DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In the present application, claims 1-18 are currently pending. Claims 1-18 have been amended and are examined below.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only and cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 17 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “,with,” is in line 3 and should be omitted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 10, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, the term “substantially” in line 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore it is unclear how flat the surface needs to be to meet the standard of having a “substantially” flat surface.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the same" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 15, the term “substantially” in line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore it is unclear how uniform the wall thickness needs to be to meet the standard of having a “substantially” uniform wall thickness.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a valve" in line 2. However claim 1, from which claim 18 directly depends from, also introduces the term “a valve.” Therefore, it is unclear whether the term in claim 18 is introducing a new valve are simply referencing the valve of claim 1. It is suggested to amend the limitation to state, “the valve.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a medical instrument" in line 1. However claim 1, from which claim 18 directly depends from, also introduces the term “a medical instrument.” Therefore, it is unclear whether the term in claim 18 is introducing a new medical instrument are simply referencing the medical instrument of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipate by Teppei Tsuruta (US2017/0055942) hereinafter Tsuruta.
Regarding Claim 1, Tsuruta discloses a valve (Figs. 1-7 suction button 26), in particular a suction valve (Figs. 1-7 suction button 26) , for a medical instrument (Fig. 1 endoscope 2), the valve (Figs. 1-7 suction button 26)comprising:
valve housing (Figs. 1-7 cylinder unit 261) with a cavity (Figs. 1-7 cavity within endoscope 2 housing cylinder unit 261) which extends in a longitudinal direction and into which, on a longitudinal side of the cavity (Figs. 1-7 cavity within endoscope 2 housing cylinder unit 261), a first outlet (Figs. 1-7 first communicating portion 261 c) and a second outlet (Figs. 1-7 second communicating portion 261 d) open in a manner offset from one another in the longitudinal direction; and
valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262) which is displaceable in the cavity (Figs. 1-7 cavity within endoscope 2 housing cylinder unit 261) in the longitudinal direction between an open position (Figs. 3and 4) and a closed position (fig. 2) of the valve (Figs. 1-7 suction button 26) and which has a recess (Figs. 1-7 recess 262 c) via which, in the open position (Figs. 3and 4), the first outlet Figs. 1-7 first communicating portion 261 c) and the second outlet (Figs. 1-7 second communicating portion 261 d) are fluidically connected to one another, characterized in that wherein the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262) has a first seal (Figs. 1-7 O-ring 30) which surrounds the recess (Figs. 1-7 recess 262 c) all round.
Regarding Claim 2, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262) has a closure region (see annotated Fig. 2) offset in the longitudinal direction from the recess (Figs. 1-7 recess 262 c), with, in the closed position (fig. 2), the first outlet (Figs. 1-7 first communicating portion 261 c) being fluidically connected to the recess (Figs. 1-7 recess 262 c) and the second outlet being sealed by the closure region (see annotated Fig. 2) and with the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262) having a second seal (The annotated closure region of Fig. 2 acting as a seal because 272 is not fluidly connected to 271. [0043] “the first suction tube 271 and the second suction tube 272 do not communicate with each other, causing no suction force by the suction pump 5, on the distal end portion 201.”) which surrounds the closure region (see annotated Fig. 2) all round.
Regarding Claim 3, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein a sealing surface of the valve housing (Figs. 1-7 cylinder unit 261), with which the first seal (Figs. 1-7 O-ring 30) interacts, is a substantially flat surface (Figs. 1-7 the side of portion 261 touching O-ring 30 is flat).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed claim 1, wherein a cross section of the cavity (Figs. 1-7 cavity within endoscope 2 housing cylinder unit 261) is substantially rectangular.
Regarding Claim 5, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cavity (Figs. 1-7 cavity within endoscope 2 housing cylinder unit 261) is designed to narrow in a wedge shape toward the closed position (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first seal (Figs. 1-7 O-ring 30) is formed in one piece ([0038] “The cylinder unit 261 is attached onto the operating unit 21 by fitting, for example. At this time, an O-ring 30 is provided between the operating unit 21 and the cylinder unit 261. With the O-ring 30, sealability and slip prevention between the operating unit 21 and the cylinder unit 261 can be maintained. The cylinder unit 261 may be fixed with a screw or adhesive such as sealant, other than fitting.”) with the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second seal (The annotated closure region of Fig. 2 acting as a seal because 272 is not fluidly connected to 271. [0043] “the first suction tube 271 and the second suction tube 272 do not communicate with each other, causing no suction force by the suction pump 5, on the distal end portion 201.”) is formed in one piece with the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first seal(Figs. 1-7 O-ring 30) is designed as a sealing lip, which has a semicircular, a V-shaped, or a wedge-shaped cross-sectional profile, or as a surface seal.
Regarding Claim 9, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second seal (The annotated closure region of Fig. 2 acting as a seal because 272 is not fluidly connected to 271. [0043] “the first suction tube 271 and the second suction tube 272 do not communicate with each other, causing no suction force by the suction pump 5, on the distal end portion 201.”) is designed as a sealing lip, which has a semicircular, a V-shaped, or a wedge-shaped cross-sectional profile, or as a surface seal.
Regarding Claim 10, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 2, wherein the second seal (The annotated closure region of Fig. 2 acting as a seal because 272 is not fluidly connected to 271. [0043] “the first suction tube 271 and the second suction tube 272 do not communicate with each other, causing no suction force by the suction pump 5, on the distal end portion 201.”) is designed with the same cross-sectional profile as the first seal (Figs. 1-7 O-ring 30).
Regarding Claim 11, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 1, further including a counterholder (see annotated Fig. 2), the counterholder (see annotated Fig. 2) arranged on an opposite side of the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262) to the first seal (Figs. 1-7 O-ring 30).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 2, wherein the counterholder (see annotated Fig. 2) is arranged opposite to the first seal (Figs. 1-7 O-ring 30) and the second seal (The annotated closure region of Fig. 2 acting as a seal because 272 is not fluidly connected to 271. [0043] “the first suction tube 271 and the second suction tube 272 do not communicate with each other, causing no suction force by the suction pump 5, on the distal end portion 201.”) .
Regarding Claim 13, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 11, wherein the counterholder (see annotated Fig. 2) comprises at least one counterholder element which has a semicircular, a V-shaped, or a wedge-shaped cross-sectional profile or is designed as a flat elevation(see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 11, wherein the counterholder (see annotated Fig. 2) is formed in one piece with the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262).
Regarding Claim 15, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262) has a substantially uniform wall thickness.
Regarding Claim 16, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262) has one or more reinforcing ribs (Fig.2 near reference numeral 262c).
Regarding Claim 17, Tsuruta discloses the valve as claimed in any of the preceding claims, wherein at least one end face of the valve piston (Figs. 1-7 piston unit 262) has a rounded-off form.
Regarding Claim 18, Tsuruta discloses a medical instrument (Fig. 1 endoscope 2), in particular a medical endoscope or medical endoscopic instrument, having a valve as claimed in claim 1 (see above).
Conclusion
/MEGAN ELIZABETH MONAHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795