DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “step (Claim 10” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 (line 7), should recite “a horizontal plane.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 4 (lines 5-8), the phrase recites “a tip of the stationary blade tooth is an arc end, one surface of the arc end is an arc surface protruding towards the stationary blade tooth, and an opposite surface is flush with a surface of the stationary blade tooth” is indefinite. If the tip of the stationary blade tooth is an arc end, how does one surface of the arc end protrude toward the stationary blade tooth? In other words, isn’t the arc end at the “end” or tip of the stationary blade tooth? How is an opposite surface of an arc end flush with a surface of the stationary blade tooth?
Regarding claim 6 (lines 3-4), the phrase “the second stationary blade is in a mesh shape” is indefinite. Per Merriam Webster Dictionary, the term mesh is defined as “one of the similar spaces in a network, often used to designate screen size as the number of openings per linear inch.” It is unclear what the boundaries of the phrase “mesh shape” are with respect to the BRI of the term mesh. In other words, what structure, if any, is imparted by the term “mesh” to define a mesh shape?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111687891 to Dong et al. in view CN109822627 to Yu.
In re claim 1, Dong teaches a shaver featuring a shaver head with a double-layer elastic structure, comprising a shaver head (Fig. 1), wherein the shaver head comprises an upper shaver head shell (20) and a lower shaver head shell (10) which are fixedly connected; a moving blade connector (40) for driving a blade (Fig. 1) to move is arranged above the lower shaver head shell (10); the moving blade connector (40) is provided with a first moving blade (51) and a second moving blade fixing part (70) which move together with the moving blade connector; a first stationary blade (30) is mounted on the upper shaver head shell (20), and the first moving blade (51) abuts against a lower surface of the first stationary blade (30); the second moving blade fixing part (70) is provided with a second moving blade (80) which moves together with the second moving blade fixing part; a second stationary blade (60) abuts against the second moving blade (80); and first elastic parts (41) are arranged between the lower shaver head shell (10) and the moving blade connector (40), and second elastic parts (71) are arranged between the moving blade connector (40) and the second moving blade fixing part (70).
In re claim 2, wherein first sleeve posts (see Annotated Figure 1, below) are arranged on two sides of a bottom surface of the moving blade connector (40), mounting grooves (see Annotated Figure 1, below) for inserting the first sleeve posts are formed in the lower shaver head shell (10), and the first elastic parts (41) are sleeved on the first sleeve posts; and a lower end of the first elastic part (41) abuts against the corresponding mounting groove, and an upper end abuts against the bottom surface of the moving blade connector (40).
In re claim 4, wherein the first stationary blade (30) is provided with a plurality of stationary blade teeth (31) extending outward, the first moving blade (50) is provided with a plurality of moving blade teeth (51) extending outward, and the stationary blade teeth (31) are longer than the moving blade teeth (as shown in at least Figure 6); and a tip of the stationary blade tooth (31) is an arc end (32), one surface of the arc end (32) is an arc surface protruding towards the stationary blade tooth (31, as shown in at least Figure 6), and an opposite surface is flush with a surface of the stationary blade tooth (31, as shown in at least Figure 6).
In re claim 5, wherein the second stationary blade (60) and the second moving blade (80) are both (capable of being) made by stainless steel stamping an acuate angle etching process (Pg. 6, lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches a shaver having a shaving head having apertures in the lower shaver head shell (10), but does not teach a main body and a connecting rod for being connected with the main body is arranged on a bottom surface of the lower shaver head shell.
Yu teaches a shaver having a main body (10) and a connecting rod (20) for being connected with the main body is arranged on a bottom surface of a lower shaver head shell (1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the shaver of Dong with a connecting rod and body as taught by Yu to provide the user with a grip stability to control and angle the shaver at desired orientations to reduce skin irritation.
In re claim 7, modified Dong teaches wherein a first through hole (see Annotated Figure 2, below) is formed in the lower shaver head shell (10), Dong, two engage blocks (42, Dong) extending downward through the first through hole are arranged on a bottom surface of the moving blade connector (40, Dong), and an engage groove (see Annotated Figure 2, below) is arranged between the two engage blocks (42, Dong) for being linked with a transmission device in the main body (10, Yu); and the main body (10, Yu) comprises an outer main body shell (as shown in at least Figure 1) and an inner main body shell (the interior of the outer main shell is the inner main body shell), a shaver head connector (20, Yu) is arranged over the outer main body shell (10, Yu), a motor (Pg. 4, lines 1-14, Yu) is (capable of being) arranged at the top of the interior of the outer main body shell (10, Yu), a rotating swing part (20, Yu) for driving the moving blade connector (40, Dong) to reciprocate is mounted on a motor shaft (Pg. 4, lines 1-14, Yu) of the motor, and an upper end of the rotating swing part (20, Yu) is placed in the engage groove (as shown in Figure 3, Yu).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. in view of Yu, as applied to the above claims, and in further view of US Patent No. 10,543,608 to Sakon et al.
