view of Kanamorl et al. (US 2009/0279807 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a color camera system (Sun, Fig. 1), comprising:
a red, green, blue (RGB) color camera device to capture images of an object (Sun, Fig. 1, optical sensor 16, Paragraph 0033, “the optical sensor may be a color optical sensor of the Bayer type or a three-chip color sensor having separate optical sensors, each dedicated to a separate color, e.g. one sensor for red light, one sensor of blue light, and one sensor for green light”, A Bayer type optical sensor is a sensor with red, green and blue color filters on the optical sensor.);
a polarized illumination source to illuminate the object during the capture of the images (Sun, Fig. 1, illuminator 10 and polarizer 12, Paragraph 0029); and
a tunable polarization filter (Sun, Fig. 1, analyzer 14, Paragraphs 0007, 0033 and 0045) positioned between the camera device and the object, wherein the tunable polarization filter is to provide the camera device with selectable linear polarization viewing states for capturing the images of the object (Sun, Fig. 6, Paragraph 0045-0046), and is to provide capability for each RGB pixel to be processed using distinct polarization filter parameters (Sun, Paragraphs 0013-0015, Pixels of the RGB sensor are processed when using distinct polarization filter parameters (rotation angle of the polarizer).); and
a photo sensor to sense light that has been projected through the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter at the beginning of a self-calibration function (Sun, Paragraphs 0033 and 0047-0049, Pixels of optical sensor 16 are photo sensors. Recording intensity of light incident while adjusting the polarizer is considered to be a beginning of a self-calibration function.).
However, Sun does not teach a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter, nor providing capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.
In reference to Lefaudeux, Lefaudeux teaches a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter (Lefaudeux, Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0020-0022).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Sun with the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter as seen in Lefaudeux since it is a known type of polarization filter that allows for changing of the polarization axis and would provide similar and expected results for adjusting the polarization state of light.
However, the combination of Sun and Lefaudeux does not teach providing capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.
In reference to Kanamorl et al. (Hereafter referred as Kanamorl), Kanamorl teaches a red, green, blue (RGB) color camera device to capture images of an object (Kanamorl, Fig. 2, camera 201, Paragraph 0097, Fig. 23, color polarized image capturing section 2001, Paragraph 0188);
a tunable polarization filter (Kanamorl, Fig. 2, polarizer 202) positioned between the camera device and an object, wherein the tunable polarization filter is to provide the camera device with selectable linear polarization viewing states for capturing the images of the object (Kanamorl, Paragraph 0097); and provide capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters (Kanamorl, Fig. 23, Paragraphs 0185-0186 and 0189-0190, The pixels (Red polarized image data 2011, Green polarized image data 2012 and Blue polarized image data 2013 which are the RGB pixel data.) are uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun and Lefaudeux with the method of uniquely processing using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters as seen in Kanamorl to reconstruct the surface shape of an object based on a polarized image (Kanamorl, Paragraph 0001) or provide further functionality to the device.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter includes an electrically controllable liquid crystal light phase retarding element (Lefaudeux, Fig. 1, liquid crystal half-wave plate 18, Paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 2 (see claim 2 analysis), wherein the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter further includes a quarter-wave retarding element (Lefaudeux, Fig. 1, quarter-wave plate 14 or liquid crystal quarter-wave plate 16, Paragraph 0020) positioned over the liquid crystal light phase retarding element (Lefaudeux, Fig. 1, liquid crystal half-wave plate 18, Paragraph 0020 and 0022, “the respective position of the first and the second polarization rotation blocks 12, 18 may be switched”), and a linear polarizer element positioned over the quarter-wave retarding element (Lefaudeux, Fig. 1, polarizer 20, Paragraph 0020), wherein the linear polarizer element is positioned closer to the camera device than the liquid crystal light phase retarding element (Lefaudeux, Figs. 1 and 2, Paragraph 0035, The polarizer 20 of the polarization modulator 10 is closer to sensor 30).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), and further comprising a compensation circuit to perform a self-calibration function to compensate the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter for each of three RGB pixel color channels from the camera device (Sun, Paragraphs 0047-0049, The part of the system used for calibration is considered to be the compensation circuit.).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0247622 A1) in view of Lefaudeux (US 2009/0079982 A1) in view of Kanamorl et al. (US 2009/0279807 A1) in view of Zou et al. (US 2010/0201969 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis). However, the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux and Kanamorl does not explicitly state further comprising a processor and a driver circuit, wherein the processor is to control the driver circuit to provide a control signal to the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter to select the linear polarization viewing states.
