DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, corresponding to claims 13-21 in the reply filed on September 23rd, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 discloses that the flow guiding element is numeral 150 in parentheses in line 5. However, claim 13 also discloses that the flow guiding element is numeral 160 in parentheses in line 10. Thus, it is unclear whether the flow guiding element is numeral 150 or 160. Appropriate action is required. It is suggested to amend to “(150/160)” for the flow guiding element, or amend either flow guiding elements to “(150)” or “(160)” for congruency.
Claims 14-21 are rejected merely due to their dependency from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pisharodi (U.S. Patent No. 11,052,169).
Pisharodi discloses a disinfection reactor for disinfecting liquids and/or gases comprising:
A disinfection chamber (Figures 1A, 1G, 1H & 7), the disinfection chamber having an inlet and an outlet (shown by airflow arrows) and a chamber wall (112/105A/105AA/105B/105BB);
A flow guiding element (155/155A’/155B’);
A radiation element (150/150A/150B) adapted to create a radiation barrier in the disinfection chamber (Figures 1A, 1G, 1H & 7); characterized in that
The disinfection chamber (Figures 1A, 1G, 1H & 7) has several volume ranges completely separated from each other by the radiation barrier, the flow guiding element (155/155A’/155B’) and the chamber wall (112/105A/105AA/105B/105BB). See column 7, line 49 to column 8, line 38; column 9, lines 1-22; column 9, line 44 to column 10, line 7.
Note that the flow guiding elements are the sheets (155/155A’/155B’) themselves (and the defined “V” shape in Figures 1G-1H) and the associated semicircular protuberances created by the radiation elements (150/150A/150B) best shown in Figures 1B & 1E. Note also that the radiation elements are UV lamps, UV lasers, or UV LED lights (column 6, lines 60-65), and that the flow guiding sheets are reflective (column 2, lines 43-49). Such a configuration of the reflective flow guiding sheets (155/155A’/155B’) with semicircular protuberances, and UV laser/UV LED radiation element (any single element labeled numeral 150/150A/150B) will create several volume ranges completely separated from each other by the radiation barrier (from reflection and configuration of flow guide sheets), the flow guiding sheet elements themselves, and the chamber walls (112/105A/105AA/105B/105BB).
As such, Pisharodi anticipates claim 13 as currently set forth.
Concerning claims 14 & 15, Pisharodi also discloses that the flow guiding element (155/155A’/155B’) has a curved flow guiding surface (Figures 1B, 1G & 1H).
With respect to claim 16, the reference further discloses that the disinfection chamber has a plurality of flow guiding elements (155/155A’/155B’) and/or flow guiding surfaces (Figures 1A, 1G & 1H).
Regarding claim 17, Pisharodi continues to disclose that each volume range is separated from an adjacent volume range by at least one radiation barrier column 7, line 49 to column 8, line 38; column 9, lines 1-22; column 9, line 44 to column 10, line 7.
Concerning claim 18, Pisharodi also discloses that the disinfection chamber has a plurality of radiation barriers formed by radiation elemnt(s) (150/150A/150B), and reflective surfaces (column 2, lines 43-49; Figures 1A, 1G & 1H).
With respect to claim 19, Pisharodi further discloses that the disinfection chamber has a transparent window for the radiation generated by the radiation element (column 9, lines 7-21).
Regarding claim 20, Pisharodi continues to disclose that the disinfection chamber comprises elements for deflecting the radiation generated by the radiation element (i.e., reflective lining; column 2, lines 43-49).
With respect to claim 21, the reference also discloses that the inlet is separated from the outlet by several volume ranges (Figures 1A, 1G & 1H).
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799