DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10 October 2023 and 07 April 2026 were filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 8-10 and 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims fail to positively recite the limitation.
In claim 1, line 6 and claim 9, line 9: “has teeth that are insertable simultaneously” should read:
-- has teeth that are inserted simultaneously --
In claim 1, line 9 and claim 2, line 3: “the component supply device is operable to rotate the discharge sprocket” should read:
-- wherein operating the component supply device rotates the discharge sprocket --
In claims 8 and 17-20: “bending habit correction” should read: -- bending correction --
In claim 9, line 12 and claim 10, line 3: “the component supplier is operable to rotate the discharge sprocket” should read:
-- wherein operating the component supplier rotates the discharge sprocket --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 the limitation, “the discharge sprocket has teeth that are insertable simultaneously into sprocket holes of both a following tape corresponding to a subsequent component supply tape in use and a leading tape corresponding to a used preceding component supply tape” (emphasis added) is indefinite because, claim 1, line 2 recites “a component supply tape holding a component”. If there is a component supply tape, as recited in line 2, it is confusing what is “a subsequent component supply tape” and “a used preceding component supply tape” as recited the limitation. Further, lines 3-4 recites “the component supply tape from which the component has been taken out”. If the component is taken out from the component supply tape as recited in lines 3-4, it is unclear what does “a leading tape corresponding to a used preceding component supply tape” mean.
In claim 9, the same informalities are there for the limitation “the discharge sprocket has teeth that are insertable simultaneously into sprocket holes of both a following tape corresponding to a subsequent component supply tape in use and a leading tape corresponding to a used preceding component supply tape”.
Claims 2-8 and 11-20 depend on claim 1 and claim 10 depends on claim 9. Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyama (US 20200053922).
[AltContent: textbox (feed sprocket)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (discharge sprocket)]
[AltContent: textbox (teeth in sprocket holes)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (leading tape)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (following tape)]
Annotated Figs. 2 and 15A, Oyama.
Regarding claim 1, Oyama teaches, a component supply device (component supply device 1, Fig. 1) comprising:
a feed sprocket (first sprocket 311, see annotated Fig. 2) to feed a component supply tape (component storage tape 100, a plurality of component storage units 101a for storing a component E are arranged at predetermined intervals, para. [0044]) holding a component to a component supply position, and feed the component supply tape from which the component has been taken out at the component supply position toward a discharge passage (first tape feed-out unit 31 is disposed at the upstream end in the tape feeding direction H of the second path portion 52 in the traveling path 5…first tape feed-out unit 31 includes a pair of first sprockets 311, para. [0066], see the feeding direction H, Fig. 2); and
a discharge sprocket (third sprocket 331, Fig. 2) in the discharge passage; wherein the discharge sprocket has teeth (plurality of tooth portions 331a, Fig. 2) that are insertable simultaneously into sprocket holes (see Figs. 14A to 16, tooth portions 331a of the pair of third sprockets 331 can be fitted to the holes 101b formed at both ends in the width direction of the carrier tape 101 of the component storage tape 100, para. [0080]) of both a following tape corresponding to a subsequent component supply tape in use and a leading tape corresponding to a used preceding component supply tape (see annotated Fig. 15A, first sprocket 311 of the first tape feed-out unit 31,…component storage unit 101aA in the component storage tape 100, para. [0125], two of the component storage units 101aB from the tip 1001 in the first component storage tape 100A are empty component storage units in which component E is not stored, para. [0158]); and
the component supply device is operable to rotate the discharge sprocket to feed the leading tape in the discharge passage (third sprockets 331 are disk-shaped sprockets rotatably supported by the device main body 2 about an axis extending in the X-axis direction, para. [0080]).
Though, Oyama does not explicitly teach, a following tape, from the teaching in para. [0044], carrier tape 101 is a tape on which a plurality of component storage units 101a for storing a component E are arranged at predetermined intervals, and from para. [0158], two of the component storage units 101aB from the tip 1001 in the first component storage tape 100A are empty component storage units in which component E is not stored, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that, component E stored at component storge units 101a of the component supply tape 100 is a following tap and empty component storage units 101aB of the component supply tape is a leading tape. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Oyama, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to insert the discharge sprocket teeth simultaneously into the holes of the component supply tape as Oyama taught in Figs. 14A to 16 so that it enables accurately coinciding the center of a component with the component extraction position while mounting the component as Oyama disclosed in para. [0171-0173].