In reference to Zou et al. (hereafter referred as Zou, Zou teaches a processor (Zou, Fig. 1, computer 102, Paragraph 0030) and a driver circuit (Zou, Fig. 1, electronic driver 101, Paragraph 0030) wherein the processor is to control the driver circuit to provide a control signal to the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter to select the linear polarization viewing states (Zou, Paragraph 0030).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux and Kanamorl with the processor and driving circuit as seen in Zou since it is a known method of controlling the viewing states of a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter and would provide similar and expected results for changing the polarization states.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0247622 A1) in view of Lefaudeux (US 2009/0079982 A1) in view of Kanamorl et al. (US 2009/0279807 A1) in view of Zou et al. (US 2010/0201969 A1) in view of Ide (US 2003/0189538 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux, Kanamorl and Zou teaches the color camera system of claim 4 (see claim 4 analysis). However, the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux, Kanamorl and Zou does not teach wherein the control signal is an adjustable amplitude oscillating voltage signal, and wherein different ones of the linear polarization viewing states are selected by varying an amplitude of the control signal.
In reference to Ide, Ide teaches wherein a control signal is an adjustable amplitude oscillating voltage signal, and wherein different ones of the linear polarization states are selected by varying an amplitude of the control signal (Ide, Paragraphs 0157-0158).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux, Kanamorl and Zou with the explicit teaching of controlling a liquid crystal polarizer by varying the amplitude of the control signal as seen in Ide since it is a known method for controlling the liquid crystals in a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter and would provide similar and expected results for changing the polarization.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0247622 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0208427 A1) in view of Kanamorl et al. (US 2009/0279807 A1) in view of Kochi et al. (US 2004/0234122 A1) in view of Jensen et al. (US 2019/0381736 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the illumination source illuminates the object at a grazing angle (Sun, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0030)
However, the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl does not teach wherein the camera system comprises a photometric stereo camera system, wherein the illumination source illuminates the object at a grazing angle from multiple positions around the object, and wherein each of the captured images is at least 50 Megapixels.
In reference to Kochi et al. (hereafter referred as Kochi), Kochi teaches wherein a camera system comprises a photometric stereo camera system (Kochi, Fig. 1, stereo-photographing unit 90, Paragraph 0022), wherein the camera system captures images from multiple positions around the object (Kochi, Fig. 1, relative position changing part 4, Paragraph 0023).
These arts are analogous since they are related imaging devices capturing shapes of surfaces of objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl with the stereo camera system and relative position changing part as seen in Kochi to allow the device to capture 3D images of the object surface from multiple positions. Further, by rotating the object, the illumination source would illuminate the object at a grazing angle from multiple positions around the object. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the illumination source illuminates the object at a grazing angle from multiple positions around the object” is met.
However, the combination of Sun, Lee, Kanamorl and Kochi does not teach wherein each of the captured images is at least 50 Megapixels.
In reference to Jensen et al. (hereafter referred as Jensen), Jensen teaches capturing images for surface measurements (Jensen, Paragraph 0002), wherein each of the captured images is at least 50 Megapixels (Jensen, Paragraph 00091).
