DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to the claims filed 4/11/2024. Examiner notes an amended claim set was filed 10/11/2023 with 14 claims. A claim set filed at a later date 4/11/2024 comprises only 8 claims. Examiner for this office is addressing the claim set filed 10/11/2023 with 14 claims.
Specification
A substitute specification in proper idiomatic English and in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52(a) and (b) is required. The substitute specification filed must be accompanied by a statement that it contains no new matter.
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The entire specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
The disclosure appears to be a direct translation of the parent foreign application.
For example, paragraph 43 of the specification discloses “In this embodiment, the manual cold water flow channel 1.3, sensor cold water flow channel 1.4, manual hot water flow channel 1.5, and sensor hot water flow channel 1.6 are all horizontally arranged. The axis of the cold water inlet 1. 1 and the axis of the hot water inlet 1.2 are vertically arranged, perpendicular to the horizontal direction. The inlet axis of the manual water outlet hole 1.7 and the inlet axis of the sensor water outlet hole 1.8 are horizontally arranged, while the outlet axis of the manual water outlet hole 1.7 and the outlet axis of the sensor water outlet hole 1.8 are vertically arranged”. Elements 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.1 and 1.2 are shown in figure 6 outlets of channel 1.7 and 1.8 are shown in figure 7 it is not clear how figures 6 and 7 relate to each other. None of the figures show “inlet axis of the manual water outlet hole 1.7 and the inlet axis of the sensor water outlet hole 1.8 are horizontally arranged”.
Regarding paragraph 45 the specification discloses “[t]he manual water outlet hole 1.7 is located on one side of the valve seat 1 where the manual water temperature adjustment valve core 2 is installed, while the sensor water outlet hole 1.8 is located on the other side of the valve seat 1 where the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core 3 is installed. The water from the manual cold water flow channel 1.3 and manual hot water flow channel 1.5 is mixed in the manual mixing chamber and then outputted to the manual water outlet hole 1.7, while the water from the sensor cold water flow channel 1.4 and sensor hot water flow channel 1.6 is mixed in the sensor mixing chamber and then outputted to the sensor water outlet hole 1.8”. Figures do not how mixing chambers or how this is accomplished.
Regarding paragraph 46 “[t]he manual water outlet hole 1.7 and the sensor water outlet hole 1.8 are both L-shaped, with the inlet axis of the manual water outlet hole 1.7 and the inlet axis of the sensor water outlet hole 1.8 horizontally arranged”. None of the figures show the “L-shaped” outlet “holes”.
Regarding paragraph 47, “[t]he manual temperature adjustment knob 4 rotates to adjust the manual water temperature adjustment valve core 2, while the manual temperature adjustment knob 4 moves to adjust the position of the manual water temperature adjustment valve core 2. The sensor temperature adjustment knob 5 rotates to adjust the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core 3. The manual temperature adjustment knob 4 is located on the left side of the faucet body 8, while the sensor temperature adjustment knob 5 is also located on the left side of the faucet body 8. The infrared sensor 7 is located on the front side of the faucet bend pipe 9”. It is not clear how the knob 4 rotation accomplishes the manual water temperature adjustment. Further, figure 2 shows elements 4 and 5 on either side of the faucet body, it is not clear how they can both be on the “left side of the faucet body”.
Regarding paragraph 50, “[t]he manual water outlet hole 1.7 is connected to the first inlet through a manual water pipe 15, while the sensor water outlet hole 1.8 is connected to the second inlet through a sensor water pipe 16. The main outlet is connected to the water outlet nozzle 6 through a main water pipe. The electromagnetic valve 10 is installed at the outlet. The water from the manual water outlet hole 1.7 and the sensor water outlet hole 1.8 is directed through the connecting tee 11 and then outputted to the water outlet nozzle 6, saving space. In this embodiment, the main water pipe is a braided flexible hose, and the water outlet nozzle 6 is movably installed at the end of the faucet bend pipe 9. A counterweight lead block 12 is also provided on the main water pipe, allowing for the movement and extension of the water outlet nozzle 6 for easy use”. Figure 1 shows water pipe 15, water pipe 16 and an element 10 but it is not clear where the “main outlet” described is located as the pipe 15 appears to be downstream of element 10.
The disclosure describes individual elements without explaining how the assembly of the individual components function as the whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is not clear how “the manual water temperature adjustment valve core mixes the water discharged from the cold water inlet and hot water inlet and outputs the water to the manual water outlet hole, the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core mixes the water discharged from the cold water inlet and hot water inlet and outputs it to the sensor water outlet hole” is accomplished. Further it is not clear what the function of the claimed “electromagnetic valve” is, it is not clear if the claimed electromagnetic valve controls the flow.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 14, as far as they are definite, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Document to Chen (CN 104948809) in view of US Patent to Rump (6,019,130).