Regarding claim 2, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 1, wherein the discharge sprocket does not have power (third sprockets 331 are disk-shaped sprockets rotatably supported by the device main body 2 about an axis extending in the X-axis direction, para. [0080]); and the component supply device is operable to rotate the discharge sprocket to feed the leading tape in the discharge passage by feeding the following tape by a driving force of the feed sprocket while the teeth of the discharge sprocket are inserted simultaneously into the sprocket holes of both the following tape and the leading tape (when the second sprocket 321 of the second tape feed-out unit 32 is rotated by the control of the second servomotor 324 by the second tape feed-out control unit 95, the third sprocket 331 of the third tape feed-out unit 33 also rotates in conjunction therewith, para. [0169]).
Regarding claim 3, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 1, wherein a height of each of the teeth is larger than a thickness of the component supply tape (see the tooth and the tape 100A, Figs. 14A and 15A).
Regarding claim 4, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to any one of claim 1, further comprising: an urging force generator to urge one of the discharge sprocket and the component supply tape toward the other of the discharge sprocket and the component supply tape (pair of first sprockets 311 incorporate a one-way clutch that transmits a rotational force only in one direction, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 8, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 1, further comprising: a bending habit correction mechanism (tape raising unit 61, Fig. 2) in the discharge passage to correct a bending habit of the component supply tape; wherein the discharge sprocket is provided in the discharge passage together with the bending habit correction mechanism (see Fig. 2, when the component storage tape 100 travels along the first path portion 51, forces for bending in opposite directions with respect to the Z-axis direction (vertical direction) act on the component storage tape 100…when the cover tape raising unit 61 is disposed over the first region 511 and the second region 512 in the first path portion 51, the stability of the raising processing for the cover tape 102 by the cover tape raising unit 61 may be lowered, para. [0096]).
Regarding claim 9, Oyama teaches, a component mounting device (component mounting machine 10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a mounting head to hold and mount a component on a board (component mounting machine 10 includes…, a head unit 14, para. [0035]); and
a component supplier (component supply device 1) to supply the component to the mounting head; wherein the component supplier includes:
a feed sprocket (first sprocket 311, see annotated Fig. 2) to feed a component supply tape (component storage tape 100, a plurality of component storage units 101a for storing a component E are arranged at predetermined intervals, para. [0044]) holding the component to a component supply position, and feed the component supply tape from which the component has been taken out at the component supply position toward a discharge passage (first tape feed-out unit 31 is disposed at the upstream end in the tape feeding direction H of the second path portion 52 in the traveling path 5…first tape feed-out unit 31 includes a pair of first sprockets 311, para. [0066], see the feeding direction H, Fig. 2); and
a discharge sprocket (third sprocket 331, Fig. 2) in the discharge passage; the discharge sprocket has teeth (plurality of tooth portions 331a, Fig. 2) that are insertable simultaneously into sprocket holes (see Figs. 14A to 16, tooth portions 331a of the pair of third sprockets 331 can be fitted to the holes 101b formed at both ends in the width direction of the carrier tape 101 of the component storage tape 100, para. [0080]) of both a following tape corresponding to the subsequent component supply tape in use and a leading tape corresponding to the used preceding component supply tape (see annotated Fig. 15A, first sprocket 311 of the first tape feed-out unit 31,…component storage unit 101aA in the component storage tape 100, para. [0125], two of the component storage units 101aB from the tip 1001 in the first component storage tape 100A are empty component storage units in which component E is not stored, para. [0158]); and
the component supplier is operable to rotate the discharge sprocket to feed the leading tape in the discharge passage (third sprockets 331 are disk-shaped sprockets rotatably supported by the device main body 2 about an axis extending in the X-axis direction, para. [0080]).