These arts are analogous since they are related imaging devices capturing shapes of surfaces of objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun, Lee, Kanamorl and Kochi with the use of 50-megapixel cameras as seen in Jensen to allow the device to capture high-resolution images.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0247622 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0208427 A1) in view of Kanamorl et al. (US 2009/0279807 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a color camera system (Sun, Fig. 1), comprising:
a red, green, blue (RGB) color camera device to capture images of an object (Sun, Fig. 1, optical sensor 16, Paragraph 0033, “the optical sensor may be a color optical sensor of the Bayer type or a three-chip color sensor having separate optical sensors, each dedicated to a separate color, e.g. one sensor for red light, one sensor of blue light, and one sensor for green light”, A Bayer type optical sensor is a sensor with red, green and blue color filters on the optical sensor.);
a polarized illumination source to illuminate the object during the capture of the images (Sun, Fig. 1, illuminator 10 and polarizer 12, Paragraph 0029); and
a tunable polarization filter (Sun, Fig. 1, analyzer 14, Paragraphs 0007, 0033 and 0045) positioned between the camera device and the object, wherein the tunable polarization filter is to provide the camera device with selectable linear polarization viewing states for capturing the images of the object (Sun, Fig. 6, Paragraph 0045-0046), and is to provide capability for each RGB pixel to be processed using distinct polarization filter parameters (Sun, Paragraphs 0013-0015, Pixels of the RGB sensor are processed when using distinct polarization filter parameters (rotation angle of the polarizer).); and
a photo sensor to sense light that has been projected through the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter at the beginning of a self-calibration function (Sun, Paragraphs 0033 and 0047-0049, Pixels of optical sensor 16 are photo sensors. Recording intensity of light incident while adjusting the polarizer is considered to be a beginning of a self-calibration function.).
However, Sun does not teach a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter, nor providing capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.
In reference to Lee et al. (hereafter referred as Lee), Lee teaches a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter (Lee, Figs. 4-5 and 7, Paragraphs 0048-0051).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Sun with the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter as seen in Lee since it is a known type of polarization filter that allows for changing of the polarization axis and would provide similar and expected results for adjusting the polarization state of light and can be rotated ranging from 0 degree to 180 degree with microsecond to millisecond response time (Lee, Paragraph 0049).
However, the combination of Sun and Lee does not teach providing capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.
In reference to Kanamorl, Kanamorl teaches a red, green, blue (RGB) color camera device to capture images of an object (Kanamorl, Fig. 2, camera 201, Paragraph 0097, Fig. 23, color polarized image capturing section 2001, Paragraph 0188);
a tunable polarization filter (Kanamorl, Fig. 2, polarizer 202) positioned between the camera device and an object, wherein the tunable polarization filter is to provide the camera device with selectable linear polarization viewing states for capturing the images of the object (Kanamorl, Paragraph 0097); and provide capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters (Kanamorl, Fig. 23, Paragraphs 0185-0186 and 0189-0190, The pixels (Red polarized image data 2011, Green polarized image data 2012 and Blue polarized image data 2013 which are the RGB pixel data.) are uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun and Lee with the method of uniquely processing using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters as seen in Kanamorl to reconstruct the surface shape of an object based on a polarized image (Kanamorl, Paragraph 0001) or provide greater functionality to the device.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter includes an electrically controllable liquid crystal light phase retarding element (Lee, Figs. 4-5, Paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), and further comprising a compensation circuit to perform a self-calibration function to compensate the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter for each of three RGB pixel color channels from the camera device (Sun, Paragraphs 0047-0049, The part of the system used for calibration is considered to be the compensation circuit.).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0247622 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0208427 A1) in view of Kanamorl et al. (US 2009/0279807 A1) in view of Zou et al. (US 2010/0201969 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), and further comprising a processor, wherein the processor is to provide a control signal to the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter to select the linear polarization viewing states (Lee, Fig. 3B, Controller 34, Paragraph 0054-0055).
However, the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl does not explicitly teach a driver circuit; nor wherein the processor is to control the driver circuit to provide the control signal.