Regarding claim 1, as far as it is definite, the Chinese Patent document discloses manual and sensor integrated kitchen faucet (Fig. 1), comprising a valve seat, a water outlet nozzle (1, Fig. 1), and an infrared sensor (3, Fig. 1), wherein the valve seat is provided with a separate cold water inlet and a hot water inlet for respectively connecting cold water and hot water, wherein the valve seat is installed with a manual water temperature adjustment valve core (8, Fig. 1) and a sensor water temperature adjustment valve core (19, Fig. 1) , the valve seat is provided with a manual water outlet hole (7, Fig. 1) in cooperation with the manual water temperature adjustment valve core and a sensor water outlet hole in cooperation with the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core, the manual water temperature adjustment valve core mixes the water discharged from the cold water inlet and hot water inlet (6, Fig. 1) and outputs it to the manual water outlet hole, the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core mixes the water discharged from the cold water inlet and hot water inlet(18, Fig. 1) and outputs the water to the sensor water outlet hole (17, Fig. 1), the cold water inlet, the hot water inlet, the manual water outlet hole and the sensor water outlet hole are all set at the bottom of the valve seat and arranged vertically, the manual water outlet hole and the sensor water outlet hole are respectively connected to the water outlet nozzle, and an electromagnetic valve (13, Fig. 1) is further provided between the sensor water outlet hole (17, Fig. 1) and the water outlet nozzle (1, Fig. 1), the infrared
The Chinese Patent document does not disclose the infrared sensor installed inside the faucet bent pipe.
However, Rump also teaching a faucet with both manual and electronic control teaches infrared sensor (7, Fig. 1) inside the bent pipe of the faucet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application to have modified the valve disclosed by the Chinese Document with the Infrared sensor in the bent pipe of the faucet taught by Rump as a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In the combination of the prior art elements, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected the elements to maintain their respective properties or functions.
Regarding claim 2, as far as it is definite, the Chinese Patent document discloses the valve seat comprises a valve body, a first valve seat located on one side of the valve body – operated by handle 4, and a second valve seat located on the other side of the valve body – operated by the automatic valve, the cold water inlet and hot water inlet are set on the valve body, the manual water temperature adjustment valve core is installed on the first valve seat, and the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core is installed on the second valve seat as shown in figure 1.
Regarding claim 3, as far as it is definite, the Chinese Patent document discloses the valve body is provided with a manual cold water flow channel communicating with the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core and the cold water inlet (6, Fig. 1), a sensor water flow channel communicating with the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core and the cold water inlet (18, Fig. 1), a manual hot water flow channel communicating with the manual water temperature adjustment valve core and the hot water inlet, and a sensor hot water flow channel communicating with the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core and the hot water inlet, the manual water temperature adjustment valve core mixes the water flowing out from the manual cold water flow channel and manual hot water flow channel, and the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core mixes the water flowing out from the sensor cold water flow channel and sensor hot water flow channel.
Regarding claim 5, as far as it is definite, in the combination, the Chinese Patent document discloses the manual cold water flow channel, the sensor cold water flow channel, the manual hot water flow channel, and the sensor hot water flow channel are horizontally arranged – shown in figure 1.
Regarding claim 6, as far as it is definite, the Chinese Patent document discloses a faucet body wherein the valve seat is installed inside the faucet body, the manual water temperature adjustment valve core is positioned on one side of the faucet body shown in figure 1, and the sensor water temperature adjustment valve core is positioned on the other side of the faucet body shown in figure 1, a sensing area on the infrared sensor (3, Fig. 1) is positioned on the front side of the faucet bend pipe Rump discloses the front side of the faucet bend pipe is provided with a sensing port (7, Fig. 1) and a faucet bend pipe positioned above the faucet body,
Regarding claims 8 – 14, as far as they are definite, the Chinese patent document discloses the claimed subject matter.
Claims 7, as far as it is definite, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese Patent Document to Chen (CN 104948809) in view of US Patent to Rump (6,019,130) and in further view US Patent Application Publication to Schoolcraft et al. (2014/0116553).
Regarding claim 7, as far as it is definite, the Chinee Patent document does not disclose a fixing cover with pre-installed screws in which the sensor is installed.
However, Schoolcraft et al. also teaching an automatic faucet teach a fixing cover (130, Fig. 1) for a sensor to facilitate assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the application to have modified the valve disclosed by the Chinese Patent document with the fixing cover taught by Schoolcraft et al. as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
Conclusion
/UMASHANKAR VENKATESAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753