Though, Oyama does not explicitly teach, a following tape, from the teaching in para. [0044], carrier tape 101 is a tape on which a plurality of component storage units 101a for storing a component E are arranged at predetermined intervals, and from para. [0158], two of the component storage units 101aB from the tip 1001 in the first component storage tape 100A are empty component storage units in which component E is not stored, one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that, component E stored at component storge units 101a of the component supply tape 100 is a following tap and empty component storage units 101aB of the component supply tape is a leading tape. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Oyama, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to insert the discharge sprocket teeth simultaneously into the holes of the component supply tape as Oyama taught in Figs. 14A to 16 so that it enables accurately coinciding the center of a component with the component extraction position while mounting the component as Oyama disclosed in para. [0171-0173].
Regarding claim 10, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 9. Oyama further teaches, the component mounting device according to claim 9, wherein the discharge sprocket does not have power (third sprockets 331 are disk-shaped sprockets rotatably supported by the device main body 2 about an axis extending in the X-axis direction, para. [0080]); and the component supplier is operable to rotate the discharge sprocket to feed the leading tape in the discharge passage by feeding the following tape by a driving force of the feed sprocket while the teeth of the discharge sprocket are inserted simultaneously into the sprocket holes of both the following tape and the leading tape (when the second sprocket 321 of the second tape feed-out unit 32 is rotated by the control of the second servomotor 324 by the second tape feed-out control unit 95, the third sprocket 331 of the third tape feed-out unit 33 also rotates in conjunction therewith, para. [0169]).
Regarding claim 11, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 2, wherein a height of each of the teeth is larger than a thickness of the component supply tape (see the tooth and the tape 100A, Figs. 14A and 15A).
Regarding claim 12, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 2, further comprising: an urging force generator to urge one of the discharge sprocket and the component supply tape toward the other of the discharge sprocket and the component supply tape (pair of first sprockets 311 incorporate a one-way clutch that transmits a rotational force only in one direction, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 13, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 3. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 3, further comprising: an urging force generator to urge one of the discharge sprocket and the component supply tape toward the other of the discharge sprocket and the component supply tape (pair of first sprockets 311 incorporate a one-way clutch that transmits a rotational force only in one direction, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 17, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 2. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 2, further comprising: a bending habit correction mechanism (tape raising unit 61, Fig. 2) in the discharge passage to correct a bending habit of the component supply tape; wherein the discharge sprocket is in the discharge passage together with the bending habit correction mechanism (see Fig. 2, when the component storage tape 100 travels along the first path portion 51, forces for bending in opposite directions with respect to the Z-axis direction (vertical direction) act on the component storage tape 100…when the cover tape raising unit 61 is disposed over the first region 511 and the second region 512 in the first path portion 51, the stability of the raising processing for the cover tape 102 by the cover tape raising unit 61 may be lowered, para. [0096]).
Regarding claim 18, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 3. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 3, further comprising: a bending habit correction mechanism (tape raising unit 61, Fig. 2) in the discharge passage to correct a bending habit of the component supply tape; wherein the discharge sprocket is in the discharge passage together with the bending habit correction mechanism (see Fig. 2, when the component storage tape 100 travels along the first path portion 51, forces for bending in opposite directions with respect to the Z-axis direction (vertical direction) act on the component storage tape 100…when the cover tape raising unit 61 is disposed over the first region 511 and the second region 512 in the first path portion 51, the stability of the raising processing for the cover tape 102 by the cover tape raising unit 61 may be lowered, para. [0096]).
Regarding claim 19, Oyama teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 4. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 4, further comprising: a bending habit correction mechanism (tape raising unit 61, Fig. 2) in the discharge passage to correct a bending habit of the component supply tape; wherein the discharge sprocket is in the discharge passage together with the bending habit correction mechanism (see Fig. 2, when the component storage tape 100 travels along the first path portion 51, forces for bending in opposite directions with respect to the Z-axis direction (vertical direction) act on the component storage tape 100…when the cover tape raising unit 61 is disposed over the first region 511 and the second region 512 in the first path portion 51, the stability of the raising processing for the cover tape 102 by the cover tape raising unit 61 may be lowered, para. [0096]).