In reference to Zou et al. (hereafter referred as Zou, Zou teaches a processor (Zou, Fig. 1, computer 102, Paragraph 0030) and a driver circuit (Zou, Fig. 1, electronic driver 101, Paragraph 0030) wherein the processor is to control the driver circuit to provide a control signal to the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter to select the linear polarization viewing states (Zou, Paragraph 0030).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun, Lefaudeux and Kanamorl with the explicit teaching of a driving circuit as seen in Zou since it is a known method of controlling the viewing states of a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter and would provide similar and expected results for changing the polarization states.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sun, Lee, Kanamorl and Zou teaches the color camera system of claim 4 (see claim 4 analysis), wherein the control signal is an adjustable amplitude oscillating voltage signal, and wherein different ones of the linear polarization viewing states are selected by varying an amplitude of the control signal (Lee, Paragraph 0049 and 0054).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0247622 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0208427 A1) in view of Kanamorl et al. (US 2009/0279807 A1) in view of Kochi et al. (US 2004/0234122 A1) in view of Jensen et al. (US 2019/0381736 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the illumination source illuminates the object at a grazing angle (Sun, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0030)
However, the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl does not teach wherein the camera system comprises a photometric stereo camera system, wherein the illumination source illuminates the object at a grazing angle from multiple positions around the object, and wherein each of the captured images is at least 50 Megapixels.
In reference to Kochi et al. (hereafter referred as Kochi), Kochi teaches wherein a camera system comprises a photometric stereo camera system (Kochi, Fig. 1, stereo-photographing unit 90, Paragraph 0022), wherein the camera system captures images from multiple positions around the object (Kochi, Fig. 1, relative position changing part 4, Paragraph 0023).
These arts are analogous since they are related imaging devices capturing shapes of surfaces of objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun, Lee and Kanamorl with the stereo camera system and relative position changing part as seen in Kochi to allow the device to capture 3D images of the object surface from multiple positions. Further, by rotating the object, the illumination source would illuminate the object at a grazing angle from multiple positions around the object. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the illumination source illuminates the object at a grazing angle from multiple positions around the object” is met.
However, the combination of Sun, Lee, Kanamorl and Kochi does not teach wherein each of the captured images is at least 50 Megapixels.
In reference to Jensen et al. (hereafter referred as Jensen), Jensen teaches capturing images for surface measurements (Jensen, Paragraph 0002), wherein each of the captured images is at least 50 Megapixels (Jensen, Paragraph 00091).
These arts are analogous since they are related imaging devices capturing shapes of surfaces of objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun, Lee, Kanamorl and Kochi with the use of 50-megapixel cameras as seen in Jensen to allow the device to capture high-resolution images.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0247622 A1) in view of Ishimatsu (JP 2021005002 A, Translation provided) in view of Kanamorl et al. (US 2009/0279807 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a color camera system (Sun, Fig. 1), comprising:
a red, green, blue (RGB) color camera device to capture images of an object (Sun, Fig. 1, optical sensor 16, Paragraph 0033, “the optical sensor may be a color optical sensor of the Bayer type or a three-chip color sensor having separate optical sensors, each dedicated to a separate color, e.g. one sensor for red light, one sensor of blue light, and one sensor for green light”, A Bayer type optical sensor is a sensor with red, green and blue color filters on the optical sensor.);
a polarized illumination source to illuminate the object during the capture of the images (Sun, Fig. 1, illuminator 10 and polarizer 12, Paragraph 0029); and
a tunable polarization filter (Sun, Fig. 1, analyzer 14, Paragraphs 0007, 0033 and 0045) positioned between the camera device and the object, wherein the tunable polarization filter is to provide the camera device with selectable linear polarization viewing states for capturing the images of the object (Sun, Fig. 6, Paragraph 0045-0046), and is to provide capability for each RGB pixel to be processed using distinct polarization filter parameters (Sun, Paragraphs 0013-0015, Pixels of the RGB sensor are processed when using distinct polarization filter parameters (rotation angle of the polarizer).); and
a photo sensor to sense light that has been projected through the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter at the beginning of a self-calibration function (Sun, Paragraphs 0033 and 0047-0049, Pixels of optical sensor 16 are photo sensors. Recording intensity of light incident while adjusting the polarizer is considered to be a beginning of a self-calibration function.).
However, Sun does not teach a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter, nor providing capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.
In reference to Ishimatsu, Ishimatsu teaches a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter (Ishimatsu, Fig. 1, Polarization acquiring means 20 (first λ/4 plate 1, first variable phase plate 2, λ/2 plate 3, second variable phase plate 4, second λ/4 plate 5, polarizing plate 6, Page 2, Lines 37-51, Page 4, Lines 26-29, Polarization direction is changed by changing the phase difference between the first variable phase plate and the second variable phase plate.).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Sun with the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter as seen in Ishimatsu since it is a known type of polarization filter that allows for changing of the polarization axis and would provide similar and expected results for adjusting the polarization state of light.
