Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Restriction Requirement Response and Amendment filed on 08/31/2026; and IDS filed on 09/05/2025 and 10/11/2023.
Claims 57-58, 61-62, 64 have been canceled.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 13, 17, 22, 25, 27, 30, 32, 36, 40, 44 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 25, 27, 30, 36, 40, 44 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 13, 17, 22, 25, 27, 30, 32) and specie elections of “about 1um to 10um” (claim 22) and “decorated with spermine-dextran conjugates” (claim 17) in the reply filed on 08/31/2026) is acknowledged.
Note, claims 10, 25, 27 and 30 are drawn to non-elected species.
Note, the following rejection is based upon art which was found incidental to the search for the elected species. This is not indicative that the entire scope of the claims has been examined; however, the following art is being applied in an effort to promote compact prosecution of the case. Thus, claim 10 is rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 22 recites the broad recitation “about 1um and about 10um”, and the claim also recites “about 1um and 5um, or is about 3um” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Note, withdrawn claim 27 also has this 112 issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 10, 13, 17, 22, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HEALEY et al (US 2016/0243234).
Regarding claim 1 and 4, HEALEY teaches a method of ultrasound mediated delivery of drugs (see title and abstract) comprised of:
administering microbubbles with drug, such as gene, to the targeted tissue (see abstract; [0005]; [0008]), which reads on administering to one or more target cells a composition comprising microbubbles loaded with a payload; and
application of ultrasound after trapping facilitates extravasation of the drug to the targeted tissue (see [0080]), wherein extravasation is sonoporation (see [0005]) and reads on administering an ultrasound stimulus to the one or more target cells, wherein the ultrasound stimulus is effective to sonoporate the one or more target cells.
Regarding claim 5, HEALEY teaches cancer cells (see [0111]).
Regarding claim 10, HEALEY teaches microbubbles with ligands attached for targeting to cell surface receptors (see [0007]; [0012]), which reads on the microbubbles comprise targeting molecules on the external surfaces of the microbubbles, the targeting molecules being effective to bind the one or more target cells.
Regarding claim 13, HEALEY teaches ultrasound scanner with a 2 MHz probe for 45 seconds (see [0319]), which reads on the ultrasound stimulus is administered for between at least about 30-120 seconds.
Regarding claim 17, HEALEY teaches gas microbubbles may consist of, for example but not limited to, a low solubility perfluorocarbon gas core stabilised with a negatively charged phospholipid membrane, which reads on the microbubbles comprise shells comprising phospholipids.
Regarding claim 22, HEALEY teaches 1 to 10 um (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 32, HEALEY teaches in order to study activation of the microbubbles, an in-vitro system has been developed (see [0187]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 13, 17, 22, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MIAO et al (US 2021/0370037).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, MIAO teaches a method of ultrasound mediated delivery of gene and drug (see title and abstract) comprised of:
delivering microbubbles and therapeutic compounds, such as gene, to targeted tissue sites ([0010]), wherein the bioactive agent is conjugated to the microbubbles (see [0081]), which reads on administering to one or more target cells a composition comprising microbubbles loaded with a payload; and
using ultrasound (see [0010]) for sonoporation (see [0151]), which reads on administering an ultrasound stimulus to the one or more target cells, wherein the ultrasound stimulus is effective to sonoporate the one or more target cells.
Regarding claim 2, MIAO teaches the therapeutic agents, such as siRNA and mRNA (see [0089]).
Regarding claim 5, MIAO teaches tumor sites (see [0108]).
Regarding claim 13, MIAO teaches sonication is performed for a period of between about 10 seconds and about 15 minutes (see claim 11). Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize within this time range.
Regarding claim 17, MIAO teaches phospholipids (see [0162]), such as DSPC (see [0123]).
Regarding claim 22, MIAO teaches average size of 1.5 um (see [0249]).
Regarding claim 32, MIAO teaches a reference for ultrasound parameters in in-vitro experiments tested in HEKsp3T cells (see [0139]), which reads on in vitro method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 13, 17, 22, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIAO et al (US 2021/0370037) in view of AZZAM et al (Dextran-spermine conjugate: an efficient vector for gene delivery. Macromol. Symp., 195: 247-262. (2003)).
As discussed above, MIAO teaches Applicant’s invention.
Regarding claim 17, MIAO does not teach Applicant’s elected specie of “decorated with spermine-dextran conjugates”.
AZZAM teaches the prior art had known of using dextran-spermine conjugate for efficient gene delivery (see title and abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate “decorated with spermine-dextran conjugates”.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would increase the efficiency of gene delivery, and reasonably would have expected success because both references dealt with gene delivery.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618