In re claim 6, modified Dong teaches wherein the second stationary blade (60) and the second moving blade (80) are arranged in the middle of the shaver head, the second stationary blade (60) is a mesh shape, and a plurality of hair inlet holes (61) are densely formed in the second stationary blade; and the second moving blade (80) is provided with a plurality of elongated hole-shaped cutting edges (82), and the cutting edges abut against an inner side of the second stationary blade (as shown in at least Figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, modified Dong does not teach a 45° angle is formed between the cutting edges and the horizontal plane.
Sakon teaches a cutting blade having a plurality of elongated hole shaped cutting edges (330) and a 45° angle (Θ, as shown in at least Figure 7A, Col. 14, lines 31-35, 61-65) is formed between the cutting edges and the horizontal plane.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to angle and shape the plurality of elongated blades of modified Dong at a 45° angle with respect to a horizontal plane as taught by Sakon to smoothly introduce body hair into a cut portion with a small friction resistance while enhancing lift effect (Col. 14, lines 61-65).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. in view of Yu, as applied to the above claims, and in further view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20040181953 to Follo (hereinafter Follo ‘953) et al. or US Patent No. 6,807,739 to Follo (hereinafter Follo ‘739) and evidentiary reference to US Patent No. 1,839,303 to Felser.
In re claim 8, modified Dong teaches wherein the shaver head is rotatably clamped on the shaver head connector (20, Yu) through the connecting rod (20, Yu), a lower end of the shaver head connector (20, Yu) is detachably arranged at the top of the main body (10, Yu), but does not teach a pry bar and an elastic piece are arranged in the shaver head connector, the connecting rod is provided with an insertion hole, one end of the pry bar abuts against the elastic piece, and the other end is inserted into the insertion hole.
Follo ‘953 teaches a shaver head is rotatable between an extended and retracted position with respect to a shaver body and a pry bar (362) and an elastic piece (370) in which one end of the pry bar abuts against the elastic piece to rotate the shaver head (Para 0065).
Felser is evidence that a shaving head can be adjusted to a desired position and locked via a pin (19) and spring arrangement (20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide modified Dong with a pry bar and elastic arrangement as taught by Follo ‘953 to aid in positioning the cartridge and locking the cartridge as evidenced by Felser at a desired angular orientation which advantageous for slicing hair which reduces skin irritation. "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton. "KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle."Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ."Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. See MPEP 2141, Section II, Part A, Subsection 2C.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. in view of Yu, as applied to the above claims, and in further view of EP 3871846 to Kopelas et al.
In re claim 9, modified Dong teaches a shaver head, but does not teach two ends of the shaver head are provided with cleaning holes.
Kopelas teaches a shaving head in which two ends are provided with cleaning holes (44).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the shaving head of modified Dong with cleaning holes as taught by Kopelas which is advantageous for preventing the device from clogging and lose of efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Dong teaches a shaver head having springs arranged and extending from a second moving blade fixing part, the springs extend through apertures of a fixing frame which aids in stabilizing the second moving cutter, but does not teach three sleeve posts arranged on a bottom surface of a second moving blade fixing part corresponding to second sleeve posts, in which the three sleeve posts are inserted into the central hole, second elastic parts being sleeved on the second sleeve posts and the third pose, a lower second elastic part abutting against the corresponding second sleeve post, and an upper end abutting against the corresponding third sleeve post.
Dong teaches the first stationary blade attached to the upper shaver head shell through an in-mould injection process and does not teach , but does not teach the first stationary blade is provided with a plurality of positioning holes and a bottom surface of the upper shaver head shell is correspondingly provided with positioning post inserted into the holes, a step arranged on an outer side of the second moving blade part, positioning grooves formed in an outer side of the second moving plate and the second moving fixing part is provided with positioning pose fitted into the positioning grooves, and clip plates arranged on the moving blade connector fastened into receiving holes of the second moving blade fixing part.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR20140009736 teaches adjusting a shaver head via a pry bar and a spring arrangement. KR102028912 teaches an eccentric on a motor shaft connected to a shaver head.
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724