However, the combination of Sun and Ishimatsu does not teach providing capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.
In reference to Kanamorl et al. (Hereafter referred as Kanamorl), Kanamorl teaches a red, green, blue (RGB) color camera device to capture images of an object (Kanamorl, Fig. 2, camera 201, Paragraph 0097, Fig. 23, color polarized image capturing section 2001, Paragraph 0188);
a tunable polarization filter (Kanamorl, Fig. 2, polarizer 202) positioned between the camera device and an object, wherein the tunable polarization filter is to provide the camera device with selectable linear polarization viewing states for capturing the images of the object (Kanamorl, Paragraph 0097); and provide capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters (Kanamorl, Fig. 23, Paragraphs 0185-0186 and 0189-0190, The pixels (Red polarized image data 2011, Green polarized image data 2012 and Blue polarized image data 2013 which are the RGB pixel data.) are uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.).
These arts are analogous since they are all related to imaging devices using polarizers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the combination of Sun and Ishimatsu with the method of uniquely processing using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters as seen in Kanamorl to reconstruct the surface shape of an object based on a polarized image (Kanamorl, Paragraph 0001) or provide further functionality to the device.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sun, Ishimatsu and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter includes an electrically controllable liquid crystal light phase retarding element (Ishimatsu, Fig. 1, Polarization acquiring means 20 (first λ/4 plate 1, first variable phase plate 2, λ/2 plate 3, second variable phase plate 4, second λ/4 plate 5, polarizing plate 6, Page 2, Lines 37-51,” the first variable phase plate and the second variable phase plate are composed of liquid crystal elements”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sun, Ishimatsu and Kanamorl teaches the color camera system of claim 2 (see claim 2 analysis), wherein the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter further includes a quarter-wave retarding element positioned over the liquid crystal light phase retarding element, and a linear polarizer element positioned over the quarter-wave retarding element (Ishimatsu, Fig. 1, second variable phase plate 4, second λ/4 plate 5, polarizing plate 6), wherein the linear polarizer element is positioned closer to the camera device than the liquid crystal light phase retarding element (Ishimatsu, Fig. 1, image pickup device 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regard to claim 7, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The color camera system of claim 6, wherein the compensation circuit comprises red, green, and blue light emitting diodes (LEDs) with linear polarization to successively project red, green, and blue light through the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter in any given order.”
Claims 8-10 depend of and further limit claim 7. Therefore, claims 8-10 are considered to be allowable for the same reasons as claim 7.
Claims 12-18 and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As per claims 12, the closest known prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest alone or in reasonable combination, the limitations (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“illuminating an object to be imaged with polarized light; receiving, with a liquid crystal tunable polarization filter, light reflected from the illuminated object; determining, with a photo sensor, at the beginning of a self-calibration function of the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter whether the polarized light is on; causing, with a processor, the liquid crystal tunable polarization filter to provide a plurality of different linear polarization viewing states to an imaging device based on the received light; and for each of the linear polarization viewing states, capturing an image of the object with the imaging device and separately processing red, green, blue (RGB) color state polarization information from the images.”
Claim 13 depends on, and further limit, independent claim 12. Therefore, claim 13 is considered allowable for the same reasons.
As per claims 14, the closest known prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest alone or in reasonable combination, the limitations (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“a red, green, blue (RGB) color image capture device to capture images of an object; a light source to direct polarized light at the object during the capture of the images; a liquid crystal polarization filter positioned between the image capture device and the object; a photo sensor for use at the beginning of a self-calibration function of the liquid crystal polarization filter to determine if the light source is on; and a processor to cause the liquid crystal polarization filter to provide the image capture device with selectable linear polarization viewing states for capturing the images of the object, and is to provide capability for each RGB pixel to be uniquely processed using RGB color distinct polarization filter parameters.”
Claims 15-18 and 20 depend on, and further limit, independent claim 14. Therefore, claims 15-18 and 20 are considered allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESLEY J CHIU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639