Claim(s) 5-6, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hiroki (JP WO2015019455 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 14-16, Oyama does not teach, a diameter of the sprocket. However, Hiroki teaches, a component supply device in Fig. 4 including a feed sprocket, a discharge sprocket, in which, a diameter of the discharge sprocket is smaller than a diameter of the feed sprocket; and a number of the teeth of the discharge sprocket is less than a number of teeth of the feed sprocket (outer diameter of the second drive sprocket 28 is larger than the outer diameter of the first drive sprocket 26b, and the number of teeth on the second drive sprocket 28 is greater than the number of teeth on the first drive sprocket 26b. Alternatively, the outer diameter of the second sprocket 27 may be smaller than the outer
diameter of the first sprocket 26, the number of second engaging projections 27a on the second sprocket 27 may be fewer than the number of first engaging projections 26a on the first sprocket 26, page 31, first and second paragraph). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Hiroki, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the component supply device of Oyama and to include the diameter of the discharge sprocket is smaller than the diameter of the feed sprocket so that it enables controlling the movement speed of the component supply tape.
Regarding claim 6, Oyama does not teach, a pitch between the teeth. However, Hiroki further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 5, wherein a pitch between the teeth of the discharge sprocket is smaller than a pitch between the teeth of the feed sprocket (the number of teeth on the second drive sprocket 28 is greater than the number of teeth on the first drive sprocket 26b. Alternatively,…the number of second engaging projections 27a on the second sprocket 27 may be fewer than the number of first engaging projections 26a on the first sprocket 26, page 31, first and second paragraph, in which it is obvious that the pitch between the teeth of the discharge sprocket is smaller than a pitch between the teeth of the feed sprocket).
Regarding claim 20, Oyama in view of Hiroki teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 5. Oyama further teaches, the component supply device according to claim 5, further comprising: a bending habit correction mechanism (tape raising unit 61, Fig. 2) in the discharge passage to correct a bending habit of the component supply tape; wherein the discharge sprocket is in the discharge passage together with the bending habit correction mechanism (see Fig. 2, when the component storage tape 100 travels along the first path portion 51, forces for bending in opposite directions with respect to the Z-axis direction (vertical direction) act on the component storage tape 100…when the cover tape raising unit 61 is disposed over the first region 511 and the second region 512 in the first path portion 51, the stability of the raising processing for the cover tape 102 by the cover tape raising unit 61 may be lowered, para. [0096]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 would be allowable for disclosing a component supply device, wherein a width of each of the teeth of the discharge sprocket is smaller than a width of each of the teeth of the feed sprocket.
Though, prior art of record Hiroki teaches, the outer diameter of the discharge sprocket is smaller than the outer diameter of the feed sprocket, and the number of teeth of the discharge sprocket is less than the number of teeth of the feed sprocket, Hiroki fails to teach, a width of each of the teeth of the discharge sprocket is smaller than a width of each of the teeth of the feed sprocket.
Prior art of record Oyama does not teach, a width of each of the teeth of the discharge sprocket is smaller than a width of each of the teeth of the feed sprocket.
Therefore, claim 7 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Yanagida (US 20190364704) teaches, a component supply device comprising: a feed sprocket; a discharge sprocket in the discharge passage; wherein the discharge sprocket has teeth that are insertable simultaneously into sprocket holes of the component supply tape; and the component supply device rotates the discharge sprocket to feed the leading tape in the discharge passage.
Prior art Taniguchi (US 20180192522) teaches, a component supply device comprising: a feed sprocket and a discharge sprocket; wherein the discharge sprocket has teeth that are insertable simultaneously into sprocket holes of the component supply tape; and the component supply device rotates the discharge sprocket to feed the leading tape in the discharge passage.
Prior art Takanami (US 20170225919) teaches, a component supply device comprising: a feed sprocket and a discharge sprocket; and the component supply device rotates the discharge sprocket to feed the leading tape in the discharge passage.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729