DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on November 12, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 19-25 are withdrawn for further consideration as being drawn to nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the spacing between the words “adhering” and “step” should be corrected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites two instances of the phrase “inner tubular member”, it cannot be readily determined in the claim whether the second instance and first instance of the phrase refer to the same inner tubular member or distinct inner tubular member.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation “subsequent in time to the adhering step, depositing a hydrophilic material on the conduit” renders the claim indefinite because the adhering step as recited in claim 1 forms the conduit, as such subsequent to adhering step, a conduit does not exist, thus rendering the claim indefinite. Claims 9 and 10 are likewise rejected, because they include all limitations and deficiencies of claim 8.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. US 20110004046 A1 (“Campbell”)
Regarding claim 1, Campbell discloses a method of manufacturing ([0027]) an expandable and collapsible blood conduit (Fig. 1, cannula 40, [0066]) for a catheter blood pump (Fig. 1, blood pump 10), comprising: depositing a coaling (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, coating 50) on inner and outer surfaces of a scaffold (Fig. 4, mesh 48) in an expanded configuration to create a coated scaffold ([0072-0073] mesh 48 is formed and shaped set to an expanded shape and, once formed, elastomeric coating 50 is applied to the inner and outer surface of the mesh to form expandable portion 44, e.g., by solution casting), the coated scaffold (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, expandable portion 44) comprising a plurality of coated elongate members that define a plurality of apertures (Fig. 3, Fig. 4, mesh 48 defines a plurality of apertures).
Although Campbell does not explicitly disclose positioning the coated scaffold about an inner tubular member; and adhering the coating on the coated scaffold to the inner tubular member to form a conduit, Campbell does discloses alternative embodiments for forming the conduit in [0073] “Coating 50 (which can be, for example, biocompatible, corrosion resistant and/or flow improving) can be formed by a solution casting method, by spray application over a mandrel or by other techniques known in the art, including forming the coating as a separate tube, fitting it over the mesh and heat shrinking it to produce a tight fit”. In view of these teachings, at the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to combine the embodiments of Campbell by forming the coating (50) as a separate tube/tubular member, positioning the coated scaffold about the inner tubular member and adhering the coating on the coated scaffold to the inner tubular member in order to form the conduit, since it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009 and the modification would allow one to achieve a desired thickness of the coating as Campbell teaches in [0073] that the thickness can vary.
Regarding claim 2, see [0073], Campbell teaches spray application of the coating, which would include an inner and outer surface of the scaffold.
Regarding claim 4, Campbell discloses an alternative embodiment in [0073] “spray application over a mandrel” is a process that would involve disposing the scaffold about a mandrel to apply the coating by spraying. Combining the embodiments of solution casting of the scaffold that would form a coating on the scaffold, followed by spray application of the coating over a mandrel of Campbell would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, because it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art, Boston Scientific v. Cordis Fed. Cir. 2009. In the modified method, depositing the coating occurs while the scaffold is disposed about a mandrel such that inner surfaces of elongate members of the scaffold are not in contact with the mandrel owing to the initial coating via solution coating that would form a layer between the mandrel and the inner surfaces of the elongate members of the scaffold.
Regarding claim 6, Campbell discloses the use of a mandrel to form the scaffold (mesh 48) to a desired shape [0072]. At the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to position the coated scaffold and an inner member (coating as separate tube) as discussed in claim 1 above about a mandrel, so as to maintain the shape of the scaffold to the desired shape during and after heat shrinking process.
Regarding claim 12, Campbell teaches in [0073] fitting coating as a separate tube over the mesh and heat shrinking to form a tight fit, the separate tube undergoes heat shrinking, hence a heat shrink tubing. At the time of filing the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to arrange a heat shrink tube over the coated scaffold, and heat shrink to form a tight fit so as to adjust the thickness of the coating to a desired thickness. In the modified method, the process of heat shrinking would cause bonding of the scaffold coating to the inner tubular member, as both the coating and inner tubular member are heat shrinkable materials.
Regarding claim 13, Campbell disclose that the scaffold (mesh) comprise struts ([0078] “Inlet struts 56 and discharge struts 58 can be part of mesh 48”), owing to the struts being part of the scaffold, it follows that the depositing step as discussed in claim 1 above would deposit the coating on the outer surfaces of the struts.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. US 20060105099 A1 (“Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 3, Campbell does not explicitly disclose wherein depositing the coating comprises spraying the coating while rotating the scaffold, however, Takahashi discloses in [0066] spin coating and spraying by using a spray as art recognized alternatives techniques of applying a coating.
Inasmuch as Takahashi disclose spin coating and spraying by using a spray as art recognized alternatives techniques of coating, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the exercise art at the time of filing the invention, to substitute one for the other, In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301, 213 USPQ 532, 536 (CCPA 1982), in the instant case, substitute spray coating disclosed by Campbell with spin coating as taught by Takahashi, to perform the same function of depositing the coating and for the added advantage of more uniform coating that can be achieved by spin coating.
Claims 5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Korkuch et al. US 20200054861 A1 (“Korkuch”).
Regarding claims 5, 7 and 8, Campbell does not explicitly disclose a hydrophilic material and therefore fails to disclose limitations of claims 7-10. However, Korkuch teaches in [0035] that it was known in the prior art to coat inner and outer surface of a device that is inserted into a blood vessel with a hydrophilic coating, to permit a reduction of frictional forces and avoid clotting by allowing adequate blood flow ([0035]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Campbell to include a hydrophilic material on the coating, or include a hydrophilic material with the inner tubular member or deposit a hydrophilic material on the conduit subsequent to the adhering step, so as to permit a reduction of frictional forces and avoid clotting by allowing adequate blood flow by the expandable and collapsible blood conduit during use.
Regarding claim 9, in view of the teachings of Korkuch in [0167], the presence of a hydrophilic coating would minimize or reduce a sheathing force owing to reduction of frictional forces, while Campbell in view of Korkuch does not explicitly disclose the size of sheath as being not greater than 14F, however this is a known and common size of a sheath used to place medical devices into the body, as such the sheath in this case would not be greater than 14F.
Regarding claim 10, Campbell disclose that the scaffold (mesh) comprise struts ([0078] “Inlet struts 56 and discharge struts 58 can be part of mesh 48”), owing to the struts being part of the scaffold, it follows that the depositing the hydrophilic material on the conduit would also deposit the hydrophilic material onto the one or more struts.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martakos et al. US 20080118550 A1 (“Martakos”).
Regarding claim 11, Campbell does not explicitly disclose performing an etching process on the scaffold earlier in time than the depositing step. However, Martakos discloses in [0101] that it was known in the prior art to surface treat a mesh by etching prior to application of coating, to improve adhesive force between a mesh and coating, diminish coating flow and pooling, so as to achieve a more continuous coating in all areas of the mesh.
In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to perform etching on the scaffold of Campbell earlier in time that the deposition step, because etching would improve adhesive force between the scaffold and coating, diminish coating flow and pooling, thus resulting with a more continuous coating of the scaffold.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Heissel et al. US 20150005704 A1, [0004] regarding introducer catheter or sheath and [0059] regarding feasible sizes of sheaths.
/BONIFACE N NGANGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797